DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

MORRIS, CHARLES (1759-1831) – Volume VI (1821-1835)

b. 18 Nov. 1759 in Hopkinton, Mass.

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Cartier and the Union: Strengths and Limitations of a Regime (1848–67)
Original title:  The House of Assembly of Montreal, circa 1848, is shown in this drawing by James Duncan. Archeologists digging up a Montreal parking lot that once was home to a pre-Confederation parliament have begun unearthing bits and pieces of its past.

Source: Link

 

Elected to the Legislative Assembly of United Canada in 1848, George-Étienne CARTIER, like the Reform leader Louis-Hippolyte LA FONTAINE, continued to believe that French Canadians could benefit from the union. The following excerpt is taken from Cartier’s biography: 

“To the former [Patriote] leader [Louis-Joseph Papineau] who had returned to politics after his years of exile and who asked for the repeal of the union, La Fontaine replied that the regime had been planned in order to crush the French Canadians, but that the latter had succeeded in utilizing it for their own benefit, and they must continue to extract every advantage from it. Cartier was to put this idea into practice.”

 

However, it was difficult to adapt the political institutions of the union to the major demographic and socio-economic changes that occurred from the 1850s. The biography of John A. MACDONALD, who became co-premier with Cartier in 1857, shows how the situation developed and the need to pursue reform:

“The truth was that the Upper Canadian Conservatives had usually been sustained in power by their alliance with Cartier and the Bleu bloc, which held a majority in Lower Canada. This relationship had obvious political advantages and reflected both Macdonald’s belief in French-English cooperation and his long-standing commitment to the union of Upper and Lower Canada as an economic necessity. The relationship also meant that his brand of Conservatism had become more and more unpopular in his own section of the province and increasingly open to charges of ‘French [Canadian] domination’ of the ministry. … After 1851 the population of the western section of the province [of Canada] exceeded the east’s.… Thus in the period 1854–64 he was in a kind of political trap of his own making. To stay in power he needed French Canadian support.…”

 

It was in this context that Alexander Tilloch GALT, one of Cartier’s fellow cabinet ministers, put forward his idea of a possible union of the British colonies of North America. This paved the way for Cartier’s ambitious national plans: 

“At that time … Galt had quite a detailed conception of how powers within such a federation might be organized: a central government with fundamental as well as residual powers, the creation of a supreme court, and payment of federal subsidies to the provinces. He persuaded his colleagues to make this plan for a federal union an explicit aim of the new government. With the encouragement of Governor [Sir Edmund Walker] Head, three ministers – Galt, Cartier, and John Ross* – went to Britain in October 1858 to study the proposal with officials in the Colonial Office.”

 

The British government rejected Galt’s proposals. The political stalemate continued in United Canada until 1864, when it reached a critical point (there had been two elections and four administrations since 1861). In his search for a solution, Cartier decided to support the plan of an adversary, the leader of the Clear Grits, George BROWN:

“[Brown] let the Conservative leaders know that he would support theirs or any other ministry if they would act to solve the constitutional problem. They were ready to respond. On 17 June, John A. Macdonald and Alexander Tilloch Galt*, a leading proponent of British North American federation, met with Brown in his room at the St Louis Hotel. Cartier later joined the discussions. It was soon decided that the only solution lay ‘in the federative principle suggested by the report of Mr. Brown’s committee,’ and that an approach should first be made to the Atlantic provinces to seek a general British American federal union. Brown had looked ultimately toward this larger goal, but he had deemed earlier Conservative advocacy of it to be premature and mainly used as a red herring to evade action on Canada’s own internal constitutional problem. But since the Conservatives had now agreed to federate the Canadian union, he could only see a great gain if the other colonies could also be included. He agreed, though reluctantly, to enter the government with two Reform supporters. The new coalition to seek a confederation would thus have overwhelming strength in the house, backed both by the Brownite Grit western majority and Cartier’s Bleu eastern majority. Deadlock was over. George Brown had initiated the breakthrough, and the movement to a whole new union.

“On 22 June 1864 the ‘Great Coalition’ was announced to a wildly jubilant house.”

 

All in all, Cartier was won over to the plan:

“Cartier became the advocate of a federation of the provinces of British North America because it appeared to him the best way of extrication from the political difficulties of the period, created especially by the question of representation by population.”

 

Cartier sought to link the project to minority rights, particularly those of his French Canadian Roman Catholic compatriots. He defended these rights at the confederation conferences of Charlottetown and Quebec City in 1864, and then in London in 1866:

“The fate of the Protestant and Catholic minorities under a future federation was to be discussed again and decided at the London conference. Cartier left Montreal for London on 12 Nov. 1866, and from 4 December on he took part in the work of the conference. The delegates from Canada, New Brunswick, and Nova Scotia approved, with a few changes, the Quebec resolutions; these became the London resolutions, and finally the British North America Act, which was ratified by Queen Victoria on 29 March 1867. According to testimony published on 26 May 1873 in Le Constitutionnel of Trois-Rivières by Elzéar Gérin*, who was in London, John A. Macdonald tried to transform the federative system that had been accepted at Quebec into a much more centralized union. George-Étienne Cartier allegedly opposed it, and threatened his colleague that he would wire Prime Minister Belleau and ask for the ministry to be dissolved. Macdonald did not insist. This version has been accepted by some historians, without serious proof, but it remains true that Cartier continued in London, as he had at Quebec, to protect the interests of Lower Canada.”

 

For more information on the issues and problems concerning the union after 1848, we invite you to explore the following lists of biographies:

 

◀◀  4 5 6 8 9 10  ▶▶

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

McDOWELL, EUGENE ADDISON – Volume XII (1891-1900)

décédé le 21 février 1893 à Bloomingdale, New York

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Cartier et l’Union : forces et limites d’un régime (1848–1867)
Titre original :  The House of Assembly of Montreal, circa 1848, is shown in this drawing by James Duncan. Archeologists digging up a Montreal parking lot that once was home to a pre-Confederation parliament have begun unearthing bits and pieces of its past.

Provenance : Lien


Élu député à l’Assemblée législative du Canada-Uni en 1848, George-Étienne Cartier, comme le chef réformiste Louis-Hippolyte La Fontaine, continue de croire que les Canadiens français peuvent tirer profit du régime de l’Union. L’extrait suivant provient de la biographie de Cartier :

À l’ancien chef [patriote Louis-Joseph Papineau] qui avait décidé de revenir à la politique après ses années d’exil et qui demandait le rappel de l’Union, La Fontaine répondait que le régime avait été préparé pour écraser les Canadiens français, mais que ceux-ci avaient réussi à l’utiliser à leur profit et qu’il fallait continuer à en tirer tous les avantages. C’est l’idée que Cartier devait mettre en pratique.

 

Cependant, les institutions politiques de l’Union s’adaptent difficilement aux importants changements démographiques et socioéconomiques qui surviennent à partir des années 1850. La biographie de John Alexander Macdonald, qui deviendra co-premier ministre avec Cartier en 1857, montre l’évolution de la situation et la nécessité de la poursuite de la réforme :

En fait, si les conservateurs haut-canadiens avaient gardé le pouvoir jusque-là, c’était en général grâce à leur alliance avec Cartier et le bloc des « bleus », qui détenait la majorité au Bas-Canada. Cette association, qui reflétait la foi de Macdonald en la coopération entre francophones et anglophones et en la nécessité économique de l’union du Haut et du Bas-Canada, présentait des avantages évidents sur le plan politique. Cependant, elle réduisait progressivement la popularité de son type de conservatisme dans sa section de la province et exposait le cabinet à des accusations de plus en plus fréquentes d’être « dominé par les [Canadiens] Français » […] À compter de 1851, la population de la partie ouest de la province [du Canada] dépassa celle de l’est […] De 1854 à 1864, il se trouvait donc, par sa propre faute, dans une sorte de piège politique. Pour rester au pouvoir, il avait besoin du soutien des Canadiens français.

 

C’est dans ce contexte qu’Alexander Tilloch Galt, membre du cabinet, tout comme Cartier, expose sa conception d’une éventuelle union des colonies britanniques d’Amérique du Nord. Celle-ci pave la voie aux ambitieux projets nationaux de Cartier :

Galt avait […] à l’époque une vision très détaillée de ce que pourrait être l’organisation des pouvoirs au sein d’une telle fédération : gouvernement central doté des pouvoirs essentiels ainsi que des pouvoirs résiduels, création d’une cour suprême, paiement de subsides fédéraux aux provinces. Il réussit à convaincre ses collègues de faire de ce projet de fédération un objectif avoué du nouveau ministère. En octobre 1858, encouragés par le gouverneur Head, les ministres Galt, Cartier et John Ross* s’embarquèrent pour la Grande-Bretagne afin de discuter de la proposition avec les responsables du ministère des Colonies. 

 

Le gouvernement britannique rejette les propositions de Galt. L’impasse politique tend à se poursuivre au Canada-Uni jusqu’en 1864, où elle atteint un seuil critique (il y a eu deux élections et quatre administrations depuis 1861). Dans sa recherche de solutions, Cartier est finalement inspiré par les idées d’un adversaire, le chef des Clear Grits, George Brown :

[Brown] fit savoir aux chefs conservateurs qu’il était prêt à leur accorder son appui, comme à tout autre ministère, s’ils étaient décidés à prendre les mesures voulues pour résoudre la question constitutionnelle. Ils étaient maintenant prêts à l’écouter. Le 17 juin, John A. Macdonald et Alexander Galt*, un des principaux partisans d’une fédération de l’Amérique du Nord britannique, eurent un entretien avec Brown dans sa chambre de l’hôtel Saint-Louis. Cartier se joignit un peu plus tard à la discussion. On en arriva bientôt à la conclusion que la seule solution était « le principe d’une fédération, suggéré dans le rapport du comité de M. Brown », et qu’il faudrait commencer par pressentir les provinces de l’Atlantique, pour tenter d’arriver à une union générale de l’Amérique britannique. Brown avait bien envisagé cette vaste union comme but final, mais il estimait que les recommandations faites plus tôt à ce sujet par les conservateurs étaient prématurées, et ne servaient qu’à détourner l’attention du public afin d’éviter d’avoir à prendre des mesures sur les problèmes constitutionnels internes du Canada. Mais, puisque les conservateurs avaient maintenant accepté l’idée de constituer en fédération l’union canadienne, il ne voyait qu’avantages à y inclure les autres colonies si c’était possible. Il accepta, mais à contrecœur, de faire partie du gouvernement avec deux partisans réformistes. La nouvelle coalition, formée dans le but de créer une confédération, jouirait d’un pouvoir remarquable au parlement, puisqu’elle aurait l’appui des Grits de Brown, qui avaient la majorité dans le Haut-Canada, et celui des bleus de Cartier, qui avaient la majorité dans le Bas-Canada. On était enfin sorti de l’impasse. George Brown avait été l’instigateur des pourparlers et du mouvement en faveur d’une forme d’union totalement nouvelle.

Le 22 juin 1864, on annonça la formation de la « Grande Coalition » à un parlement enthousiaste.

 

Converti, en somme, au projet :

Cartier se fit l’apôtre d’une fédération des provinces de l’Amérique du Nord britannique parce qu’elle lui parut le meilleur moyen de sortir des difficultés politiques de l’époque, créées en particulier par la question de la représentation basée sur la population.

 

Cartier veut toutefois lier le projet aux droits des minorités, en particulier ceux de ses compatriotes canadiens-français catholiques. Il défend ces principes aux conférences confédératives de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864, puis à Londres en 1866 :

C’est à la conférence de Londres que devait être de nouveau discuté et fixé le sort des minorités protestantes et catholiques de la future fédération. Cartier quitta Montréal pour Londres le 12 novembre 1866 et, à compter du 4 décembre, il participa aux travaux de la conférence. Les délégués du Canada, du Nouveau-Brunswick et de la Nouvelle-Écosse approuvèrent, après quelques transformations, les Résolutions de Québec qui devinrent les Résolutions de Londres et, finalement, l’Acte de l’Amérique du Nord britannique, sanctionné par la reine Victoria le 29 mars 1867. D’après un témoignage publié dans le Constitutionnel de Trois-Rivières, le 26 mai 1873, par Elzéar Gérin*, qui était à Londres, John A. Macdonald aurait tenté de transformer le système fédératif accepté à Québec en une union beaucoup plus centralisée. George-Étienne Cartier s’y serait opposé et aurait menacé son collègue de demander par télégramme au premier ministre Belleau la dissolution du ministère. Macdonald n’aurait pas insisté. Cette version a été reprise par quelques historiens qui n’ont pu toutefois l’étayer de preuves sérieuses, mais il reste que Cartier continua à Londres, comme il l’avait fait à Québec, à protéger les intérêts du Bas-Canada.

 

Pour plus d’informations sur des enjeux et des problèmes associés à l’Union après 1848, nous vous invitons à explorer les listes de biographies suivantes.

◀◀  4 5 6 8 9 10  ▶▶