DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Maintaining Order and the Colony’s Defence
 

The recorder for Rupert’s Land, Adam THOM, played an important role in rationalizing the structure of the judicial system in Red River:

“Prior to Thom’s appearance [in 1839], the administration of justice in the settlement had been informal and marked, according to Sheriff Alexander Ross*, by a ‘simple honesty.’ The HBC, however, in the course of a general administrative reorganization of the territory, decided ‘to establish as early as convenient a more regular and effectual administration of Justice.’ The recorder, functioning as legal organizer, adviser, magistrate, and councillor, was to be responsible for this rationalization and formalization of the judicial system.

“Thom’s reorganization was completed on 4 July 1839 and greatly pleased the governor and committee of the company. He also prepared a code of laws for the Council of Assiniboia in 1841 which was to prove of lasting value in that it formed the basis of a more comprehensive code written in 1862.”

 

The businessman and member of the Council of Assiniboia, Robert McBEATH, was eager to improve the defence of the colony:

“As a prominent figure in the settlement, McBeath was frequently called upon for jury duty and was appointed a justice of the peace on 19 Nov. 1852. In 1863 he was one of four justices of the peace who sent a petition to Governor Alexander Grant Dallas. Deploring the lack of a sufficient military force in the settlement to prevent jail breaks and to guard against Indian disturbances, the petitioners requested a renewal of negotiations with the Sioux as well as a warning to them to keep away from the settlement. In 1866 the governor was authorized to raise a body of 50 to 100 mounted men to meet any emergency.” 

 

Consult the biographies grouped in the following lists to learn more about the organization of the colony’s justice system and its defences between 1812 and 1870.

◀◀  5 6 7 9 10 11  ▶▶

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

MILLER, JOHN CLASSON – Volume XI (1881-1890)

né le 16 décembre 1836 dans le canton de Yonge, Haut-Canada

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Maintien de l’ordre et défense de la colonie


Le recorder de Rupert’s Land, Adam Thom, a joué un rôle important dans la structuration du système juridique de la colonie :

Avant l’arrivée de Thom dans la colonie [en 1839], on administrait la justice en dehors des règles et en se fondant, au dire du shérif Alexander Ross*, sur le principe de la « simple honnêteté ». Mais la Hudson’s Bay Company, qui entendait réorganiser toute la gestion du territoire, décida d’« établir aussitôt que possible une administration de la justice plus régulière et plus efficace ». C’est au recorder, en sa qualité de codificateur des lois, d’avocat-conseil, de magistrat et de conseiller juridique, que fut confiée la tâche de codifier et d’uniformiser le système juridique.

Thom vint à bout de cette tâche le 4 juillet 1839, et les résultats de son travail plurent beaucoup au gouverneur et au comité de la compagnie. En 1841, il prépara aussi, à l’usage du Conseil d’Assiniboia, un code de lois qui s’avéra durable, car il servit de base à la rédaction d’un code plus complet en 1862.

 

L’homme d’affaires et membre du Conseil d’Assiniboia Robert McBeath s’est soucié d’améliorer la défense de la colonie :

En sa qualité de personnage important de la colonie, McBeath se vit souvent demander de remplir les fonctions de juré et, le 19 novembre 1852, il fut nommé juge de paix. En 1863, il comptait parmi les quatre juges de paix qui envoyèrent une pétition au gouverneur en chef de la Hudson’s Bay Company, Alexander Grant Dallas ; déplorant l’insuffisance des effectifs militaires dans la colonie pour empêcher les prisonniers de s’évader et pour se mettre à l’abri des soulèvements des Indiens, les pétitionnaires exigeaient qu’on renouvelât les négociations avec les Sioux et qu’on les avertît de se tenir éloignés de la colonie. En 1866, le gouverneur reçut l’autorisation de recruter un corps de 50 à 100 hommes à cheval pour faire face aux situations critiques.

 

Les biographies regroupées dans les listes suivantes permettent d’en savoir davantage sur l’organisation de la défense et de la justice dans la colonie entre 1812 et 1870.

◀◀  5 6 7 9 10 11  ▶▶