DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

The National Policy
 

Origins of the National Policy

A decade before confederation, John A. MACDONALD had favoured a particular strategy for economic development that included tariffs, population growth, and projects such as a transcontinental railway. His biographers note:

“...this business-oriented government adopted a wide range of measures to stimulate economic growth. These included not only continued support of the Grand Trunk Railway but also, in the budget brought in by Inspector General William Cayley in 1857 and seen through the legislature by Alexander Tilloch Galt the following year, the first tariff system of ‘incidental protection’ for Canadian industry. This system, foreshadowing the National Policy of the 1870s, was responsible for ‘numerous manufactories of every description which have sprung up in both sections of the province,’ according to Macdonald in 1861.”

 

Alexander MACKENZIE’s Liberals won the federal election of 1874 just as Canada was beginning to experience an economic downturn. When they failed to raise the tariff in their 1876 budget, Macdonald’s Conservatives campaigned on a platform of tariffs and expenditures called the National Policy. It became government policy with the Conservative return to power in 1878; it would remain the basis of Canadian economic development for another century. These measures proved crucial for businessmen such as William Eli SANFORD:

“A long-time member of the Reform (Liberal) party, Sanford had served as president of the local association. When the Liberals decided in 1876 to stand by existing tariffs, he, like George Elias Tuckett, a Hamilton manufacturer of tobacco, threw his support to the Conservatives and Sir John A. Macdonald’s evolving National Policy. Two years after the Conservatives returned to power in 1878, Sanford’s sales doubled, as did the number of his employees (from 1,000 to 2,000).

“Under the protection of the National Policy, Sanford in 1881 opened in Hamilton and Toronto the first of his chain of retail clothing outlets, called Oak Hall, a name which quickly became synonymous with clothes of good quality and moderate price.”


In an effort to protect Canadian manufacturers from foreign competition, the Macdonald government levied high tariffs on imported materials and finished goods. This approach was supported by former Minister of Agriculture John Henry POPE:

“In 1876 he endorsed Macdonald’s and Tupper’s views of what would become the National Policy: if the Americans were determined to keep Canadian products out of American markets, then Canada should restrict American access to Canadian markets.”


Among the Canadian farmers who agreed with this position was Edward COCHRANE:

“[He] vigorously supported the administration of Sir John A. Macdonald*. For example, in 1886 he pointed out to the commons the benefits of the National Policy for the agrarian community while loyally ignoring the design’s shortcomings.”


Macdonald’s Conservative Party maintained that the National Policy, along with the British connection and resistance to cultural and economic pressures from the United States, were the keys to Canada’s survival. These issues would remain important to Macdonald through to his last federal election in 1891.

For more information on Macdonald’s National Policy, please consult the following biographies.

◀◀  14 15 16 17 18 19 20  ▶▶

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

HAY, WILLIAM – Volume XI (1881-1890)

décédé le 30 mai 1888 à Joppa, près d’Édimbourg

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

La Politique nationale
 

Les origines de la Politique nationale

Une décennie avant la confédération, John Alexander Macdonald était en faveur d’une stratégie particulière de développement économique qui comportait des tarifs douaniers, la croissance de la population et des projets tels qu’un chemin de fer transcontinental. Ses biographes expliquent ce plan :

En outre, le gouvernement Cartier-Macdonald manifesta son souci des affaires en adoptant tout un éventail de mesures destinées à stimuler la croissance économique. Parmi celles-ci, il faut signaler non seulement son appui constant au chemin de fer du Grand Tronc, mais aussi, dans le budget présenté par l’inspecteur général William Cayley en 1857 et qu’Alexander Tilloch Galt fit adopter l’année suivante, le premier régime tarifaire qui autorisait la « protection accessoire » pour l’industrie canadienne. En 1861, Macdonald déclara que ce régime (qui préfigurait la Politique nationale des années 1870) était à l’origine « des nombreuses manufactures de toutes sortes qui [avaient] surgi dans les deux sections de la province ».

 

Les libéraux d’Alexander Mackenzie remportèrent les élections fédérales de 1874, juste au moment où le Canada commençait à afficher un déclin économique. Leur budget de 1876 n’inclut pas d’augmentation des tarifs. Ce fut alors que les conservateurs de Macdonald firent campagne avec un programme de tarifs et de dépenses appelé la Politique nationale. Cette stratégie devint la politique du gouvernement après le retour des conservateurs au pouvoir en 1878 et resterait la base du développement économique du Canada pour un siècle. Ces mesures s’avérèrent cruciales pour des hommes d’affaires tels que William Eli Sanford :

Membre du parti réformiste (libéral) depuis longtemps, Sanford avait même été président de l’association locale. Cependant, lorsqu’en 1876 les libéraux décidèrent de maintenir les droits tarifaires en vigueur, il résolut, tout comme George Elias Tuckett, fabricant de cigares de Hamilton, d’appuyer les conservateurs et la Politique nationale que sir John Alexander Macdonald était en train de mettre au point. En 1880, donc deux ans après le retour des conservateurs au pouvoir, les ventes de Sanford doublaient, tout comme le nombre de ses employés, qui passa de 1 000 à 2 000.

En 1881, toujours grâce à la Politique nationale, Sanford put inaugurer à Hamilton et à Toronto les premiers d’une chaîne de magasins de vêtements au détail appelés Oak Hall, nom qui devint vite synonyme de qualité et de prix raisonnables.

 

Afin de protéger les manufacturiers canadiens contre la concurrence étrangère, le gouvernement de Macdonald imposa des droits tarifaires élevés sur les importations de matériaux et de produits finis. L’ex-ministre de l’Agriculture, John Henry Pope, appuya cette option :

En 1876, il endossa les idées de Macdonald et de Tupper qui seraient à l’origine de la Politique nationale : si les Américains étaient résolus d’écarter les produits canadiens des marchés des États-Unis, le Canada devait, à son tour, restreindre l’accès des Américains aux marchés canadiens.

 

Parmi les agriculteurs canadiens qui accueillirent favorablement cette position figure Edward Cochrane :

[Il] appuyait vigoureusement le gouvernement de sir John Alexander Macdonald*. Par exemple, en 1886, il fit valoir aux Communes les avantages de la Politique nationale pour le milieu agricole mais, par loyauté, il en tut les faiblesses.

 

Le Parti conservateur de Macdonald alléguait que la Politique nationale, conjuguée au lien avec la Grande-Bretagne et à la résistance aux pressions culturelles et économiques des États-Unis, était la clé de voûte de la survie du Canada. Ces questions demeureraient importantes pour Macdonald jusqu’à ses dernières élections fédérales, en 1891.

Pour en savoir davantage sur la Politique nationale de Macdonald, veuillez consulter les biographies suivantes.

◀◀  14 15 16 17 18 19 20  ▶▶