DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Upper Canada
 

In Upper Canada an opposition group existed within the assembly before the War of 1812; three of its members – Joseph WILLCOCKS, Abraham MARKLE, and Benajah MALLORY – defected to the Americans during the war [see Treason and Disaffection]. The writing of Upper Canada’s political past began with William Lyon MACKENZIE’s retrospectives, published in the Toronto Colonial Advocate in 1833. He depicted Robert NICHOL as a self-serving pawn of the executive. The portrait is a distorted one. Nichol’s detractors denounced his actions as little more than the political venting of private spleen but there was more to it than that, much more:

“The opening of the seventh parliament (1817–20) – Nichol had been re-elected in Norfolk in 1816 – witnessed a striking reversal in his attitude towards the administration and Gore in particular. On the first day, 4 Feb. 1817, he gave dramatic notice of the change with a motion demanding that the lieutenant governor recognize ‘the rights and privileges of this House as amply as they are enjoyed by the House of Commons in Great Britain.’ Just how serious his opposition would become was not apparent until the end of the session. In a manner by then commonplace in popular assemblies, Nichol seized upon Gore’s call for aid in defraying the costs of government to instigate a more general inquiry into the state of the province. Under his leadership the assembly went into a committee of the whole. Nichol introduced resolutions which, among other things, vilified the crown and clergy reserves as ‘insurmountable obstacles to the forming of a well-connected Settlement.’ A particularly contentious point was the policy of restricting immigration, especially from the United States. On 7 April, two days after Nichol had undertaken his sweeping attack upon the administration and imperial policy, an appalled Gore prorogued the assembly....

“In criticizing the administration, he adopted the traditional whiggish language of the 18th century.... When Nichol moved from being the administration’s manager in the assembly to its principal opponent, he was sufficiently familiar with Whig language to use it as the most appropriate justification for displacing irresponsible ministers and unpopular governors without being insurrectionary by attacking the crown.”


For more information on reform politics in Upper Canada, consult the following biographies.

◀◀  1 2 3 5 6 7 8  ▶▶

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

MOONEY, HELEN LETITIA (McCLUNG) – Volume XVIII (1951-1960)

Semaine de l’histoire du Canada 2017

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Haut-Canada


Un regroupement d’opposition exista au sein de l'Assemblée du Haut-Canada avant la guerre de 1812 ; trois de ses membres, Joseph Willcocks, Abraham Markle et Benajah Mallory, se rallièrent aux Américains pendant ce conflit [V. La trahison et la désaffection]. Le récit du passé politique du Haut-Canada s’amorça avec les rétrospectives de William Lyon Mackenzie, publiées dans le Colonial Advocate (Toronto) en 1833. Dans un portrait déformé, l’auteur décrivit Robert Nichol comme un pion opportuniste de l’exécutif. D'autres détracteurs de ce dernier affirmèrent que ses actions n’étaient que l’expression politique de sa déception personnelle ; leur perception était cependant réductrice :

[A]près avoir été réélu dans la circonscription de Norfolk en 1816, Nichol arriva à l’inauguration de la septième législature (1817–1820) avec une attitude toute différente envers le gouvernement, et envers Gore en particulier. Dès le premier jour, soit le 4 février 1817, il afficha résolument ses couleurs en présentant une motion qui exigeait que le lieutenant-gouverneur reconnaisse « à la chambre [du Haut-Canada] des droits et privilèges aussi vastes que ceux de la chambre des Communes de Grande-Bretagne ». Mais il fallut attendre la fin de la session pour mesurer le sérieux de son opposition. Suivant une tactique alors courante dans les assemblées populaires, il profita de ce que Gore demandait d’affecter des crédits supplémentaires aux dépenses gouvernementales pour provoquer un examen plus global de la situation de la province. Sous sa direction, l’Assemblée se transforma en comité plénier. Nichol déposa des propositions qui, entre autres choses, qualifiaient les réserves de la couronne et du clergé d’« obstacles insurmontables à la formation d’une colonie où les communications seraient faciles ». La restriction de l’immigration, surtout en provenance des États-Unis, fut chaudement discutée. Le 7 avril, deux jours après que Nichol eut lancé son offensive contre le gouvernement et la politique impériale, Gore, consterné, prorogea l’Assemblée [...]

C’était en recourant à la rhétorique traditionnelle des whigs du xviiie siècle qu’il critiquait le gouvernement [...] [L]orsque Nichol cessa d’être le grand représentant du gouvernement à l’Assemblée pour en devenir le principal adversaire, il maîtrisait suffisamment le langage whig pour en tirer la plus solide justification au renvoi des ministres irresponsables et des gouverneurs impopulaires sans se montrer rebelle par des attaques contre la couronne.

 

Pour en savoir davantage sur la politique réformiste dans le Haut-Canada, nous vous invitons à consulter les biographies suivantes.

◀◀  1 2 3 5 6 7 8  ▶▶