DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Minor Corrections

Biography of the Day

CAVEN, WILLIAM – Volume XIII (1901-1910)

d. 1 Dec. 1904 in Toronto

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Original title:  Portrait of Philippe-Jacques Paradis from Who's Who in Canada, Volume 16, 1922, page 573

Source: Link

PARADIS, PHILIPPE-JACQUES (baptized Joseph-Jacques-Philippe), journalist, businessman, political organizer, politician, and civil servant; b. 4 Aug. 1868 in the parish of Saint-Roch in Quebec City, son of Euclide Paradis, an accountant, and Marie-Louise Jolicœur; m. 18 May 1891 Emma Fraser in the parish of Saint-Patrice-de-la-Rivière-du-Loup in Fraserville (Rivière-du-Loup), Que., and they had three daughters, one of whom died in infancy, and a son; d. 20 June 1933 in Quebec City and was buried three days later in Notre-Dame de Belmont cemetery in Sainte-Foy (Quebec City).

Philippe-Jacques Paradis apparently came from a family of modest means. He was only seven when his father died suddenly. He attended the Petit Séminaire de Québec from 1881 to 1888, where, according to the 20 June 1933 issue of L’Action catholique, “he stood out because of his fine mind and work ethic.” While studying, he lived in Quebec City’s Saint-Roch ward and then in the Saint-Jean ward with his mother, who was a sales clerk.

After his training at the seminary, Paradis considered taking up a liberal profession but instead chose to enter the business world. Around 1891 he worked as a bookkeeper in Quebec City and a correspondent for Le Prix courant, a Montreal weekly for business people. Some two years later he was employed as a general agent for the Coopération Commerciale, a marketing company.

In about 1895 Paradis became a commercial traveller. He represented various firms, including Bell’s Asbestos Company, and toured around the province. The job allowed him to establish ties with numerous merchants and develop an in-depth knowledge of people and their points of view. In 1902 Paradis was active in founding the Cercle des Voyageurs de Commerce de Québec, of which he was the first secretary and where he established la guignolée, an annual charitable event.

Despite a busy professional life, Paradis took a great interest in politics. He belonged to Quebec City’s Union Libérale, a political club that brought together a number of young Liberals, including Louis-Alexandre Taschereau* and Adélard Turgeon*, and published a weekly of the same name. Paradis was its manager in 1893. He was also one of the political organizers for Simon-Napoléon Parent*, who, having been elected mla for Saint-Sauveur in 1890 and then mayor in 1894, was a key figure in the city. In 1900, when Parent became premier, Paradis was involved in organizing the districts of Quebec, Abitibi, and Lac-Saint-Jean, as well as part of the Eastern Townships. In 1905 Lomer Gouin* replaced Parent as head of the province and Liberal leader. Parent’s supporters were driven out, which momentarily left Paradis on the sidelines. In 1906 he contributed to the founding of Quebec City’s La Vigie, a new party newspaper of which he was to be a governing board member and president from 1910 to 1912.

Owing to his talent, his understanding of people, and his loyalty and friendships, Paradis became chief Liberal Party organizer for the district of Quebec in 1908. The prestigious appointment meant that he was responsible for party affairs in his region and acted as the intermediary between the party leader, his lieutenant, and the riding organizers. Paradis also interceded with ministers in an attempt to obtain government jobs and contracts. During elections he became commander-in-chief. He saw to constituency organization, assisted with candidate selection, coordinated publicity, dispatched speakers to meetings, and maintained ties with journalists. Aided by his main collaborators, Charles (Chubby) Gavan Power*, Lucien Cannon, Joseph-Arthur Lesage, and Oscar-Alphonse Bériau, Paradis took part in every federal and provincial election fought by his party until 1931.

The nature of his work gave Paradis access to the inner circle of the provincial Liberal Party, and he became a close friend of premiers Gouin and Taschereau. He was particularly involved in the activities of the Garrison Club of Quebec and the Club de Réforme de Québec, and he took part in fishing and hunting trips during which policies were discussed. He also received party appointments. In 1909 he was made secretary of the Turnpike Roads’ and Toll Bridges’ Commission and, in 1914, fire commissioner for Quebec City. As Power would later relate in his memoirs, these positions “supplied [him with] a salary and travelling expenses for at least ten years.” On 7 June 1917 Gouin’s government named him legislative councillor for the La Salle division.

Concurrently, Paradis pursued a successful business career. An active member of the Quebec Chamber of Commerce, in 1910 he became the sole eastern Canada agent for the Asbestos Manufacturing Company Limited, which made asbestos products in its Lachine (Montreal) factory. He was president of the company from 1913 to 1925. In 1930 he became a member of the executive committee of the Asbestos Corporation Limited, which controlled about one-third of asbestos production in the province. He was also a director of the Quebec Power Company and the Quebec Saguenay and Chibougamau Railway Company.

In the 1920s Paradis kept an eye out for appointments by the federal government. During the summer of 1922, Quebec City Liberals put his name forward for a seat on the board of directors of the Canadian National Railway Company. However, following the appearance of a Globe article (1 August) denouncing the candidacy as partisan and founded on political allegiance rather than on railway experience, the only position allotted to Quebec went in October to the Montreal notary Ernest-Rémi Décary, a decision that angered Paradis’s supporters. During the 1923 provincial election campaign, a commitment to appoint a Quebec district representative to the railway’s board was made by Ernest Lapointe*, who was the federal minister of marine and fisheries and Prime Minister William Lyon Mackenzie King*’s Quebec lieutenant. Although Paradis’s friends again put pressure on the prime minister, in February the coveted post went to the former mp for Bellechasse, Onésiphore-Ernest Talbot.

In 1925 Paradis was approached about a seat in the Senate. Owing to a customs scandal, however, Jacques Bureau received the nomination. On 14 Dec. 1927 the federal government finally called Paradis to the upper chamber to represent the Shawinigan division. The new senator, who would occupy the post until his death, was then a man of great influence. In 1929, for example, he collected the tidy sum of $125,000 from party financial backers for a gift for Lapointe in recognition of his 25 years in politics.

Paradis was also interested in protecting the historic character of old Quebec City, where he resided at 33 Rue Laporte (de la Porte). In 1928 he was appointed president of the new Commission d’Urbanisme et de Conservation de Québec. Without any effective power to prevent the demolition or erection of buildings, the commission nevertheless did have a few successes. It obtained, among other things, an additional $50,000 credit from the Department of National Defence for maintaining the city’s ramparts.

In 1930 Paradis’s political career went through a period of upheaval. On 22 May the United Farmers of Alberta mp Robert Gardiner proposed in the House of Commons that there be an emergency debate on the annulment of the charter of the Beauharnois Power Corporation Limited by the federal government. According to him, the company’s shareholders were reported to have made staggering amounts of money by deceiving the government [see King]. In so doing, he uncovered the beginning of what would become known as the Beauharnois Scandal, which incriminated Liberal senators Donat Raymond*, Wilfrid Laurier McDougald*, Andrew Haydon, and Paradis, who was both a member of the board and a shareholder of the Beauharnois Power Corporation Limited, having bought shares at market price.

On 28 July King’s government was defeated [see Richard Bedford Bennett*]. In Quebec the Conservatives took 20 seats from the Liberals, several of which were in the district of Quebec. The chief organizer, weakened by heart trouble, was perhaps no longer the man for the job. The time for him to hand over control of the electoral machine was probably coming. On 24 Feb. 1931 King wrote in his diary: “It is hardly believable that one after the other could break up in this fashion. With Haydon, Paradis & Raymond all ‘hors de combat’, the organization ‘machine’ is pretty well gone.” On 11 June Paradis gave up his position as chief organizer. The provincial government appointed him vice-president of the Quebec Liquor Commission. The next day, in a statement published in L’Action catholique, Premier Taschereau commented: “I believe I am expressing the very deep sorrow that every Liberal will feel at seeing Mr Paradis leave as our election battle commander. He has occupied this position of trust with a tact, fervour and loyalty to his friends that never failed during the quarter century he was our organizer.” Power succeeded Paradis on 26 June. The commons and Senate committees responsible for investigating the Beauharnois Scandal did not question Paradis, nor did their reports, tabled respectively in 1931 and 1932, fault him.

On the morning of 20 June 1933 Philippe-Jacques Paradis, who had been bedridden for a few days with influenza, died at home at the age of 64. That day Le Soleil wrote: “With his death, the Liberal Party has lost one of its most devoted and skilled leaders, the City of Quebec one of its most distinguished citizens and Canada a respected public figure.” His funeral was held in the city’s basilica of Notre-Dame. Owing to hard work and his understanding of people, Paradis was one of the architects of Liberal domination in the province of Quebec in the early decades of the 20th century and a well-regarded fellow citizen.

Jean-François Drapeau

There is no archival fonds for Philippe-Jacques Paradis. In LAC’s collection, however, the fonds of Sir Wilfrid Laurier (R10811-0-X), William Lyon Mackenzie King (R10383-0-6), and Sir Lomer Gouin (R7648-0-6) include many of Paradis’s letters, and at BANQ-Q the Louis-Alexandre Taschereau fonds (P350) contains a letter from his widow. No study of Paradis has been written, but his name appears in many works.

Paradis is the author of “Notre langage commercial,” a lecture published in the Bull. of the Soc. du Parler Français au Canada (Québec) in 1906–7, and “Une industrie qui nous manque,” a two-page text that appeared in the pamphlet L’amiante: l’opinion d’un bon libéral et des officiers du gouvernement King, probably in 1925. He also contributed to two reports published by the Commission des chemins à barrières et des ponts de péage in Quebec in 1910.

BANQ-BSLGIM, CE104-S8, 18 mai 1891. BANQ-Q, CE301-S1, 23 juin 1933; CE301-S22, 4 août 1868. LAC, “Diaries of William Lyon Mackenzie King,” 24 Feb. 1931: www.bac-lac.gc.ca/eng/discover/politics-government/prime-ministers/william-lyon-mackenzie-king/Pages/diaries-william-lyon-mackenzie-king.aspx (consulted 12 Aug. 2015). L’Action catholique (Québec), 20 juin 1933. Border Cities Star (Windsor, Ont.), 14 July 1931. Le Devoir, 5 oct. 1922; 19 janv., 12 févr. 1923; 11 juin 1931; 20, 23 juin 1933. Globe, 1 Aug. 1922, 21 June 1933. La Presse, 26 juin 1931. Le Quotidien (Lévis, Québec), 21 juin 1933. Le Soleil, 6, 7 juin 1917; 15, 16 déc. 1927; 12 oct. 1928; 20, 21 juin 1933. L’Union libérale (Québec), 8 mai 1888. BCF, 1923, 1927, 1930, 1932. Réal Bélanger, L’impossible défi: Albert Sévigny et les conservateurs fédéraux (1902–1918) (Québec, 1983). Paul Bernier, Ernest Lapointe, député de Kamouraska, 1904–1919 (La Pocatière, Québec, 1979). L.‑R. Betcherman, Ernest Lapointe: Mackenzie King’s great Quebec lieutenant (Toronto, 2002). J.‑C. Bonenfant, “Les commissions d’enquête du Québec,” Québec, Bureau de la Statistique, Quebec yearbook (Quebec), 1972: 36–76. Can., House of Commons, Special committee on Beauharnois power project [Minutes of proc. and evidence] (Ottawa, 1931); Senate, Debates, 1928–33; Special committee appointed for the purpose of taking into consideration the report of a special committee of the House of Commons … to investigate the Beauharnois power project …, Report and proc. (Ottawa, 1932). Canadian directory of parl. (Johnson). The Canadian Patriotic Fund: a record of its activities from 1914 to 1919, comp. P. H. Morris ([Ottawa?, 1920?]). Directory, Quebec, 1886–1889; Quebec and Lévis, 1889–94. J. Hamelin et al., La presse québécoise, vols.3–4. Armand La Vergne, Trente ans de vie nationale (Montréal, 1934). P.‑A. Linteau et al., Histoire du Québec contemporain (2v., Montréal, 1979–86), 2 (Le Québec depuis 1930). C. G. Power, A party politician: the memoirs of Chubby Power, ed. Norman Ward (Toronto, 1966). Que., National Assembly, “Québec dictionary of parliamentary biography, from 1764 to the present”: www.assnat.qc.ca/en/membres/notices/index.html (consulted 9 April 2013). Rumilly, Hist. de la prov. de Québec, vol. 25–29, 32. The storied province of Quebec: past and present, ed. W. [C. H.] Wood et al. (5v., Toronto, 1931–32). Gustave Turcotte, Le conseil législatif de Québec, 1774–1933 (Beauceville, Québec, 1933). Univ. Laval, Annuaire, 1882–89. Marc Vallières, Des mines et des hommes: histoire de l’industrie minérale québécoise, des origines au début des années 1980 (Québec, 1989). B. L. Vigod, Quebec before Duplessis: the political career of Louis-Alexandre Taschereau (Kingston, Ont., and Montreal, 1986). Reginald Whitaker, The government party: organizing and financing the Liberal Party of Canada, 1930–58 (Toronto, 1977).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Jean-François Drapeau, “PARADIS, PHILIPPE-JACQUES (baptized Joseph-Jacques-Philippe),” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed December 1, 2022, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/paradis_philippe_jacques_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:


Permalink:   http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/paradis_philippe_jacques_16E.html
Author of Article:   Jean-François Drapeau
Title of Article:   PARADIS, PHILIPPE-JACQUES (baptized Joseph-Jacques-Philippe)
Publication Name:   Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher:   University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication:   2022
Year of revision:   2022
Access Date:   December 1, 2022

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies modifiées

Biographie du jour

VACHON, PAUL (mort en 1703)  – Volume II (1701-1740)

décédé à Beauport le 24 juin 1703

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Titre original :  Portrait of Philippe-Jacques Paradis from Who's Who in Canada, Volume 16, 1922, page 573

Provenance : Lien

PARADIS, PHILIPPE-JACQUES (baptisé Joseph-Jacques-Philippe), journaliste, homme d’affaires, organisateur et homme politique, et fonctionnaire, né le 4 août 1868 dans la paroisse Saint-Roch, à Québec, fils d’Euclide Paradis, comptable, et de Marie-Louise Jolicœur ; le 18 mai 1891, il épousa dans la paroisse Saint-Patrice-de-la-Rivière-du-Loup, à Fraserville (Rivière-du-Loup, Québec), Emma Fraser, et ils eurent trois filles, dont l’une décédée en bas âge, et un fils ; décédé le 20 juin 1933 à Québec et inhumé trois jours plus tard dans le cimetière Notre-Dame de Belmont, à Sainte-Foy (Québec).

Philippe-Jacques Paradis vient d’une famille apparemment modeste. Il n’a que sept ans lorsque son père meurt subitement. Il fréquente le petit séminaire de Québec de 1881 à 1888 où, selon l’Action catholique du 20 juin 1933, « il se f[ait] remarquer par sa belle intelligence et son esprit de travail ». Pendant ses études, il habite le quartier Saint-Roch, puis le quartier Saint-Jean, à Québec, avec sa mère qui occupe un emploi de commis aux ventes.

Après sa formation au séminaire, Paradis considère les professions libérales, mais choisit plutôt de s’investir dans le monde des affaires. Vers 1891, il travaille comme teneur de livres à Québec et comme correspondant du Prix courant, hebdomadaire montréalais destiné aux gens d’affaires. Environ deux ans plus tard, il est agent général de la Coopération commerciale, maison de publicité.

Vers 1895, Paradis devient voyageur de commerce. Il représente diverses sociétés, notamment la Bell’s Asbestos Company, et parcourt la province. Cet emploi lui permet de tisser des liens avec de nombreux marchands, et de développer une bonne connaissance de la population et de ses sentiments. En 1902, Paradis prend une part active à la fondation du Cercle des voyageurs de commerce de Québec, dont il est le premier secrétaire et où il établit l’œuvre de la guignolée.

Malgré une vie professionnelle occupée, Paradis porte un grand intérêt à la politique. Il fait partie de l’Union libérale. Ce club politique de Québec regroupe plusieurs jeunes libéraux, dont Louis-Alexandre Taschereau* et Adélard Turgeon*, et publie un hebdomadaire du même nom pour lequel Paradis agit à titre de gérant en 1893. Paradis est aussi un des organisateurs politiques de Simon-Napoléon Parent*, figure incontournable de la ville de Québec depuis son élection comme député provincial de Saint-Sauveur en 1890 et son accession à la mairie en 1894. En 1900, quand Parent devient premier ministre, Paradis participe à l’organisation du district de Québec, de l’Abitibi, du Lac-Saint-Jean, ainsi que d’une partie des Cantons-de-l’Est. En 1905, Lomer Gouin* prend la place de Parent à la tête de la province et des libéraux. Une chasse aux parentistes s’ensuit et, conséquemment, Paradis est momentanément laissé de côté. En 1906, Paradis contribue à la fondation, à Québec, de la Vigie, nouveau journal partisan dont il sera membre du bureau de direction et président de 1910 à 1912.

En raison de son talent, de sa connaissance des hommes, de sa loyauté et de ses amitiés, Paradis devient organisateur en chef du Parti libéral pour le district de Québec en 1908. Cette nomination prestigieuse signifie qu’il assume la responsabilité des affaires partisanes de sa région, et qu’il agit comme intermédiaire entre le chef du parti, son lieutenant et les organisateurs des circonscriptions. Paradis intercède également auprès des ministres en vue de l’obtention d’emplois et de contrats gouvernementaux. En période électorale, il devient le maître du champ de bataille. Il veille à l’organisation des circonscriptions, contribue à la sélection des candidats, coordonne la publicité, dépêche les orateurs dans les assemblées et assure les liens avec les journalistes. Jusqu’en 1931, Paradis prend ainsi part à toutes les luttes électorales fédérales et provinciales de son parti avec l’aide de ses principaux collaborateurs : Charles (Chubby) Gavan Power*, Lucien Cannon, Joseph-Arthur Lesage et Oscar-Alphonse Bériau.

Par la nature de ses fonctions, Paradis accède au cénacle du Parti libéral provincial et devient un ami proche des premiers ministres Gouin et Taschereau. Il participe plus particulièrement aux activités du Club de la garnison de Québec et du Club de réforme de Québec, ainsi qu’aux voyages de pêche et de chasse pendant lesquels on discute des orientations politiques. Il bénéficie aussi de nominations partisanes. En 1909, il est nommé secrétaire de la commission des chemins à barrières et des ponts à péage et, en 1914, commissaire des incendies pour la ville de Québec. Comme Power le rapportera dans ses mémoires, ces fonctions lui « fournissent un salaire et couvrent ses frais de déplacement pendant au moins dix ans ». Le 7 juin 1917, le gouvernement de Gouin le désigne conseiller législatif de la division de La Salle.

En même temps, Paradis poursuit une carrière fructueuse dans le domaine des affaires. Membre actif de la Chambre de commerce de Québec, il est devenu en 1910 l’agent exclusif pour l’Est canadien de l’Asbestos Manufacturing Company Limited, compagnie qui possède une usine à Lachine (Montréal) où l’on fabrique des produits en amiante. Il préside l’entreprise de 1913 à 1925. Il accède, en 1930, au bureau de direction de l’Asbestos Corporation Limited ; la firme contrôle alors environ le tiers de la production d’amiante de la province. Il siège également aux conseils d’administration de la Quebec Power Company et de la Quebec Saguenay and Chibougamau Railway Company.

Dans les années 1920, Paradis demeure à l’affût des occasions d’obtenir une nomination du gouvernement fédéral. À l’été de 1922, les libéraux de la ville de Québec le favorisent pour devenir l’un des directeurs du conseil d’administration de la Canadian National Railway Company. Toutefois, à la suite d’un article publié le 1er août dans le Globe, qui dénonce cette candidature partisane fondée sur l’allégeance politique plutôt que sur l’expérience dans le domaine des chemins de fer, le seul poste dévolu au Québec va, en octobre, au notaire montréalais Ernest-Rémi Décary, ce qui provoque la colère des supporteurs de Paradis. À l’occasion de la campagne électorale provinciale de 1923, Ernest Lapointe*, ministre fédéral de la Marine et des Pêcheries et lieutenant du premier ministre libéral fédéral William Lyon Mackenzie King* pour la province de Québec, s’engage à faire nommer un représentant du district de Québec au conseil. Bien que les amis de Paradis fassent de nouveau pression sur le premier ministre, c’est l’ancien député fédéral de Bellechasse, Onésiphore-Ernest Talbot, qui obtient la position convoitée en février.

En 1925, Paradis est pressenti pour une nomination au Sénat. Dans le contexte du scandale des Douanes, Jacques Bureau obtient toutefois le siège. Le 14 décembre 1927, le gouvernement fédéral appelle enfin Paradis à la Chambre haute pour représenter la division de Chaouinigane. Le nouveau sénateur, qui occupera cette fonction jusqu’à sa mort, est alors un homme fort influent. En 1929, par exemple, il amasse la rondelette somme de 125 000 $ auprès des bailleurs de fonds du parti pour l’offrir en cadeau à Lapointe, en remerciement de ses 25 ans de vie politique.

Paradis s’intéresse aussi à la protection du caractère historique du Vieux-Québec, où il possède sa résidence, au 33, rue Laporte (de la Porte). En 1928, il est nommé président de la nouvelle Commission d’urbanisme et de conservation de Québec. Sans véritables pouvoirs de coercition pour empêcher la démolition et la construction d’immeubles, celle-ci réussit néanmoins quelques bons coups. Elle obtient entre autres un crédit supplémentaire de 50 000 $ du ministère de la Défense nationale pour l’entretien des remparts de la ville de Québec.

En 1930, la carrière politique de Paradis connaît des soubresauts. Le 22 mai, Robert Gardiner, député des Fermiers unis de l’Alberta, propose à la Chambre des communes de tenir un débat d’urgence pour que le gouvernement du Canada annule la charte de la Beauharnois Power Corporation Limited. Selon lui, les actionnaires de l’entreprise auraient réalisé des profits faramineux en trompant le gouvernement [V. William Lyon Mackenzie King]. Il dévoile ainsi les premiers éléments de ce qui deviendra le scandale de Beauharnois, dans lequel seront mis en cause les sénateurs libéraux Donat Raymond*, Wilfrid Laurier McDougald*, Andrew Haydon et Paradis, qui est à la fois membre du conseil d’administration et propriétaire d’actions, achetées au prix courant, de la Beauharnois Power Corporation Limited.

Le 28 juillet, le gouvernement de King subit la défaite [V. Richard Bedford Bennett*]. Dans la province de Québec, les conservateurs enlèvent 20 sièges aux libéraux, dont plusieurs dans le district de Québec. L’organisateur en chef, diminué par des problèmes cardiaques, pourrait ne plus être l’homme de la situation. Le temps, pour lui, de laisser les clefs de la machine électorale arrive vraisemblablement. Le 24 février 1931, King écrit dans son journal intime : « Il est à peine croyable que, l’un après l’autre, [ils] aient pu se désintégrer de cette façon. Avec Haydon, Paradis & Raymond tous “hors de combat”, la “machine” de l’organisation est pratiquement chose du passé. » Le 11 juin, Paradis abandonne son poste d’organisateur en chef. Le gouvernement provincial le nomme alors vice-président de la Commission des liqueurs de Québec. Dans une déclaration publiée dans l’Action catholique le lendemain, le premier ministre Taschereau commente : « Je crois exprimer les sentiments du chagrin très vif que vont éprouver tous les libéraux en voyant M. Paradis quitter la direction de nos luttes électorales. Il a occupé ce poste de confiance avec un tact, une ardeur et une loyauté à ses amis qui ne se sont jamais démentis pendant le quart de siècle qu’il fut notre organisateur. » Power succède à Paradis le 26 juin. Les comités de la Chambre des communes et du Sénat chargés de faire enquête sur le scandale de Beauharnois n’interrogent pas Paradis ; leurs rapports, déposés respectivement en 1931 et en 1932, ne le blâment pas.

Dans la matinée du 20 juin 1933, Philippe-Jacques Paradis, alité depuis quelques jours en raison d’une grippe, meurt à l’âge de 64 ans dans sa résidence. Ce jour-là, le Soleil écrit : « Par sa mort, le parti libéral perd un de ses chefs les plus dévoués et les plus habiles, la Cité de Québec un de ses citoyens les plus distingués et le Canada un homme public estimé. » Ses funérailles sont célébrées dans la basilique Notre-Dame de Québec. Par son travail acharné et sa connaissance des hommes, Paradis a été l’un des artisans de la domination des libéraux dans la province de Québec pendant les premières décennies du xxe siècle et un concitoyen apprécié.

Jean-François Drapeau

Il n’existe pas de fonds d’archives consacré à Philippe-Jacques Paradis. Toutefois, à BAC, les fonds sir Wilfrid Laurier (R10811-0-X), William Lyon Mackenzie King (R10383-0-6) et sir Lomer Gouin (R7648-0-6) comprennent plusieurs lettres de Paradis, tandis que, à BAnQ-Q, le fonds Louis-Alexandre Taschereau (P350) contient une lettre de sa veuve. Aucune étude n’a été écrite sur Paradis, mais son nom revient dans plusieurs ouvrages.

Paradis est l’auteur de « Notre langage commercial », conférence publiée dans le Bull. de la Soc. du parler français au Canada (Québec) en 1906–1907, et d’« Une industrie qui nous manque », texte de deux pages paru dans la brochure l’Amiante : l’opinion d’un bon libéral et des officiers du gouvernement King, probablement en 1925. Il a également contribué à la rédaction de deux rapports de la commission des chemins à barrières et des ponts de péage publiés à Québec en 1910.

BAC, « Journal personnel de William Lyon Mackenzie King », 24 févr. 1931 : www.bac-lac.gc.ca/fra/decouvrez/politique-gouvernement/premier-ministres/william-lyon-mackenzie-king/Pages/journal-mackenzie-king.aspx (consulté le 12 août 2015).— BAnQ-BSLGIM, CE104-S8, 18 mai 1891.— BAnQ-Q, CE301-S1, 23 juin 1933 ; CE301-S22, 4 août 1868.— L’Action catholique (Québec), 20 juin 1933.— Border Cities Star (Windsor, Ontario), 14 juill. 1931.— Le Devoir, 5 oct. 1922 ; 19 janv., 12 févr. 1923 ; 11 juin 1931 ; 20, 23 juin 1933.— Globe, 1er août 1922, 21 juin 1933.— La Presse, 26 juin 1931.— Le Quotidien (Lévis, Québec), 21 juin 1933.— Le Soleil, 6–7 juin 1917 ; 15–16 déc. 1927 ; 12 oct. 1928 ; 20–21 juin 1933.— L’Union libérale (Québec), 8 mai 1888.— Annuaire, Québec, 1886–1889 ; Québec et Lévis, 1889–1894.— BCF, 1923, 1927, 1930, 1932.— Réal Bélanger, l’Impossible Défi : Albert Sévigny et les conservateurs fédéraux (1902–1918) (Québec, 1983).— Paul Bernier, Ernest Lapointe, député de Kamouraska, 1904–1919 (La Pocatière, Québec, 1979).— L.-R. Betcherman, Ernest Lapointe : Mackenzie King’s great Quebec lieutenant (Toronto, 2002).— J.-C. Bonenfant, « les Commissions d’enquête du Québec », Québec, Bureau de la statistique, Annuaire du Québec (Québec), 1972 : 36–76.— Canada, Chambre des communes, Comité spécial sur l’entreprise d’énergie électrique de Beauharnois, [Procès-verbaux et témoignages] (Ottawa, 1931) ; Sénat, Débats, 1928–1933 ; Comité spécial institué pour examiner le rapport d’un Comité spécial de la Chambre des communes [...] chargé de faire enquête sur l’entreprise hydroélectrique de Beauharnois [...], Rapport et procès-verbaux (Ottawa, 1932).— Canadian directory of parl. (Johnson).— The Canadian Patriotic Fund : a record of its activities from 1914 to 1919, P. H. Morris, compil. ([Ottawa ?, 1920 ?]).— J. Hamelin et al., la Presse québécoise, vol. 3–4.— Armand La Vergne, Trente ans de vie nationale (Montréal, 1934).— P.-A. Linteau et al., Histoire du Québec contemporain (2 vol., Montréal, 1979–1986), 2 (le Québec depuis 1930).— C. G. Power, A party politician : the memoirs of Chubby Power, Norman Ward, édit. (Toronto, 1966).— Québec, Assemblée nationale, « Dictionnaire des parlementaires du Québec de 1764 à nos jours » : www.assnat.qc.ca/fr/membres/notices/index.html (consulté le 9 avril 2013).— Rumilly, Hist. de la prov. de Québec, vol. 25–29, 32.— The storied province of Quebec : past and present, W. [C. H.] Wood et al., édit. (5 vol., Toronto, 1931–1932).— Gustave Turcotte, le Conseil législatif de Québec, 1774–1933 (Beauceville, Québec, 1933).— Univ. Laval, Annuaire, 1882–1889.— Marc Vallières, Des mines et des hommes : histoire de l’industrie minérale québécoise, des origines au début des années 1980 (Québec, 1989).— B. L. Vigod, Taschereau, Jude Des Chênes, trad. (Sillery [Québec], 1996).— Reginald Whitaker, The government party : organizing and financing the Liberal Party of Canada, 1930–58 (Toronto, 1977).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Jean-François Drapeau, « PARADIS, PHILIPPE-JACQUES (baptisé Joseph-Jacques-Philippe) », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 24 juin 2022, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/paradis_philippe_jacques_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique


Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/paradis_philippe_jacques_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:    Jean-François Drapeau
Titre de l'article:    PARADIS, PHILIPPE-JACQUES (baptisé Joseph-Jacques-Philippe)
Titre de la publication:    Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:    Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:    2022
Année de la révision:    2022
Date de consultation:    24 juin 2022