DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

MORRIS, CHARLES (1759-1831) – Volume VI (1821-1835)

b. 18 Nov. 1759 in Hopkinton, Mass.

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

The Red River Rebellion and the Creation of Manitoba, 1869–70
 

The unrest that preceded the creation of Manitoba [see The Fenians] arose largely out of a desire on the part of many inhabitants of the Red River colony, including a large number of Métis led by Louis RIEL, that the transition to the status of Canadian province be made in a way that respected the rights of local peoples. After survey work began in the summer of 1869, fear over land rights was among the causes that led to rebellion later that year:

“As tensions mounted among the Métis it was clear that strong leadership was needed. Riel’s experiences during the past ten years had produced a life-style very different from that of the buffalo-hunting Métis, but it was these people he now aspired to lead. The older, more established leaders had had little success and had shown little initiative. Riel – ambitious, well-educated, bilingual, young and energetic, eloquent, deeply religious, and the bearer of a famous name – was more than willing to provide what the times required.

“Late in August 1869, from the steps of the St Boniface cathedral, Riel declared the survey a menace. On 11 October a group of Métis, including Riel, stopped the survey. A week later, the National Committee, with John Bruce as president and Riel as secretary, was formed in St Norbert with the support of the local priest, Joseph-Noël Ritchot*.” 

 

In the fall of 1869 Prime Minister Sir John A. MACDONALD gave his interpretation of the rebellion’s origins:

“The main burden of blame Macdonald put upon officials of the [Hudson’s Bay Company]. The dissatisfaction of the Métis was well known to its local council. The transfer had been planned and known of for months. HBC officer John H. McTavish had been in Ottawa in April, had seen Macdonald and others, and had been told of the transfer of the northwest to Canada with the same rights for its inhabitants as had existed before. Yet company officials gave no explanation to the people of Red River about what was to happen. ‘All that those poor people know,’ Macdonald said to Cartier on 27 November, ‘is that Canada has bought the country… & that they are handed over like a flock of sheep to us; and they are told that they lose their lands…. Under these circumstances it is not to be wondered at that they should be dissatisfied, and should show their discontent.’”

 

The provisional government that took charge of Red River on 8 Dec. 1869 established a list of demands and prepared to negotiate with Canada, as related in the biography of Roman Catholic priest and missionary Noël-Joseph RITCHOT:

“On 11 Feb. 1870… Ritchot was once again in the public eye when he was named a delegate to the Canadian government in Ottawa, together with John Black*, president of the General Quarterly Court of Assiniboia, and Alfred Henry Scott*, a clerk. Black was to represent the English-speaking element in the colony, Scott the Americans, and Ritchot the Métis. Their task was to negotiate the entry of the Red River colony into confederation, based on the ‘List of Rights’ prepared by the executive of the provisional government, in fact the third such list drafted. It provided, among other things, for the establishment of a province, provincial control of public lands, the use of English and French in the legislature, the courts, and public documents, a bilingual lieutenant governor and judge, and an amnesty for all members of the provisional government and those who acted on its behalf. Before Ritchot left the colony on 24 March, he received a fourth version of the list, adding separate schools to the demands, probably at the request of Bishop [Alexandre-Antonin] Taché, and specifying the structure of the new provincial government.”

 

The negotiations, in which Sir George-Étienne CARTIER (one of the most important of the architects of Canada’s westward expansion and defenders of minority rights) played a key role, led to the provisional government’s ratification of the Manitoba Act on 24 June 1870 [see Sir George-Étienne Cartier]. The creation of the new province on 15 July, however, was followed by a period of instability and violence marked by Riel’s exile, as recounted in his biography:

“On 24 August Riel learned that the soldiers were planning to lynch him; he vacated Upper Fort Garry a few hours ahead of them. Accompanied by [William Bernard] O’Donoghue and a few others, Riel crossed the Red River to Taché’s palace in St Boniface. He told the bishop he had been deceived, but added: ‘No matter what happens now, the rights of the métis are assured by the Manitoba Bill; it is what I wanted – My mission is finished.’ Riel then proceeded to his home in nearby St Vital, where his mother lived; but growing more apprehensive about his safety he took refuge at St Joseph’s mission, about ten miles south of the border in Dakota Territory.”

 

The biographies that appear in the following lists provide additional information on this crucial chapter of the history of the Red River colony and of Canada.

 

Negotiations with Canada and the Manitoba Act
◀◀  12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20  ▶▶

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

BOUCHER, GENEVIÈVE – Volume III (1741-1770)

née à Boucherville le 19 août 1676

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Rébellion de la Rivière-Rouge et création du Manitoba (1869–1870)


Les troubles qui ont précédé la création du Manitoba découlaient en bonne partie du désir de plusieurs habitants de la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge, dont un grand nombre de Métis menés par Louis Riel, que le passage au statut de province canadienne se fasse dans le respect des droits des populations locales. Le début des travaux d’arpentage à l’été de 1869, source de craintes pour la propriété des terres, a été un des éléments déclencheurs de la rébellion :

À mesure que la tension montait chez les Métis, la nécessité d’une direction ferme devenait évidente. Les expériences vécues par Riel au cours des dix dernières années avaient fait de lui un homme dont le mode de vie différait beaucoup de celui des Métis chasseurs de bison, mais il aspirait désormais à diriger ces gens-là. Les chefs plus âgés et mieux reconnus avaient eu peu de succès et montré peu d’initiative. Ambitieux, instruit, bilingue, jeune et dynamique, éloquent, profondément religieux et porteur d’un nom célèbre, Riel était plus que consentant à répondre aux exigences du moment.

À la fin d’août 1869, du haut des marches de la cathédrale de Saint-Boniface, Riel déclara que l’arpentage constituait une menace. Le 11 octobre, un groupe de Métis dont il faisait partie arrêta les travaux. Environ une semaine plus tard, on mit sur pied à Saint-Norbert avec l’appui du curé de l’endroit, Joseph-Noël Ritchot*, le Comité national dont John Bruce était président et Riel secrétaire.

 

Le premier ministre sir John Alexander Macdonald a interprété ainsi le début de la rébellion à l’automne de 1869 :

[L]es plus grands coupables, selon [Macdonald], étaient les fonctionnaires de la Hudson’s Bay Company. Les membres du conseil local étaient parfaitement au courant du mécontentement des Métis. Le transfert était décidé et connu depuis des mois. Un fonctionnaire de la compagnie, John H. McTavish, venu à Ottawa en avril, avait rencontré Macdonald et d’autres ; on l’avait alors informé du transfert du Nord-Ouest au Canada et du fait que les habitants auraient les mêmes droits qu’auparavant. Pourtant, les fonctionnaires de la compagnie ne donnèrent aucune explication aux habitants de la Rivière-Rouge sur ce qui allait se passer. « Tout ce que ces pauvres gens savent, dit Macdonald à Cartier le 27 novembre, c’est que le Canada a acheté le pays [...] et qu’on nous les refile comme un troupeau de moutons ; et on leur dit qu’ils perdent leurs terres [...] Dans ce contexte, il ne faut pas s’étonner qu’ils soient insatisfaits et qu’ils montrent leur mécontentement. »

 

Le gouvernement provisoire instauré à la Rivière-Rouge le 8 décembre 1869 a établi une liste de revendications et a préparé les négociations avec le Canada, comme le relate la biographie du prêtre et missionnaire catholique Noël-Joseph Ritchot :

[L]e 11 février 1870, Ritchot fut nommé délégué auprès du gouvernement du Canada à Ottawa avec John Black*, président de la Cour générale des sessions trimestrielles de l’Assiniboia, et Alfred Henry Scott*, aubergiste. Black devait représenter les anglophones de la Rivière-Rouge, Scott, les Américains, et Ritchot, les Métis. Leur mission consistait à négocier l’entrée de la colonie dans la Confédération à partir de la « Liste des droits » (en fait, la troisième) dressée par l’exécutif du gouvernement provisoire. Cette liste revendiquait entre autres la création d’une province, l’administration des terres publiques par cette dernière, l’usage du français et de l’anglais en Chambre, dans les tribunaux et dans les documents officiels, la nomination d’un lieutenant-gouverneur et d’un juge bilingues ainsi que l’amnistie de tous les membres et représentants du gouvernement provisoire. Avant de quitter la colonie le 24 mars, Ritchot reçut une quatrième version de la liste ; elle réclamait en plus des écoles séparées, probablement à la demande de Mgr Taché, et précisait la structure du nouveau gouvernement provincial.

 

Les négociations – pendant lesquelles sir George-Étienne Cartier, un des principaux artisans de l’expansion du Canada vers l’ouest et défenseurs des droits des minorités [V. Sir George-Étienne Cartier], a joué un rôle important – ont mené à la ratification de l’Acte du Manitoba, par le gouvernement provisoire, le 24 juin 1870. La création de la nouvelle province, le 15 juillet, a cependant été suivie d’une période d’instabilité et de violence marquée par l’exil de Riel, comme le relate la biographie de ce dernier :

Informé, le 24 août, que les soldats se proposaient de le lyncher, Riel quitta Upper Fort Garry quelques heures avant leur arrivée. Avec O’Donoghue et quelques compagnons, il traversa la rivière Rouge et se présenta au palais épiscopal de Taché à Saint-Boniface. Il déclara à l’évêque que celui-ci avait été trompé ; « n’importe ce qui arrivera maintenant, ajouta-t-il cependant, les droits des métis sont assurés par le Bill de Manitoba ; c’est ce que j’ai voulu – Ma mission est finie ». Riel se rendit alors chez lui, dans le village avoisinant de Saint-Vital où vivait sa mère ; craignant de plus en plus pour sa sécurité, il se réfugia ensuite à la mission Saint-Joseph, située à dix milles environ au sud de la frontière, dans le Territoire du Dakota.

 

Pour en apprendre davantage sur ce chapitre crucial de l’histoire de la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge et du Canada, nous vous invitons à consulter les listes de biographies qui suivent.

Négociations avec le Canada et Acte du Manitoba
◀◀  12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20  ▶▶