DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

NAHNEBAHWEQUAY – Volume IX (1861-1870)

d. 26 Sept. 1865 in Sarawak Township, Canada West

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Sir John A. Macdonald
 

Introduction

A master of the art of compromise and a brilliant tactical politician, Sir John A. Macdonald played a pivotal role in the formation, consolidation, and expansion of the Canadian confederation. His career generated – and continues to generate – considerable controversy. Macdonald has been revered as “the man who made Canada” by author Richard Gwyn (in John A.: the man who made us, the life and times of John A. Macdonald, the first volume of his two-part series, published in Toronto in 2007) and reviled as an instigator of the “ethnic cleansing and genocide” of aboriginal peoples by Professor James Daschuk (in “When Canada used hunger to clear the west,” Globe and Mail, 19 July 2013).

Drawing mostly on biographies of Macdonald and his contemporaries that were written for the Dictionary of Canadian Biography/Dictionnaire biographique du Canada during the 1980s, this collection examines the relationship between his political career and the broad issues facing British North America during the 19th century.

We begin with perspectives on his personality, his troubled family life, and his reputation as a serious drinker. Only his second wife, Susan Agnes Bernard (Macdonald), could control him when he was drinking, and even she could not always cope. In Kingston, Upper Canada (Canada West; present-day Ontario), Macdonald became a successful lawyer, and in 1844, at the age of 29, he was elected to the legislature of the Province of Canada. Three years later he became a cabinet minister in the governments headed by William Henry Draper and Henry Sherwood, and from 1854 to 1867 (with brief pauses in 1858 and 1862–64) he served as attorney general for Canada West. By 1856 he had become the leader of the Canada West section of the government.

Macdonald was a pragmatic politician, eschewing abstract principles and adapting to changing circumstances. A member of the Orange order, he nevertheless supported separate schools for Roman Catholics in Canada West. Initially an opponent of responsible government, he quickly accepted the new reality and established an effective alliance with George-Étienne Cartier and the Bleus in Canada East (Lower Canada; present-day Quebec).

The focus of this collection of biographies then shifts to the connection of the North American colonies with Great Britain, their relationship with the United States, and what proved to be the political response: confederation. Macdonald held that Canada must maintain its close connection with Great Britain, and that constitutional traditions were the best guarantee of individual liberty. Although he believed that a legislative union was the best protection against the United States, he agreed to form a coalition with Reform leader George Brown to seek a federal solution to Canada’s political problems. Macdonald played a key role in the Charlottetown and Quebec conferences of 1864. According to Thomas D’Arcy McGee, he was responsible for 50 of the 72 resolutions at the Quebec conference that established the constitutional framework for confederation.

As prime minister of the new dominion from 1867 to 1873, and again from 1878 until his death in 1891, Macdonald exerted enormous influence on its political and economic development. Under his leadership, Canada acquired Rupert’s Land, and thus ensured that the northwest would not fall into the hands of the United States. But in the Red River colony, Canadian expansion produced a conflict in 186970 with the Métis, headed by Louis Riel, over land rights. Although Macdonald initially failed to grasp the seriousness of the situation, he and Cartier would incorporate some of Riel’s demands into the act that brought Manitoba into confederation in 1870. Fifteen years later, similar issues related to land surveys and titles, exacerbated by conditions of near-starvation on aboriginal reserves, lay behind the North-West rebellion in what would become, in 1905, the provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan. Nine leaders were executed: eight aboriginals, including Wandering Spirit, and Louis Riel. Despite pressure from French Canada, Macdonald refused to commute Riel’s sentence – a decision that damaged the Quebec branch of the Conservative Party, and paved the way for the rise of Honoré Mercier’s Parti National. Macdonald’s reputation in Quebec was weakened further by his refusal in 1890 to use the federal power to protect separate schools in Manitoba [see Thomas Greenway].

Central to Macdonald’s vision for Canada was what became known as his National Policy. Protective tariffs would safeguard Canada from the economic power of the United States, and a transcontinental railway would strengthen the east–west connection, bring British Columbia into confederation, ensure economic modernization, and promote settlement in the North-West Territories (present-day Saskatchewan and Alberta). The policy largely succeeded in its aims, but it was also associated with the Pacific Scandal that brought down Macdonald’s government in 1873, with immigration policies that excluded the Chinese from the vote, and with the use of hunger to force aboriginal peoples onto reserves and thus clear the way for the railway’s construction.

Finally, there is an exploration of Macdonald’s hold on power. Like all other political groups, the Conservatives attempted to strengthen their grip on the government and the country by influencing the press and pulling the wires of patronage. Macdonald, as their leader, managed contentious policies and fractious followers, worked closely with allies in Quebec, and dealt with enemies in other parties. He was still prime minister when he died in 1891, and the “Old Man” of the Conservative Party was mourned by its supporters across the nation he helped to create.

We invite you to read about the different perspectives on Macdonald that appear in our biographies, and to form your own judgement of the man and his world.

 

◀◀ ◀ 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ▶▶

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

BONHOMME, Beaupré, NOËL – Volume III (1741-1770)

décédé le 29 mai 1755 à l’Ancienne-Lorette

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Sir John Alexander Macdonald
 

Introduction

Maître dans l’art du compromis et brillant stratège politique, sir John Alexander Macdonald joua un rôle clé dans la formation, la consolidation et l’expansion de la Confédération canadienne. Sa carrière souleva – et soulève encore – une controverse considérable. L’auteur Richard Gwyn rend hommage à Macdonald, « l’homme qui fit le Canada » (dans John A. : the man who made us, the life and times of John A. Macdonald, premier de deux tomes publiés à Toronto en 2007), tandis que le professeur James Daschuk le vilipende en le qualifiant d’instigateur du « nettoyage ethnique et [du] génocide » des peuples autochtones (dans « When Canada used hunger to clear the west », Globe and Mail, 19 juillet 2013).

Largement inspiré de la biographie de Macdonald et de celles de ses contemporains rédigées pour le Dictionnaire biographique du Canada/Dictionary of Canadian Biography dans les années 1980, le présent ensemble thématique examine la relation entre sa carrière politique et les grandes questions qui touchèrent l’Amérique du Nord britannique au cours du xixe siècle.

L’ensemble thématique aborde en premier lieu des aspects de la personnalité de Macdonald, sa vie familiale tourmentée et sa réputation de buveur invétéré. Seule sa deuxième femme, Susan Agnes Bernard (Macdonald), pouvait le maîtriser quand il buvait ; elle-même n’y arrivait pas toujours. À Kingston, dans le Haut-Canada (Canada-Ouest, Ontario actuel), Macdonald devint un avocat prospère et, en 1844, à l’âge de 29 ans, il fut élu à l’Assemblée législative de la province du Canada. Trois ans plus tard, il accéda au cabinet dans les gouvernements de William Henry Draper et de Henry Sherwood, et, de 1854 à 1867 (avec deux courtes pauses, l’une en 1858 et l’autre de 1862 à 1864), il exerça les fonctions de procureur général pour le Canada-Ouest. En 1856, il était devenu chef de la section du Canada-Ouest du gouvernement.

Macdonald était un homme politique doué de sens pratique ; il évitait les principes abstraits et s’adaptait au changement. Membre de l’ordre d’Orange, il appuya tout de même le maintien d’écoles séparées pour les catholiques du Canada-Ouest. D’abord opposé au gouvernement responsable, il accepta rapidement la nouvelle réalité et noua une alliance véritable avec George-Étienne Cartier et les « bleus » du Canada-Est (Bas-Canada, Québec actuel).

L’ensemble thématique traite ensuite de la relation des colonies de l’Amérique du Nord avec la Grande-Bretagne, de leurs liens avec les États-Unis et de la réponse politique qui s’ensuivit : la Confédération. Macdonald soutenait que le Canada devait maintenir des liens étroits avec la Grande-Bretagne et que les traditions constitutionnelles fournissaient la garantie par excellence des libertés individuelles. Même s’il croyait qu’une union législative était la meilleure protection contre les États-Unis, il accepta de former une coalition avec le chef réformiste George Brown pour chercher une solution fédérale aux problèmes politiques du Canada. Macdonald joua un rôle crucial pendant les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864. Selon Thomas D’Arcy McGee, 50 des 72 résolutions adoptées à la conférence de Québec, qui servirent de pierre d’assise au cadre constitutionnel de la Confédération, lui sont attribuables.

À titre de premier ministre du nouveau dominion de 1867 à 1873 et, de nouveau, de 1878 à sa mort en 1891, Macdonald exerça une influence profonde sur son développement politique et économique. Sous sa direction, le Canada acquit Rupert’s Land, s’assurant ainsi que le Nord-Ouest ne tomberait pas entre les mains des États-Unis. Dans la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge, l’expansion du Canada provoqua toutefois un conflit en 1869−1870 avec les Métis, menés par Louis Riel, au sujet des droits fonciers. Même si Macdonald ne saisit pas le sérieux de la situation au départ, Cartier et lui intégreraient certaines exigences de Riel dans la loi qui amena le Manitoba au sein de la Confédération en 1870. Quinze ans plus tard, des problèmes semblables liés à l’arpentage et aux titres, exacerbés par des conditions de quasi-famine dans les réserves autochtones, donnèrent lieu à la rébellion du Nord-Ouest sur le territoire qui deviendrait, en 1905, les provinces de l’Alberta et de la Saskatchewan. On exécuta neuf meneurs : huit autochtones, dont Esprit Errant, et Louis Riel. Malgré les pressions du Canada français, Macdonald refusa de commuer la sentence de Riel, décision qui nuisit à l’aile du Parti conservateur dans la province de Québec et contribua à l’essor du Parti national d’Honoré Mercier. La réputation de Macdonald au Québec déclina davantage après son refus, en 1890, d’utiliser le pouvoir fédéral pour protéger les écoles séparées du Manitoba [V. Thomas Greenway].

L’élément central de la vision de Macdonald pour le Canada était ce qu’on appela sa Politique nationale. Des tarifs douaniers protectionnistes prémuniraient le Canada contre la puissance économique des États-Unis et un chemin de fer transcontinental renforcerait les relations est-ouest, amènerait la Colombie-Britannique dans la Confédération, assurerait la modernisation de l’économie et favoriserait la colonisation dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest (aujourd’hui la Saskatchewan et l’Alberta). La politique atteignit ses objectifs en grande partie, mais elle fut aussi associée au scandale du Pacifique – qui fit tomber le gouvernement de Macdonald en 1873 –, à des politiques sur l’immigration qui interdisaient le droit de vote aux Chinois, et à l’usage de la famine pour confiner les peuples autochtones dans des réserves et ainsi dégager la voie pour la construction du chemin de fer.

Enfin, l’ensemble explore la mainmise de Macdonald sur le pouvoir. Comme tous les autres groupes politiques, les conservateurs tentèrent de resserrer leur emprise sur le gouvernement et le pays en influençant la presse et en tirant les ficelles du favoritisme. En sa qualité de chef, Macdonald gérait des politiques controversées et maîtrisait des partisans indociles, travaillait étroitement avec des alliés dans la province de Québec et faisait face à des ennemis dans d’autres partis. En 1891, au moment de sa mort, il était toujours premier ministre. Partout dans le pays qu’il avait contribué à créer, ses supporteurs pleurèrent le « vieux routier » du Parti conservateur.

Nous vous invitons à prendre connaissance des différentes facettes de sir John Alexander Macdonald présentées dans nos biographies, et à former votre propre jugement sur l’homme et son univers. 

 

◀◀ ◀ 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ▶▶