DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

LAFLAMME, JOSEPH-CLOVIS-KEMNER – Volume XIII (1901-1910)

b. 19 Sept. 1849 in Saint-Anselme, Lower Canada

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Water Sports
Original title:  1900-1949images

Source: Link

 

With his many victories in rowing contests all over the world, Edward HANLAN was a major figure in Canadian sports and, for many, a symbol of the young country’s dynamism. As such, he occupies a prominent place in the history of sports in Canada:

“[Hanlan] ... had one more goal, the world championship, held by Australian Edward Trickett. On 15 Nov. 1880 he raced him on the Thames River’s historic Putney to Mortlake course and, with 100,000 spectators lining the banks, won easily. In doing so he became the new nation’s first world sporting champion in an individual or singles event. (Canada’s first world champions were the “four sturdy New Brunswickers” – Robert Fulton, Samuel Hutton*, George Price, and Elijah Ross – who won both the inrigged four and outrigged four at an international regatta in Paris in 1867.) News of Hanlan’s success, spread by telegraph and newspaper, touched off a rare moment of communion among English-speaking Canadians. His victory also enriched ‘hundreds’ of Ontarians ‘from Judges to peanut vendors’ (Toronto Globe) who had backed him with cabled wagers….

“His confident victories against the best rowers from the United States and Britain seemed to confirm the wisdom of the attempt to build a new northern nation, and the vitality of its rising cities and towns. The Globe called him Canada’s best immigration agent.”


A prosperous Toronto businessman, George GOODERHAM developed a keen interest in yachting, an expensive sport reserved for the more affluent, through which he was able to demonstrate his talents as a competitor and display his social status:

“Gooderham indulged a passion for yachting in his later years. In about 1880 he bought the racing schooner Oriole, which he moored at the east end of Toronto Bay by the distillery. It was replaced in 1886 by Oriole II, which won the Royal Canadian Yacht Club’s Prince of Wales Cup in six of the next seven years. Gooderham was vice-commodore of the club from 1884 to 1887 and commodore in 1888. He was also one of six investors in the cutter Canada, which won the first challenge for the Canada Cup, on Lake Erie on 25 Aug. 1896.…

“Gooderham held a number of exclusive posts in which he associated with other members of Toronto’s élite. He was at times master of the Toronto Hunt Club, a director of the Ontario Jockey Club, and a captain in the reserve militia.”


The biographies grouped in the following lists provide additional information about different water sports, their participants, supporters, and spectators:


Yachting
◀◀  11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19  ▶▶

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

RIGALI, MICHELE – Volume XIII (1901-1910)

né vraisemblablement le 26 mai 1841 en Toscane (Italie)

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Sports nautiques
Titre original :  1900-1949images

Provenance : Lien


De par ses nombreuses victoires en aviron partout à travers le monde, Edward Hanlan a été une figure majeure du sport canadien et a symbolisé pour plusieurs le dynamisme du jeune pays ; il occupe à ce titre une place de choix dans l’histoire du sport au Canada :

Hanlan avait encore un objectif : déloger le champion du monde, l’Australien Edward Trickett. Le 15 novembre 1880, devant 100 000 spectateurs massés sur les bords de la Tamise, il battit son adversaire à plate couture sur le parcours historique de Putney à Mortlake. Ce faisant, il devenait le premier Canadien à remporter un championnat du monde dans une épreuve en simple. (Les premiers champions mondiaux du Canada étaient les « quatre gaillards du Nouveau-Brunswick » – Robert Fulton, Samuel Hutton*, George Price et Elijah Ross – qui avaient gagné la course à quatre rameurs dans une embarcation à gréement intérieur et la course à quatre rameurs dans une embarcation à portants aux régates internationales de Paris en 1867.) Diffusée par le télégraphe et la presse, la nouvelle du triomphe de Hanlan créa un rare moment de communion entre les Canadiens anglais. En outre, selon le Globe de Toronto, sa victoire enrichit les « centaines » d’Ontariens – « du juge au vendeur d’arachides » – qui avaient parié sur lui par câble.

[…] Ses victoires tranquilles sur les meilleurs rameurs des États-Unis et de la Grande-Bretagne semblaient confirmer la sagesse des efforts déployés pour édifier un nouveau pays au nord et évoquaient la vitalité des villes et villages qui s’élevaient un peu partout. Selon le Globe, le Canada n’avait pas meilleur agent d’immigration que lui.

 

Homme d’affaires prospère de Toronto, George Gooderham a développé un vif intérêt pour le yachting, sport réservé aux plus fortunés en raison du coût de sa pratique et par lequel il a pu démontrer ses talents de compétiteur et afficher son statut social :

Dans ses années de maturité, Gooderham se passionna pour la navigation sportive. Vers 1880, il acheta un schooner de course, l’Oriole ; il l’amarrait à l’extrémité est de la baie de Toronto, à côté de la distillerie. En 1886, il remplaça ce bateau par l’Oriole II, qui, dans les sept années suivantes, remporta six fois la coupe du prince de Galles aux compétitions du Royal Canadian Yacht Club. Gooderham fut vice-commodore du club de 1884 à 1887 et commodore en 1888. En outre, il fut l’un des six commanditaires du cotre Canada, qui remporta le premier challenge de la coupe Canada sur le lac Érié le 25 août 1896 […]

Gooderham remplit plusieurs fonctions de prestige aux côtés d’autres membres de l’élite torontoise. Il fut tour à tour maître d’équipage du Toronto Hunt Club, administrateur à l’Ontario Jockey Club et capitaine dans la milice de réserve.

 

Les biographies regroupées dans les listes suivantes permettent d’en savoir davantage sur différents sports nautiques et les personnes qui les ont pratiqués, qui s’y sont intéressées et qui y ont été associées.

Yachting
◀◀  11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19  ▶▶