DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

MORRIS, CHARLES (1759-1831) – Volume VI (1821-1835)

b. 18 Nov. 1759 in Hopkinton, Mass.

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Canada’s Place in the British Empire
 

The rise of imperialist nationalism within English Canada and the emerging question of the country’s place in the British empire proved to be a challenge for Wilfrid LAURIER. In 1895 the British colonial secretary, Joseph Chamberlain, proposed a new, more robust imperial federation with preferential tariffs and defence pacts:

“Britain was trundling out a new imperialism centred on the incomparable virtues of the ‘Anglo-Saxon race’ and its duty to convert as many peoples as possible to its brilliant civilization.… Many English Canadians who considered themselves nationalists accepted this imperialism and believed that the imperial framework would be an engine driving the advance from the status of colony to that of fully sovereign nation. On the other hand, many French Canadians rejected imperialism because it could lead to involvement in foreign wars and to the sacrifice of the country’s interests.”

 

Laurier, who became prime minister the following year, had to steer a difficult course between Canadians’ conflicting wishes. During his tenure as prime minister (1896–1911), he was attacked by those who saw him as too imperialist and by others who believed that he was not “British” enough [see The Prime Minister: External Relations].

For more on the question of Canada’s place in the British empire, see the following biographies.

◀◀  5 6 7 9 10 11  ▶▶

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

NAHNEBAHWEQUAY – Volume IX (1861-1870)

décédée le 26 septembre 1865 dans le canton de Sarawak, Haut-Canada

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

La place du Canada dans l’Empire britannique


La montée du nationalisme impérialiste au Canada anglais et l’émergence de la question de la place du pays dans l’Empire britannique constituèrent un défi pour Wilfrid Laurier. En 1895, le secrétaire d’État aux Colonies, Joseph Chamberlain, proposa une nouvelle fédération impériale plus robuste, comprenant des tarifs préférentiels et des pactes de défense :

L’Angleterre véhiculait un nouvel impérialisme centré sur les incomparables vertus de la race anglo-saxonne et l’obligation de convertir le plus grand nombre de peuples à sa brillante civilisation […] Ce plan partagea les Canadiens en deux camps : d’un côté, de nombreux Canadiens anglais qui acceptèrent cet impérialisme et, se définissant comme nationalistes, estimèrent que le cadre impérial deviendrait le moteur du passage de l’état de colonie à celui de nation pleinement souveraine ; de l’autre, de nombreux Canadiens français qui refusèrent l’impérialisme, car il pouvait conduire à la participation aux guerres étrangères et au sacrifice des intérêts du pays.

 

Laurier, qui devint premier ministre l’année suivante, navigua tant bien que mal entre les souhaits conflictuels des Canadiens. Durant son mandat de premier ministre (1896–1911), il fut attaqué par ceux qui le jugeaient trop impérialiste et, à la fois, par ceux qui ne le trouvaient pas assez « britannique » [V. Le premier ministre : les relations extérieures].

Pour en apprendre davantage sur la question de la place du Canada dans l’Empire britannique, nous vous invitons à consulter ces biographies.

◀◀  5 6 7 9 10 11  ▶▶