DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

HUSTON, JAMES – Volume VIII (1851-1860)

d. 21 Sept. 1854 at Quebec

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Music and Literature
 

Alexander MUIR, a teacher and songwriter who lived in the Toronto area, wrote patriotic songs and used poetry and music to encourage an interest in Canada and its history:

“Muir is best known as the author of ‘The maple leaf for ever,’ written in October 1867 while he was living in Leslieville…. it became so popular within the country’s English-speaking population that it was often referred to as Canada’s national song. Its use, however, had diminished dramatically long before 1980, when ‘O Canada,’ by Calixa Lavallée* and Adolphe-Basile Routhier*, was approved as the official national anthem. Muir’s song had been doomed as a potential national anthem, of course, by its pro-British sentiment. Lyrics celebrating Canada as a place where ‘the Thistle, Shamrock, Rose entwine / The Maple Leaf for ever’ exclude the fleur-de-lis, and the description of Major-General James Wolfe* as ‘the dauntless hero’ inevitably alienated Canadians of French origin.”


Judge Sir Adolphe-Basile ROUTHIER of Quebec’s Superior Court made a lasting contribution to Canada in 1880:

“During his career on the bench Routhier was a prolific writer. In the spring of 1880 he wrote the words for what would become the national anthem, ‘O Canada,’ set to music by Calixa Lavallée*. It was played for the first time at the Convention Nationale des Canadiens Français, held late in June 1880 under the aegis of the Société Saint-Jean-Baptiste de la Cité de Québec. Routhier subsequently worked on some 20 different versions and translations of the piece.”


The poet Charles SANGSTER moved from personal themes to broader topics, and his work shows the influence of Archibald LAMPMAN, William Bliss CARMAN, and other “confederation poets”:

“In ‘Norland echoes and other strains and lyrics,’ which contains 60 poems including the untitled introduction, patriotism has become the dominant theme. It is expressed with admirable openness and sincerity. The collection opens with ‘Our norland’ and closes with the same pride of country in ‘Our own far-north’; the pair enclose poems on Canadian places, historical events, and people.”


In Quebec, literary nationalism was frequently associated with an image of French Canada that was conservative and influenced by the Roman Catholic Church, but some poets, such as Louis FRÉCHETTE, wrote “in the service of radical liberalism.” For the most part, French Canadian literary nationalists operated within and accepted confederation. A conspicuous exception was the journalist and author Jules-Paul TARDIVEL:

“For ten years, from the Riel affair until 1895, Tardivel developed his plan for national autonomy. Eventually, for reasons that had as much to do with the defence of religion as with the growth and prosperity of French Canada, he came to advocate independence. His novel Pour la patrie, published in Montreal in 1895, marked the culmination of this trend in his thought, which subsequently he would merely clarify or make more explicit. For Tardivel, the religious and national solution lay in ‘founding a French Canadian and Catholic state.’”


The musician and composer Ernest GAGNON was interested in music as it related, in particular, to French Canada’s past:

“Gagnon is perhaps best remembered for his collection of folk-songs, Chansons populaires du Canada, published serially in Le Foyer canadien (Québec) from 1865 to 1867, and in 1880 in a second edition, which was reprinted at least 13 times by the 1950s. Chansons populaires contains complete renditions (text and music) of just over 100 songs. This repertory includes some songs which Gagnon notated in the field and others which he added because of their pervasiveness in the song tradition of the day.… In its historical context the collection was part of the drive to affirm the notion of a French Canadian identity by uncovering the past – for Gagnon, as for many French Canadians, folk-song was an integral and unique aspect of that past.”


The poet Emily Pauline JOHNSON drew on her native heritage for inspiration:

“[She] toured Canada from coast to coast, as well as parts of the United States.… Her second collection, Canadian born (Toronto), appeared in 1903. Reflecting Canadian experience more generally and embodying the patriotic sentiments typical of the era of the South African War, it proved less successful than the earlier volume, with its emphasis on native subjects and experience, had been. In fact, Johnson’s poetry is more wide-ranging and exploratory than the traditional focus on her lyrics of landscape and native life might suggest. Some of her poems celebrate the country’s recreational north (as in ‘Under canvas’ and ‘The camper’), others reflect the intense nationalism and idealism of Edwardian Canada (such as ‘Canadian born’ or ‘Prairie greyhounds’) or explore Christian themes (‘Brier’ and ‘Christmastide’), and still others are light or comic in tone (for example, ‘Canada (acrostic)’ and ‘A toast’). Together these themes suggest a broader and more engaged sensibility than that usually attributed to her.”


For more information on the relationship between literature, music, and national identities, please consult the following biographies.

◀◀  36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44  ▶▶

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

LETENDRE, Batoche, FRANÇOIS-XAVIER – Volume XIII (1901-1910)

décédé le 25 avril 1901 à Batoche (Saskatchewan)

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

La musique et la littérature


Alexander Muir, enseignant et auteur-compositeur de la région de Toronto, écrivait des chansons patriotiques. Il utilisait la poésie et la musique dans le but de stimuler l’intérêt pour le Canada et son histoire :

[Muir] est surtout connu en tant qu’auteur de la chanson The maple leaf for ever, écrite en octobre 1867 pendant qu’il vivait à Leslieville […] cette chanson devint si populaire auprès de la population anglophone que souvent, on en parlait comme de l’hymne national du Canada. Toutefois, elle connut un déclin prononcé bien avant que le Ô Canada de Calixa Lavallée* et d’Adolphe-Basile Routhier* n’acquière ce statut officiel, en 1980. Il était exclu que ce titre échoie à la chanson de Muir en raison de son ton probritannique. Elle célébrait en effet le Canada comme un lieu où « le chardon, le trèfle et la rose enlacent / Pour toujours la feuille d’érable », sans mentionner la fleur de lis, et le major-général James Wolfe* y était appelé « le héros intrépide ». Ces paroles lui aliénaient inévitablement les Canadiens français.

 

Sir Adolphe-Basile Routhier, juge de la Cour supérieure de la province de Québec, apporta une contribution durable au Canada en 1880 :

Durant sa carrière de juge, Routhier fut aussi un écrivain prolifique. Au printemps de 1880, il composa les paroles de ce qui allait devenir l’hymne national Ô Canada, mis en musique par Calixa Lavallée*. L’œuvre fut jouée pour la première fois à la Convention nationale des Canadiens français, tenue à la fin de juin 1880 sous l’égide de la Société Saint-Jean-Baptiste de la cité de Québec. Par la suite, Routhier travailla sur une vingtaine de versions ou traductions différentes de son hymne.

 

Le poète Charles Sangster passa de thèmes personnels à des sujets plus vastes. Ses œuvres témoignent de l’influence d’Archibald Lampman, de William Bliss Carman et d’autres « poètes de la Confédération » :

Dans Norland echoes and other strains and lyrics, qui contient 60 poèmes dont une introduction sans titre, c’est le patriotisme qui domine, un patriotisme d’une générosité et d’une sincérité admirables. La pièce du début, Our norland, et celle de la fin, Our own far-north, expriment une même fierté nationale ; entre les deux, des poèmes sur des lieux, des événements historiques, des personnages du Canada.

 

Au Québec, le nationalisme littéraire était souvent associé à l’image d’un Canada français conservateur et influencé par l’Église catholique, mais la plume de certains poètes, comme celle de Louis Fréchette, était au « au service du libéralisme radical ». La plupart des nationalistes littéraires canadiens-français travaillaient au sein de la Confédération et l’acceptaient. Le journaliste et auteur Jules-Paul Tardivel fut cependant une exception notoire :

Pendant dix ans, soit de l’affaire Riel à 1895, Tardivel raffine son projet autonomiste qui aboutit à l’indépendantisme pour des raisons qui tiennent autant de la défense religieuse que de l’épanouissement national. Son roman Pour la Patrie, publié à Montréal en 1895, marque l’aboutissement de sa pensée séparatiste qu’il ne fera ensuite que préciser ou expliciter. La solution religieuse et nationale pour Tardivel réside dans la « fondation d’un état canadien-français et catholique ».

 

Le musicien et compositeur Ernest Gagnon s’intéressait à la musique et notamment à son lien avec le passé du Canada français :

[C]’est peut-être surtout grâce à Chansons populaires du Canada qu’Ernest Gagnon est passé à la postérité. Publié par tranches à Québec dans le Foyer canadien de 1865 à 1867, ce recueil fit l’objet en 1880 d’une deuxième édition qui fut réimprimée au moins 13 fois entre cette date et les années 1950. On y trouve l’intégrale (texte et musique) d’une centaine de chansons folkloriques. Une partie d’entre elles ont été notées sur le terrain par Gagnon et d’autres ont été ajoutées par lui en raison de leur importance dans la tradition chantée de l’époque […] En replaçant le recueil dans son contexte historique, on voit qu’il s’inscrivait dans la volonté d’affirmer l’identité canadienne-française par une remise au jour du passé, car pour Gagnon comme pour beaucoup de Canadiens français, le folklore était un aspect essentiel et unique de ce passé.

 

La poète Emily Pauline Johnson puisa son inspiration dans son héritage autochtone :

Pendant 17 ans, les tournées d’Emily Pauline Johnson la menèrent d’un bout à l’autre du Canada et dans certaines régions des États-Unis […] Son deuxième recueil, Canadian born, parut à Toronto en 1903. Comme il donnait un aperçu plus général de la réalité canadienne et exprimait le patriotisme de l’époque de la guerre des Boers, il remporta moins de succès que le premier, axé sur la réalité autochtone. En fait, la poésie d’Emily Pauline Johnson a un caractère plus exploratoire et une thématique plus riche que ne le suggère la tradition, qui a retenu surtout ses vers lyriques sur le paysage et la vie amérindienne. Certains de ses poèmes célèbrent le Nord canadien en tant que lieu de détente (Under canvas et The camper, par exemple). D’autres reflètent le nationalisme et l’idéalisme fervents du Canada édouardien (Canadian born et Prairie greyhounds) ou abordent des thèmes chrétiens (Brier et Christmastide). D’autres encore sont d’un ton léger ou comique (par exemple Canada (acrostic) et A toast). Pris ensemble, ces thèmes suggèrent une sensibilité plus diversifiée et un engagement plus solide qu’on ne le croit d’ordinaire.

 

Pour en apprendre davantage sur la relation entre la littérature, la musique et les identités nationales, nous vous invitons à explorer les listes de biographies suivantes.

◀◀  36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44  ▶▶