DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

MORRIS, CHARLES (1759-1831) – Volume VI (1821-1835)

b. 18 Nov. 1759 in Hopkinton, Mass.

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Promotion of Sport and Physical Education
 

Charles LENNOX, 4th Duke of Richmond and Lennox, who became governor-in-chief of British North America in 1818, used sports as a means of winning the support of the colony’s elite:

“As in Ireland, Richmond considered the encouragement of leisure an important means of popularizing his administration, at least among the élite. According to Frederic Tolfrey, an officer of the garrison, Richmond, who had been ‘one of the finest tennis-players in England’ and an excellent racket-baller, ‘joined the officers around him in all manly games with an unaffected urbanity and good nature that endeared the Duke to all.’ He was patron of the Garrison Racing Club, and he encouraged the Tandem Club, formed to make winter excursions into the countryside, by taking his turn in a rotation among the principal families of the town to supply the excursionists’ luncheons.”

 

An enthusiast of several sports from an early age, and a strong proponent of physical fitness, the Montreal businessman, civil servant, and philanthropist William Gillies ROSS contributed to the development of organized sport, especially sports on ice, at the end of the 19th century:

“Although professional life and a growing family made increasing demands upon his time after 1890, [Ross] continued to be active, both as a competitor and as an administrator. He firmly believed in the character-building role of amateur sport and worked to stimulate participation, improve facilities, and expand organizations. He was one of the founders of the Canadian Amateur Skating Association in 1886 and served as its president from 1893 to 1895, in 1905, and perhaps in other years. In 1894 the association organized what he called ‘the greatest skating meeting ever held in the world’ in Montreal. In 1908 he served on the Central Olympic Committee.”

 

A promoter of a form of Christianity that emphasized bodily health, the Young Men’s Christian Association (YMCA) benefited from the patronage of people such as industrial magnate John Rudolphus BOOTH, who associated sporting activities with manliness:

“In Ottawa, Booth, a Presbyterian, quietly made substantial financial contributions to community projects, including the Young Men’s Christian Association building and St Luke’s Hospital [see Annie Amelia Chesley*], which he helped found in 1897 and endowed in 1914 with a new wing. Described as ‘a believer in and a generous patron of clean, manly sport,’ he was a member of the Ottawa Amateur Athletic Club and the Ottawa Rowing Club.…

“On 27 March 1920, in a rare public appearance and to a ‘rousing ovation,’ Booth dropped the puck for a Stanley Cup match between the Ottawa Senators and the Seattle Metropolitans.”

 

A soldier, teacher and pioneer of physical education, Henri-Thomas SCOTT strove to offer urban youth places where they could devote themselves to various sports that he believed would encourage social and moral improvement:

“[Scott’s] arrival [at the Montreal Catholic School Commission in 1905] coincided with the rise in Montreal of a reform movement concerned about the ravages of infant mortality and tuberculosis. It was calling for parks, public baths, playgrounds, vacation camps, and a more practical education, better adapted to an industrial and urban society.…

“In his campaign to provide for the all-round development of young French Canadians, Scott emphasized the need to take part in sports. To increase access, he had received authorization from the Montreal Catholic School Commission in the winter of 1906–7 to build a large open-air skating-rink on the grounds of the Catholic Commercial Academy. In order to ensure some permanence for athletic activities, he worked to set up various clubs. He was also keenly interested in playgrounds. He urged municipal authorities to set them up ‘in every park,’ as was common in the United States, and he offered to train instructors. As a member of the Parks and Playgrounds Association of Montreal [see Grace Julia Parker*], he proposed that swimming pools and public markets be converted into gymnasiums during the winter. In the summer of 1910, to improve the lot of children in the city, he became the first francophone to found and run a vacation camp – in Sault-au-Récollet (Montreal), on the banks of the Rivière des Prairies.”

 

The difficult conditions in which many city dwellers lived at the beginning of the 20th century emphasized, in the eyes of Joseph-Pierre GADBOIS, a medical doctor and columnist, the need to establish physical-education programs in schools. In his view, people who engaged in regular exercise and adopted a healthy lifestyle would be sound in body and mind:

“Although Gadbois appreciated the advantages of the city, he worried about its effects on the health of his compatriots. He believed that in the country, where they remained in contact with a harsh but abundant nature, they had been able to maintain their strength, sturdiness, and physique. Once they became city-dwellers, crowded into smoke-filled cities, confined to unhealthy lodgings, and cooped up in poorly ventilated offices, workshops, and stores, they grew sickly and were threatened with degeneration. He thought that physical education … guaranteed health and a balanced and harmonious condition. He advised against overeating and advocated dieting and occasional fasting to cleanse the body. He preached abstinence from alcohol, drugs, tea, and coffee, and recommended drinking plenty of water and eating vegetables, fruit, and nuts. A vegetarian, he gave a lecture at Quebec in 1909 under the auspices of the Vegetarian Society of Canada. It is essential, he noted, to have eight hours sleep every night, keep windows open summer and winter, brave storms, heat, and cold, and get as much sunshine as possible.”

 

The biographies arranged in the following lists provide more information about the promoters of sports, physical fitness, and physical education in the 19th and 20th centuries and about their initiatives and achievements:

 

◀◀  1 2 4 5 6 7 8  ▶▶

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

ORKNEY, JAMES – Volume VI (1821-1835)

décédé le 24 janvier 1832 à Québec

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Promotion du sport et de l’éducation physique


Charles Lennox, 4e duc de Richmond et Lennox, a utilisé le sport afin d’obtenir le soutien des élites après sa nomination comme gouverneur en chef de l’Amérique du Nord britannique en 1818 :

Comme il le fit en Irlande, Richmond considérait que son soutien aux activités de loisirs était une manière efficace de rendre son gouvernement populaire, du moins auprès de l’élite. D’après Frederic Tolfrey, officier de la garnison, Richmond, qui avait été « une des meilleures raquettes d’Angleterre » et un excellent joueur de racket-hall, « prenait part avec les officiers qui l’entouraient à toutes les activités sportives viriles, manifestant une courtoisie naturelle et une amabilité qui [le] rendaient populaire auprès de tous ». Il fut le mécène du Garrison Racing Club et encouragea le Tandem Club, mis sur pied pour faire des excursions d’hiver dans la campagne environnante. À tour de rôle avec les principales familles de la ville, il fournissait des provisions aux excursionnistes.

 

Adepte de plusieurs sports dès sa jeunesse et apôtre de l’activité physique, l’homme d’affaires, fonctionnaire et philanthrope montréalais William Gillies Ross a contribué, à la fin du xixe siècle, au développement du sport organisé, particulièrement dans le domaine des sports sur glace :

À compter de 1890, bien que sa vie professionnelle et familiale l’ait occupé de plus en plus, [Ross] continua d’être actif dans le domaine du sport, tant à titre de compétiteur que d’administrateur. Fermement convaincu que le sport amateur formait le caractère, il travaillait à encourager la participation, à améliorer les installations et à étendre les organisations. Cofondateur de la Canadian Amateur Skating Association en 1886, il en fut président de 1893 à 1895, en 1905 et peut-être d’autres années. En 1894, l’association organisa à Montréal ce qu’il qualifia de « plus grande rencontre de patinage jamais tenue dans le monde ». En 1908, il appartint au Central Olympic Committee.

 

Promotrice d’un christianisme centré sur la santé du corps, la Young Men’s Christian Association (YMCA) a bénéficié du mécénat de personnes qui, comme le magnat de l’industrie John Rudolphus Booth, valorisaient la pratique d’activités sportives, considérées comme un levier d’affirmation de la masculinité :

À Ottawa, Booth, qui était presbytérien, versa discrètement des sommes d’argent substantielles à des établissements communautaires, notamment le centre de la Young Men’s Christian Association et le St Luke’s Hospital [V. Annie Amelia Chesley*], qu’il aida à fonder en 1897 et dota d’une nouvelle aile en 1914. Décrit comme « un fervent adepte et un généreux protecteur du sport sain et viril », il fut membre de l’Ottawa Amateur Athletic Club et de l’Ottawa Rowing Club […]

Le 27 mars 1920, dans l’une de ses rares apparitions publiques et « aux applaudissements enthousiastes » de la foule, Booth fit la mise au jeu officielle d’un match de la coupe Stanley opposant les Senators d’Ottawa et les Metropolitans de Seattle.

 

Militaire, professeur et pionnier de l’éducation physique, Henri-Thomas Scott s’est efforcé d’offrir aux jeunes grandissant en milieu urbain des lieux où ils pourraient s’adonner à différents sports, vecteurs d’amélioration sociale et morale :

[L’]arrivée [de Scott à la Commission des écoles catholiques de Montréal (CECM) en 1905] coïncide avec la montée d’un mouvement réformiste à Montréal qui s’inquiète des ravages de la mortalité infantile et de la tuberculose, et qui réclame des parcs, des bains publics, des terrains de jeux, des colonies de vacances et un enseignement plus pratique et mieux adapté à la société industrielle et urbaine […]

Dans sa campagne pour assurer le développement harmonieux des jeunes Canadiens français, Scott a insisté sur la nécessité de pratiquer des sports. Pour en favoriser l’accès, il a obtenu, à l’hiver de 1906–1907, de la CECM, l’autorisation de construire une vaste patinoire à ciel ouvert sur les terrains de l’académie commerciale catholique de Montréal. Afin de donner aux activités sportives une certaine permanence, il travaille à la mise sur pied de divers clubs. Il s’intéresse aussi vivement à la question des terrains de jeux. Il exhorte les autorités municipales à en créer « dans tous les parcs » comme aux États-Unis et il se dit prêt à former des moniteurs. Membre de la Parks and Playgrounds Association of Montreal [V. Grace Julia Parker*], il propose de convertir les piscines et les marchés publics en gymnases pendant l’hiver. Toujours dans le but d’améliorer le sort des enfants de la métropole, il est le premier francophone à fonder et à diriger, à l’été de 1910, une colonie de vacances à Sault-au-Récollet (Montréal), sur les bords de la rivière des Prairies.

 

Les conditions de vie pénibles de plusieurs citadins au début du xxe siècle nécessitaient, aux yeux du médecin et chroniqueur Joseph-Pierre Gadbois, l’implantation de programmes d’éducation physique dans les écoles, la pratique régulière de l’exercice physique et l’adoption de saines habitudes de vie afin d’assurer la bonne santé du corps et de l’esprit :

Même si Gadbois apprécie les avantages de la ville, il s’inquiète de ses effets sur la santé de ses compatriotes. À la campagne, croit-il, au contact d’une nature difficile mais généreuse, ces derniers ont su conserver force, robustesse et harmonie des formes. Devenus citadins, entassés dans des villes enfumées, confinés dans des logements insalubres et enfermés dans des bureaux, des ateliers ou des magasins mal aérés, ils s’étiolent ; la dégénérescence les guette. Pour lui, l’éducation physique [...assure la santé et un état équilibré et harmonieux. Il conseille d’éviter les excès de nourriture, préconise les diètes et parfois le jeûne pour nettoyer le corps de ses déchets. Il prône l’abstinence d’alcool, de drogue, de thé et de café et recommande de boire beaucoup d’eau, de manger des légumes, des fruits et des noix. Adepte du végétarisme, il donne, en 1909, une conférence à Québec sous les auspices de la Vegetarian Society of Canada. Il faut, écrit-il, dormir huit heures par jour, ouvrir ses fenêtres été comme hiver, affronter les orages, le chaud, le froid et profiter au maximum du soleil.

 

Les biographies regroupées dans les listes suivantes permettent d’en savoir davantage sur les promoteurs du sport, de l’exercice physique et de l’éducation physique aux xixe et xxe siècles, de même que sur leurs initiatives et leurs réalisations.

◀◀  1 2 4 5 6 7 8  ▶▶