DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

PUISAYE, JOSEPH-GENEVIÈVE DE, Comte de PUISAYE – Volume VI (1821-1835)

d. 13 Dec. 1827 near Hammersmith (London), England

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Mackenzie, Arthur Stanley, professor and university president; b. 20 Sept. 1865 in Pictou, N.S., son of George Augustus Mackenzie, a lawyer, and Catherine Denoon Fogo; m. 29 May 1895 Mary Lewis Taylor (d. 1896) in Indianapolis, Ind., and they had one daughter; d. 2 Oct. 1938 in Halifax.

A. Stanley Mackenzie was born into an Anglican family in the predominantly Presbyterian world of Pictou County, and had an upbringing that was a mixture, as he was later to say, of “religion, politics and porridge.” Educated at Pictou Academy as well as high schools in New Glasgow and Halifax, he came to Dalhousie University – the old Dalhousie on the Grand Parade in downtown Halifax – with a bursary in 1881. He took up the school’s tough regimen of Latin with John Johnson, mathematics with Charles Macdonald*, philosophy with Jacob Gould Schurman, chemistry with George Lawson*, and physics with James Gordon MacGregor*. The standards of teaching were high and the examinations unsparing. Young Mackenzie was a six-footer who loved sports and was on the school’s first rugby team; they played against Acadia College on 15 Nov. 1884 and lost by one point. As secretary of the new Dalhousie Athletic Club, Mackenzie penned a wry appreciation of Acadia’s victory: “You did nobly[,] Acadians…. And, although, it would have been an advantage to us if you had read the rules a little more carefully, and acted up to them a little more closely, yet we make no complaint.”

He graduated six months later with first-rank honours in mathematics and physics, for which he got the Sir William Young Gold Medal. After two years as assistant master at Yarmouth Seminary, he returned to Dalhousie as a tutor in mathematics and physics from 1887 to 1889. He then went to Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore, Md, for his phd, which he would receive in 1894. In 1891 he had been appointed lecturer in physics at Bryn Mawr, the Quaker women’s college near Philadelphia. He was rapidly promoted and would be a full professor by 1897. In 1895 Mary Lewis Taylor, whom he had met at Bryn Mawr, had become his wife. Their brief marriage ended sadly; she died in 1896 giving birth to their daughter. She had remarked, in a strange and prescient way, “You won’t marry again.” He never did. Mackenzie buried her in Indianapolis and took little Marjorie to Bryn Mawr, raising her as best he could. He tried to make her life a happy one, and she came to share his fishing trips, his curling, and his golf.

In 1900 Mackenzie published The laws of gravitation …, and he later spent a year at the Cavendish Laboratory at the University of Cambridge, where he was working on particle physics. He published an important paper on the alpha rays of radium (of which he was the first to measure the mass and velocity) and polonium in 1905, inspiring this verse in a Cambridge song:

Electrometers get in a frenzy
When quietly by them I lay,
So they sent me downstairs with Mackenzie
Who’s wanting my last alpha-ray.

That same year Dalhousie invited him to be George Munro professor of physics. Although he well knew Dalhousie’s weakness in scientific facilities and equipment, Mackenzie was glad to return to Nova Scotia. He was a gifted teacher and loved teaching. Yet he loved research even more, so when in 1910 the Stevens Institute of Technology in Hoboken, N.J., offered him a research post, he could not resist. There was sadness at Dalhousie, and the school’s affection for him comes through in a jocular poem by Archibald McKellar MacMechan, George Munro professor of English since 1889:

Farewell to Mackenzie, farewell to the Prof.,
Who can mingle his Physics and fishing and Goff
With a drop of the liquid that betters the score,
And we hope he’ll return to Our City once more.

Mackenzie soon did. Early in 1911 the Dalhousie board of governors bought the Studley estate [see Elizabeth Carey*]. It was an ample 43-acre site located above the Northwest Arm, amid pines, red oaks, and willows. At last, said Mackenzie, Dalhousie’s “long-delayed marching orders had arrived.” The board of governors now invited him to succeed John Forrest* as president, at a salary of $3,600 per year. He accepted. He would be in Halifax for the rest of his life.

His regime began on 1 July. Plunged at once into a vast range of problems, Mackenzie tackled them personally as Dalhousie presidents had always had to do. He started with the administration of his office. During Forrest’s tenure it used to be said that the university’s office records were on the starched cuffs of the president’s shirts. Dalhousie had got its first typewriter only in 1907. A professional secretary was hired, and by 1913 a system of documentation was emerging. Mackenzie also undertook a major fund-raising campaign, the Dalhousie Forward Movement, and set out in May 1912 to meet with Dalhousie alumni and appeal for donations. By October he had collected $444,891, much of which would help fund the creation of the new Dalhousie campus.

Mackenzie liked the old Georgian style of buildings such as Government House and the House of Assembly. Frank Darling*, the Toronto architect hired to oversee the construction project, did too. The first edifices, the Science Building and the Macdonald Memorial Library, were completed by 1915. With post-war enrolment at 622 in 1919, the school’s population was double that of the previous year, and the campus was awash with students male and female. The board of governors approved a decision to build a women’s residence, and as soon as the ground had thawed that spring, Mackenzie set out, with Professor of Engineering John Norison Finlayson and a six-foot crowbar, to check how deep the soil was at the best location. The problem there, as everywhere else in the city, was the ubiquitous hard Halifax ironstone; mercifully, it was not close to the surface, for the site that had been chosen, with tall white pines that overlook the Northwest Arm, was lovely. There came hints from one of the Dalhousie governors, Richard Bedford Bennett*, that a widow who was a former Halifax resident might be interested in funding the dormitory. In March 1920 Mackenzie went to Ottawa to meet Jennie Grahl Hunter Shirreff*, the widow of Ezra Butler Eddy*. A woman of ideas and decision, she lived in eccentric modesty in the Russell House. Within eight weeks she had offered $300,000 for the structure, which would be named Shirreff Hall [see Eliza Ritchie].

Soon Mackenzie would face the most difficult issue of his time as president: university federation. The matter had a long and tortuous history. The first post-secondary institution in Nova Scotia was King’s College, chartered in 1802. Established in Windsor as a bastion of the Church of England, it was deliberately built 40 miles from the wickedness and garrison glitter of Halifax. Lord Dalhousie [Ramsay*] in 1818 intended that his non-denominational college would be set in the middle of Halifax and would therefore be, like his alma mater, the University of Edinburgh, accessible to everyone. There had been three previous attempts to merge Dalhousie and King’s, as well as movements to unite all the province’s colleges in the 1840s and 1870s. But Nova Scotia and its legislature were fractured with sectarian rivalries between Baptists, Methodists, Presbyterians, Roman Catholics, and Anglicans, and most disliked intensely the idea of merging the colleges into a single, officially godless college at Dalhousie.

The Carnegie Corporation of New York, having had a plethora of requests from Maritime colleges for support for every shape and size of worthy cause, in 1921 sent William Setchel Learned and Kenneth Charles Morton Sills, respectively an official with the foundation and the president of Bowdoin College in Brunswick, Maine, to inquire into the state of higher education in New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, and Prince Edward Island. The report, fair-minded and cool, was produced quickly. It gave high marks to Mackenzie’s Dalhousie, though the school’s serious weaknesses in libraries and laboratories did not escape criticism. Learned and Sills recommended that all post-secondary institutions in the Maritimes be federated, and the new university be located on the big new Dalhousie campus. Carnegie offered $3 million to facilitate the process; it was presumed that Acadia, Mount Allison, Dalhousie, St Francis Xavier, King’s, and the University of New Brunswick would be involved, and that smaller schools, such as St Dunstan’s in Prince Edward Island, might merge with larger denominational colleges. Mackenzie inevitably played a central part in discussions, and with one aim in mind: to improve university education in Nova Scotia, and possibly at the same time in New Brunswick and P.E.I. Integral to this goal was his belief that federation “would bring state aid” to Nova Scotia’s post-secondary institutions, which at the time received no government funding. Much of 1922 was taken up with the hard, often dreary work of conferences, committees, and compromises. Mackenzie complained to University of Toronto president Sir Robert Alexander Falconer* that the other college presidents would profess their acceptance of the principle of federation, but when it came to a binding decision would vote against what they had previously accepted. He described some of them as “slippery and hypocritical tricksters” who drove Dalhousie’s representatives “to the very limit of endurance.” The other colleges feared Dalhousie’s imperial reach, with its medical school, its law school, and its officially non-denominational enrolment, but there was the temptation of that Carnegie money. The only things imperial about Mackenzie were his physical stature, his dignity, and his patience. In February 1923 Acadia followed the path already taken by the University of New Brunswick and St Francis Xavier and baled out of the discussions; this effectively killed the substance of the plan. Only King’s, strapped for funds after a fire in 1920 destroyed its building, came to Halifax.

Not all university presidents are loved by their constituency, yet Mackenzie was. He was cool, quiet, and strict in his sense of duty. He hated humbug and pretence and self-advertisement. His advice to new members of staff was one word: “Work!” Those stern Latin imperatives in Dalhousie’s motto, Ora et labora (pray and work), were to be taken to heart. He had been brought up to follow the old, steep, lonely path to learning and he trusted in it, but he approached it with an instinctive canniness and caution. There was a democracy among Dalhousie’s staff that emanated from its history and its professor-centred constitution, but also from its president. In 1927 MacMechan, his long-time colleague and golfing rival, after almost four decades of teaching at Dalhousie, wanted out of the boring job of invigilating examinations, a three-hour-long chore. Mackenzie said, in effect, that he could not get out of the task: it was one they all had to do. In his letter he added: “I hope the time will never come … when I shall feel superior to attending to the miserable, petty, time-consuming little details and jobs that come before me every day.”

In December 1930 Mackenzie, now aged 65, announced to the board of governors his decision to retire. He did not want to wait until his departure would be greeted with sighs of relief. “I’m afraid,” he told his colleagues, “that would finish me.” So saying, he handed his resignation, effective 31 July of the following year, to the secretary and walked from the room. Every member stood up as he left. They then made the five-minute walk to the president’s house – bought for Dalhousie in 1925 by alumnus R. B. Bennett – where they drank scotch and commiserated over age and time and change.

Mackenzie, in hospital for minor surgery, died suddenly of a stroke on 2 Oct. 1938. The whole university turned out for his funeral three days later. His body was escorted to the train station so that he could be reunited with his wife in the Indianapolis graveyard. There were eulogies from professors, students, and university and college presidents across Canada. The student paper, the Dalhousie Gazette, had a full issue about him on 20 October. Walter Charles Murray*, the Nova Scotian who headed the University of Saskatchewan, declared that “Mackenzie was responsible for the transformation of a small college into a national university with buildings of great beauty.… [He was] kingly in presence, outlook, and leadership.” Mackenzie worked to raise Dalhousie and its students towards standards of learning and aspiration recognizably international; he seems never to have lost the hope that learning and even more the love of it would mark a student from his Dalhousie University.

P. B. Waite

Arthur Stanley Mackenzie is the author of numerous scientific articles, including “On the attractions of crystalline and isotropic masses at small distances,” Physical Rev. (College Park , Md), 1st ser., 2 (March–April 1895): 321–43 and “LXI. The deflexion of α rays from radium and polonium,” Philosophical Magazine (London), 6th ser., 10 (1905): 538–48; he also translated and edited The laws of gravitation: memoirs by Newton, Bouger and Cavendish: together with abstracts of other important memoirs (New York, 1900).

DUA, UA-3 (president’s office fonds), box 96, file 25 (Archibald MacMechan personnel record); box 326, file 4 (Mackenzie to Sir Robert Falconer, 3 Nov. 1922); UA-33 (student union/student organizations fonds), box 7, file 6 (minutes of the Dalhousie Athletic Club). Private arch., P. B. Waite (Halifax), Interview with Janet MacNeill Piers, 17 Sept. 1992. UTARMS, B1972-0001/013(03). Cavendish Laboratory, The post-prandial proceedings (Cambridge, Eng., 1905). W. A. Craick, “How personality creates: the task of President A. Stanley Mackenzie of Dalhousie University,” Maclean’s (Toronto), December 1913: 21–24. A. McK. MacMechan, Late harvest (Toronto, 1934). W. C. Murray, “Stanley Mackenzie of Dalhousie,” Dalhousie Rev. (Halifax), 18 (1938–39): 427–34. P. B. Waite, The lives of Dalhousie University (2v., Montreal and Kingston, Ont., 1994–98).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

P. B. Waite, “MACKENZIE, ARTHUR STANLEY,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed December 13, 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/mackenzie_arthur_stanley_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/mackenzie_arthur_stanley_16E.html
Author of Article: P. B. Waite
Title of Article: MACKENZIE, ARTHUR STANLEY
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2016
Year of revision: 2016
Access Date: December 13, 2017

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Dans le cadre de l’accord de financement entre le Dictionnaire biographique du Canada et le Musée canadien de l’histoire, nous vous invitons à participer à un court sondage.

Je veux participer maintenant.

Je participerai plus tard.

Je ne veux pas participer.

J'ai déjà participé au sondage.

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

EARLY, MAY AGNES – Volume X (1871-1880)

décédée le 26 mars 1880 à New York, N. Y.

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Mackenzie, Arthur Stanley, professeur et recteur, né le 20 septembre 1865 à Pictou, Nouvelle-Écosse, fils de George Augustus Mackenzie, avocat, et de Catherine Denoon Fogo ; le 29 mai 1895, il épousa à Indianapolis, Indiana, Mary Lewis Taylor (décédée en 1896), et ils eurent une fille ; décédé le 2 octobre 1938 à Halifax.

Arthur Stanley Mackenzie naquit au sein d’une famille anglicane dans le milieu principalement presbytérien du comté de Pictou. Il reçut une éducation qui fut un mélange, dirait-il, de « religion, de politique et de porridge ». Formé à la Pictou Academy, ainsi que dans des écoles secondaires de New Glasgow et de Halifax, il entra en 1881 à la Dalhousie University ‒ à l’ancien établissement, place Grand Parade dans le centre-ville de Halifax ‒ avec une bourse d’études. Il suivit le rigoureux programme de l’université qui comprenait du latin avec John Johnson, des mathématiques avec Charles Macdonald*, de la philosophie avec Jacob Gould Schurman, de la chimie avec George Lawson* et de la physique avec James Gordon MacGregor*. Les normes d’enseignement étaient élevées et les examens, impitoyables. Le jeune Mackenzie était un gaillard de six pieds qui aimait le sport et qui fit partie de la première équipe de rugby de l’université ; celle-ci joua contre l’Acadia College le 15 novembre 1884 et perdit la partie par un point. À titre de secrétaire du nouveau Dalhousie Athletic Club, Mackenzie écrivit une critique empreinte d’ironie sur la victoire de l’Acadia College : « Vous avez [joué] noblement[,] Acadiens […] Et, malgré tout, il aurait été à notre avantage que vous ayez lu les règles un peu plus attentivement, et que vous les ayez suivies un peu plus rigoureusement, mais nous ne nous plaignons cependant pas. »

Mackenzie obtint son diplôme six mois plus tard, et se classa au premier rang en mathématiques et en physique, ce qui lui valut la médaille d’or Sir William Young. Après avoir rempli pendant deux ans les fonctions de sous-maître au Yarmouth Seminary, il retourna à la Dalhousie University à titre de directeur d’études en mathématiques et en physique de 1887 à 1889. Il alla ensuite à la Johns Hopkins University de Baltimore, au Maryland, pour y préparer un doctorat en philosophie qu’il recevrait en 1894. En 1891, il avait été nommé chargé de cours de physique au Bryn Mawr College, établissement d’enseignement quaker pour femmes situé près de Philadelphie. Il fut rapidement promu et serait, dès 1897, professeur titulaire. En 1895, il avait épousé Mary Lewis Taylor, qu’il avait rencontrée à Bryn Mawr. Leur bref mariage se termina tristement, car Mme Mackenzie mourut en 1896 en donnant naissance à leur fille. Étrangement, elle avait prédit à son mari : « Tu ne te remarieras pas. » Il ne le ferait jamais. Mackenzie enterra sa femme à Indianapolis, emmena la petite Marjorie Taylor à Bryn Mawr et l’éleva du mieux qu’il put. Il essaya de lui offrir une vie heureuse et elle vint à partager ses différentes activités, comme ses excursions de pêche, ses parties de curling et de golf.

En 1900, Mackenzie dirigea la publication du livre intitulé The Laws of Gravitation, puis passa un an au Cavendish Laboratory de la University of Cambridge, où il travailla sur la physique des particules. Il publia un article important sur les rayons alpha du radium (desquels il fut le premier à mesurer la masse et la vitesse) et du polonium en 1905, ce qui inspira ce couplet d’une chanson de Cambridge :

Les électromètres s’agitent avec frénésie
Quand près d’eux je suis étendu tranquillement,
Ils m’ont donc envoyé en bas avec Mackenzie
Qui veut mon dernier rayon alpha.

La même année, la Dalhousie University l’invita à devenir titulaire de la chaire de physique George Munro. Bien que pleinement conscient des faiblesses de l’établissement en matière d’installations et d’équipements scientifiques, Mackenzie était ravi de retourner en Nouvelle-Écosse. Il était un professeur doué et adorait enseigner. Néanmoins, il aimait la recherche encore plus et, lorsqu’en 1910 le Stevens Institute of Technology de Hoboken, au New Jersey, lui offrit un poste de recherche, il ne put y résister. Il y avait de la tristesse à Dalhousie et l’affection que lui portait l’université ressortit d’un poème amusant d’Archibald McKellar MacMechan, titulaire de la chaire d’anglais George Munro depuis 1889 :

Adieu à Mackenzie, adieu au prof,
Qui peut mélanger sa physique et sa pêche et son
golf
Avec une goutte du liquide qui améliore le résultat,
Et nous espérons qu’une fois de plus dans notre ville
il reviendra.

Mackenzie y retourna peu de temps après. Au début de 1911, le conseil d’administration de Dalhousie acheta le domaine Studley [V. Elizabeth Carey*], vaste terrain de 43 acres situé au-dessus du bras Northwest, au milieu des pins, des chênes rouges et des saules. Enfin, selon Mackenzie, « l’ordre de marche [de Dalhousie] longtemps remis à plus tard était arrivé ». Le conseil d’administration de l’établissement l’invita alors à succéder à John Forrest* au poste de recteur et lui offrit un salaire de 3 600 $ par an, qu’il accepta. Il demeurerait à Halifax le reste de sa vie.

Mackenzie entra en fonction le 1er juillet. Plongé immédiatement dans une grande variété de problèmes, il s’y attaqua personnellement, comme les recteurs de Dalhousie avaient toujours eu à le faire. Il débuta par l’administration de son bureau. À l’époque où Forrest était en poste, on disait que les documents administratifs de l’université étaient écrits sur les manchettes amidonnées des chemises du recteur. La Dalhousie University n’avait acquis sa première machine à écrire qu’en 1907. On engagea un secrétaire professionnel et un système de documentation commença à faire son apparition en 1913. Mackenzie entreprit également une importante campagne de financement, le Dalhousie Forward Movement, et se mit en route en mai 1912 pour rencontrer d’anciens élèves de l’université et solliciter des dons. En octobre, il avait recueilli 444 891 $, dont une bonne partie aiderait à financer la création du nouveau campus de Dalhousie.

Mackenzie aimait le vieux style georgien de bâtiments tels que la résidence du lieutenant-gouverneur et la Chambre d’assemblée, tout comme Frank Darling*, l’architecte de Toronto engagé pour superviser le projet de construction. Les premiers édifices, soit le Science Building et la Macdonald Memorial Library, furent terminés en 1915. Avec 622 inscriptions en 1919, soit après la guerre, la population de l’établissement avait doublé comparativement à l’année précédente et le campus était inondé d’étudiants et d’étudiantes. Le conseil d’administration approuva une décision de construire une résidence pour femmes. Dès que la terre eut dégelé au printemps, Mackenzie, avec le professeur de génie John Norison Finlayson et une barre à mine de six pieds, partit vérifier la profondeur du sol au meilleur endroit pour bâtir. Le problème, comme partout ailleurs dans la ville, était l’omniprésence de la roche ferrugineuse de Halifax ; celle-ci se trouvait loin de la surface, heureusement, car l’emplacement choisi, où croissaient de hauts pins blancs qui dominaient le bras Northwest, était charmant. L’un des administrateurs de Dalhousie, Richard Bedford Bennett*, laissa entendre qu’une dame, qui avait déjà vécu à Halifax, souhaitait peut-être financer le dortoir. En mars 1920, Mackenzie se rendit à Ottawa pour y rencontrer Jennie Grahl Hunter Shirreff*, veuve d’Ezra Butler Eddy*. Femme d’idées et de décisions, elle menait une vie d’une modestie excentrique à l’hôtel Russell House. Moins de huit semaines plus tard, elle offrit 300 000 $ pour la résidence qui s’appellerait Shirreff Hall [V. Eliza Ritchie].

Mackenzie ferait bientôt face au problème le plus difficile de sa carrière de recteur : la fédération universitaire. Cette question avait une histoire longue et tortueuse. Le premier établissement postsecondaire de la Nouvelle-Écosse était le King’s College, qui avait obtenu sa charte en 1802. Fondé à Windsor en tant que bastion de l’Église d’Angleterre, il fut délibérément construit à 40 milles de la dépravation de Halifax et du faste de sa garnison. Lord Dalhousie [Ramsay*] avait l’intention, en 1818, d’établir son collège non confessionnel au centre de Halifax et de le rendre, par conséquent, accessible à tous, tout comme son alma mater, la University of Edinburgh. On avait essayé trois fois de fusionner la Dalhousie University et le King’s College, et des mouvements avaient tenté d’unifier tous les collèges de la province dans les années 1840 et 1870. La Nouvelle-Écosse et son Assemblée législative étaient cependant divisées par des rivalités de confession entre les baptistes, les méthodistes, les presbytériens, les catholiques et les anglicans ; la plupart d’entre eux détestaient profondément l’idée d’unir les collèges pour n’en former qu’un, à Dalhousie, qui serait officiellement laïque.

La Carnegie Corporation of New York, qui avait reçu des collèges des Maritimes une surabondance de demandes pour soutenir de nobles causes de toutes sortes, envoya en 1921 son agent William Setchel Learned, accompagné de Kenneth Charles Morton Sills, recteur du Bowdoin College à Brunswick, dans le Maine, pour enquêter sur l’état de l’enseignement supérieur au Nouveau-Brunswick, en Nouvelle-Écosse et à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Leur rapport, écrit avec impartialité et détachement, fut produit rapidement. La Dalhousie University de Mackenzie obtint d’excellents résultats, même si ses sérieuses faiblesses en matière de bibliothèques et de laboratoires n’échappèrent pas à la critique. Learned et Sills recommandèrent que tous les établissements postsecondaires des Maritimes soient fédérés et que la nouvelle université soit établie sur le vaste nouveau campus de Dalhousie. La Carnegie Corporation of New York offrit 3 millions de dollars pour faciliter le processus ; on présumait que l’Acadia College, le Mount Allison College, la Dalhousie University, le St Francis Xavier College, le King’s College et la University of New Brunswick feraient partie du projet, et que de plus petits établissements, comme la St Dunstan’s University de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, pourraient fusionner avec des collèges confessionnels plus importants. Mackenzie joua inévitablement un rôle central dans les discussions, avec un objectif en tête : améliorer la formation universitaire en Nouvelle-Écosse et peut-être, par la même occasion, au Nouveau-Brunswick et à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Sa conviction que la fédération « apporterait de l’aide de l’État » aux établissements postsecondaires de la Nouvelle-Écosse, qui ne recevaient à l’époque aucun financement du gouvernement, faisait partie intégrante de cet objectif. Une bonne partie de 1922 fut occupée par les travaux ardus et souvent monotones liés aux réunions, aux comités et aux compromis. Mackenzie se plaignit au recteur de la University of Toronto, sir Robert Alexander Falconer*, que les recteurs des autres collèges prétendraient accepter le principe de la fédération, mais quils voteraient contre ce qu’ils avaient approuvé auparavant lorsque viendrait le temps d’adopter une décision officielle. Il décrivit certains d’entre eux comme des « filous hypocrites et peu fiables » qui poussaient les représentants de Dalhousie « à l’extrême limite de [leur] patience ». Les autres collèges craignaient l’influence impériale de la Dalhousie University, avec ses écoles de médecine et de droit, et son caractère officiellement laïque, mais l’argent offert par la Carnegie Corporation of New York était tentant. Tout ce que Mackenzie avait d’impérial était sa stature physique, sa dignité et sa patience. En février 1923, l’Acadia College suivit la voie déjà empruntée par la University of New Brunswick et le St Francis Xavier College, et se retira des discussions, ce qui mit fin au projet. Seul le King’s College, à court d’argent après qu’un incendie eut détruit son bâtiment en 1920, s’installa à Halifax.

Ce n’était pas tous les recteurs qui étaient aimés de leur communauté universitaire, mais c’était le cas pour Mackenzie. Calme, doux et strict quant à son sens du devoir, il détestait les charlatans, les prétentieux et ceux qui se mettaient en valeur. Le conseil qu’il donnait aux nouveaux membres du personnel se résumait en un mot : « Travaillez ! » Les ordres sévères indiqués en latin dans la devise de la Dalhousie University, Ora et labora (Priez et Travaillez), devaient être pris à cœur. Mackenzie avait été éduqué pour suivre le vieux chemin abrupt et solitaire qui mène à la connaissance ; il y croyait, mais l’abordait avec une ruse et une prudence instinctives. Au sein du personnel de la Dalhousie University existait une démocratie qui émanait non seulement de son histoire et de sa constitution centrée sur les professeurs, mais aussi de son recteur. En 1927, MacMechan, qui était depuis longtemps son collègue et son adversaire au golf, ne voulait plus surveiller les examens ; après presque quatre décennies d’enseignement à Dalhousie, cette corvée de trois heures l’ennuyait. Mackenzie déclara qu’en réalité, il ne pouvait pas échapper à cette tâche, car tous les professeurs devaient l’accomplir. Dans sa lettre, il ajouta : « J’espère que le moment ne viendra jamais […] où je me sentirais [trop] supérieur pour m’occuper des petits détails et travaux misérables, insignifiants et laborieux qui se présentent à moi chaque jour. »

En décembre 1930, Mackenzie, alors âgé de 65 ans, annonça au conseil d’administration sa décision de prendre sa retraite. Il ne voulait pas attendre que son départ soit accueilli par des soupirs de soulagement. « Je crains, dit-il à ses collègues, que cela m’anéantisse. » Puis, avant de sortir de la pièce, il remit sa démission au secrétaire pour le 31 juillet suivant. Lorsqu’il partit, tous les membres se levèrent. Ils marchèrent ensuite cinq minutes jusqu’à la maison du recteur ‒ achetée pour la Dalhousie University en 1925 par Bennett, ancien élève de l’établissement ‒, où ils burent du scotch et discutèrent avec commisération de leur âge, du temps qui passe et du changement.

Arthur Stanley Mackenzie, qui se trouvait à l’hôpital pour subir une opération bénigne, mourut subitement d’une crise d’apoplexie le 2 octobre 1938. L’université tout entière assista à ses funérailles trois jours plus tard. Sa dépouille fut escortée jusqu’à la gare, de sorte que Mackenzie puisse rejoindre sa femme au cimetière d’Indianapolis. Des professeurs, des étudiants, ainsi que des recteurs d’universités et de collèges de partout au Canada prononcèrent des éloges funèbres. Le journal étudiant, la Dalhousie Gazette, lui consacra un numéro complet le 20 octobre. Walter Charles Murray*, le Néo-Écossais qui dirigeait la University of Saskatchewan, déclara que « Mackenzie était à l’origine de la transformation d’un petit collège en une université nationale avec des bâtiments d’une grande beauté [… Il avait] une présence, une attitude et des qualités de leader majestueuses. » Mackenzie travailla à élever Dalhousie et ses étudiants vers des normes d’apprentissage et des aspirations de niveau manifestement international ; il ne sembla jamais perdre l’espoir que l’éducation et, encore plus, le désir d’apprendre marqueraient les étudiants de sa Dalhousie University.

P. B. Waite

Arthur Stanley Mackenzie a écrit de nombreux articles scientifiques, notamment « On the attractions of crystalline and isotropic masses at small distances », Physical Rev. (College Park, Md), 1re sér., 2 (mars–avril 1895) : 321–343 et « LXI. The deflexion of α rays from radium and polonium », Philosophical Magazine (Londres), 6e sér., 10 (1905) : 538–548 ; il a également été le traducteur et l’éditeur de The laws of gravitation : memoirs by Newton, Bouger and Cavendish : together with abstracts of other important memoirs (New York, 1900).

Arch. privées, P. B. Waite (Halifax), entrevue avec Janet MacNeill Piers, 17 sept. 1992.— DUA, UA-3 (president’s office fonds), box 96, file 25 (Archibald MacMechan personnel record) ; box 326, file 4 (Mackenzie à Sir Robert Falconer, 3 nov. 1922) ; UA-33 (student union/student organizations fonds), box 7, file 6 (minutes of the Dalhousie Athletic Club).— UTARMS, B1972-0001/013(03).— Cavendish Laboratory, The post-prandial proceedings (Cambridge, Angleterre, 1905).— W. A. Craick, « How personality creates : the task of President A. Stanley Mackenzie of Dalhousie University », Maclean’s (Toronto), décembre 1913 : 21–24.— A. McK. MacMechan, Late harvest (Toronto, 1934).— W. C. Murray, « Stanley Mackenzie of Dalhousie », Dalhousie Rev. (Halifax), 18 (1938–1939) : 427–434.— P. B. Waite, The lives of Dalhousie University (2 vol., Montréal et Kingston, Ontario, 1994–1998).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

P. B. Waite, « MACKENZIE, ARTHUR STANLEY », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 26 mars 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/mackenzie_arthur_stanley_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/mackenzie_arthur_stanley_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   P. B. Waite
Titre de l'article:   MACKENZIE, ARTHUR STANLEY
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2016
Année de la révision:   2016
Date de consultation:   26 mars 2017