DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

HUSTON, JAMES – Volume VIII (1851-1860)

d. 21 Sept. 1854 at Quebec

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Rupert’s Land and the North-West Territories
 

Sir George-Étienne CARTIER, the minister of militia and defence in the government of the new dominion, and Minister of Public Works William McDOUGALL went to London in 1868 to negotiate with the British government and the Hudson’s Bay Company for the purchase of Rupert’s Land, the enormous territory to the west of Canada [see Territorial Expansion: The March Westward; and From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)]. The resulting agreement added more than a quarter of North America to the new dominion [see The Acquisition of Rupert’s Land].

The Métis population around the Red River settlement in Rupert’s Land feared that their rights would not be respected and objected that they had not been properly consulted [see The Red River Rebellion and the Creation of Manitoba, 1869–70]. Their leader was Louis RIEL:

“As tensions mounted among the Métis it was clear that strong leadership was needed. Riel’s experiences during the past ten years had produced a life-style very different from that of the buffalo-hunting Métis, but it was these people he now aspired to lead. The older, more established leaders had had little success and had shown little initiative. Riel – ambitious, well-educated, bilingual, young and energetic, eloquent, deeply religious, and the bearer of a famous name – was more than willing to provide what the times required.”


For more information on the acquisition of Rupert’s Land and the North-West Territories, consult the biographies in the following lists.

◀◀  22 23 24 25 26 27 28  ▶▶

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

LÉVESQUE, RENÉ – Volume XXI (1981-1990)

Semaine de l’histoire du Canada 2017

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Rupert’s Land et les Territoires du Nord-Ouest


Sir George-Étienne Cartier, ministre de la Milice et de la Défense dans le gouvernement du nouveau dominion, et William McDougall, ministre des Travaux publics, se rendirent à Londres en 1868 pour négocier, avec le gouvernement britannique et la Hudson’s Bay Company, l’achat de Rupert’s Land, énorme territoire dans l’ouest du Canada [V. De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870) ; L’expansion territoriale : la marche vers l’ouest]. L’accord qui en résulta ajoutait plus du quart de l’Amérique du Nord au nouveau dominion [V. L’acquisition de Rupert’s Land].

Craignant que ses droits ne soient pas respectés, la population métisse autour de la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge, dans Rupert’s Land, s’objecta en invoquant qu’on ne l’avait pas dûment consultée [V. Rébellion de la Rivière-Rouge et création du Manitoba (1869–1870)]. Son chef était Louis Riel :

À mesure que la tension montait chez les Métis, la nécessité d’une direction ferme devenait évidente. Les expériences vécues par Riel au cours des dix dernières années avaient fait de lui un homme dont le mode de vie différait beaucoup de celui des Métis chasseurs de bison, mais il aspirait désormais à diriger ces gens-là. Les chefs plus âgés et mieux reconnus avaient eu peu de succès et montré peu d’initiative. Ambitieux, instruit, bilingue, jeune et dynamique, éloquent, profondément religieux et porteur d’un nom célèbre, Riel était plus que consentant à répondre aux exigences du moment.

 

Pour en apprendre davantage sur l’acquisition de Rupert’s Land et des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, nous vous invitons à explorer les listes de biographies suivantes.

◀◀  22 23 24 25 26 27 28  ▶▶