DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

MORRIS, CHARLES (1759-1831) – Volume VI (1821-1835)

b. 18 Nov. 1759 in Hopkinton, Mass.

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

The Press
Original title:  This Was Manitoba: December 28: Manitoba's first newspaper; Terry Sawchuck; Brandon Gaol's first hanging.

Source: Link

 

Walter Robert BOWN, the owner and editor-in-chief of the NorWester, the first newspaper to be published in Red River (1859), defended the position of those who supported annexation of the colony to Canada:

“Bown’s first direct brush with controversy came early in 1868 when [John Christian] Schultz, in jail for debt, was broken out by his wife, Agnes Campbell Farquharson. Acting as the editor of the Nor’Wester in Schultz’s absence, Bown portrayed the jailbreak as an action which had the support of the majority of Red River’s inhabitants, and which constituted a blow for freedom against the tyranny of HBC [Hudson’s Bay Company] rule in general and its system of justice in particular. That this view was shared by only a handful of recent Canadian immigrants was soon demonstrated by a petition from 804 residents questioning the veracity of Bown’s assertions. When a delegation of these memorialists asked that their petition be inserted in the Nor’Wester, Bown refused, pleading a lack of paper. After being threatened with the seizure of the Nor’Wester’s plant and with forcible removal from the colony, he agreed to print 50 copies. An apparent misunderstanding concerning payment ensued. Bown publicly accused the two Métis who had picked up the printed petition with thievery, a charge which was met with a suit for defamation of character. Bown was convicted and briefly imprisoned when he failed to pay the costs and damages amounting to £14 19s. 6d.

“The events of March to May 1868 strengthened Bown’s convictions concerning the impropriety of HBC rule, the company’s inability to control the settlement (the threats against him had been made in the presence of the governor of Assiniboia and Rupert’s Land, William Mactavish*), and the unfair nature of company-dominated courts. Thus, both he and Schultz redoubled their efforts to discredit HBC rule and to encourage annexation of Rupert’s Land to Canada, using the columns of the Nor’Wester to promote their views.” 

 

To learn more about the press in Red River and articles published about the colony between 1812 and 1870, please consult the following biographies:

 

◀◀  12 13 14 15 16 17 18  ▶▶

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

BIBAUD, FRANÇOIS-MAXIMILIEN – Volume XI (1881-1890)

né à Montréal le 23 octobre 1823

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Presse
Titre original :  This Was Manitoba: December 28: Manitoba's first newspaper; Terry Sawchuck; Brandon Gaol's first hanging.

Provenance : Lien


Walter Robert Bown, à titre de rédacteur en chef et propriétaire du Nor’Wester, premier journal publié à la Rivière-Rouge (1859), a défendu la position des partisans de l’annexion de la colonie au Canada :

La première fois que Bown fut mêlé à une controverse, ce fut au début de 1868, soit au moment où Schultz, incarcéré pour dettes, sortit de prison grâce à un coup de force organisé par sa femme, Agnes Campbell Farquharson. Rédacteur en chef du Nor’Wester en l’absence de Schultz, Bown écrivit que la majorité des habitants de la Rivière-Rouge approuvait cette intervention, défi lancé à la tyrannie de la Hudson’s Bay Company et, en particulier, à celle de son appareil judiciaire. Or, seule une poignée d’immigrants canadiens de fraîche date étaient de cet avis, comme en témoigna bientôt une pétition dans laquelle 804 résidents contestaient les assertions de Bown. Une délégation de pétitionnaires lui demanda d’insérer le texte dans le Nor’Wester, ce qu’il refusa sous prétexte qu’il manquait de papier. On le menaça alors de saisir l’imprimerie et de l’expulser de la colonie, sur quoi il accepta de tirer 50 exemplaires de la pétition. Apparemment, un malentendu survint au sujet du paiement. Bown accusa publiquement de vol les deux Métis qui avaient pris livraison des exemplaires. Poursuivi pour diffamation, il fut reconnu coupable et, faute d’avoir acquitté les dommages-intérêts, fixés à 14 £ 19 s 6 d, il purgea une courte peine d’emprisonnement.

“Les événements qui survinrent de mars à mai 1868 renforcèrent l’opinion de Bown sur le caractère inadéquat du régime de la Hudson’s Bay Company, sur son incapacité de maintenir l’ordre dans la colonie (les menaces contre lui avaient été proférées en présence du gouverneur d’Assiniboia et de Rupert’s Land, William 
Mactavish*) et sur la nature injuste de tribunaux soumis à sa loi. Lui-même et Schultz redoublèrent donc d’efforts pour discréditer l’hégémonie de la compagnie et promouvoir l’annexion de Rupert’s Land au Canada dans les colonnes du Nor’Wester.

 

Pour en savoir davantage sur la presse à la Rivière-Rouge et les articles sur la colonie publiés entre 1812 et 1870, vous pouvez consulter les biographies qui suivent.

◀◀  12 13 14 15 16 17 18  ▶▶