DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

HUSTON, JAMES – Volume VIII (1851-1860)

d. 21 Sept. 1854 at Quebec

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

The Quebec Conference
Original title:  Parcs Canada - Conférence de Charlottetown et Québec de 1864 - Conférence de 1864

Source: Link

 

The conference in Quebec City (10–27 Oct. 1864) was the second of three that would prepare the ground for Canadian confederation. While the Charlottetown conference focused on general principles, the Quebec conference concentrated on practical realities.

The central figures at the Quebec conference were John A. MACDONALD, Alexander Tilloch GALT, George BROWN, and George-Étienne CARTIER, as historians J. K. Johnson and P. B. Waite explain in this excerpt from the biography of John A. Macdonald:

Certainly much of the constitutional structure of the dominion was [Macdonald’s] creation. … The financial arrangements, as he admitted, were the work of A. T. Galt. Representation by population, the principle that governed membership in the lower house, had long been advocated by Brown and was made a fundamental part of confederation at his insistence. The provisions for the official use of the French language in parliament, in the federal courts, and in the courts and legislature of Quebec, as well as the continuance of the code civil in that province, were clearly Cartier’s contribution. The arrangements for the preservation of existing separate schools and for their establishment in new provinces were largely inspired by Galt.”

 

The following lists give the names of all the delegates at the Quebec conference with the exception of Robert Barry Dickey, a representative from Nova Scotia:

◀◀  5 6 7 8 10 11 12 13  ▶▶

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

BONHOMME, Beaupré, NOËL – Volume III (1741-1770)

décédé le 29 mai 1755 à l’Ancienne-Lorette

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

La conférence de Québec
Titre original :  Parcs Canada - Conférence de Charlottetown et Québec de 1864 - Conférence de 1864

Provenance : Lien


La conférence de Québec (10–27 octobre 1864) fut la deuxième des trois qui préparèrent le terrain pour la confédération canadienne. Tandis que la conférence de Charlottetown portait sur des principes généraux, celle de Québec se concentra sur des réalités pratiques.

Les acteurs les plus marquants de la conférence de Québec furent John Alexander Macdonald, Alexander Tilloch Galt, George Brown et George-Étienne Cartier, comme l’expliquent les historiens J. K. Johnson et P. B. Waite dans cet extrait de leur biographie de sir John Alexander Macdonald :

Assurément, une bonne partie de l’appareil constitutionnel du dominion était [l’]œuvre [de Macdonald.] […] Les arrangements financiers, il l’admettait, étaient l’œuvre d’Alexander Tilloch Galt. La représentation basée sur la population, qui régissait la formation de la Chambre basse, était prônée depuis longtemps par Brown, et c’est sur son insistance qu’elle devint un aspect fondamental de la Confédération. De toute évidence, les dispositions qui assuraient à la langue française un statut officiel au Parlement et dans les tribunaux fédéraux ainsi que dans les tribunaux et à la législature de la province de Québec, de même que les mesures sur le maintien du Code civil dans cette province, venaient de Cartier. Celles qui préservaient les écoles séparées déjà existantes et qui garantissaient la création d’écoles du même genre dans les nouvelles provinces furent largement inspirées par Galt.


Voici les listes des noms de tous les délégués à la conférence de Québec, à l’exception de Robert Barry Dickey, représentant de la Nouvelle-Écosse.

◀◀  5 6 7 8 10 11 12 13  ▶▶