DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Colonial Administration
Original title:  Fort Garry in 1860 (1885) | by Manitoba Historical Maps

Source: Link

 

Andrew H. BULGER, governor of Red River in 1822–23, described the needs of the colony and shared his recommendations with Andrew Colvile, a board member of the Hudson’s Bay Company (HBC) in London:

“Bulger had written a lengthy letter to Colvile in December 1822 about the state of the colony. He recommended that a system of courts and magistrates be set up, that a company of troops be sent to the colony to enforce the laws and keep the natives in order, that the settlers be allowed to purchase provisions and skins for clothing from the Indians and Métis, and that money be circulated. He also asked Colvile to find a market for the colony’s surplus grain. ‘If these things cannot be done,’ he warned, ‘spend no more of Lord Selkirk’s [Douglas*money upon Red River.’ Although his recommendations concerning provisions and currency were implemented by return post, the appeal for troops and markets remained unsatisfied for many years.” 

 

After working at Red River as a bookkeeper for the HBC in the late 1810s, Duncan FINLAYSON was promoted within the company, and his good reputation resulted in his appointment as governor of the colony in 1839:

“Finlayson became the governor of Assiniboia in the spring of 1839. Joined by his wife a year later, he supervised the Red River community, oversaw HBC interests, and contributed to the stability and grace of local society throughout his five years at Upper Fort Garry. During his tenure the judicial system of the colony was reorganized by the newly appointed recorder, Adam Thom*. At the same time agriculturalists were encouraged to develop methods and products appropriate to the environment.… He faced continual problems related to ‘freedom of trade’ but carefully avoided open confrontation. Challenges from merchants James Sinclair and Andrew McDermot*, and from Pembina trader Norman Wolfred Kittson*, had only begun when Finlayson left Red River [see Alexander Christie*]. His term was considered a success; Alexander Ross* concluded that he had ‘laid a solid basis, not only for the prosperity of the white man, but also for the Christian civilization of its aboriginal inhabitants.’…

“A dominant feature of Finlayson’s personality was his firm adherence to a high standard of personal conduct. Combined with moral uprightness was a sincere concern for the native peoples within the fur trade empire. In his record of the 1831 trip to the Columbia, Finlayson had condemned the treatment of the natives by his ‘licentious’ Canadian crew. In Columbia and Red River he supported the missionary enterprises as best he could.”

 

To learn more about the governors of the colony and various aspects of its administration between 1812 and 1870, read the biographies that appear in the following lists. 

 

◀◀  4 5 6 8 9 10  ▶▶

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

MORRIN, JOSEPH – Volume IX (1861-1870)

né le 19 octobre 1794 dans le comté de Dumfries, Écosse

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Administration de la colonie
Titre original :  Fort Garry in 1860 (1885) | by Manitoba Historical Maps

Provenance : Lien


Andrew H. Bulger, gouverneur de la Rivière-Rouge en 1822–1823, a dressé le portrait des besoins de la colonie et l’a soumis à Andrew Colvile, membre du comité de Londres de la Hudson’s Bay Company (HBC) :

En décembre 1822, Bulger avait écrit à Colvile une longue lettre dans laquelle il exposait l’état de la colonie. Il recommandait que l’on crée un système judiciaire et que l’on nomme des magistrats ; que l’on envoie des troupes dans la colonie afin de faire observer les lois et de maintenir l’ordre chez les aborigènes ; que l’on autorise les colons à se procurer auprès des Métis et des Indiens des fourrures pour se vêtir, ainsi que des provisions ; et, enfin, que l’on mette du numéraire en circulation. Il demandait aussi à Colvile de trouver un débouché pour écouler les surplus de grain de la colonie. « Si ces choses ne peuvent être faites, écrivait-il, ne dépensez plus l’argent de lord Selkirk [Douglas*pour la Rivière-Rouge. » On donna suite immédiatement aux recommandations touchant les vivres et le numéraire, mais la demande concernant les troupes et le débouché commercial resta lettre morte durant plusieurs années.

 

Après avoir travaillé à la Rivière-Rouge à titre de commis aux écritures pour la HBC à la fin des années 1810, Duncan Finlayson a progressé au sein de l’entreprise et sa bonne réputation lui a valu une nomination au poste de gouverneur de la colonie en 1839 :

Finlayson devint gouverneur d’Assiniboia au printemps de 1839, et sa femme le rejoignit un an plus tard ; il dirigea la communauté de la Rivière-Rouge, prit soin des intérêts de la Hudson’s Bay Company et s’appliqua à rendre la vie agréable et stable à Upper Fort Garry (Winnipeg) durant les cinq années qu’il y passa. Pendant cette période Adam Thom*, qui venait d’être nommé recorder, réorganisa le système judiciaire de la colonie. À la même époque, on encouragea les agronomes à développer des méthodes et des cultures mieux appropriées à la région [] Il dut constamment faire face aux problèmes du « libre commerce » mais il évita soigneusement d’en arriver à un véritable affrontement. Les marchands James Sinclair et Andrew McDermot*, et le trafiquant de Pembina, Norman Wolfred Kittson*, ne se livrèrent à une concurrence ouverte qu’après le départ de Finlayson de Rivière-Rouge [V. Alexander Christie*]. Son travail pendant son mandat fut un succès : Alexander Ross* déclara qu’il avait « donné des bases solides non seulement à la prospérité des Blancs mais encore à la civilisation chrétienne de la population aborigène » []

“Un trait dominant de la personnalité de Finlayson fut sa capacité de se conformer à une ligne de conduite d’une grande rectitude. De plus, il s’intéressa sincèrement au sort des indigènes qui vivaient à l’intérieur de l’empire du commerce des fourrures. Dans le compte rendu de son voyage au département de Columbia en 1831, Finlayson avait condamné la façon « immorale » dont l’équipage canadien avait traité les autochtones. Tant dans le département qu’à la Rivière-Rouge, il fit de son mieux pour aider les œuvres missionnaires.

 

Pour en apprendre davantage sur les gouverneurs de la colonie, ainsi que sur différentes facettes de son administration entre 1812 et 1870, nous vous invitons à consulter les listes de biographies qui suivent.

◀◀  4 5 6 8 9 10  ▶▶