DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

The Prime Minister: The Man of Challenges
Original title:  Photo Album - Manitoba School Question : Digital Resources on Manitoba History

Source: Link

 

Running a country grappling with deep divisions of various kinds, Wilfrid LAURIER believed that compromise was one of the means he could use to confront the many challenges he was facing. 

 

The Laurier–Greenway Agreement (1896)

 

The Manitoba school question was among Laurier’s priorities. His government negotiated an agreement with his provincial counterpart, Thomas GREENWAY: the separate schools were not reinstated and religious teaching was authorized only under strict conditions [see Sir Wilfrid Laurier]. In making this arrangement, Laurier hoped to satisfy the Roman Catholic minority while bowing to the will of Manitoba’s Protestant majority. With the aim of neutralizing the actions of the bishops, notably those in Quebec, he sent Abbé Jean-Baptiste PROULX to Rome:

“In the autumn of 1896 Prime Minister Wilfrid Laurier* asked Proulx ... to go to the Vatican and defend the settlement of the Manitoba school question that he was negotiating with Thomas Greenway’s government. Laurier, just recently elected, feared the reaction of Quebec’s Catholic bishops....”

 

The final result is summed up in this excerpt from Laurier’s biography:

“Laurier could boast of having restored national harmony, but at an enormous price. Whatever may have been said about it, this agreement stood as a dangerous precedent since it marked the emergence of an increasingly unicultural and English-speaking Canada, a truncated vision of the country foreseen by the Fathers of Confederation. The accord revealed as well the willingness of the federal government to abdicate its role as protector of minorities, to recognize the primacy of provincial rights over minority rights, and to bow to the weight of numbers.”

 

You can learn more about the Laurier–Greenway agreement by exploring these biographies.

 

◀◀  7 8 9 10 11 12 13  ▶▶

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

AFFLECK, ANNIE EMMA – Volume XIV (1911-1920)

née le 26 juin 1845 à Halifax

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Le premier ministre : l’homme des défis
Titre original :  Photo Album - Manitoba School Question : Digital Resources on Manitoba History

Provenance : Lien


Une fois rendu à la tête du pays, aux prises avec de sérieuses divisions de divers ordres, Wilfrid Laurier croit que le compromis est un moyen parmi d’autres d’affronter les nombreux défis qui se posent à lui. 

Le règlement Laurier-Greenway (1896)

La question des écoles manitobaines figure parmi les priorités de Laurier, dont le gouvernement négocie une entente avec son homologue provincial Thomas Greenway : les écoles séparées ne sont pas réinstaurées et l’enseignement religieux n’est autorisé que sous de strictes conditions [V. sir Wilfrid Laurier]. Laurier espère ainsi contenter la minorité catholique, tout en se rendant à la volonté de la majorité protestante du Manitoba. Dans le but de neutraliser l’action des évêques, notamment ceux de la province de Québec, il dépêche l’abbé Jean-Baptiste Proulx à Rome :

À l’automne de 1896, c’est encore à Proulx [...] que fait appel Wilfrid Laurier* pour défendre auprès du Vatican le bien-fondé du règlement qu’il négocie avec le gouvernement de Thomas Greenway sur la question des écoles du Manitoba. Laurier, qui vient d’être élu premier ministre du Canada, craint la réaction des évêques catholiques du Québec.

 

En somme, comme l’affirme cet extrait de la biographie de Laurier, ce dernier :

[...] put se targuer d’avoir ramené l’harmonie nationale, mais à quel prix ! Quoi qu’on en ait dit, ce règlement demeurait un précédent dangereux car, par lui, se voyait confirmée l’émergence d’un Canada de plus en plus uniculturel et anglophone, la vision tronquée du Canada conçu par les Pères de la Confédération. En outre, ce règlement montrait le gouvernement fédéral prêt à renoncer à son rôle de protecteur des minorités, à reconnaître la préséance des droits provinciaux sur les droits des minorités, à s’incliner devant le nombre.

 

Pour en apprendre davantage sur le règlement Laurier-Greenway, nous vous invitons à explorer les biographies qui suivent.

◀◀  7 8 9 10 11 12 13  ▶▶