DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

HUSTON, JAMES – Volume VIII (1851-1860)

d. 21 Sept. 1854 at Quebec

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Schools for Religious and Linguistic Minorities
 

Although the resolutions taken at the 1864 Quebec conference placed education within the provinces’ jurisdiction, the federal government guaranteed the minority educational rights that then existed in Canada East (Lower Canada; present-day Quebec) and Canada West (Upper Canada; present-day Ontario). In 1871 the New Brunswick House of Assembly introduced a bill to establish a non-denominational school system that would be funded by a universal school tax. The Roman Catholic minority, consisting mostly of Acadians as well as the Irish, wanted public money for their separate schools and therefore opposed the bill. Among those who fought against the legislation was the mha for Westmorland, Pierre-Amand LANDRY:

“Landry’s political career began at a time when controversy over school reform was precipitating unprecedented ethnic and religious conflicts and driving the Acadians in New Brunswick to defend their interests publicly. During the election campaign Landry had denounced the plan of George Edwin King*’s government to set up a network of public schools, advocating instead a system of separate schools financed by the government. Recognizing his influence among Roman Catholic voters, the party in power tried to win his tacit support for the plan by promising him the portfolio of commissioner of public works, but he refused to be bought.

“In April 1871 the New Brunswick assembly began studying a bill to create a system of public schools funded by the state through a new universal school tax. A month later a provision was added to the text, stipulating that the schools governed by it would be non-denominational. Despite the opposition of the Roman Catholic clergy, mhas, and press, the Common Schools Act was passed by a large Protestant majority. The Roman Catholics, most of whom were Acadians, refused to pay the school tax, even under duress; they sought the help of the federal government, but it decided not to intervene [see John Costigan]. School reform became the issue in the 1874 election campaign. Appealing to the English-speaking Protestant majority for support to prevent the Roman Catholics from getting enough power to change the law, the government won an overwhelming victory. Landry was one of those who lost their seats.”


In Manitoba, the Act of 1870 that brought the province into confederation contained guarantees for separate schools [see The Red River Rebellion and the Creation of Manitoba, 1868–70]. Twenty years later, however, the provincial government, heeding the wishes of the English-speaking Protestant majority, effectively froze out separate schools from public funding [see The Manitoba School Question]. A compromise was reached in 1896 between Premier Thomas GREENWAY and Prime Minister Wilfrid LAURIER [see The Election Campaign of 1896 and the Manitoba School Crisis; and The Laurier–Greenway Agreement (1896)]. The agreement would be abrogated in 1916 by the Manitoba government of Tobias Crawford NORRIS.

In 1912 Ontario’s Conservative premier, Sir James Pliny WHITNEY, introduced “Circular of Instructions 17” – known as Regulation 17. It limited French instruction in bilingual schools to the first two years of schooling:

“The regulation generated an exceedingly divisive battle between, on the one side, the government and the bulk of Ontario’s English-speaking residents, including Catholics, and, on the other, many of the province’s French-speaking minority plus the francophones and press of Quebec.… The government was convinced that it was doing the best thing possible for the children of Franco-Ontarians and that it was moving to correct a deplorable situation. As premier, Whitney could not understand the aspirations of French Canadians or the anger the new rules produced. After a year of protests, walk-outs by pupils, and refusals to comply, the government retreated in 1913: for the pupil who had not sufficiently mastered English by the end of the first form, French could remain the language of instruction. But the damage had been done and aroused French Canadians would cite Regulation 17 as an instance of English Canadian oppression for years to come [see Philippe Landry].”


To read more about the debates over schools for religious and linguistic minorities after confederation, consult the following lists of biographies.

The Manitoba School Question
Schools in British Columbia
◀◀  17 18 19 20 21 22 23  ▶▶

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

NAHNEBAHWEQUAY – Volume IX (1861-1870)

décédée le 26 septembre 1865 dans le canton de Sarawak, Haut-Canada

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Les écoles pour les minorités religieuses et linguistiques


Même si, conformément aux résolutions prises à la conférence de Québec de 1864, l’éducation était de compétence provinciale, le gouvernement fédéral garantissait, en matière d’éducation, les droits existants des minorités au Canada-Est (Bas-Canada, Québec actuel) et au Canada-Ouest (Haut-Canada, Ontario actuel). En 1871, la Chambre d’assemblée du Nouveau-Brunswick étudia un projet de loi visant à établir un système d’enseignement non confessionnel qui serait financé par une taxe scolaire universelle. La minorité catholique, composée principalement d’Acadiens, mais aussi d’Irlandais, voulait un financement public pour ses écoles séparées ; elle était par conséquent contre ce projet de loi. Pierre-Amand Landry, député de Westmorland, comptait parmi ceux qui le combattirent :

La carrière politique du jeune Landry débutait au moment où la controverse sur la réforme scolaire déclenchait des conflits ethniques et religieux sans précédent, et poussait les Acadiens du Nouveau-Brunswick à défendre publiquement leurs intérêts. Durant la campagne électorale, Landry avait dénoncé le projet du gouvernement de George Edwin King* d’établir un réseau d’écoles publiques, car il prônait plutôt un système d’écoles séparées financées par le gouvernement. Constatant son influence auprès des électeurs catholiques, le parti au pouvoir tenta d’obtenir son appui tacite au projet en lui promettant le portefeuille de commissaire des Travaux publics, mais il refusa de se laisser soudoyer.

En avril 1871, l’Assemblée du Nouveau-Brunswick entama l’étude du projet de loi qui visait à créer un réseau d’écoles publiques financées par l’État à même les fonds provenant d’une nouvelle taxe scolaire qui s’appliquerait à tous. Un mois plus tard, on ajouta au texte un article qui prévoyait que les écoles régies par la loi seraient non confessionnelles. Malgré l’opposition du clergé, des députés et de la presse catholiques, le Common Schools Act fut adopté par une forte majorité protestante. Les catholiques, dont la plupart étaient Acadiens, refusèrent de payer la taxe scolaire, même sous la contrainte, et demandèrent l’aide du gouvernement fédéral, qui décida de ne pas intervenir [V. John Costigan]. La réforme scolaire devint l’enjeu de la campagne électorale de 1874. Le gouvernement sollicita l’appui de la majorité anglo-protestante afin d’empêcher les catholiques d’obtenir le pouvoir nécessaire pour changer la loi et il remporta une victoire écrasante. Landry figurait parmi ceux qui perdirent leur siège.

 

Au Manitoba, l’Acte de 1870, qui marqua l’entrée de la province dans la Confédération, offrait des garanties aux écoles séparées. Vingt ans plus tard, toutefois, le gouvernement provincial, tenant compte des souhaits de la majorité protestante anglophone, exclut de facto le financement public des écoles séparées [V. La question des écoles du Manitoba]. En 1896, les deux premiers ministres Thomas Greenway et Wilfrid Laurier trouvèrent un compromis [V. La campagne électorale de 1896 et la crise scolaire au Manitoba ; Le règlement Laurier-Greenway (1896)]. En 1916, le gouvernement manitobain de Tobias Crawford Norris abrogerait l’entente.

En 1912, le premier ministre conservateur de l’Ontario, sir James Pliny Whitney, introduisit la « Circular of Instructions, 17 », connue sous le nom de Règlement 17. Elle limitait l’éducation en français dans les écoles bilingues aux deux premières années d’enseignement :

Ce règlement déclencha une bataille rangée entre, d’une part, le gouvernement et la plupart des résidents anglophones de l’Ontario, catholiques compris, et, d’autre part, une forte proportion de la minorité francophone ontarienne, les francophones de la province de Québec et leurs journaux […] Le gouvernement était convaincu d’agir pour le bien des jeunes Franco-Ontariens et de commencer à corriger une situation déplorable. Le premier ministre Whitney ne pouvait comprendre ni les aspirations des Canadiens français, ni la colère engendrée par les nouvelles règles. Enfin, en 1913, après une année de protestations, de débrayages d’élèves et de refus d’obtempérer, le gouvernement battit en retraite : l’élève qui ne maîtrisait pas assez l’anglais après les premières années du [primaire] pourrait continuer ses études en français. Cependant, le mal était fait et, durant des années encore, les Canadiens français citeraient le Règlement 17 en exemple de l’oppression anglo-canadienne.

 

Pour en savoir plus sur les débats au sujet des écoles pour les minorités religieuses et linguistiques après la Confédération, nous vous invitons à explorer les listes de biographies suivantes.

La question des écoles du Manitoba
Les écoles en Colombie-Britannique
◀◀  17 18 19 20 21 22 23  ▶▶