DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

CANNIFF, WILLIAM – Volume XIII (1901-1910)

d. 18 Oct. 1910 in Belleville, Ont.

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Robert Baldwin and Sir Louis-Hippolyte La Fontaine
Original title:  Institute for Canadian Citizenship | Institut pour la citoyenneté canadienne

Source: Link

 

To the journalist and politician Francis HINCKS, the union of Lower and Upper Canada offered political possibilities for the reform-minded in both colonies, and he worked towards that end. An alliance of reformers was made possible by the friendship between Louis-Hippolyte LA FONTAINE and Robert BALDWIN, as recounted in Hincks’s biography:

“Through the Examiner Hincks soon became recognized as the principal political spokesman and strategist of the Upper Canadian Reformers although Baldwin was the acknowledged leader. Hincks perceived immediately that if Upper Canadian Reformers joined forces with their French Canadian counterparts the united party might be wellnigh invincible.… Hincks constantly stressed two basic ideas: responsible government was the means by which any desirable reform could be attained; and a union of the Canadas offered the best opportunity to obtain responsible government because it would enable the Reformers of the two provinces to cooperate in achieving their aims.… But in spite of his most persuasive arguments he failed in his attempt at having the Reformers work together; the French Canadian Reformers did not believe they could rely on the support of their counterparts in Upper Canada. It remained for Baldwin and La Fontaine to consummate an alliance on the basis of personal friendship in the early 1840s, although Hincks had contributed greatly to the understanding that made the alliance possible.”

 

The political relations between the two men who were at the heart of the struggle for responsible government in the Province of Canada were strengthened by their close friendship, as recalled in La Fontaine’s biography:

“On learning of La Fontaine’s defeat, [Baldwin] resigned his York seat and offered it to the Lower Canadian leader. La Fontaine was elected easily on 23 Sept. 1841, after spending three weeks among the Torontonians, accompanied by Étienne Parent. Ties of deep friendship linked him from then on with Baldwin. He was to consult him on all matters bearing on politics and the constitution and to tell him all the events of his personal life. The relationship lasted until Baldwin’s death in 1858. Apart from Joseph-Amable Berthelot, La Fontaine’s papers reveal no one else with whom he had such intimate personal relations.”

 

The following biographies provide further information about the relationship between the two men and their lives before they were first elected (Baldwin in 1829, La Fontaine the following year) and after they resigned their posts as joint premiers in 1851.

Personal Relations between Baldwin and La Fontaine
Baldwin and La Fontaine after Their Departure from Political Life
◀◀  6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14  ▶▶

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

SPRINGSTEAD, VELMA AGNES – Volume XV (1921-1930)

née le 22 août 1906 à Hamilton, Ontario

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Robert Baldwin et sir Louis-Hippolyte La Fontaine
Titre original :  Institute for Canadian Citizenship | Institut pour la citoyenneté canadienne

Provenance : Lien


Pour le journaliste et homme politique Francis Hincks, l’union du Bas-Canada et du Haut-Canada offrait des perspectives politiques intéressantes aux réformistes des deux colonies. Il travailla ainsi activement à tisser des liens entre eux et à vanter le projet. Une alliance des réformistes se réalisa finalement grâce à l’amitié entre Louis-Hippolyte La Fontaine et Robert Baldwin :

Grâce à l’Examiner, Hincks en vint bientôt à être considéré comme le principal porte-parole et stratège des réformistes du Haut-Canada, bien que Baldwin fût le leader reconnu. Hincks comprit immédiatement que, si les réformistes du Haut-Canada formaient un front uni avec leurs collègues canadiens-français, le parti pourrait devenir presque invincible […] Hincks ne cessa d’insister sur deux idées essentielles : le gouvernement responsable constituait l’instrument qui allait permettre la réalisation de toutes les réformes désirées ; et l’union des Canadas offrait les meilleures chances d’obtenir le gouvernement responsable, parce qu’elle permettrait aux réformistes des deux provinces de collaborer à la poursuite de leurs fins […] Malgré ses arguments très persuasifs, il ne réussit pas à amener les réformistes à unir leurs efforts ; les réformistes du Bas-Canada ne croyaient pas qu’ils pouvaient avoir confiance en l’appui de leurs collègues du Haut-Canada. Il restait à Baldwin et à La Fontaine la possibilité de conclure une alliance sur la foi de leur amitié personnelle, ce qu’ils firent au début des années 1840. Hincks avait largement contribué à établir les rapports harmonieux qui rendirent possible cette alliance.

 

Cette étroite amitié fortifia les relations politiques des deux hommes au cœur de la lutte pour l’obtention du gouvernement responsable au Canada-Uni, comme le rappelle la biographie de La Fontaine :

En apprenant la défaite de La Fontaine, [Baldwin] résigna son siège d’York et l’offrit au chef bas-canadien. La Fontaine fut élu facilement le 23 septembre 1841, après avoir séjourné trois semaines parmi les Torontois en compagnie d’Étienne Parent. Des liens d’une profonde amitié l’attachèrent désormais à Baldwin. Il le consultera sur tout ce qui touchait à la politique et à la constitution et lui racontera tous les événements de sa vie personnelle. Les échanges entre les deux hommes se prolongèrent jusqu’à la mort de Baldwin en 1858. Mis à part Joseph-Amable Berthelot, les papiers La Fontaine ne révèlent aucun autre personnage avec qui il eut des relations amicales aussi intimes.

 

Les biographies suivantes permettent d’en savoir davantage sur les rapports entre les deux hommes, de même que sur leur vie avant leur première élection (1829 pour Baldwin, 1830 pour La Fontaine) et après leur démission comme co‑premiers ministres en 1851.

Relations personnelles entre Baldwin et La Fontaine
◀◀  6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14  ▶▶