DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

MANNERS-SUTTON, JOHN HENRY THOMAS, 3rd Viscount Canterbury, politician and colonial administrator; b. 27 May 1814 in London, Eng., son of Charles Manners-Sutton, 1st Viscount Canterbury, and Lucy Maria Charlotte Denison; d. 24 June 1877 in London.

John Henry Thomas Manners-Sutton was descended from a line of distinguished British Conservatives; his grandfather, Charles Manners-Sutton, had been archbishop of Canterbury; his great-uncle, Thomas Manners-Sutton, had served as lord chancellor of Ireland; his father was speaker of the British House of Commons for 18 years. He himself was educated at Eton and at Trinity College, Cambridge, where he received an ma in 1835; he entered Lincoln’s Inn in that year but was never called to the bar. On 5 July 1838 he married Georgiana Tompson by whom he had five sons and two daughters.

The political career of Manners-Sutton began somewhat falteringly in 1839 when he won a Cambridge by-election for the Tories but was subsequently unseated for bribery. He won the seat again in 1841 and in September was appointed under-secretary for the Home Department in Sir Robert Peel’s administration. He rarely took part in Commons debates and resigned his office when Peel was overthrown in 1846. Defeated in the 1847 election, Manners-Sutton retired from politics to devote much of his time to editing the Lexington Papers (8v., London, 1851) for publication.

On 1 July 1854 Manners-Sutton was appointed the eighth lieutenant governor of New Brunswick. According to W. S. MacNutt, he had been selected “by reason of a promising ability that had been displayed” at the Home Office and by reason of his family’s “important connections.” When he arrived to take up his post in October, a group of local politicians were concerned because responsible government had not become an accomplished fact and they believed Manners-Sutton had reservations on this score. On 20 Oct. 1854 the reform leader, Charles Fisher, introduced an amendment to the address in reply to the speech from the throne arguing that the government had “quailed” before the lieutenant governor, Sir Edmund Head*, in 1851, and that responsible government had, therefore, really not come in 1848 [see Wilmot]. Fisher also referred to rumours that Head had met his successor, Manners-Sutton, in Boston and told him how to run the Legislative Council and, through it, the colony. It was obvious that the new governor was not popular with the reform-minded members of the assembly. Eight days after Fisher’s speech, the government, led by John Ambrose Street*, lost a division in the assembly. “Shortly after,” as MacNutt has noted, “for the first time in New Brunswick history, a government resigned because of an adverse vote in the house of assembly.” Manners-Sutton then appointed Fisher attorney general, but in his dispatches to London the governor made no attempt to hide his distaste for the new government.

The main concern of the Colonial Office in 1854 was that the New Brunswick assembly pass the laws necessary for the success of the reciprocity treaty with the United States. A dispatch to Manners-Sutton in September expressed the hope that “the fruits of so much execution will not be thrown away.” The British government felt that the treaty would bring “the greatest advantages to Her Majesty’s North American subjects” but recognized that the colony had “the ultimate decision as to the deliberations of this legislation.” Manners-Sutton was authorized to make changes in colonial trade laws in compliance with the council and to bring the question of reciprocity “in the fullest and fairest manner before the provincial legislature.”

During the first year of his tenure, Manners-Sutton and the Colonial Office disagreed on several points. The governor was in favour of granting the title “honourable” to retiring members of the Legislative Council, but he was over-ruled by Sir George Grey at the Colonial Office who wrote to Sir Robert Peel that such a move threw “an invidious power into the hands of a Governor who has already for the most part sufficient danger of unpopularity.” In January 1855 both Grey and Peel opposed Manners-Sutton’s suggestion that New Brunswick’s civil list be placed in the hands of the Executive Council. Six months later he seemed to be on better terms with his superiors the legislature had made changes especially in the trade and fishing laws – a continued preoccupation of the imperial government.

Manners-Sutton’s next test came in 1855. The New Brunswick assembly had passed a bill in 1853 prohibiting the importation of alcoholic beverages into the colony. This measure could not be enforced effectively, but the temperance adherents, led by Samuel Leonard Tilley*, wanted a more stringent bill. In 1855 a second prohibition bill was passed, and, despite the governor’s objection, given royal assent. Manners-Sutton did, however, recommend to the Colonial Office in London that it disallow the bill, but the Colonial Office ignored the recommendation. After the controversial measure became law, Manners-Sutton advised his New Brunswick government either to enforce the law or to repeal it – advice intended to destroy Fisher’s government. The government’s failure to enforce the prohibition bill eventually forced its resignation, but a subsequent election saw most of the same men returned to the assembly. Many of those elected had changed their minds about prohibition during the campaign; they acknowledged the propriety of Manners-Sutton’s actions by repealing the measure.

During the remaining four years of his term, amidst a period of unprecedented prosperity in the province, the secret ballot was introduced, the power of the Legislative Council was reduced, and some assemblymen were pressing Manners-Sutton to open negotiations enabling the executive to initiate money grants. In 1857 the Colonial Office recognized the principle of responsible government in the colony by stating that any bill which did not receive “the assent of the three branches of the legislature must be regarded simply in the light of a ‘Dropped Bill.’ “ A prolonged controversy over government grants to King’s College, later the University of New Brunswick, aided Fisher and his supporters in their persistent demand that the legislature be given the right to supervise the drafting of confidential dispatches sent by Manners-Sutton to London. The Colonial Office supported Manners-Sutton’s right to give confidential and private advice but when word reached Fredericton that Sir Howard Douglas*, Bishop John Medley*, and Edward Barron Chandler all had called at the Colonial Office to make representations concerning King’s College, the New Brunswick government successfully demanded that copies of the documents should be made available for rebuttal. Yet another inroad had been made on the powers of the lieutenant governor.

Manners-Sutton had many other differences with Fisher, but they did agree on one issue: they chose to ignore a resolution passed in Canada in 1858 urging talks about the union of the British North American colonies. Manners-Sutton feared that imperial trade might be hampered by a union, and he also predicted that the Maritime provinces might resent the loss of their autonomy. He was in favour of Maritime union, however, and, in 1858, reported to London that talks on the subject would shortly begin between New Brunswick and Nova Scotia. The news was premature, for when Manners-Sutton was succeeded in October 1861 by Sir Arthur Hamilton Gordon* the movement for union of any kind seemed dormant.

From New Brunswick, Manners-Sutton went to Trinidad where he was governor for two years, long enought to witness the nearby Jamaica Rebellion and its bloody aftermath. His last colonial appointment, as governor of the Australian colony of Victoria in 1866, was the most tranquil and hence the happiest. That colony had undergone significant and, at times, stormy changes during the term of the previous governor, Sir Charles Henry Darling*. Manners-Sutton had no serious confrontations with the assembly during his seven-year term, and was one of Victoria’s most popular governors. He resigned in 1873 and returned to England to take his seat in the House of Lords, having become 3rd Viscount Canterbury on the death of his older brother.

Like many other British colonial administrators in the mid-19th century, Manners-Sutton was fighting a rearguard action against rising demands for local autonomy. His aristocratic upbringing and outlook contrasted sharply with the egalitarian and colonial mentality of men like Charles Fisher. Nevertheless, Manners-Sutton was able to work with these local politicians and to gain their grudging respect.

Richard Wilbur

PRO, CO 188/118, 188/122–188/135. New Brunswick House of Assembly, Debates, 1854–61. DNB. R. M. Crawford, Australia (rev. ed., London, 1963). Hannay, History of New Brunswick, II. MacNutt, New Brunswick, 353–93. Geoffrey Serle, The golden age: a history of the colony of Victoria, 1851–1861 (Melbourne, Aust., 1963). E. E. Williams, History of the people of Trinidad and Tobago (London, 1964).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Richard Wilbur, “MANNERS-SUTTON, JOHN HENRY THOMAS, Viscount Canterbury,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 10, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed November 22, 2014, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/manners_sutton_john_henry_thomas_10E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/manners_sutton_john_henry_thomas_10E.html
Author of Article: Richard Wilbur
Title of Article: MANNERS-SUTTON, JOHN HENRY THOMAS, Viscount Canterbury
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 10
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 1972
Year of revision: 1972
Access Date: November 22, 2014

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

MANNERS-SUTTON, JOHN HENRY THOMAS, troisième vicomte Canterbury, homme politique et lieutenant-gouverneur du Nouveau-Brunswick, né à Londres le 27 mai 1814, fils de Charles Manners-Sutton, premier vicomte Canterbury et de Lucy Maria Charlotte Denison, décédé le 24 juin 1877 à Londres.

John Henry Thomas Manners-Sutton descendait d’une famille de conservateurs britanniques éminents ; son grand-père, Charles Manners-Sutton avait été archevêque dé Cantorbéry ; son grand-oncle, Thomas Manners-Sutton, avait été lord chancelier d’Irlande ; son père fut pendant 18 ans président de la chambre des Communes. Lui-même fit ses études à Eton et à Trinity College, Cambridge, où il obtint une maîtrise ès arts en 1835 ; la même année, il entra à Lincoln’s Inn mais ne s’inscrivit jamais au barreau. Le 5 juillet 1838, il épousa Georgiana Tompson dont il eut cinq fils et deux filles.

La carrière politique de Manners-Sutton commença d’une façon quelque peu hésitante en 1839, date à laquelle il fut élu député de Cambridge lors d’une élection partielle où il s’était présenté comme tory. Par la suite, il fut démis de son siège pour corruption. Il regagna ce comté en 1841 ; en septembre de la même année, il fut nommé sous-secrétaire au ministère de l’Intérieur dans l’administration de sir Robert Peel. Il participa rarement aux débats de la chambre des Communes et démissionna de son poste lorsque Peel fut renversé en 1846. Battu à l’élection de 1847, Manners-Sutton abandonna la politique pour consacrer une grande partie de son temps à préparer la publication des Lexington Papers (8 vols., Londres, 1851).

Manners-Sutton fut nommé huitième lieutenant-gouverneur du Nouveau-Brunswick le 1er juillet 1854. Selon W. S. MacNutt, il avait été choisi « en raison des qualités prometteuses dont il avait fait preuve » au ministère de l’Intérieur et en raison des « relations importantes » de sa famille. Lorsqu’il vint occuper son poste en octobre, des hommes politiques locaux s’inquiétèrent, car le gouvernement responsable n’était pas encore un fait accompli, et ils croyaient Manners-Sutton assez réticent à ce sujet. Le 20 octobre 1854, le chef du parti réformiste, Charles Fisher, ajouta un amendement à l’adresse en réponse au discours du trône dans lequel il déclarait que le gouvernement avait reculé devant le lieutenant-gouverneur sir Edmund Head*, en 1851, et qu’ainsi le gouvernement responsable n’avait pas été vraiment institué en 1848 [V. Wilmot]. Fisher fit également allusion à des rumeurs voulant que Head ait rencontré son successeur, Manners-Sutton, à Boston, et lui ait montré comment diriger le Conseil législatif et, à travers lui, toute la colonie. Il est évident que le nouveau gouverneur n’avait pas l’estime des membres réformistes de l’Assemblée. Huit jours après le discours de Fisher, le gouvernement, avec John Ambrose Street* à sa tête, n’obtint pas un nombre de voix suffisant lors d’un vote à l’Assemblée. « Peu de temps après, comme le remarque MacNutt, pour la première fois dans l’histoire du Nouveau-Brunswick, un gouvernement démissionna à cause d’un vote défavorable de l’Assemblée. » Manners-Sutton nomma alors Fisher procureur général, mais, dans les dépêches qu’il envoyait à Londres, le gouverneur ne fit aucun effort pour cacher son aversion pour le nouveau gouvernement.

Le souci majeur du ministère des Colonies, en 1854, était de voir l’Assemblée du Nouveau-Brunswick voter les lois nécessaires pour assurer le succès du traité de réciprocité avec les États-Unis. Une dépêche adressée à Manners-Sutton en septembre exprimait l’espoir que « les fruits d’une telle entreprise ne soient pas perdus ». Le gouvernement britannique pensait que ce traité apporterait « les plus grands avantages aux sujets nord-américains de Sa Majesté », mais il reconnaissait que la colonie avait « le droit de décision finale dans les délibérations concernant cette législation ». Manners-Sutton fut autorisé à opérer des changements dans les lois régissant le commerce colonial en accord avec le conseil et à poser le problème de la réciprocité « de la façon la plus nette et la plus claire devant la législature provinciale ».

Pendant la première année de son mandat, Manners-Sutton fut en désaccord sur plusieurs points avec le ministère des Colonies. Le gouverneur était d’avis d’accorder le titre d’« honorable » aux membres sortants du Conseil législatif mais il dut se plier au désir de sir George Grey du ministère des Colonies qui écrivit à sir Robert Peel, lui signifiant qu’une telle mesure donnait « un pouvoir odieux à un gouverneur déjà suffisamment en danger de devenir impopulaire ». En janvier 1855, Grey et Peel s’opposèrent à Manners-Sutton qui suggérait que la liste civile du Nouveau-Brunswick fût confiée aux soins du Conseil exécutif. Six mois plus tard, il semblait être en meilleurs termes avec ses supérieurs : l’Assemblée avait apporté des changements, en particulier dans les lois sur le commerce et sur la pêche, qui continuaient à préoccuper le gouvernement impérial.

Manners-Sutton fit face à un nouveau problème en 1855. L’Assemblée du Nouveau-Brunswick avait adopté en 1853 un projet de loi interdisant l’importation de boissons alcooliques dans la colonie. Cette mesure ne put être effectivement mise en vigueur, mais les partisans de la tempérance avec, à leur tête, Samuel Leonard Tilley* voulaient un projet de loi plus sévère. En 1855, un deuxième projet de loi en faveur de la prohibition fut voté et reçut du gouverneur, qui lui était opposé, la sanction royale. Manners-Sutton, cependant, recommanda au ministère des Colonies de rejeter le projet, mais le ministère passa outre. Après que la mesure controversée fut devenue loi, Manners-Sutton avisa son gouvernement du Nouveau-Brunswick d’avoir soit à appliquer la loi soit à la rejeter, et le gouverneur cherchait par là à détruire le gouvernement de Fisher. L’impuissance du gouvernement à mettre cette loi en vigueur l’obligea finalement à démissionner, mais l’élection qui s’ensuivit vit le retour à l’Assemblée de la plupart de ses anciens membres. Pendant la campagne électorale, beaucoup de candidats qui devaient être élus par la suite avaient changé d’avis au sujet de la prohibition ; plus tard ils rejetèrent la loi, reconnaissant ainsi le bien-fondé de l’attitude de Manners-Sutton.

Pendant les quatre dernières années de sa charge, alors que la province jouissait d’une prospérité sans précédent, le scrutin secret fut introduit, le pouvoir du Conseil législatif réduit, et l’Assemblée pressa Manners-Sutton d’engager des négociations en vue de permettre au Conseil exécutif de présenter les projets de loi concernant les dépenses gouvernementales. En 1857, le ministère des Colonies reconnut le principe du gouvernement responsable dans la colonie en déclarant que tout projet de loi qui ne recevrait pas « le consentement des trois groupes de la législature devrait tout simplement être considéré comme écarté ». Une très longue controverse au sujet des subventions accordées par le gouvernement à King’s College, qui devait devenir plus tard l’University of New Brunswick, aida Fisher et ses partisans dans leur demande insistante que l’Assemblée législative ait le droit de surveiller de près la rédaction des dépêches confidentielles envoyées à Londres par Manners-Sutton. Le ministère des Colonies soutint Manners-Sutton dans son droit d’envoyer de telles dépêches, mais lorsqu’on apprit à Fredericton que sir Howard Douglas*, l’évêque John Medley* et Edward Barron Chandler s’étaient adressés au ministère pour faire des représentations au sujet de King’s College, le gouvernement du Nouveau-Brunswick obtint que des copies des documents fussent mises à sa disposition pour être réfutées. De nouveau on avait empiété sur les pouvoirs du lieutenant-gouverneur.

Manners-Sutton eut beaucoup d’autres différends avec Fisher mais les deux hommes se mirent d’accord sur un point : ils décidèrent de ne pas tenir compte d’une résolution adoptée au Canada-Uni en 1858 recommandant des pourparlers sur l’union des colonies britanniques de l’Amérique du Nord. Manners-Sutton craignait que le commerce de l’Empire britannique ne fût entravé par cette union et prédisait aussi que les provinces maritimes pourraient prendre en mauvaise part la perte de leur autonomie. Il était cependant partisan d’une union des provinces maritimes et, en 1858, il fit savoir à Londres que des entretiens sur ce sujet allaient être engagés sous peu entre le Nouveau-Brunswick et la Nouvelle-Écosse. Cette nouvelle était prématurée car, lorsque sir Arthur Hamilton Gordon* succéda à Manners-Sutton, en octobre 1861, tout mouvement en faveur d’une union quelconque semblait disparu.

Manners-Sutton quitta le Nouveau-Brunswick pour Trinidad, où il fut gouverneur pendant deux ans, assez longtemps pour être témoin de la rébellion et de ses suites sanglantes, dans l’île voisine de la Jamaïque. Il fut enfin nommé gouverneur de la colonie australienne de Victoria en 1866, et ce dernier poste fut pour lui le plus tranquille et le plus heureux. Cette colonie avait subi des changements profonds et, parfois même, orageux, pendant la période où le gouverneur précédent, sir Charles Henry Darling*, exerça son mandat. Manners-Sutton ne connut aucun heurt sérieux avec l’Assemblée pendant les sept ans qu’il gouverna. Il fut l’un des gouverneurs les plus aimés de Victoria. Il résigna ses fonctions en 1873 et rentra en Angleterre pour siéger à la chambre des Lords, étant devenu troisième vicomte Canterbury à la mort de son frère aîné.

Comme beaucoup d’autres administrateurs coloniaux anglais du milieu du xixe siècle, Manners-Sutton mena un combat d’arrière-garde contre les revendications de plus en plus fréquentes en faveur de l’autonomie dans les colonies. Son éducation et ses idées aristocratiques contrastaient fortement avec la mentalité égalitaire et coloniale d’hommes tels que Fisher. Quoiqu’il en soit, Manners-Sutton fut capable de travailler avec ces hommes politiques locaux et réussit à forcer leur estime.

Richard Wilbur

PRO, CO 188/118, 188/122–188/135.— Reports of the debates of the House of Assembly of New Brunswick, 18541861.— DNB.— R. M. Crawford, Australia (nouv. éd., Londres, 1963).— Hannay, History of New Brunswick, II.— MacNutt, New Brunswick, 353393.— Geoffrey Serle, The golden age : a history of the colony of Victoria, 1851–1861 (Melbourne, Aust., 1963).— E. E. Williams, History of the people of Trinidad and Tobago (Londres, 1964).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Richard Wilbur, « MANNERS-SUTTON, JOHN HENRY THOMAS, vicomte Canterbury », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 10, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 28 juill. 2014, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/manners_sutton_john_henry_thomas_10F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/manners_sutton_john_henry_thomas_10F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Richard Wilbur
Titre de l'article:   MANNERS-SUTTON, JOHN HENRY THOMAS, vicomte Canterbury
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 10
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   1972
Année de la révision:   1972
Date de consultation:   28 juillet 2014