DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

The Fenian Raids
Original title:  Black and white photo of 53 soldiers in the No. 1 Company of the QOR of C. in Ridgeway June 2, 1866.

Source: Link


After the failure of the O’Mahony wing [see Introduction] of the Fenians to take Campobello Island in New Brunswick, the Roberts wing launched its first attack on Canada. Leading the troops (now estimated to be closer to 1,000 strong rather than the 600 given below), was Colonel John O’NEILL:

“Early on 1 June [1866] he led a force, which according to his own account numbered 600 men, across the Niagara River and occupied the village of Fort Erie. The next day he encountered north of Ridgeway a detached column of Canadian volunteers commanded by LieutenantColonel Alfred BOOKER consisting mainly of the Queen’s Own Rifles, of Toronto, and the 13th Battalion, of Hamilton. In a sharp little fight the Fenians (many of them, like O’Neill, certainly Civil War veterans) routed the inexperienced Canadians, who retreated on Port Colborne.”

 

While Booker’s men were fighting at Ridgeway, Lieutenant-Colonel John Stoughton DENNIS tried to cut off the Fenian route back to the United States:

“Dennis landed 70 of his men at Fort Erie in an attempt to find out where the Canadians were and to dispose of the prisoners he had taken. Some 150 Fenians appeared, but, confident of victory and unaware that more Fenians were coming up, Dennis urged his men forward. Following an exchange of fire, he ordered a retreat; the tugboat cast off without him and he was forced to disguise himself as ‘a labouring man.’ He escaped, but 34 of his men did not.”

 

Even though he had retreated from superior British forces, O’Neill became a hero for many Irish American nationalists. In Canada, he was viewed as the archetypal villain, attacking a peaceful and inoffensive people for the chimerical goal of Irish independence.

Further east, another Fenian force was gathering, intent on Montreal. Among those who set out to stop them was Lieutenant-Colonel William Osborne SMITH:

“In the worst crisis of the Fenian troubles, the raids of June 1866 [see Alfred Booker*], Smith was in command on the frontier south of Montreal. On 5 June he made an arduous march with the Victoria Rifles and other troops from Hemmingford to Huntingdon, over roads broken up by rain, which probably averted an attack by Fenians assembled at Malone, N.Y. Major-General James Alexander Lindsay*, the regular officer commanding in Canada East, described Smith in his report on the operations as ‘a most valuable officer, energetic and active.’”

 

Smith was also in charge of the Quebec frontier four years later, when O’Neill attempted another invasion of Canada, as described in his biography:

“Early in 1870 O’Neill quarrelled with his ‘Senate,’ losing much support. On 25 May, with those portions of the brotherhood still prepared to follow him, he attempted a raid at Eccles Hill on the border near Frelighsburg, Quebec. Ample warning had enabled the Canadian authorities to take precautions. The Fenian vanguard was fired on as soon as it crossed the border, and fled. O’Neill himself was arrested by a United States marshal. At the end of July he was sentenced to two years’ imprisonment, but with other Fenian prisoners was pardoned by President Ulysses S. Grant in October.”

 

The last Fenian raid occurred in 1871, at the instigation of William Bernard O’DONOGHUE, an Irish nationalist who, a year earlier, had participated in the provisional government of Louis RIEL in Manitoba, but who later criticized his former leader for being too pro-British:

“In January 1871, O’Donoghue carried a secret petition to President Ulysses S. Grant asking the United States to intervene in Red River. When Grant refused to act, O’Donoghue turned to the Fenian Brotherhood. He obtained only moral support from the brotherhood, but did succeed in enlisting the active help of two Fenian leaders, John O’NEILL and J. J. Donnelly. Then he drew up a constitution for the proposed Republic of Rupert’s Land naming himself as president, and, with O’Neill, led on 5 Oct. 1871 a small force of some 35 men, recruited among the unemployed labourers in Minnesota, across the Manitoba frontier. Riel’s influence prevented the Métis from joining him and the so-called Fenian invasion of Manitoba collapsed. O’Donoghue was captured by a group of Métis and taken back to Minnesota.”

 

To learn more about the Fenian raids of 1866, 1870, and 1871, please see the following biographies:

 

◀◀  1 3 4 5 6 7  ▶▶

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

BALLANTYNE, ROBERT MICHAEL – Volume XII (1891-1900)

né le 24 avril 1825 à Édimbourg

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Les raids fenians
Titre original :  Black and white photo of 53 soldiers in the No. 1 Company of the QOR of C. in Ridgeway June 2, 1866.

Provenance : Lien


Après l’échec de l’invasion de l’île de Campobello, au Nouveau-Brunswick, par les fenians de John O’Mahony [V. Introduction], le groupe de William Randall Roberts lança sa première attaque sur le Canada. À la tête des troupes (aujourd’hui estimées à environ 1 000 hommes, plutôt qu’à 600 comme mentionné dans l’extrait ci-dessous) se trouvait le colonel John O’neill :

Très tôt le 1er juin [1866], [John O’Neill] franchit la rivière avec un détachement qui comptait, selon ses dires, 600 hommes et occupa le village de Fort Erie. Le lendemain, au nord de Ridgeway, il rencontra l’avant-garde d’un détachement de volontaires canadiens commandé par le lieutenant-colonel Alfred Booker et composé en majorité de fantassins du Queen’s Own Rifles de Toronto et du 13e bataillon de Hamilton. Au cours de l’engagement qui fut bref, mais acharné, les Féniens (dont plusieurs étaient, comme O’Neill, des vétérans de la guerre de Sécession) mirent en déroute les Canadiens peu aguerris, qui battirent en retraite jusqu’à Port Colborne.

 

Tandis que les hommes de Booker combattaient à Ridgeway, le lieutenant-colonel John Stoughton Dennis tenta de barrer la route aux fenians qui se repliaient vers les États-Unis :

Dans l’après-midi, Dennis débarqua 70 de ses hommes à Fort Erie dans le but de découvrir où se trouvaient les Canadiens et de leur remettre ses prisonniers. Quelque 150 Féniens apparurent, mais, la victoire lui semblant assurée, Dennis, qui ignorait l’arrivée imminente d’autres Féniens, pressa ses hommes de prendre position. Après un échange de coups de feu, il ordonna de battre en retraite ; le remorqueur quitta la rive sans lui et il dut se déguiser en « manœuvre ». Il s’échappa, mais 34 de ses hommes ne purent en faire autant.

 

Malgré sa retraite devant les forces britanniques supérieures, O’Neill devint un héros pour beaucoup de nationalistes irlando-américains. Au Canada, il incarna l’archétype du méchant s’en prenant à un peuple pacifique et inoffensif dans l’espoir chimérique d’obtenir l’indépendance de l’Irlande.

Plus à l’est, un autre groupe de fenians se réunissait, prévoyant d’attaquer Montréal. Parmi ceux qui avaient pour mission de les arrêter se trouvait le lieutenant-colonel William Osborne Smith :

Au plus fort des troubles suscités par les Féniens, soit au cours des raids de juin 1866 [V. Alfred Booker*], Smith commandait à la frontière au sud de Montréal. Le 5 juin, en compagnie des Victoria Rifles et d’autres troupes, il effectua, sur des routes abîmées par la pluie, une marche pénible de Hemmingford à Huntingdon, ce qui empêcha probablement une attaque des Féniens rassemblés à Malone, New York. Dans son rapport sur les opérations, le major général James Alexander Lindsay*, officier des troupes régulières commandant dans le Bas-Canada, décrivit Smith comme « un officier de grande valeur, énergique et actif ». 

 

Smith était encore commandant à la frontière de la province de Québec lorsque, quatre ans plus tard, comme le décrit la biographie d’O’Neill, ce dernier tenta une nouvelle fois d’envahir le Canada :

Au début de 1870, O’Neill entra en conflit avec son « sénat » et perdit une grande partie de ses appuis. Le 25 mai, avec la fraction de la confrérie qui était toujours décidée à le suivre, il fit une tentative de raid sur Eccles Hill situé à la frontière, près de Frelighsburg au Québec. Suffisamment prévenues à l’avance, les autorités canadiennes avaient pu prendre toutes leurs précautions. L’avant-garde fénienne se fit tirer dessus dès qu’elle eut franchi la frontière et battit en retraite. O’Neill fut lui-même arrêté par un préfet américain et, vers la fin du mois de juillet, il fut condamné à deux ans de prison, mais fut gracié au mois d’octobre, en même temps que d’autres prisonniers féniens, par le président Ulysses S. Grant des États-Unis.

 

Le dernier raid des fenians eut lieu en 1871, à l’instigation de William Bernard O’Donoghue, nationaliste irlandais qui, un an plus tôt, avait fait partie du gouvernement provisoire de Louis Riel au Manitoba, mais qui critiqua ensuite son ancien chef qu’il jugeait trop probritannique :

[En] janvier 1871, O’Donoghue porta au président américain, Ulysses S. Grant, une pétition secrète demandant l’intervention des États-Unis dans la Rivière-Rouge. Grant refusa d’agir et O’Donoghue se tourna alors vers la confrérie des Féniens. Il n’en obtint qu’un appui moral, mais il réussit à se gagner l’aide active de deux chefs féniens, John O’Neill et J. J. Donnelly. Puis il rédigea une constitution pour l’éventuelle république de Rupert’s Land, dont il se désigna lui-même le président, et, avec O’Neill, il traversa la frontière du Manitoba, le 5 octobre 1871, à la tête d’une petite troupe de 35 hommes, recrutés parmi les travailleurs sans emploi du Minnesota. L’influence de Riel empêcha les Métis de se joindre à O’Donoghue et la prétendue invasion du Manitoba par les Féniens avorta. Un groupe de Métis captura O’Donoghue et le ramena au Minnesota.

 

Pour en savoir plus sur les raids des fenians en 1866, 1870 et 1871, consultez les biographies suivantes.

◀◀  1 3 4 5 6 7  ▶▶