DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

MORRIS, CHARLES (1759-1831) – Volume VI (1821-1835)

b. 18 Nov. 1759 in Hopkinton, Mass.

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

The Conservative Hold on Power
Original title:  Phrenological Chart of the Head of the Country (Sir John A. Macdonald)/Library and Archives Canada, Acc. No. 1937-455

Source: Link

 

The Press

Literacy rates were high in Canada in the 1800s, and the partisan press occupied an important place in politics and everyday life. Initially, John A. MACDONALD relied on the Toronto Daily Mail, a newspaper he helped start, as a medium for his message. When it was taken in an independent direction by its maverick editor Edward FARRER in the mid 1880s, Macdonald turned to the Empire, established in 1887.

William SOUTHAM and a group of Conservatives in Hamilton, Ont., bought the Hamilton Spectator in 1877 for political purposes:

“[Southam] impressed his backers by plunging into the election of 1878 and attacking the Liberal government of Alexander Mackenzie*. The Spectator ridiculed the modest tariffs Mackenzie had introduced to protect home industry and championed the cause of Sir John A. Macdonald*s more aggressive National Policy. The connection between the Conservative policy of protectionism for home industry and Hamilton’s potential as Canada’s industrial and manufacturing centre was obvious to Southam. From the moment that he assumed control, the Spectator was a powerful voice for the Conservative Party. The paper published lists of Liberals who had been disgraced, and there was journalistic warfare with Hamilton’s Liberal Times. To be sure that no one missed the point, Southam headed his editorial columns with an image of the Canadian Red Ensign above the provocative rubric ‘Our Battle Cry: Protection to Home Industries.’”


French-language newspapers were also active in partisan politics, as seen in this excerpt from the biography of Joseph TASSÉ:

“In December 1868 Tassé went to work for La Minerve (Montréal), of which Duvernay and his brother Louis-Napoléon were the proprietors. Formerly the voice of the Patriote and Reform parties of Louis-Joseph Papineau* and Louis-Hippolyte La Fontaine*, La Minerve, which remained the pre-eminent French-language newspaper in the city, had become the unofficial organ of the Conservative party of George-Étienne Cartier* and John A. Macdonald.” 


Joseph-Israël TARTE was another partisan publisher in Quebec:

“With funds advanced by the Conservative party, [Tarte] acquired Le Canadien and its weekly edition, Le Cultivateur, on 12 June 1875. On 17 July he went into partnership with Louis-Georges Desjardins. Tarte dealt with editorial matters, with the bookkeeping to some extent, and with wheedling out of Hector-Louis Langevin and Thomas McGreevy* the printing contracts and donations that enabled Le Canadien to survive financially.”


Some of the most striking criticisms of Macdonald could be found in Liberal John Wilson BENGOUGH’s sketch cartoons in the magazine Grip (Toronto), and reproduced in many newspapers:

“The Pacific Scandal of 1873 offered Bengough an opportunity to express unlimited moral outrage – especially pictorially. Indeed, it was that controversy which provided Grip with an opportunity to win a wide audience. Bengough’s often reprinted cartoons from this period captured the essence of John A.’s physiognomy: his prominent nose, sly eyes, fashionable coiffure, and nonchalant attitude contrasted, for example, with Alexander Mackenzie*’s upright Scottish Presbyterian mien. ‘I admit I took the money and bribed the electors with it,’ Bengough’s Macdonald remarks. ‘Is there anything wrong about that?’ The question was certainly rhetorical.”


For more information on Macdonald and the press, please consult the following biographies.

◀◀  20 21 22 23 24 25 26  ▶▶

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

HAY, WILLIAM – Volume XI (1881-1890)

décédé le 30 mai 1888 à Joppa, près d’Édimbourg

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

L’emprise du pouvoir conservateur
Titre original :  Phrenological Chart of the Head of the Country (Sir John A. Macdonald)/Library and Archives Canada, Acc. No. 1937-455

Provenance : Lien

 

La presse

Au xixe siècle, les taux d’alphabétisation étaient élevés au Canada, et la presse partisane occupait une place importante dans la politique et la vie quotidienne. John Alexander Macdonald compta d’abord sur le Toronto Daily Mail, qu’il aida à fonder, pour diffuser son message. Quand son rédacteur en chef non conformiste, Edward Farrer, adopta une orientation indépendante au milieu des années 1880, Macdonald se tourna vers l’Empire, établi en 1887.

William Southam et un groupe de conservateurs de Hamilton, en Ontario, achetèrent le Hamilton Spectator en 1877 à des fins politiques :

[Southam] impressionna ses bailleurs de fonds en plongeant dans la campagne électorale de 1878 et en attaquant le gouvernement libéral d’Alexander Mackenzie*. Le Spectator tourna en ridicule les droits de douane modiques instaurés par Mackenzie en vue de protéger l’industrie canadienne et défendit la Politique nationale de sir John Alexander Macdonald*, plus musclée. Southam voyait clairement le lien entre le protectionnisme conservateur et la possibilité pour Hamilton de devenir le centre industriel et manufacturier du Canada. Dès le moment où il prit la direction du Spectator, celui-ci fut un organe puissant du Parti conservateur. Le journal publia des listes de libéraux tombés en disgrâce et croisa le fer avec le journal libéral de Hamilton, le Times. Pour que tout le monde comprenne bien, Southam coiffait ses éditoriaux d’un titre provocateur, « Notre cri de guerre : Protégeons les industries canadiennes », surmonté du pavillon rouge du Canada, le Red Ensign.

 

Les journaux francophones occupaient également la scène politique partisane, comme le montre cet extrait de la biographie de Joseph Tassé :

En décembre 1868, Tassé entra au journal la Minerve à Montréal, qui appartenait à Duvernay et à son frère Louis-Napoléon. Ancienne tribune des partis patriote et réformiste des Louis-Joseph Papineau* et Louis-Hippolyte La Fontaine*, la Minerve, qui maintenait encore sa prééminence parmi les journaux de langue française de Montréal, était devenue le porte-parole officieux du parti conservateur de George-Étienne Cartier* et John Alexander Macdonald.

 

Joseph-Israël Tarte était un autre propriétaire de journal partisan, mais à Québec :

Grâce à des fonds avancés par le Parti conservateur, [Tarte] devient propriétaire du Canadien et de son édition hebdomadaire, le Cultivateur, le 12 juin 1875. Le 17 juillet suivant, il s’associe à Louis-Georges Desjardins. Tarte s’occupe de la rédaction, un peu de la comptabilité et il mendie auprès d’Hector-Louis Langevin et de Thomas McGreevy* les contrats d’impression et les dons qui permettent au Canadien de survivre financièrement.

 

Avec ses caricatures publiées à Toronto, dans le magazine Grip, et reproduites dans de nombreux journaux, le libéral John Wilson Bengough compte parmi les critiques les plus marquants de Macdonald :

Sa sévérité envers [les conservateurs] s’accentua après le scandale du Pacifique, en 1873, qui permit à Bengough d’exprimer, surtout par des illustrations, une indignation sans bornes. Ce fut d’ailleurs à la faveur de cette controverse que le Grip conquit un vaste lectorat. Souvent reproduites, les caricatures dessinées par Bengough pendant cette période captaient les traits dominants de Macdonald. Son nez proéminent, son regard sournois, sa coiffure à la mode et son allure nonchalante contrastaient, par exemple, avec l’air intègre du presbytérien écossais Alexander Mackenzie*. « Je reconnais volontiers avoir pris l’argent et corrompu les électeurs, déclare le Macdonald de Bengough. Où est le mal ? » Bien sûr, il ne posait cette question que pour la forme.

 

Pour en savoir plus sur Macdonald et la presse, veuillez consulter les biographies suivantes.

◀◀  20 21 22 23 24 25 26  ▶▶