DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

LONGLEY, AVARD – Volume XI (1881-1890)

b. 22 Feb. 1823 at Paradise, Annapolis County, N.S.; d. 22 Feb. 1884 in Paradise

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Sir Wilfrid Laurier
Original title:  Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Source: Link

 

A legend in his time, Sir Wilfrid Laurier evolved as a politician over a period of 48 years, which included 15 years as prime minister and 32 years at the helm of the federal Liberal Party. He belonged to the first generation of politicians who worked in the Canada conceived by the Fathers of Confederation. This thematic ensemble gives an overview of his life and public career. Its seven sections explore illustrative moments in the history of Canada and tell of the words and deeds of the first French Canadian to become prime minister of this country.

After articling in the firm of Toussaint-Antoine-Rodolphe Laflamme, Laurier became a lawyer in 1864 and would practise law for some 30 years during his political career. He was invited by Laflamme to join the Canadian Institute, a Montreal literary circle and salon of Rouge sympathizers, where he became an active member and met influential intellectuals such as the brothers Joseph and Gonzalve Doutre. To this legal facet of his career we must add journalism. Together with associates and colleagues such as Pierre-Joseph Guitté and Médéric Lanctot, Laurier used newspaper articles to express his initial opposition to confederation and set out his views on liberalism and current political issues. “Laurier liberalism,” which evolved over time, ultimately rested on civil and religious liberties allied to the principles of tolerance, conciliation, and compromise, as he stated in a memorable speech in Quebec City on 26 June 1877. When he became a prominent politician as well as the owner of a newspaper at the end of the 19th century, Laurier, in keeping with journalistic practices of the times, intervened in matters of content, issuing directives to editors such as Ernest Pacaud.

Laurier worked his way up in politics, backed by a vast network of friends and advisers such as Laurent-Olivier David and Charles-Alphonse-Pantaléon Pelletier. Elected for the first time in 1871 to the Legislative Assembly of the Province of Quebec, he was re-elected in 1874, this time to the House of Commons, where he would spend the rest of his career. He was minister of inland revenue in 1877–78, but spent the better part of his first 25 years in parliament on the opposition benches.

Laurier was head of the Liberal Party of Canada from 1887 to 1919. His pragmatism in politics, combined with the organizational talents of men such as James David Edgar, Rodolphe Lemieux, and Ernest Lapointe, helped to transform the party into a truly national organization better positioned to win elections. To achieve this goal, and wishing to contribute to the rapprochement between French and English Canadians, Laurier relied on strengthening the unity of the nation and the unity of his party. These leading principles guided his political acts and shaped, in particular, his conception of Canadian federalism. As well, these principles were essential to Laurier’s efforts to develop an advantageous association with his own province and a means to better the relations of Roman Catholic religious authorities with Quebec and with the rest of Canada. 

As prime minister from 1896 to 1911, Laurier was in command of his followers, and he confronted a series of challenges in masterful style. The biographies of Andrew George Blair, Joseph-Israël Tarte, and Simon-Napoléon Parent illustrate the importance Laurier attached to ministerial solidarity and his diligent practice of distributing favours. While typical of the politics of the time, patronage nevertheless became a source of scandal and controversy for the Laurier government. For example, the biography of Henry Robert Emmerson shows that he plunged the Liberal cabinet into embarrassment more than once. Laurier, however, was never personally implicated in these matters. 

Among the priorities of the Laurier government were economic development and the extension of settlement westward, activities in which the ministers William Stevens Fielding and Clifford Sifton played leading roles. To achieve these ends, Laurier specifically implemented policies on openness to immigration, the modernization of agriculture, and the construction of new transportation infrastructure. He wanted, among other things, his name and memory to be associated with the building of a transcontinental railway, especially given that the Canadian Pacific Railway Company could no longer move all the country’s industrial products and agricultural goods. This new line, the National Transcontinental, which Laurier described in 1903 as an “absolute necessity,” was for him the best symbol of the success of liberalism, material values, and, ultimately, progress.

Railway entrepreneurs such as Charles Melville Hays of the Grand Trunk Railway, in whom Laurier had confidence, contributed to this second transcontinental line while Donald Mann and William Mackenzie, of the rival Canadian Northern Railway, were able to build their own line. At the time, Canada, particularly in the east, was noticeably characterized by urbanization and industrial expansion, and the prime minister wanted to emphasize his country’s entry into the 20th century.

All these changes did not occur without turmoil for aboriginal peoples. To favour the economic interests and ensure the safety of the settlers and prospectors who, in this period, rushed towards the natural resources of the North-West Territories, which did not yet belong to confederation, the Laurier administration concluded Treaty No.8 with natives in 1899 [see David Laird; James Andrew Joseph McKenna; Mostos; Sir Clifford Sifton]. For aboriginals, who believed that the agreement would ensure peace and friendship with the whites, the main result was the transfer of large swathes of their territory, constituting what are now areas of northern British Columbia, Alberta, and Saskatchewan, and a part of the southern Northwest Territories. In exchange for the land, the federal government guaranteed annuity instalments, the protection of hunting, fishing, and trapping rights, and a reconsideration of the principle behind – and the method for allocating – reserves. Aboriginals would later see this treaty as unfair. Moreover, the repressive policy of the Department of Indian Affairs (including, for example, the placement of children in residential schools designed to assimilate them into Euro-Canadian culture and sanctions against traditional dances) continued under the reign of Laurier's Liberals [see Ahchuchwahauhhatohapit; Matokinajin; Mékaisto]. For asserting their rights to have their economic system and their lifestyles protected, aboriginals found in Lord Minto, governor general of Canada, a defender of their cause in dealing with the government.

Laurier was also anxious to increase his country’s autonomy on the international stage. He wished to maintain the link with the British empire until Canada was strong enough to assume what the prime minister considered its destiny. With this course of action, he hoped to calm the imperialist sentiments of some English Canadians (imperial nationalists). Yet he took care not to alienate those French Canadians who were reluctant to take part in imperial wars (Canadian nationalists). A pertinent example of this approach is the episode of his handling of the Boer War (1899–1902). After indicating that his decision would not constitute a precedent for the future, Laurier authorized the raising and deployment to South Africa of military contingents composed mainly of English-speaking volunteers under British command. Furthermore, his government worked to settle border disputes with the United States and established a Department of External Affairs in 1909. Earlier, the prime minister had relied on the advice and negotiating skills of Louis-Philippe Brodeur, William Stevens Fielding, George Christie Gibbons, and Joseph Pope, who became the first deputy secretary of state in the new department. 

Laurier was less successful in defending the right to separate schools for Roman Catholic minorities outside Quebec. For example, the regulation set forth in the Laurier–Greenway agreement of 1896, which confirmed that Manitoba’s separate schools would not be reinstated while allowing Roman Catholic religious instruction under strict conditions, illustrates Laurier’s method of achieving political compromise. Through a series of modest arrangements, the prime minister hoped to satisfy the Roman Catholic minority while bending to the will of the Protestant majority in Manitoba.

The Manitoba school question brings to mind certain arrangements that prevailed during the creation of the provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan in 1905, and they led to another crisis for the rights of Roman Catholic minorities. Contrary to a federal law of 1875 that guaranteed subsidized separate schools for the Catholic minority in the North-West Territories, the territorial government had imposed ordinances in 1892 and 1901 that made it increasingly difficult for such schools to exist [see Charles-Borromée Rouleau; Sir Clifford Sifton]. In 1905 these restrictions were becoming a status quo imposed on the minority. Hoping that he would not be compelled to use them as a shield, Laurier tried, this time, to give precedence to article 93 of the British North America Act. According to his interpretation, it stipulated that separate schools located in a province or territory that wished to join confederation had to be protected. Once again confronted with a rebellion in his own cabinet, Laurier ultimately had to comply with the 1892 and 1901 laws, all the while maintaining his desire for obtaining a separate Roman Catholic school system that would be as similar as possible to the one guaranteed in the 1875 federal statute. He emerged from the episode politically weakened. Moreover, this latest case led Henri Bourassa, mentor to the Canadian nationalist movement, as well as many French Canadian Catholics, to accuse Laurier of having made too many concessions to the Anglo-Protestant majority to preserve national unity, thereby threatening the bicultural character of Canada as envisioned by the Fathers of Confederation. These events illustrate once again Laurier’s desire to choose the path of pragmatism as a tool to resolve these crises. 

In 1912, when the government of Ontario imposed Regulation 17 on the French Canadian minority, limiting French to being the language of instruction in only the first two years of elementary school, Laurier adopted a different attitude. In 1916 he vigorously defended the rights of Franco-Ontarians by means of the motion made by mp Ernest Lapointe, which exhorted the Ontario government to reconsider Regulation 17. Two reasons may explain Laurier’s about-face. He had had enough of yielding, since the late 19th century, to the opinions voiced by Orangemen such as D'Alton McCarthy, who advocated a Canadian society unified by language and religion. Moreover, since Regulation 17 was imposed in Ontario, home to more than 200,000 of his francophone compatriots, Laurier thought that the spectre of anglicization was so geographically close to the province of Quebec that it would deal a fatal blow to the future of French Canadians.

Support for the proposed solutions to these complex problems was not unanimous; the already-deep divisions between francophones and anglophones in Canada were accentuated. The creation of a navy in 1910 further fanned discontent among Canadian nationalists and imperialist nationalists who were displeased that Laurier would not moderate his policy of compromise. According to the former, Laurier’s bill had blindly committed Canada to imperial military adventures, while the latter accused him of not doing enough. Canada’s trade relations with the United States further infuriated imperialist nationalists. Prime Minister Laurier was not able to implement a reciprocity treaty with the United States because industrialists and imperialists feared that it would destroy the Canadian economic structure. The imperialists also feared that reciprocity would weaken Canada’s ties with the empire. These two issues, the navy and reciprocity, were at the heart of the federal election of 1911

Worn out by 15 years in power and having been unable, among other things, to respond adequately to the expectations of certain interest groups or adjust their laissez-faire 19th-century liberalism to the realities of a society undergoing profound change, the Liberals suffered defeat. In particular, Laurier had presumed that Canadians would be satisfied with the timid social reforms he had put in place to address urban and industrial problems, such as the chronic poverty of the lower classes and difficult working conditions in the manufacturing sector. Opponents of the prime minister had promised to attack him on all these issues, and they kept their word. The Conservatives, led by Robert Laird Borden, won the election.

Wanting above all to regain power, Laurier remained at the head of his party and regrouped. He attempted to organize the opposition, notably with the help of fiery mps such as William Pugsley in the House of Commons and, especially, in the Liberal-majority Senate with Sir George William Ross as head of the parliamentary wing. Laurier, who had turned 70 in November 1911, surprised many with his vigour. He staunchly resisted military conscription during the First World War; the issue led to one of the worst political crises in Canadian history and to division within his party. The Unionist victory in the federal election of 1917, the last contest in which Laurier took part, revealed a clear, dramatic division between francophones and anglophones, with the francophone electorate of the province of Quebec standing solidly behind him. Such national fragmentation, along with the split of the Liberal Party, dealt a major blow to the fundamental goals of the Liberal leader’s career. At his death in February 1919, the unity of the country and of his party appeared to be on very shaky ground. 

Laurier’s place in history remains that of a nation builder. His tremendous popularity led to his victories in four consecutive elections. Historian and biographer Réal Bélanger presents the following portrait of the man: 

“Despite disappointments and often justified criticisms, Laurier was already a legend; he had gradually achieved the stature of a giant, a symbol personified. And what an engaging personality! Few people at the turn of the century could resist his charm and courtesy. When necessary, Laurier was able to abandon his prime ministerial ways for a simplicity that won over the most obdurate hearts. His disarming frankness despite his subterfuges, his exceptional honesty in a rather lax environment, his respect for others regardless of differences of opinion, his unshakeable loyalty to the Liberal cause and to his friends, his determination and firmness despite moments of discouragement and the limits already mentioned, all aroused the admiration of many Canadians. Even his opponents were captivated.… Laurier indeed was not of a piece. He did not see things in black and white, and no doubt he had developed a personality that enabled him to face the complexity and harshness of his milieu at any time. He was nevertheless a man of honour, generous, enamoured of liberty, and able to confer nobility on the causes he supported. A humanist, he found arrogance, bigotry, and intolerance repugnant.”

 

The biographies included in this thematic ensemble shed light on Laurier and on a turning point in Canada’s development. We invite you to learn about the life of the individual whom Lord Minto once described as by “far the biggest man in Canada.” According to his biographer, “this was the portrait of Sir Wilfrid Laurier that in the end has remained in the collective memory.” 

◀◀ ◀ 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ▶▶

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

ULOQSAQ – Volume XV (1921-1930)

décédé le 24 septembre 1929 à l’établissement de Coppermine (Kugluktuk, Nuvavut)

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Sir Wilfrid Laurier
Titre original :  Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Provenance : Lien


Légende de son vivant, sir Wilfrid Laurier a évolué en politique pendant 48 ans, dont 15 à titre de premier ministre du Canada et 32 à la barre du Parti libéral fédéral. Il a fait partie de la première génération d’hommes politiques qui ont œuvré dans le Canada conçu par les Pères de la Confédération. Le présent ensemble thématique fait la synthèse de sa vie et de sa carrière. Les sept sections qui le composent explorent des moments emblématiques de l’histoire du Canada, de même que les faits et gestes du premier Canadien français à occuper la fonction de premier ministre dans ce pays.

Après son stage de droit dans le cabinet de Toussaint-Antoine-Rodolphe Laflamme, Laurier devient avocat en 1864. Il pratiquera cette profession pendant une trentaine d’années, parallèlement à sa carrière politique. Invité par Laflamme à se joindre à l’Institut canadien, cercle littéraire et foyer du rougisme montréalais, Laurier y participe activement et y fait la connaissance d’influents intellectuels, tels les frères Joseph et Gonzalve Doutre. Au volet juridique de sa carrière professionnelle s’ajoute celui du journalisme, au moyen duquel Laurier exprime ses idées sur son opposition initiale à la confédération, le libéralisme et les affaires politiques courantes, aux côtés d’associés et de collègues comme Pierre-Joseph Guitté et Médéric Lanctot. Le libéralisme « laurieriste », qui évoluera avec le temps, s’appuiera finalement sur les libertés civile et religieuse, alliées aux principes de tolérance, de conciliation et de compromis, tel que Laurier le précise à Québec le 26 juin 1877 dans un discours mémorable. Lorsqu’il devient propriétaire de journal et politicien bien en vue, à la fin du xixe siècle, Laurier, conformément aux pratiques journalistiques d’alors, intervient dans le contenu en donnant ses directives à des rédacteurs en chef tel Ernest Pacaud.

Laurier gravit les échelons de la politique, soutenu entre autres par un vaste réseau d’amis et de conseillers, comme Laurent-Olivier David et Charles-Alphonse-Pantaléon Pelletier. Élu pour la première fois en 1871, au Parlement de la province de Québec, il se fait élire de nouveau en 1874, cette fois à la Chambre des communes, où il passera le reste de sa carrière. Ministre du Revenu de l’intérieur en 1877–1878, il vit l’essentiel de ses 25 premières années parlementaires sur les banquettes de l’opposition.

Laurier est chef du Parti libéral du Canada de 1887 à 1919. Son pragmatisme en politique, combiné aux talents d’organisateurs tels James David Edgar, Rodolphe Lemieux et Ernest Lapointe, lui permet de transformer le parti en une véritable formation nationale susceptible de remporter des élections. Pour ce faire, Laurier mise sur le renforcement de l’unité nationale et de l’unité de son parti, souhaitant ainsi concourir au rapprochement entre Canadiens français et Canadiens anglais. Ces grands principes guident son action politique et façonnent, notamment, sa conception du fédéralisme canadien. Ils contribuent également au développement d’une relation privilégiée avec sa province d’origine et à un meilleur encadrement de ses rapports avec les autorités religieuses catholiques au Québec comme ailleurs au Canada.

Premier ministre de 1896 à 1911, Laurier se révèle le seul maître de l’administration : c’est ainsi qu’il affronte une série de défis. Les biographies d’Andrew George Blair, de Joseph-Israël Tarte et de Simon-Napoléon Parent illustrent l’importance qu’accorde Laurier à la solidarité ministérielle, ainsi que sa pratique assidue de la distribution de faveurs. Ancré dans les mœurs politiques de l’époque, le favoritisme n’en est pas moins source de scandales et de controverses pour le gouvernement Laurier. Par exemple, la biographie d’Henry Robert Emmerson montre que ce dernier plonge le cabinet libéral dans l’embarras à plus d’une reprise. Jamais, cependant, Laurier n’est personnellement touché par ces problèmes.

Parmi les priorités du gouvernement Laurier figurent le développement économique et l’expansion du peuplement de l’Ouest, dans lesquels les ministres William Stevens Fielding et Clifford Sifton jouent des rôles de premier plan. Pour ce faire, Laurier met en œuvre plusieurs politiques, dont l’ouverture à l’immigration, la modernisation de l’agriculture et la construction de nouvelles infrastructures de transport. Il veut, entre autres choses, associer son nom et sa mémoire à l’édification d’un chemin de fer transcontinental, notamment parce que celui qu’administre la Compagnie du chemin de fer canadien du Pacifique ne parvient plus à transporter toutes les productions industrielles et agricoles. Cette nouvelle ligne, le National Transcontinental, que Laurier qualifiait en 1903 d’« absolue nécessité », constitue pour lui le symbole par excellence de la réussite du libéralisme, des valeurs matérielles et, ultimement, du progrès.

Des entrepreneurs ferroviaires tels que Charles Melville Hays, de la compagnie du Grand Tronc, en qui Laurier a confiance, contribuent au second transcontinental. Donald Mann et William Mackenzie, de la compagnie rivale Canadian Northern Railway, construisent eux aussi leur propre ligne. À l’époque de Laurier, le Canada est également résolument marqué par l’expansion industrielle et l’urbanisation, en particulier dans l’est du pays. Le premier ministre veut ainsi souligner l’entrée de son pays dans le xxe siècle.

Tous ces changements ne sont pas sans bouleversements pour les nations amérindiennes. Dans le but de privilégier les intérêts économiques et de garantir la sécurité des colons et prospecteurs en cette période de ruée vers les ressources naturelles des territoires non organisés du Nord-Ouest, l’administration Laurier conclut, en 1899, le traité no 8 avec certaines populations autochtones [V. David Laird ; James Andrew Joseph McKenna Mostos ; sir Clifford Sifton]. Pour ces dernières, qui croient que l’accord pourra assurer la paix et l’amitié avec les Blancs, la principale conséquence est la cession de leurs titres sur de larges pans de territoires qui constituent l’actuel nord de la Colombie-Britannique, de l’Alberta, de la Saskatchewan et d’une portion du sud des Territoires du Nord-Ouest. En échange de ces terres, le gouvernement fédéral garantit aux autochtones des versements d’annuités, un remodelage du principe et de la méthode d’attribution des réserves, et la protection des droits de chasse, de pêche et de trappage. Ultérieurement, les Amérindiens estimeront que le traité les a défavorisés. Par ailleurs, la politique répressive du département des Affaires indiennes (placement d’enfants dans des pensionnats en vue de les assimiler à la culture eurocanadienne, sanctions contre les danses traditionnelles, par exemple) se poursuit sous le règne des libéraux de Laurier [V. Ahchuchwahauhhatohapit Matokinajin Mékaisto]. Pour faire valoir leurs droits à la protection de leur système économique et de leurs modes de vie, les Amérindiens trouvent en lord Minto, gouverneur général du Canada, un défenseur de leur cause auprès du gouvernement.

Laurier est soucieux d’accroître l’autonomie de son pays sur la scène internationale. Il souhaite maintenir le lien avec l’Empire britannique jusqu’au moment où le Canada sera assez fort pour assumer ce que le premier ministre croit être sa destinée. En agissant ainsi, il espère calmer les sentiments impérialistes de certains Canadiens anglais (nationalistes impérialistes), ce qui ne l’empêche pas de prendre garde de s’aliéner les Canadiens français réticents à une participation aux guerres impériales (nationalistes canadiens) ; c’est ainsi, par exemple, qu’il gère l’épisode de la guerre des Boers (1899–1902). Après avoir indiqué que son action ne constitue nullement un précédent pour l’avenir, Laurier autorise la levée et le déploiement en Afrique du Sud de contingents militaires composés de volontaires essentiellement anglophones et pris en charge par la Grande-Bretagne. Par ailleurs, le gouvernement Laurier travaille au règlement de contentieux frontaliers avec les États-Unis et établit un ministère des Affaires extérieures en 1909. Avant cette création, le premier ministre a aussi pu compter sur les conseils et les talents de négociateur de Louis-Philippe Brodeur, William Stevens Fielding, George Christie Gibbons et Joseph Pope qui devient le premier sous-secrétaire d’État du nouveau ministère.

Laurier n’est pas suffisamment parvenu à défendre le droit aux écoles séparées pour les minorités catholiques hors Québec. Par exemple, en confirmant que les écoles séparées manitobaines ne seront pas réinstaurées, mais qu’un enseignement religieux sera autorisé sous de strictes conditions, le règlement Laurier-Greenway de 1896 illustre que, en politique, Laurier visait l’atteinte du compromis. Par une série d’arrangements mineurs, le premier ministre espérait contenter la minorité catholique, tout en se rendant à la volonté de la majorité protestante du Manitoba.

Certaines dispositions qui président, en 1905, à la création des provinces de l’Alberta et de la Saskatchewan, et qui engendrent une autre crise des droits des minorités catholiques, ne sont pas sans rappeler l’affaire des écoles manitobaines. Contrairement à une loi fédérale de 1875 qui garantissait à la minorité des Territoires du Nord-Ouest le droit à des écoles séparées et aux subventions requises, le gouvernement local a imposé des ordonnances en 1892 et 1901 qui ont réduit les possibilités d’existence de ces établissements [V. Charles-Borromée Rouleau ; sir Clifford Sifton]. Dans l’espoir de ne pas avoir à se retrancher derrière ces restrictions qui prenaient en 1905 la forme d’un statu quo imposé à la minorité, Laurier tente, cette fois, de donner préséance à l’article 93 de la constitution canadienne qui, selon son interprétation, stipule que des écoles séparées déjà existantes dans une province ou un territoire désireux d’entrer dans la Confédération doivent être protégées. De nouveau confronté à une fronde dans son propre cabinet, Laurier doit finalement s’en remettre aux ordonnances, tout en maintenant son désir d’obtenir pour les catholiques un système d’écoles séparées le plus semblable possible à celui de 1875. Il sort politiquement affaibli de cette affaire. Par ailleurs, ce dernier cas conduit Henri Bourassa, mentor du mouvement nationaliste canadien, et de nombreux Canadiens français catholiques à accuser Laurier d’avoir fait trop de concessions à la majorité anglo-protestante dans le but de préserver l’unité nationale, menaçant du coup le caractère biculturel du Canada tel que l’envisageaient les Pères de la Confédération. Ces derniers faits illustrent une fois de plus la volonté de Laurier de résoudre ces crises en empruntant la voie du pragmatisme.

En 1912, lorsque le gouvernement ontarien impose le Règlement 17 à la minorité canadienne-française, qui limite l’usage du français comme langue d’enseignement aux deux premières années de l’enseignement élémentaire, Laurier adopte cependant une attitude différente. En 1916, il défend avec vigueur les droits des Franco-Ontariens par l’entremise de la motion Lapointe, qui invite le gouvernement de l’Ontario à reconsidérer son Règlement 17. Deux raisons peuvent expliquer ce changement de position de Laurier. Il en a assez de céder, depuis la fin du xixe siècle, aux opinions d’orangistes de la trempe de D’Alton McCarthy, qui s’activent en faveur de l’unité linguistique et religieuse de la société canadienne. Par surcroît, cet incident se déroulant en sol ontarien, où vivent plus de 200 000 de ses compatriotes francophones, Laurier croit que le spectre de l’anglicisation se rapproche physiquement de la province de Québec, ce qui peut y porter un coup fatal à l’avenir des Canadiens français.

Les solutions proposées à ces problèmes complexes ne font pas l’unanimité et accentuent les divisions déjà profondes entre les francophones et les anglophones du pays. La création d’une marine de guerre en 1910 attise encore davantage la grogne entre les nationalistes canadiens et les nationalistes impérialistes, mécontentement que Laurier ne sait tempérer par une politique de compromis. Selon les premiers, Laurier engage ainsi aveuglément le Canada dans les aventures guerrières de l’Empire, tandis que les seconds lui reprochent de ne pas en faire suffisamment. Les relations commerciales avec les États-Unis enveniment aussi la colère des nationalistes impérialistes. Le premier ministre Laurier ne peut mettre en œuvre un traité de réciprocité commerciale avec le gouvernement américain, parce que les industriels et les impérialistes appréhendent que ce traité ne brise le cadre économique canadien et craignent les répercussions sur le lien à l’Empire. Ces deux enjeux, la marine et la réciprocité, sont au cœur des élections fédérales de 1911.

Usés, en outre, par 15 années de pouvoir et n’ayant pas su, entre autres choses, répondre suffisamment aux attentes des groupes d’intérêts, ni ajuster leur libéralisme du xixe siècle, fondé sur le laisser-faire, aux réalités d’une société en pleine transformation, les libéraux subissent la défaite. Laurier a notamment présumé que les Canadiens se contenteraient des timides réformes sociales qu’il a mises en place pour résoudre des problèmes urbains et industriels tels que la pauvreté chronique des classes défavorisées et les difficiles conditions de travail dans le milieu manufacturier. Les adversaires du premier ministre ont promis de l’attaquer sur l’ensemble de ces questions et ont tenu parole. Les conservateurs dirigés par Robert Laird Borden remportent les élections.

Désireux par-dessus tout de reprendre le pouvoir, Laurier reste à la tête de sa formation et la réorganise. Il tente de structurer l’opposition au gouvernement, notamment avec l’aide de députés fougueux, tel William Pugsley, à la Chambre des communes, et, surtout, grâce au Sénat à majorité libérale, avec, comme chef de l’aile parlementaire, sir George William Ross. Laurier, qui a 70 ans en novembre 1911, en étonne plusieurs par sa vigueur. Avec acharnement, il fait obstacle à la conscription militaire au cours de la Première Guerre mondiale, l’une des pires crises politiques de l’histoire du Canada, qui engendre aussi la division au sein de son parti. La victoire des unionistes aux élections fédérales de 1917, les dernières auxquelles participe Laurier, montre une séparation nette, voire dramatique, entre les francophones et les anglophones, l’électorat francophone de la province de Québec se rangeant clairement derrière lui. Cette fracture nationale et la scission du Parti libéral portent un coup important aux objectifs fondamentaux de la carrière du chef libéral. À sa mort, en février 1919, l’unité du pays et celle de son parti apparaissent des plus chancelantes.

La place de Laurier dans l’histoire demeure celle d’un bâtisseur du Canada. Son immense popularité lui a fait remporter quatre élections consécutives. L’historien et biographe Réal Bélanger dresse le portrait suivant de l’homme :

Légende de son vivant, en dépit des déconvenues, des critiques souvent justifiées, Laurier s’était élevé progressivement à la taille des géants, de ceux qui incarnent un symbole. Et quelle attachante personnalité ! Au début du xxe siècle, rares étaient ceux qui avaient pu résister à son charme et à sa courtoisie. Quand il le fallait, Laurier était capable d’oublier ses allures de premier ministre pour adopter une simplicité qui gagnait les cœurs les plus rébarbatifs. Sa franchise désarmante malgré les ruses, sa grande honnêteté dans un environnement plutôt laxiste, son respect des autres malgré les divergences d’opinions, sa fidélité indéfectible à la cause libérale et à ses amis, sa détermination et sa fermeté malgré les moments de découragement et les limites déjà signalées, ont ébloui de nombreux Canadiens. Même ses adversaires ont été subjugués […] En fait, Laurier n’était pas bâti tout d’un bloc. Il n’était pas l’homme des situations tranchées et sans doute s’était-il façonné une personnalité qui lui a permis d’affronter à tous moments la complexité et la dureté du milieu qui fut le sien. Il était cependant homme d’honneur, généreux, épris de liberté, capable de coiffer de noblesse les causes qu’il défendait. Il était un humaniste à qui répugnaient l’arrogance, la bigoterie et l’intolérance.

 

Les biographies qui figurent dans le présent ensemble thématique font la lumière sur l’homme et sur une période charnière de l’histoire du développement du Canada. Vous êtes invités à découvrir la vie de celui que lord Minto a qualifié, « de loin, [d]’homme le plus fort du Canada ». Selon son biographe, c’est « ce portrait que la mémoire collective a finalement gardé de sir Wilfrid Laurier ».

 

◀◀ ◀ 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ▶▶