DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

MORRIS, CHARLES (1759-1831) – Volume VI (1821-1835)

b. 18 Nov. 1759 in Hopkinton, Mass.

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

From Canoes to Railways: Transportation
Original title:  Red River Ferry across to St. Boniface - William George Richardson Hind - The Athenaeum

Source: Link

 

Like other members of the Board of Public Works in Red River, the physician John BUNN, whose father was a clerk in the Hudson’s Bay Company (HBC) and whose mother was part-aboriginal, worked to improve travel in the colony’s territory:

“In addition to his concern for the health of the Red River community, Bunn, as one of the most active councillors of Assiniboia, played a significant part in local government. His work on the council, which he approached with a pragmatic outlook and with an intimate knowledge of the affairs of Red River, was intended to encourage the development of an orderly society and the cultural and material growth of the settlement. Partly through his strong support of Eden Colvile*, governor of Rupert’s Land, who regarded him as ‘the most sensible man in the Settlement,’ the government of Assiniboia, which had collapsed under the administration of Major William Bletterman Caldwell* in the late 1840s, was again made effective. Besides steering the council into voting financial aid for the Red River Agricultural Association and for the expansion of educational facilities, Bunn during his tenure as chairman of the Board of Public Works from 1856 to 1861 induced the council to spend a good deal of money on the construction of roads and the bridging of streams tributary to the Red and Assiniboine rivers.”

 

The following biographies, grouped into categories, can be used to learn more about the modes of transportation and the transportation infrastructure projects within or leading to the colony between 1812 and 1870.

◀◀  7 8 9 10 11 12 13  ▶▶

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

MALEPART DE BEAUCOURT, FRANÇOIS – Volume IV (1771-1800)

décédé à Montréal le 24 juin 1794

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Du canot au chemin de fer : les transports
Titre original :  Red River Ferry across to St. Boniface - William George Richardson Hind - The Athenaeum

Provenance : Lien


Comme d’autres membres du bureau des Travaux publics de la Rivière-Rouge, le médecin John Bunn, dont le père était commis pour la Hudson’s Bay Company et la mère en partie d’ascendance amérindienne, a travaillé à améliorer les déplacements sur le territoire de la colonie :

En plus de se dévouer sur le plan médical pour la population de la Rivière-Rouge, Bunn joua un rôle important dans le gouvernement local en devenant l’un des conseillers les plus actifs d’Assiniboia. Il fit preuve dans cette tâche d’un grand sens pratique et d’une connaissance profonde des affaires de la Rivière-Rouge, et tous ses efforts visèrent à favoriser la création d’une société bien organisée et le progrès de la colonie sur les plans matériel et culturel. C’est en partie grâce à l’appui qu’il fournit à Eden Colvile*, gouverneur de Rupert’s Land, lequel le considérait comme « l’homme le plus sensé de la colonie », que le gouvernement d’Assiniboia, qui s’était écroulé sous l’administration du major William Bletterman Caldwell* à la fin des années 1840, put fonctionner de nouveau. En plus d’inciter les membres du conseil à voter des fonds pour la Red River Agricultural Association et pour le développement dans le domaine de l’éducation, Bunn les persuada – au cours des années 1856–1861, pendant lesquelles il fut président du bureau des Travaux publics – d’affecter d’importantes sommes à la construction de routes et à l’érection de ponts sur les cours d’eau tributaires de la rivière Rouge et de l’Assiniboine.

 

Les biographies regroupées dans les listes suivantes permettent d’en savoir davantage sur les modes de transport utilisés et les projets d’infrastructures de transport à l’intérieur ou à destination de la colonie entre 1812 et 1870.

◀◀  7 8 9 10 11 12 13  ▶▶