DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

CARSON, WILLIAM – Volume VII (1836-1850)

d. 26 Feb. 1843 in St John’s

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

The Fenians
Original title:  The Fenian banner - Library of Congress

Source: Link

 

Introduction

On St Patrick’s Day 1858, James Stephens founded a secret revolutionary organization in Dublin. Its purpose was to end British rule in Ireland and transform the country into an independent republic. In 1859 the leader of the movement’s American branch, John O’Mahony, gave the secret society the name by which it became generally known: the Fenian Brotherhood. Drawing on Irish mythological traditions, O’Mahony took the name from what he called the “Fiann na h-Eirenn,” which he viewed as bands of soldiers who defended ancient Ireland from foreign invaders. The Fenian Brotherhood in its modern incarnation became a transnational movement that had a wide following in the United States. After the American Civil War (1861–65) ended and Irish American soldiers were demobilized, Fenians in the United States split over the best strategy to achieve their objectives. One wing, led by O’Mahony, believed that Irish American republicans should send men, money, and materiel across the Atlantic to support a revolution in Ireland. Another wing, led by William Randall Roberts, argued that Irish revolutionaries should hit the British empire where it was most vulnerable – Canada. According to Roberts and his supporters, it was logistically impossible to send thousands of Irish American Civil War veterans into Ireland. But it seemed relatively easy to invade Canada – especially if the French Canadian inhabitants remained neutral and Irish Roman Catholics tacitly or actively supported an Irish American army of self-styled liberators. 

A successful invasion, the Roberts wing believed, would open up all kinds of possibilities. Canada could become a base from which to disrupt British transatlantic commerce, or it could be a bargaining chip in negotiations to secure an independent Ireland. No less important was the possibility that an American-based Irish invasion of Canada would precipitate war between the United States and Great Britain. The Fenians operated on the assumption that the American government, buttressed by annexationist forces in the United States, would “recognize accomplished facts” (as Secretary of State William Henry Seward had supposedly told a Fenian leader in 1865). Anglo-American relations had deteriorated during the Civil War – the Union government criticized Britain for allowing Confederate ships to be fitted out in its ports and recognizing the belligerent status of the South – and those who followed Roberts were eager to take advantage of the situation. The mantra of Irish revolutionary republicans had long been “England’s difficulty is Ireland’s opportunity.” In the event of war, British troops would be pulled across the Atlantic at the very time that republicans in Ireland would draw inspiration from Fenian victories in North America and take up arms against Britain. War in Canada would result in freedom for Ireland.

That, at least, was the thinking.

In one respect, the pro-invasion Fenians were right: as events proved, even a limited military victory in Canada elicited an ecstatic response among Irish nationalists on both sides of the Atlantic. But they were wrong to think that the American government would simply look the other way during an invasion attempt, and they underestimated the extent to which Anglo-American relations were being repaired. They were also wrong in thinking that French Canadians would remain neutral and that most Irish Catholics would welcome them with open arms.

Ironically, the Fenians’ first invasion attempt was undertaken not by those who followed Roberts, but by their rivals under John O’Mahony. Fearing that he was losing ground to Roberts, O’Mahony decided to seize the initiative: in April 1866 he organized an attack from Eastport in Maine on Campobello Island in New Brunswick. Mistakenly believing that the island was disputed territory [see Thomas Henry Barclay], O’Mahony hoped that an invasion would trigger a war between the United States and Britain. The result: total disaster. The American authorities intercepted their weapons, the Royal Navy warships led by Major-General Charles Hastings Doyle were ready for them, and the New Brunswick militia answered the call. The invasion was beaten before it started.

It appeared that the invasion strategy had been utterly discredited. Not surprisingly, members of the Canadian government breathed a large sigh of relief, believed that the threat was over, and dropped their guard. But contrary to all British and colonial expectations, the Eastport fiasco gave the Roberts-led Fenians a new sense of urgency; they felt that they had to act quickly, before any remaining support drained away. Their commanding officer, General Thomas William Sweeny, warned Roberts that his men were unprepared, and would likely be defeated, but the Fenians pressed ahead anyway. During the night of 31 May 1866, a thousand men under the leadership of John O’Neill crossed into the Niagara peninsula from Buffalo, N.Y. On 2 June they defeated the Canadian militiamen under Lieutenant-Colonel Alfred Booker at the battle of Ridgeway, and routed a small force led by Lieutenant-Colonel John Stoughton Dennis at Fort Erie, Canada West (Upper Canada; present-day Ontario). Lacking reinforcements from the United States and facing superior British forces, O’Neill withdrew to the south. An attack at Pigeon Hill (Saint-Armand) in Canada East (Lower Canada; present-day Quebec) a week later was beaten back at the border [see William Osborne Smith].

In the United States, the Fenians regrouped, and began raising funds for another invasion attempt. Four years later, in May 1870, O’Neill was ready to try again. But the Fenian turnout was lower than he had anticipated, the forces of the new Dominion of Canada were prepared for action, and the American authorities began arresting Fenians (including O’Neill himself) for violating the neutrality proclamation of President Ulysses S. Grant. An attack from Vermont was quickly and easily repulsed at Eccles Hill, near Frelighsburg, Queb., on 25 May, and a raid from New York the next day met the same fate. The strategy of freeing Ireland by invading Canada lay in ruins.

O’Neill, however, was not quite finished. In 1871 a former member of Louis Riel’s provisional government, William Bernard O’Donoghue, approached the Fenian Brotherhood in New York with a plan to invade Manitoba. When the Fenian leadership rejected the idea, O’Neill decided to organize his own filibustering expedition. Followed by around 35 men, and expecting significant support from the local Métis, O’Neill and O’Donoghue entered the province that October. Métis support never materialized, O’Neill and O’Donoghue were arrested, and the invaders were driven back to the United States. No further invasion attempts took place, although the idea remained alive in some Irish American quarters, and would resurface during the Irish Troubles of 1916–21.

In assessing the impact of the Fenian raids on British North America, Canadian historians have generally agreed that the attempt to capture Campobello Island helped to turn public opinion in New Brunswick towards confederation, and thus contributed to the defeat of Albert James Smith’s government by Samuel Leonard Tilley’s pro-confederation party. Since New Brunswick was essential to confederation, this change of attitude was of considerable importance. It is also generally accepted by historians that the Fenian raids in Canada in 1866 strengthened a sense of national feeling that consolidated the cause of confederation.

The raids created significant challenges for Irish Catholics in British North America, who risked being tarred with the Fenian brush. Most Irish Catholics remained loyal, but a significant minority supported the goal of an independent Irish republic. Irish Canadian Fenians were divided between those who rejected and those who supported the invasion strategy. The presence of Fenian secret societies in Canada alarmed the government, which in the winter of 1865–66 reorganized and expanded its secret police force to counter the perceived threat from within as well as from the United States.

Among the strongest supporters of the secret police, and of firm measures against Fenianism, was the politician Thomas D’Arcy McGee. A former Irish rebel who had repudiated his revolutionary past and become a Liberal Conservative, McGee argued that Fenianism was unrealistic, irreligious, and immoral, and should be given no quarter. Not surprisingly, McGee became a hate-figure for revolutionary Irish nationalists, who viewed him as a self-seeking traitor to Ireland. In the early morning of 7 April 1868 McGee was assassinated in Ottawa. Patrick James Whelan, an Irish tailor, was arrested for the murder; he was found guilty, and hanged. There was strong circumstantial evidence that Whelan was a Fenian and that he either shot McGee himself or was part of a hit squad. But Whelan always denied that he pulled the trigger, and historians remain divided over the question of his responsibility. Around 80,000 people attended McGee's funeral in Montreal, and his status as “a martyr to the cause of his country,” in Sir John Alexander Macdonald’s words, inspired a new generation of Canadian nationalists.

The works chosen for this thematic ensemble reflect the historiography of the time in which they were written (the 1970s and 1980s). Charles Perry Stacey, in his biography of John O’Neill, contends that the Fenian invasion strategy was “essentially stupid.” George Graham Mainer’s account of the battle of Ridgeway asserts that Alfred Booker’s men were driving back the Fenians until they began to run out of ammunition. Carl Betke, writing about the Canadian spymaster Gilbert McMicken, describes some of his correspondence with Macdonald about the Fenians as “comical.” Wilfred S. Neidhardt’s account of the Toronto Fenian leader Michael Murphy argues that “Fenian supporters in British North America probably never numbered more than a thousand.”

All of these views have been challenged by historians who have sought to explain the rationale behind the Fenian raids, reinterpreted the battle of Ridgeway, emphasized how seriously the Canadian authorities regarded the danger, and argued that the Fenians were a much larger minority of Irish Canadian Catholics than has previously been recognized. For these broadly revisionist views, please see the works listed in “Suggested Reading.”

 

◀◀ ◀ 2 3 4 5 6 7  ▶▶

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

NORDHEIMER, ABRAHAM – Volume IX (1861-1870)

décédé le 18 janvier 1862 à Bamberg (République fédérale d’Allemagne)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Les fenians
Titre original :  The Fenian banner - Library of Congress

Provenance : Lien


Introduction

Le jour de la Saint-Patrick en 1858, James Stephens fonda une organisation révolutionnaire secrète à Dublin, qui avait pour objectifs de mettre fin à l’autorité britannique en Irlande et de faire de ce pays une république indépendante. En 1859, John O’Mahony, chef de la formation américaine du mouvement, donna à la société secrète le nom sous lequel elle serait généralement connue : la Fenian Brotherhood. Puisant dans les traditions mythologiques irlandaises, O’Mahony s’inspira du nom de ce qu’il appelait les « Fiann na h-Eirenn » et qui désignait, selon lui, des bandes de soldats qui avaient défendu l’Irlande ancienne contre les envahisseurs étrangers. Dans son incarnation moderne, la Fenian Brotherhood devint un mouvement transnational qui eut de nombreux adeptes aux États-Unis. Après la fin de la guerre de Sécession (1861–1865) et la démobilisation des soldats irlando-américains, les fenians (ou féniens) aux États-Unis se divisèrent, car ils ne s’entendaient pas sur la meilleure stratégie à adopter pour atteindre leurs objectifs. Un groupe, dirigé par O’Mahony, croyait que les républicains irlando-américains devaient envoyer des hommes, de l’argent et du matériel outre-Atlantique pour soutenir une révolution en Irlande. Un autre, mené par William Randall Roberts, affirmait que les révolutionnaires irlandais devaient s’attaquer au maillon le plus vulnérable de l’Empire britannique : le Canada. D’après Roberts et ses partisans, il était impossible, d’un point de vue logistique, d’envoyer des milliers d’anciens combattants irlando-américains de la guerre de Sécession en Irlande. Mais il semblait relativement facile d’envahir le Canada – surtout si les Canadiens français restaient neutres et si les Irlandais catholiques soutenaient tacitement ou activement une armée irlando-américaine de libérateurs autoproclamés.

Selon le groupe de Roberts, une invasion réussie ouvrirait toutes sortes de possibilités. Le Canada pourrait servir de base pour perturber le commerce transatlantique britannique ou de monnaie d’échange dans des négociations en vue d’assurer l’indépendance de l’Irlande. La possibilité qu’une invasion du Canada à partir des États-Unis déclenche une guerre entre ce pays et la Grande-Bretagne n’était pas moins importante. Les fenians tenaient pour acquis que le gouvernement américain, appuyé par les forces annexionnistes aux États-Unis, « reconnaîtrait les faits accomplis » (comme l’avait prétendument dit le secrétaire d’État William Henry Seward à un dirigeant fenian en 1865). Les relations anglo-américaines s’étaient détériorées pendant la guerre de Sécession – le gouvernement d’union avait critiqué la Grande-Bretagne pour avoir permis que des bateaux des États confédérés soient équipés dans ses ports et reconnu le statut de belligérant du Sud – et les partisans de Roberts entendaient bien profiter de la situation. La devise des républicains irlandais révolutionnaires avait longtemps été Les problèmes de l’Angleterre sont la chance de l’Irlande. Advenant une guerre, les troupes britanniques traverseraient l’Atlantique au moment même où les républicains en Irlande s’inspireraient des victoires des fenians en Amérique du Nord et prendraient les armes contre la Grande-Bretagne. La guerre au Canada permettrait à l’Irlande d’acquérir la liberté.

C’était, du moins, le raisonnement.

Les fenians en faveur d’une invasion avaient raison sur un point : comme le prouverait la suite des événements, même une victoire militaire limitée au Canada susciterait une réaction euphorique chez les nationalistes irlandais des deux côtés de l’Atlantique. Mais ils eurent tort de croire que le gouvernement américain fermerait simplement les yeux sur une tentative d’invasion et ils sous-estimèrent le degré de rétablissement des relations anglo-américaines. Ils se trompèrent également en pensant que les Canadiens français resteraient neutres et que la majorité des Irlandais catholiques les accueilleraient à bras ouverts.

Ironiquement, la première tentative d’invasion des fenians fut lancée non pas par les partisans de Roberts, mais par ceux de O’Mahony, leurs rivaux. Craignant de perdre du terrain au profit de Roberts, O’Mahony décida de prendre l’initiative : en avril 1866, à partir d’Eastport, dans le Maine, il organisa une attaque contre l’île de Campobello, au Nouveau-Brunswick. Croyant à tort que l’île était un territoire contesté [V. Thomas Henry Barclay], O’Mahony espérait qu’une invasion provoquerait une guerre entre les États-Unis et la Grande-Bretagne. Ce fut un désastre total : les autorités américaines interceptèrent leurs armes, les navires de guerre de la marine royale, sous la conduite du major-général Charles Hastings Doyle, les attendaient et la milice du Nouveau-Brunswick répondit à l’appel. L’invasion fut contrée avant même d’avoir commencé.

La stratégie de l’invasion semblait avoir été complètement discréditée. Sans surprise, les membres du gouvernement canadien, croyant la menace écartée, poussèrent un grand soupir de soulagement et baissèrent la garde. Cependant, contre toutes les attentes britanniques et coloniales, le fiasco d’Eastport donna aux fenians de Roberts un nouveau sentiment d’urgence ; ils sentirent qu’ils devaient agir rapidement, avant de perdre tous leurs appuis. Leur commandant, le général Thomas William Sweeny, avertit Roberts que ses hommes n’étaient pas préparés et qu’ils risquaient d’être défaits ; malgré tout, les fenians allèrent de l’avant. Dans la nuit du 31 mai 1866, un millier d’hommes sous les ordres de John O’Neill se rendirent dans la péninsule du Niagara à partir de Buffalo, dans l’État de New York. Le 2 juin, ils vainquirent les milices canadiennes commandées par le lieutenant-colonel Alfred Booker à la bataille de Ridgeway, avant de mettre en déroute le petit détachement du lieutenant-colonel John Stoughton Dennis à Fort Erie, au Canada-Ouest (Haut-Canada ; Ontario actuel). Sans renforts suffisants des États-Unis et face à la supériorité des forces britanniques, O’Neill se retrancha plus au sud. Une attaque à Pigeon Hill (Saint-Armand), au Canada-Est (Bas-Canada ; Québec actuel), une semaine plus tard, fut repoussée à la frontière [V. William Osborne Smith].

Aux États-Unis, les fenians se regroupèrent et commencèrent à réunir des fonds pour une autre tentative d’invasion. Quatre ans plus tard, en mai 1870, O’Neill était prêt à réessayer. Cependant, la participation feniane fut plus faible qu’il s’y attendait, les forces du nouveau dominion du Canada étaient prêtes à l’action et les autorités américaines commencèrent à arrêter les fenians (y compris O’Neill lui-même) pour avoir violé la proclamation de neutralité du président Ulysses S. Grant. Une attaque à partir du Vermont fut vite et facilement repoussée à Eccles Hill (Frelighsburg), au Québec, le 25 mai ; le jour suivant, un raid à partir de l’État de New York connut le même sort. La stratégie consistant à libérer l’Irlande en envahissant le Canada avait été réduite en cendres.

O’Neill ne s’avoua toutefois pas vaincu. En 1871, un ancien membre du gouvernement provisoire de Louis Riel, William Bernard O’Donoghue, présenta à la Fenian Brotherhood à New York un plan d’invasion du Manitoba. Quand l’état-major de l’organisation rejeta l’idée, O’Neill décida de mettre sur pied sa propre expédition de flibustier. Avec environ 35 hommes et comptant sur un appui important des Métis de la région, O’Neill et O’Donoghue entrèrent dans la province en octobre de la même année. Le soutien des Métis ne se concrétisa jamais, O’Neill et O’Donoghue furent arrêtés et on reconduisit les envahisseurs aux États-Unis. Il n’y eut plus d’autres tentatives d’invasion, mais l’idée resta vivante dans certains quartiers irlando-américains, et elle resurgirait pendant les conflits irlandais de 1916–1921.

Dans leur évaluation de l’impact des raids des fenians en Amérique du Nord britannique, les historiens canadiens s’entendent en général sur le fait que la tentative de s’emparer de l’île de Campobello aida à faire pencher l’opinion publique au Nouveau-Brunswick en faveur de la confédération et contribua, par le fait même, à la défaite du gouvernement d’Albert James Smith au profit du parti de Samuel Leonard Tilley qui la prônait. Comme le Nouveau-Brunswick était essentiel à la confédération, ce changement d’attitude eut une importance considérable. Les historiens admettent généralement que les raids des fenians au Canada en 1866 renforcèrent un sentiment national qui servit la cause de la confédération.

Les raids posèrent des défis significatifs aux Irlandais catholiques en Amérique du Nord britannique, qui risquaient d’être mis dans le même panier que les fenians. La plupart des Irlandais catholiques restèrent loyaux, mais une minorité non négligeable adhéra à l’idée d’une république irlandaise indépendante. Les fenians irlando-canadiens étaient divisés entre ceux qui rejetaient la stratégie de l’invasion et ceux qui l’appuyaient. La présence de sociétés secrètes fenianes au Canada alarma le gouvernement, qui, à l’hiver de 1865–1866, réorganisa et renforça sa police secrète pour contrer cette menace perçue à l’intérieur du pays et en provenance des États-Unis.

Parmi les plus grands partisans de la police secrète et de mesures fermes vis-à-vis du fenianisme figurait l’homme politique Thomas D’Arcy McGee. Ancien rebelle irlandais qui avait renié son passé révolutionnaire et était devenu un conservateur libéral, McGee soutenait que le fenianisme était irréaliste, irréligieux et immoral, et qu’il fallait l’écraser sans pitié. Bien entendu, il devint un objet de haine chez les nationalistes révolutionnaires irlandais, qui le voyaient comme un opportuniste et un traître à l’Irlande. Tôt le matin du 7 avril 1868, McGee fut assassiné à Ottawa. Patrick James Whelan, tailleur irlandais, fut arrêté, reconnu coupable du meurtre et pendu. Des preuves indirectes sérieuses indiquaient que Whelan était un fenian et qu’il avait tiré lui-même sur McGee ou fait partie d’un commando. Toutefois, Whelan nia toujours avoir appuyé sur la gâchette et les historiens restent divisés sur la question de sa responsabilité. Environ 80 000 personnes assistèrent aux funérailles de McGee à Montréal et son statut de « martyr pour la cause de son pays », selon les mots de sir John Alexander Macdonald, inspira une nouvelle génération de nationalistes canadiens.

Les textes choisis pour cet ensemble thématique reflètent l’historiographie de l’époque où ils ont été écrits (soit dans les années 1970 et 1980). Charles Perry Stacey, dans sa biographie de John O’Neill, prétend que la stratégie d’invasion des fenians était « tout à fait stupide ». Dans son compte rendu de la bataille de Ridgeway, George Graham Mainer soutient que, jusqu’à ce qu’ils commencent à manquer de munitions, les hommes d’Alfred Booker refoulaient les fenians. Carl Betke écrit, au sujet du chef de réseau d’espionnage canadien Gilbert McMicken, que certains passages de sa correspondance avec Macdonald relative aux fenians étaient « comiques ». Dans son étude sur le chef fenian torontois Michael Murphy, Wilfred S. Neidhardt affirme que « le nombre de leurs partisans en Amérique du Nord britannique ne dépassa sans doute jamais un millier ».

Tous ces points de vue ont été remis en question par les historiens, qui ont tenté d’expliquer les motivations des raids fenians, réinterprété la bataille de Ridgeway, et insisté sur le sérieux avec lequel les autorités canadiennes envisageaient le danger et sur le fait que les fenians constituaient une minorité d’Irlando-Canadiens catholiques beaucoup plus importante qu’on l’avait avoué précédemment. Pour en savoir plus sur ces interprétations révisionnistes dans leur ensemble, veuillez consulter la section intitulée « Lectures suggérées ». 

 

◀◀ ◀ 2 3 4 5 6 7  ▶▶