DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

MORRIS, CHARLES (1759-1831) – Volume VI (1821-1835)

b. 18 Nov. 1759 in Hopkinton, Mass.

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Intellectual and Scientific Life
Original title:  Page image: Title Page

Source: Link

 

After serving in the Canadian–British military detachment sent to the colony during the 1869–70 troubles [see The Red River Rebellion and the Creation of Manitoba, 1869–70], the officer William Francis BUTLER was called on by the lieutenant governor of Manitoba, Adams George ARCHIBALD, to travel through the newly acquired western territories and report on conditions there. Butler would write The great lone land, which influenced perceptions of these territories and its inhabitants:

“The report focused on the state of the native population and made recommendations as to how the Canadian government should go about establishing its authority with the least possible disruption. Butler’s proposals for travelling magistrates and a specially recruited police force were eventually followed, but the general attitude of the report was more important than any of its details. The revulsion it expressed at the ‘war of extermination’ being waged by the American government against the Plains peoples and the assumption that Canadians could do much better caught perfectly the best intentions behind Canadian westward expansion.…

“‘He who has once tasted the unworded freedom of the Western wilds must ever feel a sense of constraint within the boundaries of civilized life,’ Butler wrote in 1871.… His admirers included such disparate individuals as Winston Churchill, John Ruskin, and Theodore Roosevelt. The great lone land, which had gone through 17 editions by the time of Butler’s death [in 1910], is certainly the most vivid and compelling description of western Canada in the 1870s, before the victory, in his time, of ‘barbed wire, the grain “elevator,” the machine-made boot, and the two-cent newspaper.’”

 

Some residents of Red River, such as Joseph James HARGRAVE, nephew of Governor William MACTAVISH, published well-known works on the history of the colony and the development of the northwest, as related in his biography:

“Using his experiences as clerk and secretary to Mactavish and his access to fur trade and colonial documents, Hargrave produced in 1871 his major contribution to western Canadian history, Red River. The book is a combination of history and personal observation of the economic, social, political, judicial, and religious institutions of the settlement prior to the 1869–70 uprising. Hargrave’s thesis is that the settlement and its institutions owed their existence to the vitality of the fur trade. The work, published in Montreal by John Lovell, has had a lasting importance; William Lewis Morton* has referred to its author as one of Manitoba’s better historians.”

 

Teacher, historian, and politician Donald GUNN left his mark on Red River, especially through his contribution to scientific knowledge:

“[Gunn] was a member of the Council of the Institute of Rupert’s Land of 1862. His interest in natural history was reflected in his experiments with new methods of tillage and new strains of wheat and led to his long-standing connection with the Smithsonian Institution, of which he was one of the earliest meteorological correspondents. He earned a tribute from its secretary for the reliability of his observations of the weather and the importance of the objects he contributed in nearly every branch of natural history as well as archaeology and ethnology. In 1866 he made a special exploration for the Smithsonian of the region west of Lake Winnipeg to collect skins and birds’ eggs, ‘among the latter several previously entirely unknown in museums.’”

 

The following lists of biographies give more information about the diverse aspects of the colony’s intellectual and scientific life between 1812 and 1870.

◀◀  12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20  ▶▶

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

MURRAY, LOUISA ANNIE – Volume XII (1891-1900)

née le 23 mai 1818 à Carisbrooke, Angleterre

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Vie intellectuelle et scientifique
Titre original :  Page image: Title Page

Provenance : Lien


Après avoir servi au sein du détachement militaire canado-britannique envoyé dans la colonie pendant les troubles de 1869–1870 [V. Rébellion de la Rivière-Rouge et création du Manitoba (1869–1870)], l’officier William Francis Butler a été appelé par le lieutenant-gouverneur du Manitoba, Adams George Archibald, à parcourir le territoire nouvellement acquis à l’ouest et à écrire un rapport sur les conditions qui y régnaient. Butler en a tiré l’ouvrage The great lone land, qui a influencé la façon dont on percevait ce territoire et ses habitants :

Le document portait surtout sur la situation de la population autochtone et recommandait au gouvernement du Canada des moyens d’asseoir son autorité en provoquant le moins de bouleversements possible. Butler proposait par exemple de nommer des magistrats rémunérés itinérants et de former une police dont les membres seraient recrutés expressément pour ce territoire, ce qui fut fait par la suite. Cependant, c’était surtout l’esprit du rapport qui comptait. Il y avait en effet concordance parfaite entre, d’une part, l’horreur exprimée par Butler devant la « guerre d’extermination » menée alors par le gouvernement des États-Unis contre les peuples des Prairies et sa conviction que les Canadiens pouvaient agir beaucoup mieux, et, d’autre part, les mobiles les plus élevés de l’expansion du Canada vers l’ouest […]

Quiconque a goûté une fois l’ineffable liberté des étendues sauvages de l’Ouest se sentira toujours à l’étroit dans les frontières de la vie civilisée », écrivait William Francis Butler en 1871 […] Des personnages aussi divers que Winston Churchill, John Ruskin et Theodore Roosevelt ont admiré l’auteur. The great lone land, qui avait dépassé la dix-septième édition au moment de sa mort [en 1910], est certainement la description la plus évocatrice que l’on ait de l’Ouest canadien tel qu’il était dans les années 1870, avant que n’y triomphent, du vivant même de l’auteur, « fil barbelé, « élévateur » à grain, botte fabriquée à la machine et journal à deux sous ».

 

Quelques habitants de la Rivière-Rouge, tel Joseph James Hargrave, neveu du gouverneur William Mactavish, ont publié des ouvrages reconnus sur l’histoire de la colonie et du développement du Nord-Ouest, comme le relate sa biographie :

L’expérience qu’il avait acquise en qualité de commis et de secrétaire de Mactavish et le fait d’avoir accès aux documents sur la traite des fourrures et aux dossiers coloniaux permirent à Hargrave de publier en 1871 son principal ouvrage sur l’Ouest canadien, Red River. Dans ce livre, il allie les considérations historiques à ses observations personnelles sur les institutions économiques, sociales, politiques, judiciaires et religieuses de la Rivière-Rouge avant le soulèvement de 1869–1870. Il défend la thèse selon laquelle la colonie et ses institutions doivent leur existence à la vitalité de la traite des fourrures. De l’auteur de cette œuvre d’une importance durable, publiée à Montréal par John Lovell, William Lewis Morton* dira qu’il fut l’un des meilleurs historiens du Manitoba.

 

L’éducateur, historien et homme politique Donald Gunn s’est notamment distingué à la Rivière-Rouge par sa contribution à l’avancement des connaissances scientifiques :

[Gunn] fut membre du conseil de l’Institute of Rupert’s Land en 1862. Il expérimenta de nouvelles méthodes de culture et de nouvelles espèces de blé, manifestant ainsi son intérêt pour l’histoire naturelle, intérêt qui le conduisit à de longues relations avec la Smithsonian Institution, dont il fut l’un des premiers correspondants météorologiques. Le secrétaire de l’institution lui rendit hommage pour l’exactitude de ses observations météorologiques et pour l’importance de ses contributions dans presque toutes les branches de l’histoire naturelle, de l’archéologie et de l’ethnologie. En 1866, il explora, au profit de la Smithsonian Institution, la région située à l’ouest du lac Winnipeg pour recueillir des peaux et des œufs d’oiseaux « plusieurs de ces derniers étant jusqu’alors totalement inconnus dans les musées ».

 

Les biographies regroupées dans les listes suivantes permettent d’en savoir davantage sur diverses facettes de la vie intellectuelle et scientifique à la Rivière-Rouge entre 1812 et 1870.

◀◀  12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20  ▶▶