DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

MOSTOS – Volume XIV (1911-1920)

d. 19 Nov. 1918 at the Sucker Creek Indian Reserve (Alta)

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Cartier: The Leader of Canada East (1851–67)

 

George-Étienne CARTIER was one of the most important French Canadian mlas in 1851–52. His goal was to ensure that French Canadians drew every possible advantage from the government of United Canada. According to his biographer, Cartier, from the time he formed a government with John A. MACDONALD in 1857, held a central role:

“…[he] had become the most influential man in the Lower Canadian section [of the Legislative Assembly of the Province of Canada].”

 

The Legislative and Institutional Reformer

Relations between Canada East (Lower Canada; present-day Quebec) and United Canada were fundamental to the political actions undertaken by Cartier, the architect of major legislative and institutional reforms:

“As a minister and prime minister, Cartier was the guiding spirit behind many legislative measures; these measures contributed, in the middle of the [19th] century, to the development of United Canada, and established institutions out of which have grown those that still govern Canada, and more particularly Quebec.”

 

Among the reforms that were carried out under his guidance was the reorganization of the structure of municipalities:

“In 1855 the government of which Cartier was a member had passed the Lower Canada Municipal and Road Act of 1855 (18 Vict., c.100), which created municipalities corresponding to the church parishes and grouped them in county municipalities; it was the basis of the system still to a great extent in force in Quebec. In 1860 Cartier had this law reshaped, and on 6 March declared that ‘our municipal system is one of the principal institutions in Lower Canada.’”

 

Cartier also drafted legislation related to the organizational framework for primary education:

“In 1856 [Cartier] completed the fundamental 1846 Act (9 Vict., c.27), which established schools in all parishes [in Canada East] and confirmed the principle of the religious duality of these schools, by having parliament decree that a council of public instruction be formed, made up of Catholics and Protestants (19 Vict., c.14), and that there be established some training schools for male and female teachers (19 Vict., c.54).”

 

Pierre-Joseph-Olivier CHAUVEAU was a key figure in promoting the 1856 reform that led, to the creation of the first Council of Public Instruction in Canada East in 1859:

“On 17 Dec. 1859, through Chauveau’s efforts, the government set up the first Council of Public Instruction, a key component of the school system. … As superintendent, Chauveau was involved with daily administrative problems that often degenerated into political questions. Thus English-speaking Protestants, who wanted to have their own school system, were a powerful pressure group which Chauveau, and Cartier, had to take into account when grants were allotted for education.”

 

Cartier had also demonstrated that he supported the abolition of seigneurial tenure:

“[Cartier] was not a member of the government when, on 18 Dec. 1854, an act for the abolition of feudal rights and duties in Lower Canada (18 Vict., c.3) was ratified, but he had long been in favour of this measure, and in 1853 he had declared categorically: ‘The seigniorial tenure retards the progress of the country.’ In 1859, he was to have a law passed… to increase the compensation to be paid to former seigneurs, a law that in Cartier’s words ‘will satisfy all the large interests and… do justice to the seigniors as well as to the censitaires’ (22 Vict., c.48).”

 

As attorney general for Canada East, Cartier was responsible for reshaping the administration of justice and civil law:

“In 1857 [Cartier] got parliament to enact that in the Eastern Townships, populated mainly by Anglophones, French laws would apply as elsewhere in Lower Canada (20 Vict., c.43). The uncertainty that had hitherto prevailed threatened to create a system of personal law under which persons of the same territory were judged according to different law, by reason of their origins. In the same year, going against old traditions, he brought about the decentralization of the judiciary (20 Vict., c.44). By this measure, the number of judges in Lower Canada was considerably augmented, and new judicial districts were instituted outside the large towns. The work of which he was most proud was the codification of civil law. In 1857 he had an act passed ‘to provide for the codification of the laws of Lower Canada relative to civil matters and procedure’ (20 Vict., c.43). To this end provision was made for the setting up of a commission; its president was Judge René-Édouard Caron, who did excellent work during the period 1859 to 1865. Cartier had parliament approve the plan that was drafted (29 Vict., c.41), and the civil code of Lower Canada came into operation on 1 Aug. 1866.”

 

The following excerpt from the biography of jurist René-Édouard CARON illustrates the need for the codification of civil law:

“Caron’s name has remained closely linked with the codification of civil law in Lower Canada. On 27 April 1857 George-Étienne Cartier introduced before the Legislative Assembly of United Canada the ‘Act to provide for the Codification of the Laws of Lower Canada relative to Civil matters and Procedure.’ … The preamble to the act recalled the reasons for undertaking the codification. The civil laws in force in Lower Canada derived for the most part from the Custom of Paris, which had been applied in New France and of which the Quebec Act had ensured the continuance. These laws had, however, been modified by laws of English origin, so much so that there were not always good comparable versions in the two languages utilized before the courts. France, by codifying its law at the beginning of the century, had set an example for Lower Canada, as had Louisiana in its last civil code, adopted in 1825. Moreover, the French codification had suppressed the commentaries pertaining to those laws that pre-dated the Revolution, and in certain cases it seemed necessary to modify the old rules.”

 

On Cartier’s death in May 1873 La Minerve recalled the statesman’s legislative contributions:

“‘Besides what he has done for the advancement and material prosperity of our country, M. Cartier can claim the honour of having remoulded the legislation of Lower Canada, and of having endowed us with a code of laws which, in this respect, raises us to the level of the most civilized nation in Europe.’”

 

Ultimately, according to his biographer, Cartier had achieved his goals:

“[Cartier] won for his French Canadian compatriots living in Quebec rights that he believed essential at the time. He wanted a Quebec that was master of its destiny in the matter of education, common law, and local institutions.”

 

To learn more about legislative and institutional reforms undertaken in Lower Canada in Cartier’s time, we invite you to consult the following lists of biographies:

◀◀  5 6 7 9 10 11  ▶▶

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

BONHOMME, Beaupré, NOËL – Volume III (1741-1770)

décédé le 29 mai 1755 à l’Ancienne-Lorette

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Cartier : l’homme fort du Canada-Est (1851–1867)


George-Étienne Cartier est l’un des membres les plus importants de la députation canadienne-française en 1851–1852. Son objectif consiste à faire en sorte que les Canadiens français tirent tous les avantages possibles du régime de l’Union. Son biographe précise que Cartier, du moment où il forme un gouvernement avec John Alexander Macdonald en 1857, est :

[…] l’homme le plus influent de la section bas-canadienne [de l’Assemblée législative de la Province du Canada].

 

Le réformateur législatif et institutionnel

Les relations avec le Canada-Est (Bas-Canada, Québec actuel) constituent un volet fondamental de l’action politique de Cartier, artisan d’importantes réformes législatives et institutionnelles :

Comme ministre et comme premier ministre, Cartier fut l’inspirateur de nombreuses mesures législatives qui, au milieu du [xixe] siècle […], contribuèrent au développement du Canada-Uni et donnèrent naissance à des institutions qui sont à l’origine de celles qui régissent encore le Canada et plus particulièrement le Québec.

 

Parmi les réformes qui deviennent réalité sous sa gouverne figure la réorganisation du monde municipal :

En 1855, le gouvernement, dont Cartier était membre, avait fait adopter l’Acte des municipalités et des chemins du Bas-Canada (18 Vict., c. 100) qui créait des municipalités correspondant aux paroisses religieuses, les groupait en municipalités de comté et qui fut à la base du système qui en bonne partie est encore en vigueur dans le Québec. En 1860, Cartier fit refondre cette loi et il déclara, le 6 mars, que « notre système municipal [est] l’une des principales institutions du Bas-Canada ».

 

Cartier légifère aussi sur la structure de l’enseignement primaire :

En 1856, il compléta la loi fondamentale de 1846 (9 Vict., c. 27), qui avait établi des écoles dans toutes les paroisses [du Canada-Est] et avait consacré le principe de la dualité religieuse de ces écoles, en faisant décréter par le parlement la création d’un conseil de l’Instruction publique formé de catholiques et de protestants (19 Vict., c. 14) et l’établissement d’écoles de formation pour les instituteurs et les institutrices (19 Vict., c. 54).

 

Pierre-Joseph-Olivier Chauveau est un acteur clé de ladite réforme qui mène, en 1859, à la création d’un premier conseil de l’Instruction publique au Canada-Est :

Le 17 décembre 1859, le gouvernement forme, grâce aux efforts déployés par Chauveau, le premier conseil de l’Instruction publique, une pièce maîtresse du système scolaire […] En tant que surintendant, Chauveau est amené à régler des problèmes administratifs quotidiens qui dégénèrent souvent en questions politiques. Ainsi, les anglo-protestants aspirant à posséder leur propre système scolaire constituent un puissant groupe de pression, dont Chauveau, de concert avec Cartier, doit tenir compte dans la répartition des sommes allouées à l’éducation.

 

Cartier s’est aussi montré en faveur de l’abolition de la tenure seigneuriale :

Il n’était pas membre du gouvernement lorsque, le 18 décembre 1854, fut sanctionné l’Acte pour l’abolition des droits et devoirs féodaux dans le Bas-Canada (18 Vict., c. 3), mais il était depuis longtemps favorable à cette mesure et, en 1853, il avait déclaré catégoriquement : « La tenure seigneuriale enraie le progrès du pays. » En 1859, il fera adopter une loi […] pour augmenter la compensation à verser aux anciens seigneurs, loi qui, selon les mots de Cartier « satisfera tous les grands intérêts et rendra justice aux seigneurs comme aux censitaires » (22 Vict., c. 48).

 

Procureur général du Canada-Est, Cartier orchestre également une refonte de l’administration de la justice et du droit civil :

En 1857, [Cartier] fit statuer par le parlement que, dans les Cantons de l’Est, peuplés surtout par des anglophones, les lois françaises s’appliqueraient comme ailleurs dans le Bas-Canada (20 Vict., c. 43). L’incertitude qui avait régné jusque-là menaçait, en effet, de créer un système de personnalité du droit dans lequel les personnes d’un même territoire sont jugées selon des droits différents, en raison de leurs origines. La même année, il réalisa, à l’encontre de vieilles traditions, la décentralisation judiciaire (20 Vict., c. 44). Par cette mesure, le nombre de juges dans le Bas-Canada était considérablement augmenté et de nouveaux districts judiciaires étaient créés en dehors des grandes villes. L’œuvre dont il était avec raison le plus fier fut la codification du droit civil. En 1857, il fit adopter la loi « pour pourvoir à la codification des lois du Bas-Canada qui se rapportent aux matières civiles et à la procédure » (20 Vict., c. 43). On prévoyait à cette fin la création d’une commission dont le président fut le juge René-Édouard Caron et qui accomplit un excellent travail de 1859 à 1865. Cartier fit approuver par le parlement le projet qui avait été rédigé (29 Vict., c. 41) et le Code civil du Bas-Canada fut mis en vigueur le 1er août 1866.

 

L’extrait suivant de la biographie du juriste René-Édouard Caron montre pourquoi il fallait entreprendre la codification du droit civil :

Le nom de Caron est resté étroitement lié à la codification du droit civil du Bas-Canada. Le 27 avril 1857, George-Étienne Cartier présentait à l’Assemblée législative de la province du Canada l’« acte pour pourvoir à la codification des lois du Bas-Canada qui se rapportent aux matières civiles et à la procédure » […] Le préambule de la loi rappelait les raisons d’entreprendre la codification. Les lois civiles en vigueur dans le Bas-Canada découlaient, pour la plus grande partie, de la Coutume de Paris, qui s’était appliquée en Nouvelle-France et dont l’acte de Québec avait assuré le maintien. Ces lois avaient toutefois été modifiées par des lois d’origine anglaise si bien qu’on n’avait pas toujours de bonnes versions comparables dans les deux langues utilisées devant les tribunaux. La France, en codifiant son droit au début du siècle, avait donné l’exemple au Bas-Canada qui pouvait aussi s’inspirer du dernier code civil que la Louisiane s’était donné en 1825. Par ailleurs, la codification française avait tari les commentaires des lois antérieures à la révolution et, dans certains cas, il semblait nécessaire de modifier les règles anciennes.

 

À l’occasion du décès de Cartier, en mai 1873, la Minerve retiendra d’ailleurs la contribution législative de l’homme d’État :

« Outre ce qu’il a fait pour l’avancement et la prospérité matérielle de notre patrie, M. Cartier peut revendiquer l’honneur d’avoir refondu la législation du Bas-Canada et de nous avoir doté d’un code de lois qui, sous ce rapport, nous élève au niveau de la nation la plus civilisée de l’Europe. »

 

Finalement, selon son biographe, Cartier :

[…] obtint pour ses compatriotes canadiens-français vivant dans le Québec les droits qu’il croyait essentiels à l’époque. Il voulait un Québec maître de ses destinées en éducation, en droit civil et dans les institutions locales.

 

Pour en savoir davantage sur des réformes législatives et institutionnelles entreprises au Canada-Est à l’époque de Cartier, nous vous invitons à consulter les listes de biographies suivantes.

◀◀  5 6 7 9 10 11  ▶▶