DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

CANNIFF, WILLIAM – Volume XIII (1901-1910)

d. 18 Oct. 1910 in Belleville, Ont.

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Link

Source: Link

Almond, John MacPherson (baptized John), Church of England clergyman and military chaplain; b. 1 Aug. 1871 in Shigawake, Que., son of James Almond and Mary Ann Macpherson; m. 30  Oct. 1901 Nellie Estelle Beemer in Quebec City, and they had three sons; d. 17 Sept. 1939 in Montreal.

Born to farmers on the south shore of the Gaspé peninsula, John Almond studied for the priesthood at Bishop’s College in Lennoxville (Sherbrooke) and received a ba in 1894. He would not complete his ma (also from Bishop’s) until 1901, after his return from the South African War. Like many young Anglicans, he was attracted to the ideal of the “muscular Christian” portrayed by British author Charles Kingsley, and he played rugby and hockey while at Bishop’s. After his ordination as deacon in 1896 and as priest on 5 Sept. 1897, he sought adventure as a missionary in Labrador.

By 1899 Almond was serving in Quebec City as assistant curate at the Cathedral of the Holy Trinity. In October he volunteered as chaplain to the 2nd (Special Service) Battalion of the Royal Canadian Regiment of Infantry embarking for South Africa. Lieutenant-Colonel William Dillon Otter*, in command of the Canadian contingent, did not want any chaplains, but public opinion forced the militia authorities to make provisions for two, one Presbyterian and one Roman Catholic. Anglicans, outraged that their denomination was not represented, persuaded Prime Minister Sir Wilfrid Laurier* to authorize the last-minute appointment of Almond as a third. Unwelcome and usually left behind with the sick or wounded, Almond missed the battle of Paardeberg in February 1900, during which his fearless Roman Catholic compatriot Peter Michael O’Leary, who had accompanied the men into combat, became a national hero. Almond’s reputation with the regiment reached its nadir when he was found intoxicated on hospital wine. Although he persuaded Otter to let him redeem himself, when the troops returned to Canada, most had little good to say about any of their chaplains except O’Leary.

Almond took a parish in Grand-Mère (Shawinigan), Que., until 1904, when he moved to Trinity Church in Montreal. There he became president of the South African Veterans Association in 1908 and the following year was a founding member of the Last Post Fund, established by Arthur Harold Douglas Hair and other citizens of Montreal to provide impoverished veterans with a funeral and a proper burial. The fund’s first president, Almond held office from 1909 to 1915 and would do so again from 1932 to 1939. In 1911 he joined the Canadian militia as honorary chaplain to the 6th (Duke of Connaught’s Royal Canadian) Hussars. His organizational ability came to the attention of Bishop’s College, where he led the Alumni Association, chaired the Diamond Jubilee Fund drive in 1913, and would serve as a member of Corporation, the governing council of Bishop’s, from 1908 until his death.

When war broke out in 1914 the South African episode was either forgiven or forgotten; Almond was one of the first chaplains accepted at the training camp in Valcartier for the Canadian contingent. At the front he was promoted honorary major early in 1915, and on 19 August he became both lieutenant-colonel and assistant director of the Canadian Chaplain Service when the Reverend Richard Henry Steacy, a political crony of the minister of militia and defence, Samuel Hughes*, was named director. Almond’s diplomatic management of interdenominational religious work at the front won over many chaplains alienated by Steacy’s maladministration, sectarian anti-Catholicism, and indifference to front-line shortages. Convinced that a religious revival had broken out among the troops, Almond urged his military superiors and Roman Catholic colleagues [see John Joseph O’Gorman] to lobby for Steacy’s removal. He considered Steacy the greatest obstacle to supplying enough chaplains for the rise in religious devotion at the front. As preparations for an assault on Vimy Ridge began in November 1916, the Canadian overseas military administration was extensively reorganized under a new minister, Sir George Halsey Perley. General Richard Ernest William Turner* recalled Almond from the front, appointed him director of the CCS, which took effect on 15 Feb. 1917, and promoted him honorary colonel on 23 August.

Over the next two years Almond restored the tarnished reputation of the Canadian chaplaincy. He set up parallel operations for Protestants and Roman Catholics, which solved the sectarian impasse created by his predecessor, and he discreetly removed incompetent or disreputable clerics. His establishment of a CCS branch in Canada with direct links to home denominations improved services for returning soldiers, veterans’ hospitals, and training camps. Convinced that the post-war influence of the churches with veterans depended on the comprehensive ministry of his chaplains, Almond insisted that his padres undertake educational and social work with the troops, provoking rivalry with the Young Men’s Christian Association until an accord was reached in 1918. He enjoyed a close professional relationship with several senior Canadian commanders, including Turner and Lieutenant-General Sir Arthur William Currie, who appreciated his no-nonsense attitude and his dedication. As victory approached, Almond had subordinates circulate a questionnaire among Anglican chaplains overseas on how the lessons of the war could be transmitted to the church at home. The recommendations were compiled into a report that was confidentially submitted to the Canadian bishops; prophetically, it criticized the church’s conservatism and its failure to address the problems of society. Like many chaplains at the front, he sympathized with those affected by poverty and despair, especially the urban poor. Like other padres, he hoped that a church previously divided by wealth and class would be transformed by veterans who had experienced a comradeship unknown in peacetime. Almond was disappointed, though evidently not embittered, by the eventual suppression of the report by the bishops, as well as by the general rejection of the suggestions made by chaplains of other denominations to their own churches.

For his wartime work, Almond had been created a companion of the Order of St Michael and St George on 3 June 1916, and in June 1919 he was made a commander in the Order of the British Empire; in addition, he received an honorary dcl from Bishop’s in 1920. Taking his cue from critics in Canadian churches who, in the Anglican press, advised idealistic chaplains to get over the war and get back to old-fashioned work, he returned to Trinity. A vigorous and well-connected clergyman, he would be elevated to archdeacon in 1932. In 1923 he inspired his ailing and depleted congregation to merge with another and build a new church in Notre-Dame-de-Grâce ward. Completed two years later, Trinity Anglican Memorial Church was his monument to the soldiers of the First World War. For the rest of his life Almond maintained close ties with soldiers and veterans. At the time of his death, he was chaplain to the Canadian Field Artillery and Ste Anne’s Hospital, a military institution; he had been chaplain to the Montreal jails since 1912. He was an honorary member of the mess of nearly every military unit in the city, as well as a supporter of the Amputations Association of the Great War. When the Second World War broke out, he, along with almost 70 of his fellow padres, offered to help re-establish the chaplain service. A few days later, on a Sunday morning, he died in his sleep.

John Macpherson Almond was a pioneer in the development of a strong and active ministry to the Canadian soldiers of the Great War. His drive to achieve denominational equality for Roman Catholics, involve the home churches directly in the recruitment of chaplains, and ensure a vigorous front-line presence for his clergy founded the major traditions of military chaplaincy in Canada. Even though the structures he adapted so effectively were replaced by denominational dualism in World War II and the Cold War, the Canadian Armed Forces since 1997 have returned to the single-service, forward-deploying, and multi-faith chaplaincy that had proved so effective on the battlefields of Europe.

Duff W. Crerar

BANQ-BSLGIM, CE103-S16, 1er août 1871. FD, Cathedral Holy Trinity (Quebec City), 30 Oct. 1901. LAC, R611-275-6, vols.4615, 4648, 4663–4664; R3902-0-7. Canadian Churchman (Toronto), 23 Nov. 1899. Le Devoir, 18 sept. 1939. Montreal Daily Star, 18 Sept. 1939. Quebec Morning Chronicle, 6 Sept. 1897. Canadian men and women of the time (Morgan; 1912). D. [W.] Crerar, “The church in the furnace: Canadian Anglican chaplains respond to the Great War,” Canadian Church Hist. Soc., Journal (Toronto), 35 (1993): 75–103; Padres in no man’s land: Canadian chaplains and the Great War (Montreal and Kingston, Ont., 1995). “Diocese mourns Ven. Archd. J. M. Almond,” Montreal Churchman (Granby, Que.), 27 (1939), no.10: 4, 22. Prominent people of the province of Quebec, 1923–24 (Montreal, n.d.).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Duff W. Crerar, “ALMOND, JOHN MACPHERSON,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed October 18, 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/almond_john_macpherson_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/almond_john_macpherson_16E.html
Author of Article: Duff W. Crerar
Title of Article: ALMOND, JOHN MACPHERSON
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2016
Year of revision: 2016
Access Date: October 18, 2017

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

McKENZIE, NANCY – Volume VIII (1851-1860)

décédée le 24 juillet 1851 au fort Victoria (Victoria)

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Lien

Provenance : Lien

Almond, John MacPherson (baptisé John), ministre de l’Église d’Angleterre et aumônier militaire, né le 1er août 1871 à Shigawake, Québec, fils de James Almond et de Mary Ann Macpherson ; le 30 octobre 1901, il épousa à Québec Nellie Estelle Beemer, et ils eurent trois fils ; décédé le 17 septembre 1939 à Montréal.

Né dans une famille d’agriculteurs sur la rive sud de la Gaspésie, John Macpherson Almond alla se préparer au sacerdoce au Bishop’s College de Lennoxville (Sherbrooke), où il obtint une licence ès arts en 1894. Il n’y terminerait sa maîtrise ès arts qu’en 1901, après son retour de la guerre des Boers. Comme beaucoup de jeunes anglicans, il était attiré par l’idéal du « christianisme centré sur la santé du corps » décrit par l’auteur britannique Charles Kingsley, et joua au rugby et au hockey pendant ses études au collège. Après avoir été ordonné diacre en 1896, puis prêtre le 5 septembre 1897, il partit à l’aventure comme missionnaire au Labrador.

En 1899, Almond exerçait déjà les fonctions de vicaire adjoint à la cathédrale Holy Trinity de Québec. En octobre, il se porta volontaire au poste d’aumônier du 2nd (Special Service) Battalion du Royal Canadian Regiment of Infantry, qui partait pour l’Afrique du Sud. Le lieutenant-colonel William Dillon Otter*, commandant du contingent canadien, ne voulait aucun aumônier dans ses rangs, mais l’opinion publique força les autorités de la milice à prendre des dispositions pour en accepter deux, un presbytérien et un catholique. Outrés du fait que leur confession ne soit pas représentée, les anglicans persuadèrent le premier ministre sir Wilfrid Laurier* d’autoriser la nomination de dernière minute d’Almond comme troisième aumônier. Mal accueilli et généralement laissé à l’écart avec les malades ou les blessés, Almond manqua la bataille de Paardeberg en février 1900, au cours de laquelle son courageux collègue catholique Peter Michael O’Leary, qui avait accompagné les hommes au combat, devint un héros national. La réputation d’Almond au sein du régiment tomba au plus bas quand on le trouva ivre après qu’il eut bu du vin de l’hôpital. Même s’il convainquit Otter de lui permettre de se racheter, la plupart des soldats rentrés au Canada avaient peu de bons mots à dire au sujet de l’un ou l’autre de leurs aumôniers, à l’exception d’O’Leary.

Almond accepta la direction d’une paroisse de Grand-Mère (Shawinigan, Québec) et y demeura jusqu’en 1904, année où il partit pour Montréal, à l’église Trinity. Dans cette ville, il devint président de la South African Veterans Association en 1908 et, l’année suivante, fut, avec Arthur Harold Douglas Hair et d’autres citoyens de Montréal, cofondateur du Last Post Fund, créé pour offrir aux vétérans démunis des funérailles et un enterrement convenable. Premier président du fonds, Almond occupa ce poste de 1909 à 1915, puis de 1932 à 1939. En 1911, il entra dans la milice canadienne à titre d’aumônier honoraire du 6th (Duke of Connaught’s Royal Canadian) Hussars. Ses qualités d’organisateur attirèrent l’attention du Bishop’s College, où il dirigea l’Alumni Association et présida la campagne de financement du Diamond Jubilee Fund en 1913. Il fut en outre membre de la Bishop’s Corporation, conseil de direction de l’établissement, de 1908 jusqu’à sa mort.

Quand la guerre éclata, en 1914, l’épisode de l’Afrique du Sud avait été soit pardonné, soit oublié ; Almond fut l’un des premiers aumôniers acceptés au camp d’entraînement du contingent canadien à Valcartier. Au front, on le promut au grade de major honoraire au début de 1915. Le 19 août, quand le révérend Richard Henry Steacy, ami politique du ministre de la Milice et de la Défense, Samuel Hughes*, fut nommé directeur, il devint lieutenant-colonel et directeur adjoint du Service d’aumônerie de l’armée canadienne. Sa gestion habile du travail religieux interconfessionnel au front lui permit de rallier de nombreux aumôniers désabusés en raison de la mauvaise administration, du sectarisme anticatholique et de l’indifférence de Steacy quant au manque d’aumôniers en première ligne. Convaincu qu’un réveil religieux s’était produit parmi les troupes, Almond exhorta ses supérieurs militaires et ses collègues catholiques [V. John Joseph O’Gorman] à faire pression pour obtenir le renvoi de Steacy. Il considérait ce dernier comme le plus grand obstacle au déploiement, au front, d’un nombre suffisant d’aumôniers pour répondre au regain de ferveur religieuse. Pendant que les préparatifs pour l’assaut de la crête de Vimy commençaient, en novembre 1916, l’administration militaire canadienne outre-mer faisait l’objet d’une réorganisation en profondeur sous la gouverne d’un nouveau ministre, sir George Halsey Perley. Le général Richard Ernest William Turner* rappela Almond du front, le nomma directeur du Service d’aumônerie de l’armée canadienne à partir du 15 février 1917 et le promut au grade de colonel honoraire le 23 août.

Au cours des deux années suivantes, Almond rétablit la réputation ternie du Service d’aumônerie de l’armée canadienne. Il organisa des activités parallèles pour les protestants et les catholiques, initiative qui résolut l’impasse sectaire créée par son prédécesseur, et renvoya discrètement les ministres incompétents ou de mauvaise réputation. Il mit sur pied une division du service au Canada ; celle-ci ayant des liens directs avec des groupes confessionnels au pays même, cela améliora les services pour les soldats démobilisés, les hôpitaux pour anciens combattants et les camps d’entraînement. Persuadé que l’influence des Églises sur les anciens combattants après la guerre dépendait de la portée globale du ministère de ses aumôniers, Almond insista pour que ces derniers accomplissent des tâches éducatives et sociales auprès des troupes, attitude qui provoqua une rivalité avec la Young Men’s Christian Association jusqu’à ce qu’un accord intervienne en 1918. Il jouissait de relations professionnelles étroites avec plusieurs membres du haut commandement canadien, dont Turner et le lieutenant-général, sir Arthur William Currie, qui aimait son esprit pratique et son dévouement. À l’approche de la victoire, Almond demanda à des subalternes de faire circuler un questionnaire parmi les aumôniers anglicans en service outre-mer pour connaître la manière dont les leçons apprises pendant la guerre pourraient être communiquées aux autorités ecclésiastiques du pays. Les recommandations furent compilées dans un rapport soumis confidentiellement aux évêques canadiens ; prophétiquement, le document critiquait le conservatisme de l’Église et son échec à s’attaquer aux problèmes de la société. Comme beaucoup d’aumôniers au front, Almond compatissait au dénuement et au désespoir des gens, en particulier les pauvres des villes. Comme d’autres collègues, il espérait que l’Église, auparavant divisée selon la richesse et les classes, serait transformée par les anciens combattants, qui avaient vécu une camaraderie inconnue en temps de paix. Almond fut déçu, sans manifestement éprouver de l’amertume, quand les évêques finirent par empêcher la diffusion du rapport et que les suggestions des aumôniers des autres confessions furent dans l’ensemble rejetées par leurs Églises respectives.

Pour souligner le travail qu’il avait accompli pendant la guerre, on nomma Almond compagnon de l’ordre de Saint-Michel et Saint-Georges le 3 juin 1916, puis commandeur de l’ordre de l’Empire britannique en juin 1919 ; de plus, le Bishop’s College lui décerna un doctorat honorifique en droit civil en 1920. Suivant les conseils de critiques au sein des Églises canadiennes qui, dans la presse anglicane, recommandaient aux aumôniers idéalistes d’oublier la guerre et de revenir à leurs tâches traditionnelles, Almond retourna à l’église Trinity. Ministre énergique et doté de bonnes relations, il serait élevé, en 1932, au rang d’archidiacre. En 1923, il encouragea la fusion de sa congrégation chancelante et dépourvue de ressources avec une autre, ainsi que la construction d’une nouvelle église dans le quartier Notre-Dame-de-Grâce. Terminée deux ans plus tard, l’église Trinity Anglican Memorial était le monument qu’il dédiait aux soldats de la Première Guerre mondiale. Jusqu’à la fin de sa vie, Almond entretint des liens étroits avec des soldats et des anciens combattants. Au moment de sa mort, il était aumônier auprès de la Canadian Field Artillery et de l’hôpital militaire Sainte-Anne ; il avait aussi été aumônier dans les prisons de Montréal depuis 1912 environ. Il était membre honoraire du mess de presque toutes les unités militaires de la ville et soutenait l’Association des amputés de la Grande Guerre. Quand la Deuxième Guerre mondiale éclata, Almond, de même que près de 70 de ses collègues, offrit d’aider à remettre en œuvre le service d’aumônerie. Quelques jours plus tard, un dimanche matin, il mourut subitement pendant son sommeil.

John Macpherson Almond fut un pionnier dans la mise en place d’un ministère solide et actif pour les soldats canadiens de la Première Guerre mondiale. L’énergie qu’il déploya pour aider les catholiques à atteindre l’égalité confessionnelle, faire participer directement les Églises du pays au recrutement des aumôniers et assurer une présence dynamique de son clergé au front mena à la création de l’importante tradition de l’aumônerie militaire au Canada. Même si les structures qu’Almond avait si bien réussi à adapter furent remplacées par un dualisme confessionnel pendant la Deuxième Guerre mondiale et la guerre froide, les Forces armées canadiennes reviendraient, en 1997, au service d’aumônerie unique, multiconfessionnel et déployé au front qui s’était avéré si efficace sur les champs de bataille de l’Europe.

Duff W. Crerar

BAC, R611-275-6, vol. 4615, 4648, 4663–4664 ; R3902-0-7.— BAnQ-BSLGIM, CE103-S16, 1er août 1871.— FD, Cathedral Holy Trinity (Québec), 30 oct. 1901.— Canadian Churchman (Toronto), 23 nov. 1899.— Le Devoir, 18 sept. 1939.— Montreal Daily Star, 18 sept. 1939.— Quebec Morning Chronicle, 6 sept. 1897.— Canadian men and women of the time (Morgan ; 1912).— D. [W.] Crerar, « The church in the furnace : Canadian Anglican chaplains respond to the Great War », Canadian Church Hist. Soc., Journal (Toronto), 35 (1993) : 75–103 ; Padres in no man’s land : Canadian chaplains and the Great War (Montréal et Kingston, Ontario, 1995).— « Diocese mourns Ven. Archd. J. M. Almond », Montreal Churchman (Granby, Québec), 27 (1939), no 10 : 4, 22.— Prominent people of the province of Quebec, 1923–24 (Montréal, s.d.)

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Duff W. Crerar, « ALMOND, JOHN MACPHERSON », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 24 juill. 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/almond_john_macpherson_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/almond_john_macpherson_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Duff W. Crerar
Titre de l'article:   ALMOND, JOHN MACPHERSON
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2016
Année de la révision:   2016
Date de consultation:   24 juillet 2017