DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

MORRIS, CHARLES (1759-1831) – Volume VI (1821-1835)

b. 18 Nov. 1759 in Hopkinton, Mass.

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

The Métis
Original title:  Un métis et ses deux épouses, vers 1825-1826

Source: Link

 

The biography of Métis leader Cuthbert GRANT, who was a central figure in the pemmican war [see An Arduous Task, Marked by a Private War (1812–21)], recalls how the emergence of a national consciousness among his people had a decisive effect on the history of the colony:

“Cuthbert Grant, effectively bilingual, was the first educated Métis to wield a profound influence over the fate of his people. He was largely responsible for implanting in their minds the concept of a Métis nation that played such a vital role in the Red River uprising of 1869–70 and the Northwest rebellion of 1885. Yet Grant was no rebel. Throughout his career he was a staunch supporter of the authority he knew, first that of the North West Company and, after 1821, that of the Hudson’s Bay Company, and he made his violent mark in history not as an insurrectionary but as a partisan in a private war between two trading companies struggling within the great political vacuum of the early northwest.”

 

The Métis people originated, in part, from numerous marriages à la façon du pays (the custom of the country) between fur traders of European descent and First Nations or mixed-blood women, as described in this excerpt from the biography of the businessman, author, and governor of the Hudson’s Bay Company (HBC) George SIMPSON:

“Before his marriage to Frances, Simpson, like many others engaged in the fur trade, had developed relations with mixed-blood women, formalized in a manner known as marriage à la façon du pays. The agreement to live together involved no legal obligation on the part of the man, though many of the unions were lifelong, and in cases where the man left his partner, he usually made some provision for her welfare and that of her children.”

 

Through his involvement in traditional Métis activities, Pascal BRELAND, fur trader, farmer, and son-in-law of Cuthbert Grant, took his place among the Métis political, social, and economic elites. His various appointments led him to assist the governors of Red River [see Colonial Administration]:

“[Breland’s] extensive involvement in the fur trade, as both trader and middleman, brought him wealth and social prestige. His nickname, ‘le Roi des traiteurs,’ most likely given to him by the Métis and also used on occasion by French Canadian and Scottish fur traders, probably attests to both his fortune and his rank. According to his descendants he occupied an important position in the Métis’s semi-annual buffalo-hunting expeditions, possibly replacing Grant as captain of the hunt following the latter’s death in 1854.

Breland’s earliest involvement in the political affairs of the settlement occurred when he joined the Métis protest against the HBC’s fur-trade monopoly at the trial of Pierre-Guillaume Sayer* in May 1849. He was subsequently selected to sit on a committee set up by Louis Riel* Sr to express the Métis’s grievances against the HBC and Adam Thom*, the recorder of Rupert’s Land. Over the next two decades Breland was to occupy several important positions within the Red River settlement’s administrative structure. He sat on its governing body, the Council of Assiniboia, from 19 Sept. 1857 until 10 Aug. 1868 and the council appointed him magistrate (1850, 1861), petty judge (1851), and census-taker (1856), all for the district of White Horse Plain, and member of the board of public works (1856). Appointments such as these for members of the Métis ‘power group,’ although indications of blatant favouritism, were nevertheless awarded to individuals whose wealth and social prominence may have made them ‘natural leaders.’ Some authors have argued that Breland and others like him ‘would have been elected by popular vote, had that machinery existed.’”

 

The integration of Métis and aboriginal women into colonial high society was subject to progress and setbacks. The life of Sarah McLEOD (Ballenden), daughter of a fur trader and a mixed-blood woman, is a good example:

“As the wife of a rising young officer, Sarah Ballenden enjoyed life in Red River.…

“… Such was this vivacious young native woman’s social success that, according to James Bird, her friends predicted she was ‘destined to raise her whole Cast above european ladies in their influence on society here.’

“In 1850, however, Sarah Ballenden found herself at the centre of a scandal which had serious racial and social repercussions. What appears to have been an indiscreet flirtation on the part of Mrs Ballenden with Captain Christopher Vaughan Foss… provided fuel for gossip.… Anne Clouston, who came out from Britain in the fall of 1849 to marry HBC clerk Augustus Edward Pelly, was piqued at having to give precedence to a woman who by race and reputation she did not consider her equal. She circulated gossip to discredit Sarah and demanded that the governor of Assiniboia, Major William Bletterman Caldwell*, censure her immoral conduct. When John Ballenden left the settlement briefly in June 1850 to attend the annual meeting of the Council of the Northern Department, Mrs Ballenden was subjected to a concerted effort to exclude her from respectable society, led by Caldwell, the Andersons, the Cockrans, as well as Chief Trader John Black* and his wife.”

 

Tensions between white and Métis residents recurred throughout Red River’s history. Some attempted to reconcile the parties, as seen in the biography of Andrew Graham Ballenden BANNATYNE, businessman and member of the Council of Assiniboia [see The Red River Rebellion and the Creation of Manitoba, 186970]:

“Bannatyne played an important role in the drama of 1869–70, not least in his attempt to bridge the gap of fear and apprehension between mixed-bloods and whites. The racial tension underlying the events in the settlement was illustrated in February 1869 when the often arrogant Charles Mair*, an ally of John Christian Schultz* and the Canadian party, insulted Bannatyne’s wife Annie, a mixed-blood. ‘Mr. Mair got an awful overhauling from Mrs. Bannatyne – it is said she slapt his face and then struck him several times with a riding whip in Mr. B’s store in presence of several persons.’ Bannatyne certainly saw himself as a conciliator in the conflict of 1869–70 but he did not conceal his sympathy for the Métis. Yet his links with the English-speaking community were broad.… As a prominent member of the English-speaking community Bannatyne was called upon to chair many of the tense meetings of the winter of 1869–70, indicating his general acceptability to most residents of Red River. But Bannatyne’s own position was clear. At a meeting of all factions on 26 November, called to determine Winnipeg’s position at the convention of 1 December, Bannatyne was openly sympathetic to the Métis desire to secure terms from Canada.”

 

To learn more about the evolution of French- and English-speaking Métis communities in Red River as well as their interaction with the white populations between 1812 and 1870, consult biographies in the following lists.

 

Development and Demands of Métis Communities
Métis and Whites: Relationships and Representations
◀◀  2 3 4 6 7 8  ▶▶

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

AFFLECK, ANNIE EMMA – Volume XIV (1911-1920)

née le 26 juin 1845 à Halifax

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Les Métis
Titre original :  Un métis et ses deux épouses, vers 1825-1826

Provenance : Lien


La biographie du chef métis Cuthbert Grant, qui a été au centre de la guerre du Pemmican [V. Une implantation ardue marquée par une guerre privée (1812–1821)], rappelle à quel point l’émergence d’une conscience nationale parmi les siens a eu un effet décisif sur l’histoire de la colonie :

Cuthbert Grant, qui parlait couramment le français et l’anglais, fut le premier Métis instruit à exercer une influence profonde sur le destin de son peuple. Il contribua largement à implanter dans l’esprit de celui-ci la notion de nation métisse, qui joua un rôle si déterminant dans le soulèvement de la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge (Manitoba), en 1869–1870, et dans la rébellion du Nord-Ouest, en 1885. Pourtant, Grant n’était pas un rebelle. Tout au long de sa carrière, il appuya loyalement l’autorité qu’il connaissait, d’abord celle de la North West Company, puis, après 1821, celle de la Hudson’s Bay Company. Et si l’histoire garde de lui le souvenir d’un homme violent, ce n’est pas parce qu’il participa à des insurrections, mais parce qu’il prit part à la lutte que se livrèrent deux sociétés commerciales à une époque où le Nord-Ouest n’avait encore aucune institution politique.

 

La nation métisse est issue en partie des nombreux mariages « à la façon du pays » entre trafiquants de fourrures d’origine européenne et femmes autochtones ou sang-mêlé, dépeints dans cet extrait de la biographie de l’homme d’affaires, auteur et gouverneur de la Hudson’s Bay Company George Simpson :

Avant d’épouser sa cousine, Simpson, tout comme beaucoup d’autres hommes engagés dans la traite des fourrures, avait noué avec des femmes de sang-mêlé des relations qui étaient reconnues plus ou moins formellement sous le nom de mariage à la façon du pays. La décision de mener une vie commune n’imposait aucune obligation légale à l’homme, même si nombre de ces unions duraient toute la vie, et, en quittant sa partenaire, il prenait d’ordinaire certaines dispositions pour assurer sa subsistance et celle de ses enfants.

 

Grâce à son implication dans les activités traditionnelles des Métis, le gendre de Cuthbert Grant, le trafiquant de fourrures et agriculteur Pascal Breland, a fait sa place au sein des élites politiques, sociales et économiques métisses. Ses diverses nominations l’ont amené à seconder les gouverneurs de la Rivière-Rouge [V. Administration de la colonie] :

La traite des fourrures, [que Breland] pratiqua tant à titre de trafiquant que d’intermédiaire, lui valut à la fois fortune et prestige social, comme en témoigne probablement son surnom de « Roi des traiteurs » ; ce sont les Métis qui lui auraient donné ce sobriquet, mais les trafiquants canadiens-français et écossais l’utilisaient aussi en certaines occasions. Selon ses descendants, il occupait une place importante dans les expéditions de chasse au bison que les Métis organisaient deux fois l’an et, après la mort de Grant en 1854, il l’a peut-être remplacé comme capitaine de chasse.

Breland s’engagea pour la première fois dans les affaires politiques de la colonie en se joignant, au moment du procès de Pierre-Guillaume Sayer* en mai 1849, aux Métis qui protestaient contre le monopole que la Hudson’s Bay Company exerçait sur la traite des fourrures. Par la suite, on l’invita à faire partie du comité que Louis Riel* père avait formé pour faire connaître les griefs des Métis à l’égard de la compagnie et d’Adam Thom*, recorder de Rupert’s Land. Au cours des deux décennies suivantes, Breland allait occuper plusieurs postes importants dans la structure administrative de la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge. L’organisme qui régissait la colonie, le Conseil d’Assiniboia, dont il fut membre du 19 septembre 1857 au 10 août 1868, le nomma juge de paix en 1850 et en 1861, juge au tribunal des petites causes en 1851 et agent recenseur en 1856, toujours pour le district de la prairie du Cheval-Blanc (Saint-François-Xavier), de même que membre du comité des travaux publics en 1856. Quoiqu’elles aient été la preuve d’un favoritisme criant, les nominations de ce genre parmi les membres de « l’élite » métisse étaient néanmoins accordées à ceux qui, par leur fortune ou leur rang social, auraient été des « leaders naturels ». D’après certains auteurs, Breland et d’autres comme lui « auraient été élus au suffrage populaire, si ce mécanisme avait existé ».

 

L’intégration des Métisses et des Amérindiennes à la haute société coloniale a connu des avancées et des reculs au fil des décennies. La vie de Sarah McLeod (Ballenden), fille d’un trafiquant de fourrures et d’une Amérindienne sang-mêlé, en est un bel exemple :

Femme d’un jeune employé au brillant avenir, Sarah Ballenden mena une existence agréable à la Rivière-Rouge […] 

La jeune et vive autochtone connaissait un tel succès dans la société que, selon James Bird, ses amis avaient prédit qu’elle était « destinée à donner à sa caste tout entière une influence sur les gens de l’endroit [qui serait] supérieure à celle des femmes européennes ».

En 1850, toutefois, Sarah Ballenden se retrouva au cœur d’un scandale qui eut de graves conséquences raciales et sociales. Il semble qu’un flirt imprudent avec le capitaine Christopher Vaughan Foss […] alimenta les commérages […] Anne Rose Clouston qui, à l’automne de 1849, avait quitté la Grande-Bretagne pour épouser Augustus Edward Pelly, commis de la Hudson’s Bay Company, était vexée de devoir céder le pas à une femme qu’elle ne considérait pas comme son égale sous les rapports de la race et de la réputation. Elle propagea des ragots afin de discréditer Sarah Ballenden et demanda au gouverneur d’Assiniboia, le major William Bletterman Caldwell*, de condamner sa conduite immorale. Lorsque John Ballenden quitta la colonie pour quelque temps en juin 1850 afin d’assister à la réunion annuelle du conseil du département du Nord, des efforts concertés pour exclure sa femme de la société respectable furent menés par Caldwell, les Anderson, les Cockran, ainsi que par le chef de poste John Black* et sa femme.

 

Des tensions entre résidents blancs et métis ont ponctué l’histoire de la Rivière-Rouge. Certaines personnes ont tenté de concilier les parties, comme le montre la biographie d’Andrew Graham Ballenden Bannatyne, homme d’affaires et membre du Conseil d’Assiniboia [V. Rébellion de la Rivière-Rouge et création du Manitoba (1869–1870)] :

Bannatyne joua un rôle important au cours du drame de 1869–1870 ; il s’efforça particulièrement de dissiper les sentiments de crainte et d’inquiétude qui séparaient les Métis et les Blancs. Le conflit racial qui, dans la colonie, était sous-jacent aux événements se manifesta en février 1869, lorsque Charles Mair*, homme souvent arrogant, allié de John Christian Schultz* et du « parti canadien », insulta la femme de Bannatyne, Annie, une Métisse. « M. Mair reçut une terrible correction de Mme Bannatyne – on raconte qu’elle lui allongea une gifle et qu’elle le frappa à coups redoublés avec une cravache dans le magasin de M. B[annatyne] en présence de plusieurs personnes. » Il est certain que Bannatyne se voulut un conciliateur dans le conflit de 1869–1870, mais il ne cacha pas sa sympathie pour les Métis. Il avait pourtant de nombreux rapports avec le groupe anglophone […] Bannatyne, en sa qualité de membre éminent de la communauté anglophone, fut prié de diriger plusieurs des difficiles assemblées tenues pendant l’hiver de 1869–1870, ce qui montre qu’il était bien vu de la plupart des habitants de la Rivière-Rouge. Mais sa position était claire. Le 26 novembre, au cours d’une réunion de toutes les factions où l’on devait déterminer l’attitude à adopter par Winnipeg à la convention du 1er décembre, il indiqua nettement qu’il appuyait les Métis dans leur volonté d’obtenir des garanties du gouvernement canadien.

 

Pour en apprendre davantage sur l’évolution des communautés métisses francophones et anglophones de la Rivière-Rouge, de même que sur leurs rapports avec les populations blanches entre 1812 et 1870, nous vous invitons à consulter les listes de biographies qui suivent.

Développement et revendications des communautés métisses
Blancs et Métis : relations et représentations
◀◀  2 3 4 6 7 8  ▶▶