DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

PERLEY, Sir GEORGE HALSEY, businessman, philanthropist, politician, and diplomat; b. 12 Sept. 1857 in Lebanon, N.H., son of William Goodhue Perley*, a lumberman, and Mabel Elvira Ticknor Stevens; m. first 4 June 1884 Annie Hespeler Bowlby (d. 1910) in Berlin (Kitchener), Ont., and they had a daughter; m. secondly 11 June 1913 in Ottawa Emily Colby White (d. 1948), daughter of Thomas White*; they had no children; d. there 4 Jan. 1938.

George Perley grew up in a family that was in comfortable circumstances. Although his father had moved his lumber operations from New England to the Ottawa valley in 1852, the family remained in Lebanon for several years. Lumbermen in Canada benefited from the Reciprocity Treaty of 1854, and William could afford a good education for his son in Ottawa’s best schools and later at St Paul’s School in Concord, N.H. George entered Harvard University in 1874 and graduated with a ba in 1878. He promptly joined the Ottawa lumber firm Perley and Pattee, owned by his father and Gordon Burleigh Pattee. Starting as a clerk, he became the company’s manager five years later.

By 1890 Perley and Pattee had a third partner, Pattee’s son-in-law Charles Berkeley Powell. Following the death of William that year, George succeeded to his father’s position in the business. After Perley and Pattee was sold to lumber king John Rudolphus Booth* in 1894, George established his own firm, the G. H. Perley Company, which cut wood along the Rivière Rouge, Que., and had several mills, including the principal one at Calumet (Grenville-sur-la-Rouge). He expanded his activity eastward, acquiring over 1,000 square miles of timber limits along the Diable and Le Boulé rivers in the Laurentian region. In 1895 he moved his headquarters to Saint-Jovite (Mont-Tremblant), from where he would direct the firm’s work for almost 15 years. By 1903 he was also a shareholder and vice-president of the Hull Lumber Company, whose interests were concentrated on the upper Ottawa River. When the lumber industry began to decline and the demand for pulpwood increased, he merged his business in the Laurentian region with Riordon Paper Mills Limited in 1909 [see Charles Alfred Riordon] to form the Riordon Paper Company Limited, which had an authorized capital of $3,500,000. He would continue to be involved in various other lumber companies for many years.

A prominent citizen, reputed by Le Droit (Ottawa) to have been a millionaire by age 53, Perley served as a director of the Bank of Ottawa from at least 1910, and for many years he was vice-president of the Canada Atlantic Railway, which his father had helped to create. He had held the presidency of the Rideau Club in 1896–97, the Royal Ottawa Golf Club in 1900–4, and the Royal Canadian Golf Association in 1905–6. Appointed chairman of the relief committee set up after a forest fire devastated the Ontario counties of Prescott and Russell in 1897, he investigated losses and distributed the proceeds of an appeal for donations. As a result of his effective work, he was named chairman of the Ottawa and Hull Fire Relief Fund, organized after a disastrous fire swept through both communities on 26 April 1900, leaving 15,000 homeless and causing damage to the Hull Lumber Company’s mills and woodyard estimated at $400,000. The fund’s administrators distributed about $1 million in aid. Perley’s personal reputation as a philanthropist had already been established in 1897 when he and his siblings donated their father’s house for what would become the Perley Home for Incurables. In 1912 he and his second wife would present Ottawa with a building for a tuberculosis hospital, and in 1920 they would give the May Court Club a building for its convalescent home.

Philanthropy offered Perley a useful platform from which to launch a new career. In the federal election of November 1900 he ran as a Conservative in Russell. His father, who had represented Ottawa City from 1887 until his death in 1890, and his partners Pattee and Powell had all been strong Conservatives. Despite the good will generated by his relief work and his political connections, Perley lost. In December 1902 he was defeated in a by-election in the partly English-speaking and strongly Liberal riding of Argenteuil in Quebec. However, in the general election that took place in November 1904 he won Argenteuil by 176 votes.

Earnest, shrewd, and efficient, Perley soon gained the confidence of his party’s leader, Robert Laird Borden, who both shared and respected Perley’s virtues and badly needed allies in a bitterly factional caucus. In the election of October 1908, Perley added to his majority. By 1910 he was chief whip of the Conservative caucus, and he accompanied Borden on his swing through western Canada during June and July 1911. In the ensuing general election Perley managed the party’s fortunes in the Ottawa valley. On 21 September Argenteuil voters more than doubled his winning margin. Demonstrating that Perley was one of the few party members who had his complete confidence, on 10 October the new prime minister appointed him to cabinet, naming him a minister without portfolio. Far from handing Perley a meaningless title, Borden wanted him to be free to undertake specific tasks. In 1912 and 1913 he was acting prime minister during Borden’s absences. When Canada’s high commissioner in Britain, Lord Strathcona [Smith*], died suddenly in January 1914, Perley was persuaded to serve as a temporary replacement. Sir Charles Tupper*, Strathcona’s predecessor, had insisted that the post should be held by a cabinet minister, able to deal authoritatively with the British government, and Perley, who had gone overseas in 1912 to assess the role, had agreed. By joining the Committee of Imperial Defence, a minister would be able to give Canada a voice in the forum that dealt with the empire’s defence problems. Perley, who left for London in June with his wife, had a mandate to reorganize Canada’s representation in Great Britain and give it an authority the mother country would be reluctant to acknowledge. Unforeseen circumstances would keep the Perleys in England, with the exception of brief visits home, until 1922.

Two months after Perley’s arrival, the British empire was at war with Germany and its allies. Immediately Canada sent over 30,000 men. It would ultimately recruit over 600,000 to sustain a Canadian corps of four divisions and numerous other units. Content to exercise command only over troops committed to battle, the British left the administration of the Canadian Expeditionary Force, even in England, to the Canadians. This arrangement meant that the British had little to do with Borden’s minister of militia and defence, Samuel Hughes*, but Perley was soon dismayed by the chaos and confusion that resulted from the minister’s policies and conduct [see Hughes; Sir Samuel Benfield Steele*]. Created a kcmg on 1 Jan. 1915, Perley did his best to solve problems and to protect Canada’s reputation, which he believed Hughes was damaging. Meanwhile, the energetic and sociable Lady Perley mobilized Canadian women in England to provide comforts for the troops, to organize convalescent homes, and to act as nurses for sick and wounded Canadian soldiers.

Hughes and Perley had often clashed in the Conservative caucus and in cabinet. In 1916, on Perley’s advice, Borden sent Hughes to England to bring back suggestions for an improved command system. When Hughes defied his instructions and created an administrative council dominated by his cronies, the prime minister reluctantly decided that his colleague had to go. Hughes’s creation had to be replaced, and the Ministry of the Overseas Military Forces, based in London, was announced on 30 October. Perley agreed to be its first minister and was sworn in the following day. When Hughes discovered his rival’s new authority, his indignation exploded in a vituperative letter to Borden. By 11 November, when the prime minister finally obtained Hughes’s resignation, Perley was almost too busy to care.

Responsible for Canadian forces in Britain and at the front, the new ministry also handled negotiations with the British government. Since his duties were closely connected with those of the high commissioner, Perley asked to be allowed to remain in that post, whose status he and his wife clearly preferred. To avoid the by-election then required by a cabinet nomination, he received no pay for his ministerial position. The lack of remuneration hardly troubled the wealthy Perley. From the first, his policy was to staff his ministry with officers of proven competence drawn from the Canadian Corps in France. They were left to manage the routine military administration. At the behest of Lady Perley and many other Canadians in England, he cancelled some of the nationalistic medical reforms recommended by Hughes’s ally, Colonel Herbert Alexander Bruce*, such as restricting Canadian casualties to Canadian medical facilities. Many of Bruce’s suggestions survived on their own merits. Although he visited France, Perley had no intention of meddling with the Canadian Corps. He established a personal liaison with Sir Douglas Haig and the senior officers at the general headquarters of the British Expeditionary Force.

Perley’s dual posts commanded considerable prestige and social status in wartime London. Both were enhanced when he and Borden attended the meetings of the imperial war cabinet in the spring of 1917. Despite abuse orchestrated by Hughes and by Liberals who hoped to capitalize on his outbursts, parliament approved the new ministry on 18 August. Until then, its authority had rested on an order in council. Perley’s attempt to eliminate political favouritism and to establish a sound administration led to accusations that he was cold and lacking in humanity. The Union government was formed in October, and when a general election loomed in December, Borden asked Perley to continue as minister. To Borden’s dismay, Perley requested that, instead, he be confirmed as high commissioner. Contesting a seat that he had, perforce, neglected, and carrying the huge burden of military administration represented a hopeless challenge. Reluctantly, Borden acquiesced. Sir Albert Edward Kemp*, Hughes’s successor in militia and defence, crossed the Atlantic to take charge of the new ministry. Perley’s reward was a grudging appointment as high commissioner on 12 Oct. 1917.

Although he was not a member of the Canadian delegation to the Paris Peace Conference, as high commissioner Perley signed three of the six major treaties and 11 of the 25 supplementary treaties, agreements, and declarations to which Canada was a party. He was one of two Canadian representatives at the meeting of the League of Nations in Geneva, Switzerland, in 1921. His term in London ended on 28 Feb. 1922, shortly after William Lyon Mackenzie King* led the Liberals back to power.

At 65, having had a long and wearying career of public service, Perley contemplated retirement, but decided against it. As he had anticipated, Argenteuil had fallen to the Liberals in 1917. He set out to win back the riding, and in the election of October 1925 he succeeded by 200 votes. Amidst the confusion of the King-Byng affair [see Julian Hedworth George Byng; King], he acted as Prime Minister Arthur Meighen*’s unpaid secretary of state and minister of public works from 29 June to 12 July 1926. After parliament was dissolved Meighen reconstructed his cabinet on 13 July to face a general election, and Perley was officially appointed secretary of state. He left office on 24 September, 10 days after the Conservatives’ defeat. He had survived Meighen’s government and held Argenteuil by a margin of 240 votes. He won again on 28 July 1930 by 769 votes. Like Borden, Prime Minister Richard Bedford Bennett* named Perley a minister without portfolio and he served as acting prime minister during Bennett’s absences. In 1932 Perley was Canada’s delegate to the World Conference on Disarmament in Geneva. The following year, after the awarding of British honours was briefly restored, Perley was raised to a knight grand cross (gcmg). Two years later, his loyal Argenteuil constituents gave him a majority of 177 votes in the general election of October 1935.

Perley walked to his office regularly, worked long hours at his desk and in the House of Commons, and faithfully attended the Church of England. He was apparently in sound health, his dark hair and beard only spotted with silver, when he died suddenly at his home on the afternoon of 4 Jan. 1938. The evening newspapers celebrated a veteran of business, politics, and diplomacy. During his years of service, particularly as minister of the overseas military forces, he had helped, perhaps inadvertently, to develop Canada’s autonomy. Despite the ravages of the Great Depression, he left an estate worth over $2 million, evidence that his business acumen had continued throughout his long career of public duty.

Desmond Morton

AO, RG 80-5-0-130, no.11676; RG 80-5-0-615, no.2795. Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, Geneal. Soc., International geneal. index. LAC, R3895-0-3. Financial Post (Toronto), 14 April 1938. Globe and Mail, 5 Jan. 1938. Montreal Daily Star, 5 Jan. 1938. Ottawa Citizen, 4 Jan. 1938. R. C. Brown, Robert Laird Borden: a biography (2v., Toronto, 1975–80). Canada Lumberman and Woodworker (Toronto), 30 (1910), no.2: 36; 32 (1912), no.22: 30–32. Canadian annual rev., 1914–36. Canadian who’s who, 1936/37. F. A. Carman, “The right hand of the premier: a sketch of the Honourable George Halsey Perley, minister without portfolio in the Borden cabinet,” Canadian Magazine, 42 (November 1913–April 1914): 535–39. CPG, 1900–38. Cyclopædia of Canadian biog. (Rose and Charlesworth), vol.3. Directory, Ottawa, 1881–1900. G. P. deT. Glazebrook, Canada at the Paris Peace Conference (London and Toronto, 1942). Sandra Gwyn, The private capital: ambition and love in the age of Macdonald and Laurier (Toronto, 1984). Serge Laurin, Histoire des Laurentides (Québec, 1989). David Lee, Lumber kings and shantymen: logging, lumber and timber in the Ottawa valley (Toronto, 2006). Roy MacLaren, Commissions high: Canada in London, 1870–1971 (Montreal and Kingston, Ont., 2006). Desmond Morton, A peculiar kind of politics: Canada’s overseas ministry in the First World War (Toronto, 1982). Newspaper reference book. One thousand New Hampshire notables …, comp. H. H. Metcalf and F. M. Abbott (Concord, N.H., 1919), 24. Ottawa and Hull Fire Relief Fund, Report … 1900 (Ottawa, 1900). Benjamin Sulte et al., A history of Quebec, its resources and its people (2v., Montreal, 1908), 2: 755–56.

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Desmond Morton, “PERLEY, SIR GEORGE HALSEY,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed December 14, 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/perley_george_halsey_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/perley_george_halsey_16E.html
Author of Article: Desmond Morton
Title of Article: PERLEY, SIR GEORGE HALSEY
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2016
Year of revision: 2017
Access Date: December 14, 2017

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

DES VŒUX, sir GEORGE WILLIAM – Volume XIII (1901-1910)

décédé à Londres le 15 décembre 1909

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

PERLEY, sir GEORGE HALSEY, homme d’affaires, philanthrope, homme politique et diplomate, né le 12 septembre 1857 à Lebanon, New Hampshire, fils de William Goodhue Perley*, marchand de bois, et de Mabel Elvira Ticknor Stevens ; le 4 juin 1884, il épousa à Berlin (Kitchener, Ontario) Annie Hespeler Bowlby (décédée en 1910), et ils eurent une fille, puis le 11 juin 1913, à Ottawa, Emily Colby White (décédée en 1948), fille de Thomas White*, et de ce mariage ne naquit aucun enfant ; décédé le 4 janvier 1938 à Ottawa.

George Halsey Perley grandit au sein d’une famille financièrement à l’aise. Même si son père avait déplacé ses activités de sciage de la Nouvelle-Angleterre à la vallée de l’Outaouais en 1852, la famille resta à Lebanon durant plusieurs années. Au Canada, les marchands de bois profitaient du traité de réciprocité de 1854 ; William Goodhue put offrir à son fils une bonne éducation dans les meilleures écoles d’Ottawa et, plus tard, à la St Paul’s School de Concord, dans le New Hampshire. George Halsey entra à la Harvard University en 1874 et obtint une licence ès arts en 1878. Il se joignit rapidement à l’entreprise Perley and Pattee à Ottawa, dont son père et Gordon Burleigh Pattee étaient propriétaires. Il y fut d’abord commis et en devint le directeur cinq ans plus tard.

En 1890, Perley and Pattee comptait un troisième associé : Charles Berkeley Powell, gendre de Pattee. À la suite de la mort de son père, cette année-là, George Halsey prit le poste de ce dernier au sein de l’entreprise. Après la vente de Perley and Pattee au magnat de l’industrie du bois John Rudolphus Booth*, en 1894, George Halsey créa sa propre affaire, la G. H. Perley Company, qui récoltait du bois le long de la rivière Rouge, au Québec, et possédait plusieurs scieries, dont la principale se trouvait à Calumet (Grenville-sur-la-Rouge). Il étendit ses activités vers l’est en faisant l’acquisition d’une concession forestière de plus de 1 000 milles carrés le long des rivières du Diable et Le Boulé, dans la région des Laurentides. En 1895, il installa son siège social à Saint-Jovite (Mont-Tremblant), d’où il dirigerait le travail de l’entreprise durant près de 15 ans. En 1903, il était aussi actionnaire et vice-président de la Hull Lumber Company, dont les activités étaient concentrées dans la partie supérieure de la rivière des Outaouais. Lorsque l’industrie du sciage commença à décliner et que la demande de bois à pâte augmenta, son entreprise dans la région des Laurentides fusionna avec la Riordon Paper Mills Limited [V. Charles Alfred Riordon] pour former, en 1909, la Riordon Paper Company Limited, dont le capital autorisé s’élevait à 3 500 000 $. Il continuerait de travailler avec diverses compagnies de bois de sciage pendant de nombreuses années.

Citoyen très en vue, qui, selon le Droit d’Ottawa, était millionnaire à l’âge de 53 ans, Perley fut directeur de la Banque d’Ottawa à partir de 1910, sinon plus tôt, et fut durant nombre d’années vice-président de la Compagnie du chemin de fer Atlantique canadien, à la création de laquelle son père avait participé. Il avait été président du Rideau Club en 1896–1897, du Royal Ottawa Golf Club de 1900 à 1904 et de la Royal Canadian Golf Association en 1905–1906. Nommé président du comité de secours établi à la suite d’un feu de forêt qui dévasta en 1897 les comtés de Prescott et de Russell, en Ontario, il enquêta sur les pertes et distribua les sommes amassées grâce à un appel aux dons. Son travail efficace lui valut d’être nommé président de l’Ottawa and Hull Fire Relief Fund, mis sur pied après un terrible incendie qui, le 26 avril 1900, avait ravagé les deux communautés, laissé 15 000 personnes sans logis et causé aux scieries et au parc à bois de la Hull Lumber Company des dommages évalués à 400 000 $. Les administrateurs du fonds distribuèrent environ un million de dollars en aide. La réputation personnelle de philanthrope de Perley avait déjà été établie en 1897, lorsque ses frères, ses sœurs et lui avaient fait don de la maison de leur père pour ce qui deviendrait la Perley Home for Incurables. En 1912, sa seconde femme et lui offriraient un édifice à Ottawa afin d’en faire un hôpital pour traiter la tuberculose et, en 1920, ils donneraient un bâtiment au May Court Club pour sa maison de convalescence.

La philanthropie fournit à Perley une belle occasion de se lancer dans une nouvelle carrière. Aux élections fédérales de novembre 1900, il se présenta comme candidat conservateur dans Russell. Son père, qui avait représenté Ottawa City de 1887 jusqu’à sa mort en 1890, et ses associés Pattee et Powell avaient tous été de fervents conservateurs. Malgré les bonnes intentions suscitées par son travail humanitaire et ses relations politiques, Perley fut vaincu. En décembre 1902, il perdit une élection partielle dans la circonscription en partie anglophone et fortement libérale d’Argenteuil, au Québec. Cependant, aux élections générales de novembre 1904, il remporta Argenteuil par 176 voix.

Sérieux, habile et efficace, Perley eut tôt fait de gagner la confiance du chef de son parti, Robert Laird Borden, qui partageait et respectait ses qualités, et avait grand besoin d’alliés au sein d’un caucus profondément divisé. Aux élections d’octobre 1908, Perley augmenta sa majorité. En 1910, il était whip en chef du caucus conservateur ; il accompagna Borden dans sa tournée éclair dans l’Ouest canadien en juin et en juillet 1911. Aux élections générales qui suivirent, Perley fut responsable du succès de son parti dans la vallée de l’Outaouais. Le 21 septembre, les électeurs d’Argenteuil firent plus que doubler son avance. Le nouveau premier ministre nomma Perley ministre sans portefeuille au sein du cabinet le 10 octobre, montrant ainsi que celui-ci comptait parmi les quelques membres du parti en qui il avait pleine confiance. Loin de lui attribuer un titre insignifiant, Borden voulait que Perley soit libre d’entreprendre des tâches précises. En 1912 et en 1913, il fut premier ministre intérimaire pendant les absences de Borden. Quand lord Strathcona [Smith*], haut-commissaire du Canada en Grande-Bretagne, mourut subitement en janvier 1914, Perley se laissa convaincre de le remplacer temporairement. Sir Charles Tupper*, le prédécesseur de Strathcona, avait insisté pour que le poste soit confié à un ministre membre du cabinet, capable de faire acte d’autorité auprès du gouvernement britannique, et Perley, qui s’était rendu outre-mer en 1912 afin d’évaluer le rôle, avait donné son accord. En devenant membre du Committee of Imperial Defence, un ministre permettrait au Canada d’avoir voix au chapitre dans le forum qui traitait des problèmes de défense de l’Empire. Perley, qui partit pour Londres en juin avec sa femme, avait le mandat de réorganiser la représentation du Canada en Grande-Bretagne et de lui donner une autorité que la mère patrie serait peu disposée à reconnaître. Des événements imprévus forceraient les Perley à rester en Angleterre, à l’exception de brefs séjours au Canada, jusqu’en 1922.

Deux mois après l’arrivée de Perley, l’Empire britannique était en guerre contre l’Allemagne et ses alliés. Le Canada envoya immédiatement plus de 30 000 hommes et enrôlerait au total plus de 600 000 hommes pour approvisionner un Corps d’armée canadien composé de quatre divisions et de nombreuses autres unités. Contents de ne commander que les troupes engagées dans la bataille, les Britanniques laissèrent l’administration du Corps expéditionnaire canadien, même en Angleterre, aux Canadiens. Cet arrangement signifiait que les Britanniques n’étaient que rarement en contact avec le ministre de la Milice et de la Défense de Borden, Samuel Hughes*, mais Perley fut vite consterné par le désordre et la confusion causés par les politiques et la conduite de ce dernier [V. sir Samuel Hughes ; sir Samuel Benfield Steele*]. Fait chevalier commandeur de l’ordre de Saint-Michel et Saint-Georges le 1er janvier 1915, Perley fit de son mieux pour résoudre les problèmes et protéger la réputation du Canada, que ternissait Hughes, à son avis. Pendant ce temps, l’énergique et sociable lady Perley faisait appel aux femmes canadiennes en Angleterre pour réconforter les troupes, mettre sur pied des maisons de convalescence et servir d’infirmières aux soldats canadiens malades et blessés.

Hughes et Perley s’étaient souvent affrontés au sein du caucus conservateur et du cabinet. En 1916, sur le conseil de Perley, Borden envoya Hughes en Angleterre pour en rapporter des idées afin d’améliorer le système de commandement. Lorsque Hughes contrevint à ses instructions et créa un conseil administratif dominé par ses acolytes, le premier ministre décida à contrecœur qu’il était temps que son collègue parte. Le conseil mis sur pied par Hughes devait être remplacé et on annonça la création du ministère des Forces militaires d’outre-mer, basé à Londres, le 30 octobre. Perley accepta d’en devenir le premier ministre et prêta serment le jour suivant. Quand Hughes découvrit les nouveaux pouvoirs dont était investi son rival, il laissa éclater son indignation dans une lettre injurieuse adressée à Borden. Le 11 novembre, lorsque le premier ministre finit par obtenir la démission de Hughes, Perley était presque trop occupé pour s’en soucier.

Responsable des forces canadiennes en Grande-Bretagne et au front, le nouveau ministère s’occupait aussi des négociations avec le gouvernement britannique. Comme ses fonctions étaient étroitement liées à celles du haut-commissaire, Perley demanda la permission de conserver ce poste, dont sa femme et lui préféraient nettement le prestige. Afin d’éviter l’élection partielle, qu’une nomination au cabinet requérait alors, il ne reçut aucun salaire pour son travail ministériel. Cette absence de rémunération ne gêna pas le riche Perley. Dès le début, sa politique fut de recruter pour son ministère des officiers issus du Corps d’armée canadien en France et qui avaient fait la preuve de leur compétence. Il leur confia la gestion de l’administration militaire de routine. Sur les instances de lady Perley et de beaucoup d’autres Canadiens en Angleterre, il abolit certaines des réformes médicales nationalistes recommandées par l’allié de Hughes, le colonel Herbert Alexander Bruce*, comme l’isolement des blessés canadiens dans des installations médicales uniquement canadiennes. De nombreuses suggestions de Bruce furent retenues pour leur valeur propre. Même s’il se rendit en France, Perley n’avait pas l’intention de s’immiscer dans les affaires du Corps d’armée canadien. Il noua des liens personnels avec sir Douglas Haig et les officiers supérieurs au quartier général principal du Corps expéditionnaire britannique.

Les doubles fonctions de Perley lui conférèrent un prestige et un statut social considérables à Londres durant la guerre, qui grandirent encore plus lorsque Borden et lui assistèrent aux réunions du cabinet de guerre impérial, au printemps de 1917. Malgré une campagne injurieuse orchestrée par Hughes et par des libéraux qui espéraient tirer parti de ses débordements, le Parlement approuva le nouveau ministère, dont l’autorité avait jusque-là reposé sur un décret, le 18 août. Parce que Perley tentait d’éliminer le favoritisme politique et d’assainir l’administration, on l’accusa d’être froid et de manquer d’humanité. Le gouvernement d’union fut formé en octobre ; en décembre, quand des élections générales devinrent imminentes, Borden proposa à Perley de conserver son poste de ministre. Au grand désarroi de Borden, Perley demanda plutôt à être reconduit dans ses fonctions de haut-commissaire. Briguer un poste qu’il avait forcément négligé et assumer l’énorme responsabilité de l’administration militaire représentaient un défi insurmontable. Borden acquiesça à contrecœur. Sir Albert Edward Kemp*, le successeur de Hughes au ministère de la Milice et de la Défense, traversa l’Atlantique pour prendre en charge le nouveau ministère. La récompense de Perley fut, le 12 octobre 1917, une nomination accordée avec réticence au poste de haut-commissaire.

Même s’il ne fut pas membre de la délégation canadienne à la conférence de paix de Paris, Perley signa, en tant que haut-commissaire, 3 des 6 traités importants et 11 des 25 autres traités, accords et déclarations auxquels le Canada fut associé. Il fut l’un des deux représentants canadiens à la réunion de la Société des nations qui se tint à Genève, en Suisse, en 1921. Son mandat à Londres se termina le 28 février 1922, peu après le retour au pouvoir des libéraux, sous la conduite de William Lyon Mackenzie King*.

À 65 ans, après une longue et épuisante carrière dans la fonction publique, Perley envisagea de prendre sa retraite, mais ne put s’y résoudre. Comme il s’y attendait, Argenteuil était tombée aux mains des libéraux en 1917. Il entreprit de reprendre la circonscription et, aux élections d’octobre 1925, il y parvint par 200 voix. Au beau milieu de la confusion suscitée par l’affaire King-Byng [V. Julian Hedworth George Byng ; William Lyon Mackenzie King], il servit, sans salaire, de secrétaire d’État et de ministre des Travaux publics au premier ministre Arthur Meighen*, du 29 juin au 12 juillet 1926. Après la dissolution du Parlement, Meighen reconstitua son cabinet, le 13 juillet, pour faire face à des élections générales, et Perley fut officiellement nommé secrétaire d’État. Il quitta ses fonctions le 24 septembre, dix jours après la défaite des conservateurs. Il avait survécu au gouvernement de Meighen et gardé Argenteuil par une majorité de 240 voix. Il gagna encore le 28 juin 1930, par 769 voix. Comme Borden, le premier ministre Richard Bedford Bennett* nomma Perley ministre sans portefeuille et celui-ci fut premier ministre intérimaire en l’absence de Bennett. En 1932, à Genève, Perley fut le délégué du Canada à la Conférence internationale sur le désarmement. L’année suivante, l’attribution des distinctions honorifiques britanniques ayant été momentanément rétablie, Perley fut élevé au rang de grand-croix de l’ordre de Saint-Michel et Saint-Georges. Deux ans plus tard, aux élections générales d’octobre 1935, ses fidèles électeurs d’Argenteuil lui accordèrent une majorité de 177 voix.

Sir George Halsey Perley allait régulièrement au travail à pied, restait de longues heures à son bureau et à la Chambre des communes, et était un fidèle de l’Église d’Angleterre. Il était apparemment en bonne santé, et avait des cheveux et une barbe foncés à peine parsemés de gris quand il mourut subitement chez lui dans l’après-midi du 4 janvier 1938. Les journaux du soir firent l’éloge de ce vétéran des affaires, de la politique et de la diplomatie. Durant ses années de service, en particulier comme ministre des Forces militaires d’outre-mer, il avait contribué, peut-être involontairement, à développer l’autonomie du Canada. Malgré les ravages de la grande dépression, il laissa une fortune de plus de deux millions de dollars, ce qui prouve qu’il ne perdit pas son sens des affaires au cours de sa longue carrière dans la fonction publique.

Desmond Morton

AO, RG 80-5-0-130, no 11676 ; RG 80-5-0-615, no 2795.— BAC, R3895-0-3.— Église de Jésus-Christ des saints des derniers jours, Geneal. Soc., International geneal. index.— Financial Post (Toronto), 14 avril 1938.— Globe and Mail, 5 janv. 1938.— Montreal Daily Star, 5 janv. 1938.— Ottawa Citizen, 4 janv. 1938.— Annuaire, Ottawa, 1881–1900.— R. C. Brown, Robert Laird Borden : a biography (2 vol., Toronto, 1975–1980).— Canada Lumberman and Woodworker (Toronto), 30 (1910), no 2 : 36 ; 32 (1912), no 22 : 30–32.— Canadian annual rev., 1914–1936.— Canadian who’s who, 1936–1937.— F. A. Carman, « The right hand of the premier : a sketch of the Honourable George Halsey Perley, minister without portfolio in the Borden cabinet », Canadian Magazine, 42 (novembre 1913–avril 1914) : 535–539.— CPG, 1900–1938.— Cyclopædia of Canadian biog. (Rose et Charlesworth), vol. 3.— G. P. deT. Glazebrook, Canada at the Paris Peace Conference (Londres et Toronto, 1942).— Sandra Gwyn, The private capital : ambition and love in the age of Macdonald and Laurier (Toronto, 1984).— Serge Laurin, Histoire des Laurentides (Québec, 1989).— David Lee, Lumber kings and shantymen : logging, lumber and timber in the Ottawa valley (Toronto, 2006).— Roy MacLaren, Commissions high : Canada in London, 1870–1971 (Montréal et Kingston, Ontario, 2006).— Desmond Morton, A peculiar kind of politics : Canada’s overseas ministry in the First World War (Toronto, 1982).— Newspaper reference book.— One thousand New Hampshire notables [...], H. H. Metcalf et F. M. Abbott, compil. (Concord, N.H., 1919), 24.— Ottawa and Hull Fire Relief Fund, Report [...] 1900 (Ottawa, 1900).— Benjamin Sulte et al., A history of Quebec, its resources and its people (2 vol., Montréal, 1908), 2 : 755–756.

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Desmond Morton, « PERLEY, SIR GEORGE HALSEY », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 15 déc. 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/perley_george_halsey_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/perley_george_halsey_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Desmond Morton
Titre de l'article:   PERLEY, SIR GEORGE HALSEY
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2016
Année de la révision:   2017
Date de consultation:   15 décembre 2017