DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Missions and Religious Life
 

At the height of the pemmican war [see An Arduous Task, Marked by a Private War (1812–21)], Thomas DOUGLAS, 5th Earl of Selkirk, believed that the establishment of a mission would stabilize the young colony and help restore order. It was in this context that the first Roman Catholic priests settled at Red River, as recalled in the biography of one such man, Joseph Norbert PROVENCHER, the region’s future bishop:

“In 1816 Selkirk and Miles Macdonell*, the [Hudson’s Bay Company] governor of Assiniboia, had asked [the bishop of Quebec Joseph-Octave] Plessis to send a missionary to the Red River, in the hope that the presence of a mission would put the colony on a more solid footing. A Catholic himself, Macdonell was well aware that the majority of the new settlers were Irish and Scottish Catholics, and that the region’s Métis and French Canadian population, consisting of former engagés of the [North West Company] and their families, was also in large part Catholic.…

“Provencher, [the priest Sévère] Dumoulin, and [the seminarist William] Edge left Montreal on 19 May 1818, and on 16 July reached Fort Douglas (Winnipeg), where the governor of Assiniboia, Alexander McDonell*, lived. They were warmly received by the Catholics in the settlement.… According to Plessis’s instructions, the first two objectives of the mission were to convert the ‘Indian nations scattered over that vast country’ and to care for the ‘delinquent Christians, who have adopted there the customs of the Indians.’ The missionaries had specific orders to learn the Indian languages, to instruct and baptize Indian women who had married French Canadians à la façon du pays, and then to bless these unions. They were to remain neutral in the conflict between the two companies and to teach ‘by word and deed the respect and allegiance owed to the sovereign.’”

 

Converting and educating aboriginal people, evangelizing among the settlers (especially the Métis), seeing to their spiritual needs, and obtaining support from the authorities in the thick of strong rivalry between religious faiths: these were some of the responsibilities of missionaries such as William COCKRAN, a Protestant, after the end of the pemmican war in 1821:

“Cockran arrived in the settlement at a critical juncture in the affairs of the Anglican mission and the development of Red River. The Reverend John West*, who had come in 1820 to establish the mission, and the Reverend David Thomas Jones*, who succeeded West in 1823, had determined the particular nature of the mission’s relationship with the Hudson’s Bay Company and with the Roman Catholic missionaries at Saint-Boniface (Man.). Much, however, remained to be accomplished. The principal challenge facing Jones and Cockran was the evangelization of the large numbers of mixed-bloods migrating from the trading posts of the interior to Red River especially after the amalgamation of the HBC [Hudson’s Bay Company] and the North West Company in 1821.”

 

Missionary work for aboriginals was marked by competition between Roman Catholics and Protestants, as related in the biography of the Catholic missionary Jean-Baptiste THIBAULT:

“[In 1835], in the bishop’s absence, Thibault showed himself to be a wise and skilful administrator of the western missions. The building of the cathedral at Saint-Boniface progressed, and the yield from the farm belonging to the mission increased. Thibault proved to be a good preacher, without being too verbose. Above all, he was good at expounding; this quality was appreciated by Bishop Provencher, who considered that Christianity should be brought to the Indians by persuasion, and not ‘in the Protestant fashion’ by gifts. In such a manner the ministers of the different faiths accused each other of trading in souls.”

 

The biographies that appear in the lists below provide additional information about the spread of missions and the relationship between the spheres of religion and politics from 1812 to 1870.

 

◀◀  9 10 11 12 13 14 15  ▶▶

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

BOUCHER, GENEVIÈVE – Volume III (1741-1770)

née à Boucherville le 19 août 1676

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Missions et vie religieuse


Au plus fort de la guerre du Pemmican [V. Une implantation ardue marquée par une guerre privée (1812–1821)], Thomas Douglas, 5e comte de Selkirk, a cru que l’établissement d’une mission permettrait de stabiliser la jeune colonie et contribuerait à rétablir l’ordre. C’est dans ce contexte que les premiers prêtres catholiques se sont installés à la Rivière-Rouge, tel que le rappelle la biographie de l’un d’entre eux, Joseph-Norbert Provencher, futur évêque de la région :

En 1816, Selkirk et Miles Macdonell*, gouverneur d’Assiniboia, avaient demandé à Plessis d’envoyer un missionnaire à la Rivière-Rouge, dans l’espoir que la présence d’une mission solidifierait les assises précaires de la colonie. Catholique lui-même, Macdonell était sensible au fait que la majorité des nouveaux colons était des catholiques irlandais et écossais, et que la population métisse et canadienne de la région, formée d’anciens employés de la North West Company et de leurs familles, se composait elle aussi en grande partie de catholiques […]

Partis de Montréal le 19 mai [1818], Provencher, Dumoulin et Edge arrivèrent le 16 juillet au fort Douglas (Winnipeg), résidence du gouverneur d’Assiniboia, Alexander McDonell*, et furent accueillis chaleureusement par les catholiques de la colonie […] D’après les instructions de Plessis, les deux premiers objectifs de la mission étaient la conversion des « nations sauvages répandues dans cette vaste contrée » et le soin des « mauvais chretiens qui y [avaient] adopté les mœurs des sauvages ». Les missionnaires reçurent l’ordre spécifique d’apprendre les langues indiennes, d’instruire et de baptiser les femmes indiennes mariées à la façon du pays avec des Canadiens et de bénir ensuite ces unions. Ils devaient rester neutres dans le conflit entre les deux compagnies et enseigner « de parole et d’exemple le respect et la fidélité [...] au Souverain ».

 

Convertir et instruire les Amérindiens, évangéliser les habitants – notamment les Métis – et pourvoir à leurs besoins spirituels, s’assurer du soutien des autorités dans un contexte de concurrence entre confessions religieuses, voilà quelques-unes des responsabilités qui ont incombé aux missionnaires, tel William Cockran, de confession protestante, après la fin de la guerre du Pemmican en 1821 :

[Cockran] arriva dans la colonie alors que la situation de la mission de l’Église d’Angleterre et le développement de la Rivière-Rouge atteignaient un point critique. Le révérend John West*, qui avait fondé la mission en 1820, et le révérend David Thomas Jones* qui lui succéda en 1823, avaient établi la nature des relations de la mission avec la Hudson’s Bay Company et les missionnaires catholiques de Saint-Boniface (Manitoba). Il restait cependant beaucoup à faire. La principale tâche à laquelle Jones et Cockran durent s’attaquer fut l’évangélisation des nombreux Métis qui quittaient les postes de traite de l’arrière-pays pour venir s’installer à la Rivière-Rouge, surtout après la fusion, en 1821, de la Hudson’s Bay Company et de la North West Company.

 

Les rivalités entre catholiques et protestants ont marqué l’action missionnaire auprès des Amérindiens, comme le relate la biographie du missionnaire catholique Jean-Baptiste Thibault :

[En 1835], en l’absence de l’évêque, Thibault se montra sage et habile administrateur des missions de l’Ouest. La construction de la cathédrale de Saint-Boniface progressa et le rendement de la ferme appartenant à la mission augmenta. Il se révéla bon prédicateur, sans avoir le verbe trop dru. Surtout il expliquait bien ; Mgr Provencher appréciait cette qualité, lui qui estimait nécessaire qu’on christianise les Indiens par la persuasion et non « à la manière protestante », par des cadeaux. Les ministres des différentes confessions s’accusaient ainsi de faire la traite des âmes.

 

Pour en apprendre davantage sur le déploiement des missions et les relations entre les sphères religieuse et politique entre 1812 et 1870, nous vous invitons à consulter les listes de biographies qui suivent. 

◀◀  9 10 11 12 13 14 15  ▶▶