DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

MAISONNAT, dit Baptiste, PIERRE (usually referred to as Baptiste), ship’s captain and privateer; b. 1663 in France at Bergerac, son of Hélie Maisonnat and Jeanne Ségure (Chignac?); d. after August 1714.

Baptiste was married several times. About 1693 he evidently married Madeleine Bourg at Port-Royal (Annapolis Royal, N.S.). However, Frontenac [Buade*] wrote in a letter to Pontchartrain, dated 2 Nov. 1695 (n.s.), that Baptiste had several other wives in France and Holland and that Rigaud de Vaudreuil knew of a wife of Baptiste who lived near Languedoc. Early the following year Baptiste brought Judith Soubiron, whom he had apparently married before 1687, from France to Port-Royal. She died in 1703, and in 1707 he married a widow, Marguerite Bourgeois (daughter of Jacques), with whom he was still living at Beaubassin on 29 Aug. 1714.

The first reference to Baptiste in Robinau* de Villebon’s journals relates that he had put in at Passamaquoddy Bay on 5 Jan. 1692, with a prize which he was taking to Port-Royal. There were quite a number of privateers like Baptiste based at Port-Royal and Beaubassin at this time [see Guion]. They gathered their crews from among the young Acadians of these settlements who were attracted by their free life and the hope of plunder. The activities of the privateers were opposed by the clergy who felt that they had a bad influence on the local youth. Baptiste had apparently been operating on these coasts for some time, for he was said to have made a long stay in Boston, including two periods of imprisonment, and to have been familiar with Manate (New York) as well.

Baptiste reported to Villebon at the Saint John River on 4 May 1692. His two small vessels were outfitted there and he set out again on 10 May. By 22 June he was back, having captured within sight of Boston a brigantine of 45 tons loaded with wheat and flour. This made at least nine English vessels he had taken in six months. In October Simon-Pierre Denys de Bonaventure and Pierre Le Moyne d’Iberville arrived at Baie Verte with the ships Poli and Envieux. Villebon met them there, and, when they decided to join the squadron commanded by Jean Du Paty (Patés) for a raid on New England, he arranged a rendezvous with Baptiste at Pentagouet (on Penobscot Bay). Baptiste was to act as pilot and take part in the raids. He failed to keep the rendezvous, however, because English activity at Port-Royal made it impossible for him to refit there.

In October 1693 Frontenac wrote the minister of Marine that Baptiste would go to Paris to confer with him about plans for attacking New England and Boston. This visit must have been a decided success, for Baptiste returned to Acadia in 1694 in command of the corvette the Bonne. He soon captured five prizes off the New England coast. He continued successfully to harass English shipping until the end of May 1695, when he was attacked in Migascor (Musquash, N.B.) harbour by an English frigate and another armed vessel. After a long fight he and his crew escaped ashore; his corvette was taken but sank within 12 hours. Baptiste went to France later that year to account to the king for the vessel he had lost.

In the summer of 1696 he was with Iberville and Bonaventure on 14 July when they captured the English frigate Newport near the mouth of the Saint John River. He also acted as pilot for the expedition which captured Fort William Henry at Pemaquid on 15 August (5 August, o.s.). Baptiste owned a homestead near Fort Nashwaak (Naxouat) in partnership with Jean Martel and he was there when an English force under Colonel John Hathorne attacked the fort on 18 October of that same year. On Villebon’s instructions Baptiste joined the Indians and directed them during the brief siege. When the English withdrew they abandoned two pirogues which Baptiste took to Minas where he outfitted them and recruited crews for a raid on the New England coast. In March 1697 he captured six fishing smacks south of Casco Bay. He returned to Minas for supplies and set out on another raid on 17 May. This time he was captured and taken to Boston, where he was held for some time after news was received that the treaty of Ryswick had been signed. A letter from Frontenac to the Earl of Bellomont, written 8 June 1698, demanded the release of Baptiste; Villebon reported him back on the Saint John River on 21 June. Baptiste’s partnership with Martel dissolved a few years later.

English fishermen were forbidden by the treaty to fish off the coast of Acadia, and Baptiste may have been commissioned to capture those who ignored this ruling. At any rate he was a prisoner in Boston again in 1702, and the Massachusetts council was threatening to hang him as a pirate because he had been taken in time of peace. He was kept in close confinement until 1706 when he was exchanged for the Reverend John Williams, who had been captured in a French and Indian raid on Deerfield, Mass., in 1704.

Baptiste returned to Acadia and settled at Beaubassin. He was thereafter employed as a port captain, and sailed the coast between Port-Royal and Placentia (Plaisance). In 1709 and 1711 he took part in the fitting out of privateers at Placentia, and in 1714 he gave advice on the choice of a military site on Cape Breton Island (Île Royale).

W. Austin Squires

AN, Col., C11D, 5; Section Outre-Mer, G1, 466 (Recensements de l’Acadie, 1693, 1700); G3, cartons 2053, 2054. Coll. de manuscrits relatifs à la N.-F., II, 108, 147–48, 151–53, 159, 163, 173, 202, 244, 246, 298, 395, 432, 436, 453, 454. “Correspondance de Frontenac (1689–99),” APQ Rapport, 1927–28, 156, 191. NYCD (O’Callaghan and Fernow), IV, IX. Webster, Acadia, 35–36, 38, 39, 42–46, 53, 54, 56, 57, 70, 75, 78, 92, 94, 100–3, 111, 112, 114, 144, 148, 154, 160–62. Bernard, Le drame acadien, 189, 194, 220, 237. Casgrain, Les Sulpiciens en Acadie. Coleman, New England captives. Murdoch, History of Nova-Scotia, I, 210, 215, 230, 232, 233, 255, 279. Régis Roy, “Le flibustier Baptiste,” BRH, V (1899), 8–17; see also BRH, III (1897), 112; VI (1900), 121–23. [French Canadian and Acadian Genealogical Review (Quebec), I (1968), 251–6.]

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

W. Austin Squires, “MAISONNAT, Baptiste, PIERRE,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 2, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed October 26, 2014, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/maisonnat_pierre_2E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/maisonnat_pierre_2E.html
Author of Article: W. Austin Squires
Title of Article: MAISONNAT, Baptiste, PIERRE
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 2
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 1969
Year of revision: 1969
Access Date: October 26, 2014

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

MAISONNAT, dit Baptiste, PIERRE (habituellement désigné sous le nom de Baptiste), capitaine, corsaire, né en France en 1663 à Bergerac, fils d’Hélie Maisonnat et de Jeanne Ségure (Chignac ?), décédé après le mois d’août 1714.

Baptiste se maria plusieurs fois. Vers 1693, il est évident qu’il épousa Madeleine Bourg à Port-Royal (Annapolis Royal, N.-É.). Toutefois, Frontenac [Buade*] écrivait à Pontchartrain, le 2 novembre 1695, que Baptiste avait plusieurs autres femmes en France et en Hollande, et que Vaudreuil [Rigaud] en connaissait une qui vivait près du Languedoc. Au début de l’année suivante, Baptiste arriva à Port-Royal, venant de France, avec Judith Soubiron, qu’il avait épousée, semble-t-il, avant 1687. Cette dernière mourut en 1703, et, en 1707, Baptiste épousa une veuve, Marguerite Bourgeois (fille de Jacques). Ils vivaient toujours ensemble à Beaubassin le 29 août 1714.

La première fois que Robinau* de Villebon mentionne Baptiste dans ses rapports, c’est pour signaler qu’il avait fait escale à la baie de Pesmocadie le 5 janvier 1692, avec une prise qu’il menait à Port-Royal. Il y avait à l’époque un assez grand nombre de corsaires qui, comme Baptiste, avaient choisi Port-Royal et Beaubassin pour ports d’attache [V. Guion]. Ils recrutaient leurs équipages dans ces ports, parmi les jeunes Acadiens qu’attirait la double perspective d’une vie libre et d’un éventuel butin. Le clergé s’opposait à l’activité des corsaires, considérant qu’ils exerçaient une mauvaise influence sur ces jeunes gens. Sans doute Baptiste se livrait-il à des incursions le long des côtes de la Nouvelle-Angleterre depuis un certain temps, puisqu’on lui prêtait un long séjour à Boston, au cours duquel il aurait été emprisonné à deux reprises, et aussi la connaissance de Manate (New York).

Baptiste se présenta devant Villebon à son arrivée à la rivière Saint-Jean le 4 mai 1692, y arma ses deux petits vaisseaux et en repartit le 10 mai. Il était de retour dès le 22 juin après avoir capturé, en vue de Boston, un brigantin de 45 tonneaux chargé de blé et de farine. C’était au moins le neuvième navire anglais dont il s’emparait en six mois.

En octobre, Simon-Pierre Denys de Bonaventure et Pierre Le Moyne d’Iberville arrivèrent à la baie Verte avec leurs navires, le Poli et l’Envieux. Villebon alla les rejoindre et, quand ils décidèrent de rallier l’escadre de Jean Du Paty (Patés) pour faire une descente sur les côtes de la Nouvelle-Angleterre, il arrangea un rendez-vous avec Baptiste à Pentagouet (dans la baie Penobscot). Celui-ci devait leur servir de pilote et prendre part aux coups de main. Toutefois Maisonnat ne put être au rendez-vous, les manœuvres des Anglais à Port-Royal l’ayant empêché d’y réarmer ses navires.

En octobre 1693, Frontenac écrivit au ministre de la Marine que Baptiste irait à Paris le consulter sur des plans d’attaque contre la Nouvelle-Angleterre et Boston. L’on peut croire que cette rencontre fut un succès puisque c’est à titre de commandant de la corvette la Bonne que Baptiste retourna en Acadie en 1694. Peu après il captura cinq vaisseaux au large de la côte de la Nouvelle-Angleterre. Il continua d’attaquer sans répit les navires anglais et connut le succès jusqu’à ce qu’une frégate anglaise et un autre navire armé l’attaquent dans le port de Migascar (Musquash, N.-B.), à la fin du mois de mai 1695. Après avoir livré un long combat, il se réfugia à terre avec son équipage ; sa corvette fut saisie mais sombra en moins de 12 heures. Baptiste se rendit en France à la fin de la même année pour rendre compte à Louis XIV de la perte de son navire.

Il était avec Iberville et Bonaventure lorsqu’ils capturèrent la frégate anglaise Newport non loin de l’embouchure de la rivière Saint-Jean, le 14 juillet 1696 ; le 15 août (5 août ancien style), il prit part, à titre de pilote, à l’expédition qui s’empara du fort William Henry à Pemaquid. Baptiste était copropriétaire, avec Jean Martel, d’une concession située près du fort Naxouat (Nashwaak). Il s’y trouvait lorsque des troupes anglaises, sous le commandement du colonel John Hathorne, attaquèrent le fort le 18 octobre de la même année. Sur les ordres de Villebon, Baptiste rejoignit les Indiens et se mit à leur tête pour la durée du siège, qui fut d’ailleurs bref. En se retirant, les Anglais abandonnèrent deux petits bateaux que Baptiste dirigea aux Mines (Grand-Pré, N.-É.) où il les arma, y recrutant aussi des équipages dans le but d’effectuer une descente sur la côte de la Nouvelle-Angleterre. Il captura six bateaux de pêche au sud de la baie de Casco, en mars 1697. Il revint aux Mines chercher des approvisionnements et reprit la mer le 17 mai. Cette fois, il fut pris et amené à Boston où on le garda prisonnier pendant un certain temps, même après qu’on eut reçu la nouvelle de la signature du traité de Ryswick. Dans une lettre adressée au comte de Bellomont, datée du 8 juin 1698, Frontenac exige la libération de Baptiste et, le 21 juin, Villebon annonce qu’il est de retour à la rivière Saint-Jean. Quelques années plus tard, Baptiste et Martel se séparèrent.

Une clause du traité interdisait aux pêcheurs anglais de faire la pêche au large des côtes de l’Acadie. Il se peut que Baptiste ait été chargé de capturer ceux qui ne tenaient pas compte de cette interdiction. En tout cas, on le retrouve prisonnier à Boston en 1702 : le conseil du Massachusetts menace de le pendre comme pirate, parce qu’il a été capturé en temps de paix. On le garde dans une réclusion rigoureuse jusqu’en 1706 : il est alors échangé contre un prisonnier anglais, le révérend John Williams, capturé au cours d’une descente perpétrée par des Français et des Indiens à Deerfield (Massachusetts) en 1704.

Baptiste revint en Acadie et s’établit à Beaubassin. Par la suite il fut nommé capitaine de port et navigua le long de la côte entre Port-Royal et Plaisance (Placentia). L’on sait qu’en 1709 et 1711 il participa à l’armement de navires corsaires à Plaisance et qu’en 1714 il donna son avis au sujet de l’emplacement d’une place-forte à l’île Royale (île du Cap-Breton).

W. Austin Squires

AN, Col., C11D, 5 ; Section Outre-Mer, G1, 466 (Recensements de l’Acadie, 1693, 1700) ; Section Outre-Mer, G3, cartons 2 053, 2 054. — Coll. de manuscrits relatifs à la N.-F., II : 108, 147s., 151153, 159, 163, 173, 202, 244, 246, 298, 395, 432, 436, 453, 454. — Correspondance de Frontenac (16891699), RAPQ, 192728 : 156, 191. — NYCD (O’Callaghan et Fernow), IV, IX. — Webster, Acadia, 35s., 38, 39, 4246, 53, 54, 56, 57, 70, 75, 78, 92, 94, 100103, 111, 112, 114, 144, 148, 154, 160162. — Bernard, Le drame acadien, 189, 194, 220, 237. — Casgrain, Les Sulpiciens en Acadie. — Coleman, New England captives. — Murdoch, History of Nova-Scotia, I : 210, 215, 230, 232, 233, 255, 279. — R. Roy, Le flibustier Baptiste, BRH, V (1899) : 817 ; BRH, III (1897) : 112 ; VI (1900) : 121123. — [French Canadian and Acadian Geneal. Rev. (Québec), I (1968) : 251256.]

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

W. Austin Squires, « MAISONNAT, Baptiste, PIERRE », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 2, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 22 déc. 2014, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/maisonnat_pierre_2F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/maisonnat_pierre_2F.html
Auteur de l'article:   W. Austin Squires
Titre de l'article:   MAISONNAT, Baptiste, PIERRE
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 2
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   1969
Année de la révision:   1969
Date de consultation:   22 décembre 2014