DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

The Prime Minister: External Relations
 

One item on the long list of challenges that Sir Wilfrid LAURIER had to confront was that of harmonizing the national and international aspirations of Canada’s two founding peoples. This challenge was fundamental to his vision of national unity, a subject that had preoccupied Canadians since at least the end of the 1880s, as recalled in the following excerpt from his biography:

“The problem was basically one of national identity. Some saw the nation as closely linked to the British empire, while others saw it as attached to the North American continent. But there was more to the conflict. A number of Protestant anglophones favoured an exclusively English-speaking and Protestant Canada. Fearing the strength and ambition of the Catholic French Canadians, which Mercier expressed so vigorously, they set out on a crusade against Canadian dualism. On the other hand, French Canadians, with the support of some anglophones, dreamed mainly of a bilingual and bicultural Canada. They too set out on a passionate crusade.”

 

Relations with the British Empire

 

Laurier sought to develop Canada’s autonomy on the international stage, first in relation to Great Britain, which in 1897 demanded a new framework for imperial relations, one that did not conform to the national aspirations of all Canadians:

“The situation with regard to the mother country was much more complex. Britain was trundling out a new imperialism centred on the incomparable virtues of the ‘Anglo-Saxon race’ and its duty to convert as many peoples as possible to its brilliant civilization.”

 

Even though the new British imperialism appealed to many English Canadians, it met with opposition, particularly among French Canadians. Laurier equivocated, attracting the attention of critics, as recalled in this excerpt from the biography of the political journalist John Stephen WILLISON:

“[In 1899,] Laurier was attacked as too imperialist in Quebec and as ‘not British enough’ in Ontario.”

 

Laurier’s ambivalent attitude gave rise to even more criticism when, at the beginning of the Boer War (1899–1902), he dithered about deploying military contingents to South Africa. The conflict put the prime minister in a precarious position, as attested in this excerpt from the biography of Hugh GRAHAM, a long-time imperialist and the owner of an influential Montreal newspaper, the Montreal Daily Star:

“[In] early October 1899 [Graham] had his staff send some 6,000 telegrams to public figures across the country to solicit messages urging the necessity of Canada’s involvement. He hoped the replies would railroad the reluctant Liberal government of Sir Wilfrid Laurier* into the war. With headlines such as ‘Our country must be kept British,’ which appeared on 11 October, the Star’s pro-empire position antagonized nationalists from the province of Quebec, such as politicians Joseph-Israël Tarte* and Henri Bourassa*. Many opposed what they considered to be an unjust colonial war; others deplored the fact that parliament and the electorate were not being consulted.… The Star’s campaign and Graham’s personal pledge to provide up to $1,000,000 of insurance for the Canadian volunteers of the first contingent sent to South Africa contributed greatly to Canada’s eventual involvement [see Laurier], but they also helped to widen the gulf between Conservatives and nationalists as well as between French Canadians and the rest of the country.”

 

The end of the Boer War in May 1902 temporarily eased tensions between English and French Canadians over relations between the mother country and Canada. However, British interference in Canadian politics and its impact on national unity forced Laurier to take a firmer stance towards Great Britain:

“At the outset of Laurier’s second term, political clarification was the order of the day. In imperial relations, he decided to remove ambiguities, keeping a close eye on his electoral base in Quebec where Bourassa’s impassioned speeches were stirring more and more unrest. At a colonial conference in the summer of 1902, he rejected proposals for an imperial council, the creation of an imperial navy, and commercial union. On 13 March 1903 he gave this clear summary of his views to the House of Commons: ‘The British empire is composed of a galaxy of free nations all owing the same allegiance to the same sovereign, but all owing paramount allegiance ... to their respective peoples.’ These words met with a rather cool reception from many imperialists, but Bourassa was overjoyed. He made peace with the prime minister, even though at the same time he became the mentor of the militant Ligue Nationaliste Canadienne, to which imperialism was anathema [see Olivar Asselin*].”

 

British imperialism again made a forceful return to Canadian politics as German naval power increased in 1909–10. This time, the Laurier government was under pressure from those who demanded that Canada provide assistance to maintain the naval supremacy of the empire as well as from those who were opposed. (The prime minister had already envisaged the creation of a Canadian navy in 1902 but had not pursued it.) Laurier, who wanted to preserve Canadian autonomy while affirming his faith in the empire, proposed a compromise. On 12 Jan. 1910 he introduced a bill in the House of Commons that became the Naval Service Act.:

“[The bill] created, under the authority of the Canadian government, a navy of five cruisers and six destroyers which would be able to fight where Britain was involved in conflict.… There was a fierce debate in the house.… [But] with a united party behind him [Laurier] won in the house on 20 April. He still had to parry attacks from outside parliament. They were vicious in English-speaking Canada, but in Quebec they became disastrous under Bourassa’s leadership. Bourassa, who had just begun publishing his daily Le Devoir, formed an alliance with [Frederick Debartz] Monk in the summer of 1910 and organized meeting after meeting to heap scorn on Laurier and his accursed navy.”

 

For more detailed information on relations between Canada and the British Empire, we invite you to explore the following lists of biographies.

 

◀◀  18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26  ▶▶

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

CARSON, WILLIAM – Volume VII (1836-1850)

décédé le 26 février 1843 à St John’s

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Le premier ministre : les relations extérieures


Dans la longue liste des défis que doit relever sir Wilfrid Laurier figure l’harmonisation des aspirations nationales et internationales des deux peuples fondateurs du Canada. Cet enjeu, au cœur de sa vision d’union nationale, s’imposait d’ailleurs aux Canadiens depuis au moins la fin des années 1880, ainsi que le rappelle l’extrait suivant de sa biographie :

Au fond, le problème qui se posait alors concernait l’identité nationale. Certains voyaient la nation canadienne liée de près à l’Empire britannique tandis que d’autres l’ancraient davantage sur le continent nord-américain. Mais il y avait plus. Certains anglo-protestants optaient pour une nation canadienne plutôt exclusive, unilingue anglaise et protestante. Redoutant la force et l’ambition des Canadiens français catholiques, qu’exprimait avec tant de vigueur Mercier, ils partirent en croisade contre le dualisme canadien. Les autres, les Canadiens français, suivis par des Anglo-Saxons, rêvaient surtout d’un Canada bilingue et biculturel. Eux aussi partirent en croisade passionnée.

 

Les relations avec l’Empire britannique

Laurier cherche à développer l’autonomie du Canada sur la scène extérieure, d’abord par rapport à la Grande-Bretagne qui réclame, en 1897, un nouveau cadre de définition et de régularisation des relations impériales. Ce cadre, exigeant, ne correspond pas à toutes les aspirations nationales canadiennes :

Avec la mère patrie, la situation se présenta sous un angle beaucoup plus complexe. L’Angleterre véhiculait un nouvel impérialisme centré sur les incomparables vertus de la race anglo-saxonne et l’obligation de convertir le plus grand nombre de peuples à sa brillante civilisation […]

 

Si ce nouvel impérialisme britannique séduit plusieurs Canadiens anglais, il trouve des adversaires, notamment chez les Canadiens français. Laurier tergiverse, s’expose aux critiques, comme le rappelle cet extrait de la biographie du journaliste politique John Stephen Willison :

[En 1899, dansla province de Québec, on reprocha à Laurier d'être trop impérialiste et, en Ontario, de n'être « pas assez Britannique ».

 

L’attitude ambivalente de Laurier suscite encore plus de critiques lorsque, au début de la guerre des Boers (1899–1902), il hésite à déployer des contingents militaires en Afrique du Sud. Le conflit place le premier ministre dans une position délicate, comme l’atteste cet extrait de la biographie de Hugh Graham, impérialiste de la première heure et propriétaire d’un influent journal montréalais, le Montreal Daily Star :

Au début d’octobre 1899, [Graham] fit envoyer par ses employés quelque 6 000 télégrammes à des personnages publics dans tout le Canada afin de solliciter des messages sur la nécessité pressante de s’engager dans le conflit. Les réponses, espérait-il, forceraient le gouvernement libéral de sir Wilfrid Laurier* à surmonter ses réticences et à aller en guerre. La position impérialiste du Star, qui s’exprimait par des manchettes comme celle-ci, parue le 11 octobre, « Our country must be kept British », provoqua l’ire des nationalistes de la province de Québec, dont les hommes politiques Joseph-Israël Tarte* et Henri Bourassa*. Beaucoup s’opposaient à ce qu’ils considéraient être une guerre coloniale injuste ; d’autres déploraient que ni le Parlement ni l’électorat ne soient consultés […] La campagne du Star et l’engagement personnel de Graham à souscrire jusqu’à un million de dollars d’assurance pour les volontaires canadiens du premier contingent expédié en Afrique du Sud pesèrent beaucoup dans la décision du Canada de prendre part au conflit [V. sir Wilfrid Laurier], mais ils élargirent également le fossé entre les conservateurs et les nationalistes, et entre les Canadiens français et le reste du pays.

 

La fin de la guerre des Boers, en mai 1902, apaise momentanément les tensions entre les Canadiens anglais et les Canadiens français au sujet des relations entre la mère patrie et le Canada. Cependant, l’ingérence de l’impérialisme britannique dans la politique canadienne et ses impacts sur l’unité nationale contraignent Laurier à se montrer plus ferme vis-à-vis de la Grande-Bretagne :

Le deuxième mandat de Laurier s’amorça sous le signe des clarifications politiques. Clarifications d’abord dans les relations impériales. Laurier prit alors le parti de lever des ambiguïtés, les yeux un peu plus tournés vers le Québec, sa base électorale qui frémissait de plus en plus aux échos des discours passionnés de Bourassa. À la conférence coloniale de l’été de 1902, il dit non au Conseil impérial, non à la mise sur pied d’une force navale impériale, non, enfin, à l’union commerciale. Laurier, limpide, se résuma ainsi à la Chambre des communes, le 13 mars 1903 : « L’empire se compose d’une multitude de nations libres soumises à un même souverain, mais qui, avant tout, se doivent à elles-mêmes. » Reçus plutôt froidement par plusieurs impérialistes, ces propos précipitèrent Bourassa dans la joie. Il se réconcilia avec le premier ministre même s’il devint à ce moment le mentor de l’agissante Ligue nationaliste canadienne, dont le programme vomissait l’impérialisme [V. Olivar Asselin*]. 

 

Toutefois, en 1909–1910, à mesure que l'Allemagne accroît sa puissance navale, l’impérialisme britannique revient en force dans la politique canadienne. Cette fois, le gouvernement Laurier est soumis aux pressions de ceux qui réclament que le Canada apporte une assistance afin de maintenir la suprématie navale de l’Empire, et de ceux qui s’y opposent (le premier ministre a déjà envisagé la création d’une marine de guerre canadienne en 1902, sans y donner suite). Laurier, qui veut préserver l’autonomie canadienne tout en affirmant sa foi en l’Empire, propose un compromis. Il dépose aux Communes, le 12 janvier 1910, un projet de loi qui deviendra la Loi concernant le Service de la marine du Canada :

[Le projet de loi] créait, sous l’autorité du gouvernement canadien, une marine de guerre de cinq croiseurs et de six destroyers qui pourraient combattre où l’Angleterre était engagée […] Le débat fut impitoyable à la Chambre […] Uni toutefois à son parti, [Laurier] triompha à la Chambre le 20 avril. Il lui restait alors à contrecarrer les attaques extraparlementaires. Virulentes au Canada anglais, elles devinrent, sous le leadership de Bourassa, catastrophiques au Québec. Ce dernier, qui venait de fonder son quotidien le Devoir, forma une alliance avec Monk, à l’été de 1910, et multiplia les assemblées méprisantes pour Laurier et sa marine maudite.

 

Pour de plus amples informations sur les relations entre le Canada et l’Empire britannique, nous vous invitons à explorer les listes de biographies suivantes.

◀◀  18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26  ▶▶