DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Minor Corrections

Biography of the Day

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

THOMSON, LEVI, farmer, lawyer, and politician; b. 17 Feb. 1855 in Hillsburgh (Erin), Upper Canada, son of John Thomson and Sarah McMillan; m. 4 March 1884 Mabel (Mable) Maud (Maude) Perley (d. 23 April 1954) in Wolseley (Sask.), and they had four sons and one daughter; d. there 14 April 1938.

Levi Thomson grew up on his family’s farm in Wellington County and gained his early education at the Hillsburgh public school and Rockwood Academy [see William Wetherald*]. He then moved to Toronto to study law and was articled to the firm of William Henry Beatty* and Edward Marion Chadwick*. Before completing his legal training, however, Thomson decided to become a farmer in western Canada. He was better prepared for this role than most other settlers in the region: he not only knew how to operate a farm, but he was also able to buy all the necessary equipment in Winnipeg before setting out westward in 1882 from Brandon, along the future path of the main Canadian Pacific Railway (CPR) line. Thomson acquired land north of Wolseley, a new town named for Garnet Joseph Wolseley* in what would become southern Saskatchewan, and in short order he was the proud owner of a successful farm. Two years later he married Mabel Maud Perley, daughter of William Dell Perley, a future mp and senator for Wolseley, and they would have five children.

Thomson became involved in public affairs and community service soon after he arrived in Wolseley. High tariffs and inadequate rail service were the bane of prairie farmers in the 1880s, and they responded by taking collective action to lobby the federal government and battle the monopolistic behaviour of the CPR. The Regina Leader-Post would later observe that Thomson was “closely associated with all western agricultural movements”; from 1885 to 1888 he was the first president of the Wolseley Agricultural Society, and in 1907 he would become vice-president of the Saskatchewan Grain Growers’ Association [see Edward Alexander Partridge; Frederick William Green*]. He was also a municipal councillor in Wolseley between 1889 and 1903, was elected mayor in 1904, and was prominent in his church (he belonged to the Disciples of Christ faith but attended the Wolseley Union Church) and in the temperance movement.

After a decade as a farmer Thomson decided to return to the study of law, perhaps because he had a sense of unfinished business. In the spring of 1894 he passed his final examinations and was admitted to the bar of the North-West Territories. Although he continued farming, Thomson set up his own practice in Wolseley, which offered several advantages to an aspiring lawyer: it was the site of a new courthouse designed under the direction of Thomas Fuller*, chief architect of the Department of Public Works, in a densely settled area on the CPR’s main line. He later welcomed two partners, David Porteous Kennedy and then Alfred Harvey Hord, into what became the flourishing firm of Thomson, Kennedy, and Hord. Because of his location and standing in the community, Thomson was a logical candidate to be appointed crown prosecutor in 1897 for the district of Eastern Assiniboia. He resigned this post in order to stand as the Liberal candidate for Qu’Appelle in the federal election of 1904, championing the cause of free trade, but was defeated by just 28 votes. A year later he contested Wolseley for Thomas Walter Scott’s Liberals in Saskatchewan’s first provincial election, only to lose by the even narrower margin of 20 votes. Thomson was then made crown prosecutor for the district of Moosomin, and he would serve in this role until 1911.

In 1908 it became clear that Thomson’s good reputation had spread beyond Wolseley when he was named to the inaugural board of governors of the University of Saskatchewan [see James Clinkskill]. Its first order of business was to select the university’s location, a contentious matter that ultimately came down to a choice between Saskatoon and Regina, the capital. The board’s deliberations were supposed to be kept secret, but Thomson later revealed that he had cast the deciding vote in favour of Saskatoon. Regina is closer to Wolseley, but Thomson, a loyal party man, probably made his choice at the instigation of Premier Scott, who had appointed him to the board and who evidently did not want both the Legislative Assembly and the university to be located there.

In 1911 Thomson resigned as crown prosecutor for Moosomin and ran again for the Liberals in Qu’Appelle in the federal election of that year. This time he won, but because Sir Wilfrid Laurier*’s Liberals were defeated by Robert Laird Borden’s Conservatives, Thomson sat on the opposition benches. In the wartime election of 1917 he stood unopposed as a Unionist Liberal who supported the government’s conscription policy, perhaps in part because one of his sons, Edwin Ernest, had been wounded earlier that year while serving with the Canadian Expeditionary Force’s 46th Infantry Battalion [see Reginald John Godfrey Bateman*; Hugh Cairns*]. After the war Thomson joined the agrarian-based Progressives [see Thomas Wakem Caldwell] and served as party whip for the rest of the parliamentary session. He left politics in 1921 and returned to his legal practice (he had been made a kc in 1913) in Wolseley. Levi Thomson retired from his firm in 1928 and died at his home following a long illness on 14 April 1938, having enjoyed a successful career as a farmer, lawyer, and politician.

Ken Leyton-Brown

Leader-Post (Regina), 14, 18 April 1938. Manitoba Free Press, 19 May 1894, 12 Jan. 1904. Morning Leader (Regina), 6 Jan. 1904; 8, 22 April 1909; 21, 22 Sept. 1911; 17 Dec. 1917. John Hawkes, The story of Saskatchewan and its people (3v., Regina, 1924), 3. Pioneers and prominent people of Saskatchewan (Winnipeg and Toronto, 1924). J. M. Pitsula, Higher education policy in Saskatchewan and the legacy of myth (Regina, 2003). Ashley Thomson, “Levi Thomson and his descendants,” in Wolseley & Dist. Hist. Book Committee, Bridging the past: Wolseley & district, 1880–1980 (Wolseley, Sask., 1981), 464.

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Ken Leyton-Brown, “THOMSON, LEVI,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed November 22, 2019, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/thomson_levi_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/thomson_levi_16E.html
Author of Article: Ken Leyton-Brown
Title of Article: THOMSON, LEVI
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2019
Year of revision: 2019
Access Date: November 22, 2019

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies modifiées

Biographie du jour

PERCHALUK, WILLIAM – Volume XIV (1911-1920)

décédé le 5 décembre 1916 à Calgary

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

THOMSON, LEVI, agriculteur, avocat et homme politique, né le 17 février 1855 à Hillsburgh (Erin, Ontario), fils de John Thomson et de Sarah McMillan ; le 4 mars 1884, il épousa à Wolseley (Saskatchewan) Mabel (Mable) Maud (Maude) Perley (décédée le 23 avril 1954), et ils eurent quatre fils et une fille ; décédé le 14 avril 1938 au même endroit.

Levi Thomson grandit dans la ferme familiale, dans le comté de Wellington. Il fréquenta d’abord l’école publique de Hillsburgh et la Rockwood Academy [V. William Wetherald*], puis partit pour Toronto, où il étudia le droit, et fut stagiaire dans le cabinet de William Henry Beatty* et d’Edward Marion Chadwick*. Toutefois, avant la fin de sa formation juridique, Thomson décida de devenir agriculteur dans l’Ouest canadien. Il était mieux préparé à ce rôle que la plupart des colons de la région ; en effet, non seulement il savait comment exploiter une ferme, mais il put acheter tout l’équipement nécessaire à Winnipeg avant de quitter Brandon, en 1882, pour suivre vers l’ouest la future ligne principale du chemin de fer canadien du Pacifique. Thomson acquit une terre au nord de Wolseley, nouvelle ville nommée en l’honneur de Garnet Joseph Wolseley* dans ce qui deviendrait le sud de la Saskatchewan, et, en un rien de temps, il devint l’heureux propriétaire d’une ferme prospère. Deux ans plus tard, il épousa Mabel Maud Perley, fille de William Dell Perley, futur député et sénateur de Wolseley. Le couple aurait cinq enfants.

Thomson commença à prendre part aux affaires publiques et aux services communautaires peu après son arrivée à Wolseley. Dans les années 1880, les hauts tarifs et le service ferroviaire inadéquat empoisonnaient la vie des agriculteurs des Prairies, qui réagirent en menant une action collective pour faire pression sur le gouvernement fédéral et en se battant contre les pratiques monopolistiques de la Compagnie du chemin de fer canadien du Pacifique. Le Leader-Post de Regina noterait que Thomson était « étroitement associé à tous les mouvements d’agriculteurs dans l’Ouest » ; de 1885 à 1888, il fut le premier président de la Wolseley Agricultural Society et, en 1907, il deviendrait le vice-président de la Saskatchewan Grain Growers’ Association [V. Edward Alexander Partridge ; Frederick William Green*]. Conseiller municipal à Wolseley de 1889 à 1903, il fut élu maire en 1904. Il joua un rôle important au sein de son église (bien que membre des Disciples du Christ, il fréquentait l’église unioniste Wolseley) et du mouvement de tempérance.

Après dix années d’agriculture, Thomson, peut-être poussé par le désir d’achever ce qu’il avait commencé, décida de reprendre ses études de droit. Au printemps de 1894, il réussit ses examens finaux et fut admis au Barreau des Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Sans pour autant cesser d’exploiter sa ferme, il ouvrit son propre cabinet à Wolseley, ville qui offrait plusieurs avantages à un avocat débutant : on venait d’y construire un palais de justice, conçu sous la direction de Thomas Fuller*, architecte en chef du département des Travaux publics, dans une zone densément peuplée le long de la ligne principale du chemin de fer canadien du Pacifique. Il s’associa plus tard avec David Porteous Kennedy, puis avec Alfred Harvey Hord, pour former la firme florissante Thomson, Kennedy, and Hord. Sa situation géographique et le prestige dont il jouissait dans la communauté faisaient de Thomson le candidat tout désigné pour une nomination, en 1897, à titre de procureur de la couronne dans le district d’Assiniboia-Est. Il démissionna de ce poste pour se porter candidat libéral dans Qu’Appelle aux élections fédérales de 1904 ; après avoir fait campagne pour la cause du libre-échange, il perdit par seulement 28 voix. Un an plus tard, aux premières élections provinciales de l’histoire de la Saskatchewan, il se présenta dans Wolseley pour le Parti libéral de Thomas Walter Scott ; il échoua avec une différence encore plus faible de 20 voix. Thomson devint alors procureur de la couronne dans le district de Moosomin, poste qu’il occuperait jusqu’en 1911.

En 1908, la nomination de Thomson pour siéger au premier conseil d’administration de la University of Saskatchewan [V. James Clinkskill] prouva que sa bonne réputation avait dépassé les frontières de Wolseley. À l’ordre des travaux figurait d’abord la sélection de l’emplacement de l’université, question controversée qui se résuma finalement à un choix entre Saskatoon et la capitale Regina. Les délibérations du conseil devaient rester secrètes, mais Thomson révélerait avoir apporté le vote décisif en faveur de Saskatoon. Même si Regina était plus près de Wolseley, Thomson, homme de parti, orienta probablement son choix à l’instigation du premier ministre Scott, qui l’avait nommé au conseil et qui, manifestement, ne voulait pas que l’Assemblée législative et l’université se trouvent toutes deux dans la capitale.

En 1911, Levi Thomson démissionna de son poste de procureur de la couronne dans le district de Moosomin pour se représenter dans Qu’Appelle sous l’étiquette libérale aux élections fédérales de cette année. Il l’emporta. Puisque les libéraux de sir Wilfrid Laurier* furent défaits par les conservateurs de Robert Laird Borden, Thomson siégea toutefois dans l’opposition. Aux élections en temps de guerre de 1917, il se présenta sans adversaire comme libéral unioniste ; il soutenait la conscription imposée par le gouvernement, peut-être en partie parce qu’un de ses fils, Edwin Ernest, avait été blessé plus tôt cette année-là, tandis qu’il servait dans le 46e bataillon d’infanterie du Corps expéditionnaire canadien [V. Reginald John Godfrey Bateman* ; Hugh Cairns*]. Après la guerre, Thomson se joignit aux progressistes, issus du milieu agricole [V. Thomas Wakem Caldwell], et fut whip du parti pour le reste de la session parlementaire. Il quitta la politique en 1921 et retourna à la pratique du droit (il avait été nommé conseiller du roi en 1913) à Wolseley. Thomson laissa son cabinet pour prendre sa retraite en 1928 et mourut chez lui des suites d’une longue maladie le 14 avril 1938, au terme d’une fructueuse carrière d’agriculteur, d’avocat et d’homme politique.

Ken Leyton-Brown

Leader-Post (Regina), 14, 18 avril 1938.— Manitoba Free Press, 19 mai 1894, 12 janv. 1904.— Morning Leader (Regina), 6 janv. 1904 ; 8, 22 avril 1909 ; 21–22 sept. 1911 ; 17 déc. 1917.— John Hawkes, The story of Saskatchewan and its people (3 vol., Regina, 1924), 3.— Pioneers and prominent people of Saskatchewan (Winnipeg et Toronto, 1924).— J. M. Pitsula, Higher education policy in Saskatchewan and the legacy of myth (Regina, 2003).— Ashley Thomson, « Levi Thomson and his descendants », dans Wolseley & Dist. Hist. Book Committee, Bridging the past : Wolseley & district, 1880–1980 (Wolseley, Saskatchewan, 1981), 464.

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Ken Leyton-Brown, « THOMSON, LEVI », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 5 déc. 2019, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/thomson_levi_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/thomson_levi_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Ken Leyton-Brown
Titre de l'article:   THOMSON, LEVI
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2019
Année de la révision:   2019
Date de consultation:   5 décembre 2019