DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Confederation
 

Introduction

Canada is one of the oldest nations among the 193 members of the United Nations in 2017. When the architects of Canadian confederation shaped a new nation in the 1860s, they were acutely aware of the failed experiments of the United States of America and Simón Bolívar’s united Spanish America. They also understood the power of nationalism that was creating the newly united states of Germany and Italy. The promoters of confederation had visions of a similarly new Canadian nationality, expressed poetically by Thomas D’Arcy McGeepolitically by Sir John A. Macdonald and Sir George-Étienne Cartier, and musically by Henry Herbert Godfrey. Canada came together in that decade and, despite serious challenges, it has survived and grown in the 150 years that have followed confederation. In international terms, Canada’s achievement is remarkable because of the country’s endurance and increasingly democratic principles.

The biographies in this collection shed light on Canada’s successes and its failures. They also show that many Canadians have not fully shared the triumphs and benefits of Canadian residency and citizenship. The politician D’Alton McCarthy expressed the arrogance of the majority when he declared in 1887 that “it is not religion which is at the bottom of this matter but … a race feeling…. Don’t we find the French today more French than when they were conquered by [James Wolfe*] on the Plains of Abraham? Do they mix with us, assimilate…. No, everything with them is conducted on the French model; … I say that they are the great danger to the Confederacy.” McCarthy’s angry bigotry did not prevail, but anglophone journalists, religious leaders, and politicians often echoed his sentiments. Not surprisingly, British Canadian nationalism fuelled French Canadian nationalism and challenged the political bargain made at confederation.

National unity is appropriately the first topic considered in this collection. Several times in Canadian history this unity has been strained or shattered. In the first decades of confederation, francophones and Roman Catholics fought to preserve their rights as Canada expanded to the Pacific. On the journey westward, explorers and pioneers encountered, absorbed, and clashed with those who were already there. As anglophones arrived in large numbers in what would become the prairie provinces, tensions grew between the newcomers and French and Métis traders. Simultaneously, indigenous peoples found their own traditions fractured and their numbers greatly reduced as settlers’ guns and diseases and the policies of the provincial and Canadian governments took a heavy toll. The Métis leader Louis Riel represented the fears and protests of not only the indigenous peoples but also of the francophone minority. Echoes of the struggles of the 1880s have persisted throughout Canadian history, and many of the biographies presented in this collection articulate the enduring grievances.

The country’s economic development, which was epitomized by the broadening web of railways constructed before the First World War, caused many social problems but also provided the basis for their solution and the high standard of living that most Canadians have enjoyed. Canada benefited from its extraordinary wealth of natural resources and its proximity to the dynamic economy of the United States. The biographies in this collection demonstrate the remarkable ingenuity and initiative of entrepreneurs such as Sir Adam Beck, individuals who contributed greatly to creating in Canada one of the world’s most prosperous economies. Such prosperity attracted millions of immigrants who became producers and consumers and increased the wealth of their adopted land.

As immigrants arrived, empires collapsed, and the country changed, Canada’s sense of nationality was altered. The British Canadian nationalism of the 19th century weakened in the first half of the 20th century, when two world wars deeply affected Canadians’ view of what they were. In the last half of the 20th century, changes in immigration policy caused the end of the British Protestant dominance of political and economic affairs.

Canada did not celebrate the 50th anniversary of confederation in 1917: its large army was fighting in Europe while Canadians of British and French origin were quarrelling bitterly at home. Although commemoration and celebration marked the centennial in 1967, Canada was struggling with the threat of Quebec separation, and Prime Minister Lester Bowles Pearson believed that the country was facing the greatest crisis of its history. In 2017 that threat has waned, and a different Canada has begun to express a vibrant sense of a new nationality. Its shape only the future knows. 

 

Provinces and Territories in Confederation 

Date

Province or Territory

1 July 1867

New Brunswick

Nova Scotia

Ontario

Quebec

15 July 1870

Manitoba

North-West Territories

(The name was changed to Northwest Territories in 1912) 

20 July 1871

British Columbia

1 July 1873

Prince Edward Island

13 June 1898

Yukon

1 September 1905

Alberta

Saskatchewan

31 March 1949

Newfoundland

1 April 1999

Nunavut

 

◀◀ ◀ 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ▶▶

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

LÉVESQUE, RENÉ – Volume XXI (1981-1990)

Semaine de l’histoire du Canada 2017

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

La Confédération
 

Introduction

Parmi les 193 membres que comptent les Nations Unies en 2017, le Canada est l’une des plus vieilles nations. Pendant sa conception, dans les années 1860, les architectes de la confédération canadienne gardaient en mémoire les expériences infructueuses des États-Unis d’Amérique et de l’Amérique latine unie de Simón Bolívar, et connaissaient le pouvoir du nationalisme dans la création des États unifiés allemand et italien. Les promoteurs de la confédération avaient une vision d’une nouvelle nationalité canadienne similaire, qui s’exprima poétiquement avec Thomas D’Arcy McGee, politiquement avec sir John Alexander Macdonald et sir George-Étienne Cartier, et musicalement avec Henry Herbert Godfrey. L’union qui donna lieu au Canada se produisit pendant cette décennie ; en dépit de sérieux défis, le pays survit et prospère depuis la Confédération, soit depuis 150 ans. À l’échelle internationale, la réussite du Canada, issue de sa ténacité et de ses principes démocratiques, est remarquable.

Les biographies de cet ensemble thématique mettent en lumière les succès et les échecs du Canada. Elles montrent aussi que beaucoup de Canadiens ne profitèrent pas pleinement des avantages de la résidence et de la citoyenneté canadiennes. L’homme politique D’Alton McCarthy reflétait l’arrogance de la majorité quand il affirma, en 1887 : « [Ce] n’est pas la religion qui est au fond de cette affaire, mais [...] un sentiment de race [...] Ne voyons-nous pas qu’aujourd’hui les [Canadiens] Français sont plus français qu’au moment où Wolfe [James Wolfe*] les a conquis sur les plaines d’Abraham ? Se mêlent-ils à nous, s’assimilent-ils […] Non, ils font tout selon le modèle français ; [...] je dis que ce sont eux qui menacent le plus la Confédération. » L’intolérance pleine de colère de McCarthy ne prédominait pas, mais les journalistes, les chefs religieux et les hommes politiques anglophones y firent souvent écho. Sans surprise, le nationalisme canadien-britannique alimenta le nationalisme canadien-français et remit en cause l’entente politique conclue au moment de la Confédération.

L’unité nationale est, à juste titre, le premier sujet abordé. À plusieurs reprises dans l’histoire canadienne, elle fut mise à l’épreuve ou détruite. Pendant les premières décennies de la Confédération, alors que le Canada s’étendait vers le Pacifique, les francophones et les catholiques luttèrent pour préserver leurs droits. Au cours de leur avancée vers l’ouest, les explorateurs et les pionniers assimilèrent ou affrontèrent ceux qu’ils trouvèrent sur leur route. Quand les anglophones arrivèrent en grand nombre dans ce qui deviendrait les provinces des Prairies, les tensions s’accrurent entre les nouveaux venus et les commerçants français et métis. Simultanément, les peuples autochtones virent leurs traditions brisées et leur population se réduisit considérablement : les fusils et les maladies des colons, et les politiques des gouvernements des provinces et du Canada firent des ravages. Le chef métis Louis Riel exprimait les craintes et les protestations non seulement des autochtones, mais aussi de la minorité francophone. Les luttes des années 1880 eurent des répercussions tout au long de l’histoire canadienne, et beaucoup des biographies présentées ici font ressortir les griefs persistants.

Le développement économique du pays, parfaitement symbolisé par l’expansion du réseau ferroviaire construit avant la Première Guerre mondiale, engendra de nombreux problèmes sociaux ; cependant, il fournit également les premiers moyens pour les résoudre, ainsi que les conditions élevées du niveau de vie dont jouissent la plupart des Canadiens à ce jour. Le Canada bénéficia de son extraordinaire richesse en ressources naturelles et de la proximité de l’économie dynamique des États-Unis. Dans cet ensemble thématique, les biographies montrent l’ingéniosité et l’initiative remarquables d’entrepreneurs, comme sir Adam Beck, qui contribuèrent grandement à faire de l’économie du Canada l’une des plus florissantes au monde. Cette prospérité attira des millions d’immigrants ; ceux-ci devinrent des producteurs et des consommateurs, et enrichirent ainsi leur pays d’adoption.

Au Canada, le sentiment national changea au fur et à mesure que les immigrants arrivaient, que des empires s’écroulaient et que le pays se transformait. Dans la première moitié du xxe siècle, le nationalisme canadien-britannique du siècle précédent faiblit : les deux guerres mondiales métamorphosèrent la manière dont les Canadiens se percevaient eux-mêmes. Au cours de la seconde moitié du xxe siècle, des modifications aux politiques d’immigration menèrent à la fin de la domination protestante britannique dans les affaires politiques et économiques.

Le Canada ne célébra pas le cinquantième anniversaire de la Confédération en 1917 : sa grande armée combattait alors en Europe, tandis que les Canadiens d’origine britannique et française se querellaient amèrement au pays. En 1967, on commémora et célébra le centenaire, même si le Canada affrontait la menace de la séparation du Québec et que, selon le premier ministre Lester Bowles Pearson, le pays connaissait la pire crise de son histoire. En 2017, cette menace est moins présente, et un Canada différent a commencé à exprimer un vif sentiment national. Seul l’avenir dira quelle forme prendra le pays.

 

Entrée dans la Confédération

Date

Province ou territoire

1er juillet 1867

Nouveau-Brunswick

Nouvelle-Écosse

Ontario

Québec

15 juillet 1870

Manitoba

Territoires du Nord-Ouest

20 juillet 1871

Colombie-Britannique

1er juillet 1873

Île-du-Prince-Édouard

13 juin 1898

Territoire du Yukon

1er septembre 1905

Alberta

Saskatchewan

31 mars 1949

Terre-Neuve

1er avril 1999

Nunavut

 

◀◀ ◀ 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ▶▶