DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Minor Corrections

Biography of the Day

IDINGTON, JOHN – Volume XV (1921-1930)

d. 7 Feb. 1928 in Ottawa

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

BISSOT DE VINSENNE (Vincennes), FRANÇOIS-MARIE, second ensign in the regular troops of Canada and half-pay lieutenant in those of Louisiana, commandant of the posts of the Ouyatanon (Wea), near what became Lafayette, Indiana, and of the Peanguichia (Piankeshaw), subsequently called Vincennes, on the Ouabache (Wabash) River; b. 17 June 1700 in Montreal; eldest son of Jean-Baptiste Bissot de Vinsenne and of Marguerite Forestier; m. presumably Marie Longpré in Kaskaskia in 1733; d. 25 March 1736, killed by the Chickasaw near what became Fulton, Mississippi.

Vinsenne spent almost his entire life among the Miami people. A letter he wrote in 1733 shows that he was only 13 years old when he first accompanied his father on a trip to visit them. In 1718 he was posted among the Ouyatanon Miami, who lived on the upper Ouabache, and within the next four years he was appointed commandant of the Ouyatanon post. Although still only a cadet in the colonial regular troops, this young officer was already noted for his skill in dealing with Indigenous people.

In the mid 1720s the area in which Vinsenne was posted was assuming great strategic importance. By using the river system of the Ouabache and the Belle Rivière (Ohio) the British, who had been intensifying their pressure on the west since the treaty of Utrecht, would be able to enter the Mississippi valley and disrupt communications between Canada and Louisiana. The Compagnie des Indes, to which the ownership of the southern colony had been granted in 1717, feared that this incursion would entail the loss of the Illinois territory and might eventually cause the ruin of the French North American empire. To cope with the British threat, it revived the plans which had first been formulated in 1713 to build a post in the region where the Ouabache, the Rivière des Cheraquis (Tennessee), and the Cumberland River joined the Belle Rivière. The commanding officer who would be posted at this crucial point would be expected to cooperate with Vinsenne in blocking English penetration of the west and protecting communications between the two French colonies.

Unable or unwilling to make the expenditures necessary to build this post and to stock it with goods for trade, the company did not carry out its plan. To maintain control of the region it relied on Vinsenne, whose influence over the Miami gave him considerable power. Thus, while he was still under Canadian jurisdiction, this officer gradually became an agent of Louisiana. He held the rank of half-pay lieutenant in the southern colony’s regular troops and also received an annual subsidy from its government consisting of a gratuity of 300 livres, which was added to his regular salary, and a sum of 800 livres to purchase gifts for Indigenous people.

In 1730 Vinsenne severed his connections with Canada by moving down the Ouabache with a contingent of Miami. On 1 July of the following year the Compagnie des Indes ceded Louisiana to the crown and immediately afterwards steps were taken to have a post erected near the junction of the Ouabache and the Belle Rivière. Vinsenne appears to have begun the construction of this establishment late in 1731 and to have completed it early the following year. In 1733 he described it in one of his dispatches to Jean-Baptiste Le Moyne* de Bienville, the governor of Louisiana. It was located some 80 miles up the Ouabache, near what became Vincennes, Indiana, and consisted of two buildings surrounded by a palisade. Five Indigenous groups that could field between 600 and 700 warriors lived nearby in four villages. The commandant complained that a lack of troops and trade goods was making it difficult for him to control them. On occasion, to present them with gifts, he had to borrow from travellers or draw upon his personal belongings. The situation was further complicated in 1735 when the British appeared on the Belle Rivière and made efforts to win them over.

Early in 1736, Vinsenne and several Miami warriors set off for Fort de Chartres in Illinois territory to join forces with Pierre d’Artaguiette, who was preparing an expedition against the Chickasaw. Inhabiting an area made up roughly of what became the state of Tennessee and the northern parts of Mississippi and Alabama, the Chickasaw had an alliance with the British of the Carolinas; for several years they had been harassing French settlements and attacking their convoys on the Mississippi River. Finally, Bienville had decided to strike back. He drew up campaign plans that called for his force to meet that of d’Artaguiette in Chickasaw territory and march together against the enemy.

D’Artaguiette’s army, made up of approximately 140 French and 266 Indigenous fighters, was the first to arrive at the rendezvous. With supplies running low and the warriors showing signs of restlessness, the commander decided to capture three small Chickasaw villages to seize their provisions. The attack began early on the morning of 25 March. The first two villages were easily taken and the assault on the third was under way when several hundred Chickasaw warriors appeared on the scene to lend their support to their beleaguered compatriots. D’Artaguiette’s scouts had failed to notice that the three villages formed part of a much larger complex which lay half concealed in the surrounding hills. Abandoned by the Miami and the Illinois, d’Artaguiette ordered the rest of his men to retreat, but with the Chickasaw in pursuit he was obliged to stop and give battle. Despite a valiant stand by the French and their Iroquois (Haudenosaunee) and Arkansas (Quapaw) auxiliaries they were soon overwhelmed by superior numbers. The Chickasaw killed several of them during the engagement and took some 20 prisoners, including d’Artaguiette, Vinsenne, Louis d’Ailleboust de Coulonge (the younger), Saint-Ange [Pierre Groston], Louis-Marie-Charles Dutisné, and the Jesuit Antoine Sénat, who had accompanied the expedition as chaplain.

The principal sources for the events that follow are the account of an enslaved Chickasaw woman and Drouet de Richerville, who was taken prisoner but managed to escape after spending two years in captivity. The captives, except for a few who were set aside to be tortured later or to be used in prisoner exchanges, were led into the centre of one of the villages where they mounted two pyres that had been prepared by the Chickasaw women. These were then set ablaze. The victims suffered this torment without flinching. Led by Father Sénat they sang hymns and canticles in firm voices, even as the flames engulfed them.

Vinsenne was survived by his Métis wife, Marie Longpré, the daughter of a wealthy settler of Kaskaskia, whom he had most likely married in 1733, and by two daughters. His memory, like that of his father, was long honoured by the Miami.

Yves F. Zoltvany

AN, Col., B, 35, 43; C11A, 44, 52, 56, 63; C13A, 9, 11, 16, 17, 19, 20; D2C, 222; F3, 24. Découvertes et établissements des Français (Margry), VI.

Alvord, Illinois country. N. M. Belting, Kaskaskia under the French régime (University of Illinois studies in the social sciences, XXIX, no.3, Urbana, 1948), 77. J. P. Dunn, The mission to the Ouabache (Ind. Hist. Soc. pub., III, no.4, Indianapolis, 1902). Pierre Heinrich, La Louisiane sous la Compagnie des Indes, 1717–1731 (Paris, [1908 ]). Rochemonteix, Les Jésuites et la N.-F. au XVIIIe siècle. I. P.-G. Roy, Sieur de Vincennes identified (Ind. Hist. Soc. pub., VII, no.1, Indianapolis, [1917]).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Yves F. Zoltvany, “BISSOT DE VINSENNE, FRANÇOIS-MARIE,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 2, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed February 7, 2023, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/bissot_de_vinsenne_francois_marie_2E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:


Permalink:   http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/bissot_de_vinsenne_francois_marie_2E.html
Author of Article:   Yves F. Zoltvany
Title of Article:   BISSOT DE VINSENNE, FRANÇOIS-MARIE
Publication Name:   Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 2
Publisher:   University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication:   1969
Year of revision:   2023
Access Date:   February 7, 2023

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

BISSOT DE VINSENNE (Vincennes), FRANÇOIS-MARIE, fils aîné de Jean-Baptiste Bissot de Vinsenne et de Marguerite Forestier, sous-enseigne dans les troupes de la marine au Canada, lieutenant réformé dans les troupes de la Louisiane, commandant du poste situé au pays des Ouiatanons (Weas), près de l’actuelle La Fayette, Indiana, et de celui des Peanquichas (Piankeshaws), appelé plus tard Vincennes, sur la rivière Ouabache (Wabash) ; né le 17 juin 1700 à Montréal, brûlé vif par les Chicachas, près de l’actuel Fulton, Mississipi, le 25 mars 1736.

Vinsenne passa presque toute sa vie parmi les Indiens miamis. Une lettre qu’il écrivit en 1733 nous révèle qu’il n’avait que 13 ans quand pour la première fois il accompagna son père chez ces Indiens. En 1718, il fut envoyé chez les Ouiatanons de la branche des Miamis, qui habitaient l’amont de la rivière Ouabache, et, moins de quatre ans après, il était nommé commandant du poste établi chez ces Indiens. Bien qu’il ne fût encore qu’un cadet dans les troupes de la marine, le jeune officier était déjà reconnu pour son habileté à traiter avec les Indiens.

Vers 1725 la région où se trouvait Vinsenne prenait une grande importance stratégique. En effet, en empruntant le réseau fluvial de la Ouabache et de la Belle Rivière (Ohio), les Anglais, qui depuis la signature du traité d’Utrecht avaient intensifié leur poussée vers l’Ouest, auraient été en mesure de pénétrer dans la vallée du Mississipi et de couper les communications entre le Canada et la Louisiane. La Compagnie des Indes, qui depuis 1717 détenait les droits de possession sur la colonie du sud, craignait que cela n’entraînât la perte du pays des Illinois et éventuellement la ruine de l’empire français en Amérique du Nord. Pour conjurer la menace anglaise, la compagnie reprit le projet, qui remontait à 1713, de construire un fort dans la région où les rivières Ouabache, des Cheraquis (Tennessee) et Cumberland se jetaient dans la Belle Rivière. Bien entendu l’officier commandant qui devait être désigné à ce poste d’une importance cruciale aurait été tenu de coopérer avec Vinsenne pour enrayer la pénétration anglaise vers l’Ouest et protéger les communications entre les deux colonies françaises.

La compagnie ne mit pas le projet à exécution parce qu’elle ne pouvait pas, ou ne voulait pas, faire les dépenses nécessaires pour construire un poste et y stocker les marchandises de traite. Pour garder sa mainmise sur la région, elle comptait sur Vinsenne qui jouissait d’un pouvoir considérable grâce à son influence sur les Miamis, de telle sorte que cet officier, tout en demeurant sous la juridiction canadienne, devint progressivement un agent de la Louisiane. Il avait le grade de lieutenant réformé dans les troupes de la colonie du sud dont le gouvernement lui versait un subside annuel de 300#, qui venait s’ajouter à son traitement fixe, et une autre somme de 800# pour l’achat de cadeaux destinés aux Indiens.

En 1730 Vinsenne rompit ses liens avec le Canada et alla s’installer plus bas sur la rivière Ouabache avec ses Indiens. Le 1er juillet de l’année suivante, la Compagnie des Indes céda la Louisiane à la couronne et immédiatement après on prit des mesures pour construire un poste près du confluent de la rivière Ouabache et de la Belle Rivière. Il semble que Vinsenne ait commencé la construction du poste à la fin de l’année 1731 pour la terminer au début de l’année suivante. En 1733 il en fit la description dans une de ses dépêches à Jean-Baptiste Le Moyne* de Bienville, gouverneur de la Louisiane : situé à environ 80 milles en amont de la Ouabache (près de l’actuel Vincennes, Indiana), le poste comprenait deux bâtiments entourés d’une palissade. Cinq tribus indiennes, qui pouvaient réunir entre 600 et 700 guerriers, habitaient dans les environs, dispersées dans quatre villages. Le commandant se plaignait de ce que, à cause d’une garnison trop peu nombreuse et du manque de marchandises, il lui était difficile de maintenir son ascendant sur ces Indiens. À différentes occasions, pour être en mesure de leur offrir des cadeaux, il avait été obligé d’emprunter à des voyageurs ou de donner ses objets personnels. La situation se compliqua davantage quand, en 1735, les Anglais vinrent à la Belle Rivière et s’efforcèrent de faire passer les Indiens de leur côté.

Au début de 1736, Vinsenne et plusieurs guerriers miamis se mirent en route pour le fort de Chartres dans le pays des Illinois, pour aller se joindre aux troupes de Pierre d’Artaguiette qui préparait une expédition contre les Chicachas. Cette nation guerrière, qui habitait une région comprenant à peu près l’état du Tennessee actuel et la partie nord des états du Mississipi et de l’Alabama, s’était alliée aux Anglais des Carolines et depuis plusieurs années elle harcelait les habitants des établissements français et attaquait leurs convois sur le Mississipi. Bienville avait finalement décidé de leur faire la guerre. Selon les plans de campagne qu’il avait établis, ses troupes et celles d’Artaguiette devaient se rejoindre au pays des Chicachas pour porter la guerre chez l’ennemi.

Les troupes d’Artaguiette, qui comptaient environ 140 Français et 266 Indiens, arrivèrent les premières au rendez-vous. Comme les provisions diminuaient et que les Indiens donnaient des signes d’impatience, le commandant décida de s’emparer de trois petits villages chicachas dans le but d’y saisir des vivres. L’attaque commença tôt le matin du 25 mars. On s’empara sans difficulté des deux premiers villages et l’assaut se poursuivait contre le troisième quand soudain plusieurs centaines de guerriers chicachas entrèrent dans le combat pour prêter main-forte aux leurs. Les éclaireurs d’Artaguiette n’avaient pas remarqué que ces trois villages faisaient partie d’un grand ensemble de villages à demi cachés dans les collines environnantes. Abandonné par les Miamis et les Illinois qui, pris de panique, s’étaient enfuis, d’Artaguiette ordonna au reste de l’armée de battre en retraite mais les Chicachas se lancèrent à leur poursuite avec furie et il fut bientôt obligé de s’arrêter pour livrer combat. Les Français et leurs alliés iroquois et arkansas résistèrent avec bravoure, mais ils furent très vite écrasés par le nombre. Les Chicachas tuèrent plusieurs d’entre eux au cours de l’engagement et firent une vingtaine de prisonniers dont d’Artaguiette, Vinserine, Louis d’Ailleboust de Coulonge fils, Pierre Groston de Sainte-Ange, Louis-Marie-Charles Dutisné et le jésuite Antoine Sénat, l’aumônier de l’expédition.

La relation d’une esclave indienne chicacha et celle de Drouet de Richerville, qui fut fait prisonnier mais qui réussit à s’échapper après deux ans de captivité, sont les deux principales sources de renseignements sur la suite des événements. Les captifs, sauf quelques-uns qui furent mis à part pour être soumis à la torture plus tard ou gardés en vue d’échanges de prisonniers, furent conduits au centre d’un des villages où ils montèrent sur deux bûchers que des femmes chicachas avaient préparés. Puis on mit le feu aux bûchers. Les victimes endurèrent leurs tourments sans défaillance : sous la conduite du père Sénat, ils entonnèrent des hymnes et des cantiques d’une voix ferme et ils chantaient encore quand ils disparurent dans les flammes.

Vinsenne avait épousé en 1733 une Métis du nom de Marie Longpré, fille d’un riche colon de Kaskaskia. Elle lui survécut avec deux de ses filles. Longtemps encore les Miamis vénérèrent la mémoire de Vinsenne ainsi que celle de son père.

Yves F. Zoltvany

AN, Col., B, 35, 43 ; Col., C11A, 44, 52, 56, 63 ; Col., C13A, 9, 11, 16, 17, 19, 20 ; Col., D2C 222 ; Col., F3, 24.— Découvertes et établissements des Français (Margry), VI.— Alvord, The Illinois country.— N. M. Belting, Kaskaskia under the French régime (« University of Illinois studies in the social sciences », XXIX, n° 3, Urbana, 1948), 77.— J. P. Dunn, The mission to the Ouabache (« Indiana Hist. Soc. pub. », III, n° 4, 1902).— Pierre Heinrich, La Louisiane sous la Compagnie des Indes, 1717–1731 (Paris, [1908]).— Rochemonteix, Les Jésuites et la N.-F. au XVIIIe siècle, I.— P.-G. Roy, Le sieur de Vincennes, fondateur de lIndiana et sa famille (Québec, 1919).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Yves F. Zoltvany, « BISSOT DE VINSENNE, FRANÇOIS-MARIE », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 2, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 18 sept. 2014, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/bissot_de_vinsenne_francois_marie_2F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/bissot_de_vinsenne_francois_marie_2F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Yves F. Zoltvany
Titre de l'article:   BISSOT DE VINSENNE, FRANÇOIS-MARIE
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 2
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   1969
Année de la révision:   1969
Date de consultation:   18 septembre 2014