DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Minor Corrections

Biography of the Day

McVICAR, VICTORIA – Volume XII (1891-1900)

d. 29 Sept. 1899 in Port Arthur (Thunder Bay). Ont.

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Original title:  Who's who in Canada: An Illustrated Biographical Record of Men and Women of the Time, Volumes 6-7, International Press Limited., 1914.

Source: Link

LAVOIE, NAPOLÉON (baptized Joseph-Eugène-Napoléon), athlete, banker, insurance broker, and office holder; b. 5 Aug. 1860 in Notre-Dame-de-Bon-Secours-de-L’Islet (L’Islet), Lower Canada, eldest son of Napoléon Lavoie, a physician, and Marie-Aurélie-Joséphine Casgrain; m. 17 Aug. 1880 Elmire Morin (d. 6 Feb. 1925) in the parish of Saint-Roch, Quebec City, and they had 13 children, of whom 4 boys and 3 girls reached adulthood; d. 24 May 1934 in that city and was buried there four days later in Saint-Charles cemetery.

Napoléon Lavoie, who came from families whose members belonged to the professional elite of the Côte-du-Sud region, broke from tradition and chose a career path that differed from those of his three brothers. Like his father, Arthur became a physician, while Joseph and Georges entered the priesthood. Young Napoléon possessed undeniable athletic skills that enabled him to excel at Canadian and international handball and squash competitions well into his later years. At the turn of the 20th century he would even hold the title of Canadian handball champion.

After a few years of instruction with the Brothers of the Christian Schools in Notre-Dame-de-Bon-Secours-de-L’Islet and at the Collège de Sainte-Anne-de-la-Pocatière (1873–75), at approximately age 15 Lavoie began working as a junior clerk at the Banque Nationale, probably in Quebec City. From about 1885 he pursued his career at the Saint-Roch branch of the Banque du Peuple. He became branch manager around 1890 and held that post until the bank was forced into liquidation in 1895 [see Jacques Grenier*]. He then returned to the Banque Nationale as manager of the Saint-Roch branch, which was located near the place where the Banque du Peuple had stood prior to its closure.

Around 1901 Lavoie took over the position of inspector of the Banque Nationale and, beginning in 1910, that of general manager. He was in charge of a network of branches that he helped develop in the province’s regions; he also opened the institution’s first branch in France in 1907. While carrying out his duties, he clashed with the Caisses Populaires Desjardins and its founder, Alphonse Desjardins*, who were seeking opportunities in the same territory. The confrontation took a nasty turn when Lavoie let rumours spread regarding the instability of the caisses, and wherever they wanted to or could open a branch, he created sub-branches to collect deposits. In a letter written on 21 Oct. 1914 Desjardins did not mince words, describing Lavoie as a “loathsome individual … a conceited person puffed up with pride and as thick as a brick.”

Nonetheless, Lavoie achieved a fair degree of success with these strategies, whose objectives were to avoid missing out on deposits in francophone communities and to sustain the growth of the Banque Nationale. If his methods left him exposed to criticism by the caisses populaires, which argued that the bank’s sub-branches took local savings without reinvesting them where they were generated, he could reply that his competitors did not do much better. Moreover, the caisses were required to deposit their surplus funds in banks, which gave the Banque Nationale an additional means of making life difficult for them. It is not certain whether the Banque Nationale had played a role, either directly or through the intervention of the Caisse d’Économie de Notre-Dame-de-Québec (with which it had had ties since the bank’s establishment), in offering a less favourable rate of interest on the deposits of the caisses populaires than on those of other banks. This was, nevertheless, the perception shared by the directors of the caisses, who entrusted their investments to the Quebec Bank in 1914.

To achieve concrete gains from its increased deposits, the Banque Nationale had to find investments that would be profitable but safe enough to guard against changing economic conditions. Under Lavoie’s direction, it devoted a sizeable part of its funds to financing a few large, but fragile and speculative, companies, in particular Charles-Abraham Paquet’s Compagnie Manufacturière de Montmagny (which in 1919 became National Farming Machinery Limited) and the Transportation and Shipping Company Limited in Quebec City. The rate of return was high, but in 1921 the ongoing economic crisis in the agricultural sector prompted numerous withdrawals of deposits, to the detriment of National Farming Machinery Limited, which owed between $3.8 and $4.5 million to the Banque Nationale. For its part, the Transportation and Shipping Company Limited had a debt that amounted to $1.25 million. Lavoie was at the centre of the upheaval. He was faced with a devaluation of the bank’s assets and the threat of a run by its depositors. He succeeded in getting help from the federal government, but the amount was not large enough to re-establish the bank’s credit, and thus in 1922 a merger with another financial institution had to be considered. Leading politicians, such as Quebec premier Louis-Alexandre Taschereau* and federal justice minister Sir Lomer Gouin*, as well as businessmen from Quebec City, led by Georges-Élie Amyot* of the Dominion Corset Company and the new president of the bank, attempted a rescue. Henri Des Rivières, Taschereau’s nephew, replaced Lavoie in the position of general manager of the Banque Nationale and on its board of directors in March. The Banque Nationale merged with the Banque d’Hochelaga to form the Banque Canadienne Nationale in 1925.

This abrupt end to his banking career plunged Lavoie into serious financial and professional difficulty. He had to liquidate a property he had inherited in the Limoilou district, transfer to another party a claim he held with his brother Arthur, borrow $5,000 from businessman Napoléon Drouin, and finally, in 1926, sell his beautiful house on Rue Saint-Louis, which he had bought with a large mortgage from the Société de Prêts et de Placements de Québec in 1918. He took a new direction and worked for a while as an insurance broker with his sons Georges and Napoléon (the latter had also been employed by the Banque Nationale). In 1928 he held a position as an income-tax inspector, which gave him the means to remain on Rue Saint-Louis, where he lived with his daughter Marie-Joséphine until his death in 1934 following a long illness.

Napoléon Lavoie’s competitive spirit, both in sports and in the banking business, enabled him to rise to the top during his career. But it also caused him to take great risks with the investments of the Banque Nationale, which resulted in serious consequences for the bank and for himself.

Marc Vallières

Arch. de la Fédération des Caisses Desjardins du Québec (Lévis, Québec), Fonds Alphonse-Desjardins, 0.21: 2.1–10.5 (lettre d’Alphonse Desjardins à J.‑Victor Rochette, 21 oct. 1914). BANQ-Q, CE301-S22, 17 août 1880; CE302-S3, 5 août 1860. FD, Cimetière Saint-Charles (Québec), 9 févr. 1925, 28 mai 1934. Québec, Ministère de l’Énergie et des Ressources Naturelles, “Registre foncier du Québec en ligne,” acte, radiation, avis d’adresse, Québec, acte, nos.164294rb, 164295rb, 183345rb, 183346rb, 184624rb, 187819rb, 196147rb, 200556rb: www.registrefoncier.gouv.qc.ca/Sirf (consulted 10 March 2016). L’Action catholique (Québec), 25, 29 mai 1934. Le Devoir, 25 mai 1934. Le Soleil, 25, 28 mai 1934. BCF, 1920: 81. Directory, Quebec City, 1918–19, 1935–36. J.‑A. Lavoie, La famille Lavoie au Canada, de 1650 à 1921 (Québec, 1922). Prominent people of the province of Quebec, 1923–24 (Montreal, n.d.). Yves Roby, Alphonse Desjardins et les caisses populaires, 1854–1920 (Montréal, 1964). Ronald Rudin, Banking en français: the French banks of Quebec, 1835–1925 (Toronto, 1985); In whose interest? Quebec’s caisses populaires, 1900–1945 (Montreal and Kingston, Ont., 1990).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Marc Vallières, “LAVOIE, NAPOLÉON (baptized Joseph-Eugène-Napoléon),” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed September 29, 2020, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/lavoie_napoleon_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:


Permalink:   http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/lavoie_napoleon_16E.html
Author of Article:   Marc Vallières
Title of Article:   LAVOIE, NAPOLÉON (baptized Joseph-Eugène-Napoléon)
Publication Name:   Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher:   University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication:   2020
Year of revision:   2020
Access Date:   September 29, 2020

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies modifiées

Biographie du jour

MACMILLAN, ISABELLA HENDRY – Volume XIV (1911-1920)

née le 12 juillet 1859 à Stewarton, Écosse

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Titre original :  Who's who in Canada: An Illustrated Biographical Record of Men and Women of the Time, Volumes 6-7, International Press Limited., 1914.

Provenance : Lien

Lavoie, Napoléon (baptisé Joseph-Eugène-Napoléon), athlète, banquier, courtier d’assurance et fonctionnaire, né le 5 août 1860 à Notre-Dame-de-Bon-Secours-de-L’Islet (L’Islet, Québec), fils aîné de Napoléon Lavoie, médecin, et de Marie-Aurélie-Joséphine Casgrain ; le 17 août 1880, il épousa dans la paroisse Saint-Roch, à Québec, Elmire Morin (décédée le 6 février 1925), et ils eurent 13 enfants, dont 4 garçons et 3 filles atteignirent l’âge adulte ; décédé le 24 mai 1934 à Québec et inhumé quatre jours plus tard dans cette ville au cimetière Saint-Charles.

Issu de familles faisant partie des élites professionnelles de la Côte-du-Sud, Napoléon Lavoie se distingue de ses racines et des choix de carrière de ses trois frères. Arthur devient médecin comme son père, alors que Joseph et Georges adoptent la prêtrise. Le jeune Napoléon possède des qualités athlétiques indéniables qui lui permettront d’exceller jusqu’à un âge avancé dans des compétitions canadiennes et internationales de handball et de squash. Au tournant du xxe siècle, il détiendra même le titre de champion du Canada au handball.

Après quelques années de formation chez les Frères des écoles chrétiennes de Notre-Dame-de-Bon-Secours-de-L’Islet et au collège de Sainte-Anne-de-la-Pocatière (1873–1875), vers l’âge de 15 ans, Lavoie commence à travailler comme simple commis à la Banque nationale, vraisemblablement à Québec. Il poursuit sa carrière à la succursale de Saint-Roch de la Banque du peuple à compter d’environ 1885. Il en prend la direction vers 1890, fonction qu’il occupe jusqu’à son entrée en liquidation en 1895 [V. Jacques Grenier*]. Il revient à ce moment à la Banque nationale comme gérant de la succursale de Saint-Roch, située à proximité de l’endroit où était celle de la Banque du peuple avant sa fermeture.

Vers 1901, Lavoie assume le poste d’inspecteur de la Banque nationale et, à partir de 1910, celui de gérant général. Il est responsable d’un réseau de succursales qu’il contribue à développer dans les régions de la province de Québec ; il ouvre de plus une première succursale en France en 1907. Dans ses fonctions, il se heurte aux Caisses populaires Desjardins et à son fondateur Alphonse Desjardins*, qui cherchent à couvrir les mêmes territoires. L’affrontement prend une tournure acerbe quand Lavoie fait courir des rumeurs sur l’instabilité des caisses et, là où ces dernières voudraient ou pourraient s’installer, crée des sous-agences pour recueillir les dépôts. Dans une lettre qu’il signe le 21 octobre 1914, Desjardins ne mâche pas ses mots pour qualifier Lavoie : « écœurant individu […] prétentieux bouffi d’orgeuil et aussi bête que ses pieds ».

Lavoie connaît tout de même passablement de succès avec ces stratégies, dont l’objectif consiste à ne pas perdre de dépôts dans les communautés francophones et à maintenir la croissance de la Banque nationale. S’il est vulnérable devant l’argument des caisses selon lequel les sous-agences de la banque obtiennent les épargnes locales sans les réinvestir sur place, il peut répliquer que les caisses populaires ne font guère mieux. D’ailleurs, celles-ci doivent verser leurs fonds en surplus dans des banques, ce qui donne à la Banque nationale un moyen supplémentaire de leur rendre la vie difficile. On ne peut affirmer que la Banque nationale ait joué un rôle, directement ou par l’entremise de la Caisse d’économie de Notre-Dame de Québec (avec laquelle elle était liée depuis sa fondation), dans l’offre d’un taux d’intérêt moins favorable sur les dépôts des caisses populaires que sur ceux des autres banques. Telle est néanmoins la perception des dirigeants des caisses, qui confient leurs placements à la Banque de Québec en 1914.

Pour concrétiser les effets de la hausse de dépôts, la Banque nationale doit trouver des investissements productifs de bénéfices, mais assez sécuritaires pour se prémunir contre les retournements de conjoncture. Sous la direction de Lavoie, elle finance, avec une grande partie de ses fonds, quelques entreprises importantes, mais fragiles et spéculatives, plus particulièrement la Compagnie manufacturière de Montmagny de Charles-Abraham Paquet (devenue, en 1919, la Machinerie agricole nationale Limitée) et la Transportation and Shipping Company Limited de Québec. Les rendements sont élevés, mais, en 1921, la crise économique dans le secteur agricole provoque de nombreux retraits de dépôts et met à mal la Machinerie agricole nationale Limitée, qui a une dette évaluée entre 3,8 et 4,5 millions de dollars envers la Banque nationale. La dette de la Transportation and Shipping Company Limited atteint pour sa part 1,25 million de dollars. Lavoie est au cœur des bouleversements. Il doit affronter une dévaluation des actifs de la banque et la menace d’une ruée des déposants sur ses guichets. Il réussit à obtenir une aide du gouvernement fédéral. Le montant est insuffisant pour rétablir le crédit de la banque et une fusion avec une autre entreprise financière doit être envisagée en 1922. Des hommes politiques de premier plan, comme le premier ministre de la province de Québec, Louis-Alexandre Taschereau*, le ministre fédéral de la Justice, sir Lomer Gouin*, et des hommes d’affaires de Québec ayant à leur tête le nouveau président de la banque, Georges-Élie Amyot*, de la Dominion Corset Company, tentent un sauvetage. En mars, Henri Des Rivières, neveu de Taschereau, remplace Lavoie à la direction générale de la Banque nationale et au conseil d’administration. La Banque nationale fusionne avec la Banque d’Hochelaga pour former la Banque canadienne nationale en 1925.

Cette fin abrupte de sa carrière de banquier précipite Lavoie dans de graves difficultés financières et professionnelles. Il doit liquider une propriété dans le quartier Limoilou obtenue en héritage, céder une créance détenue avec son frère Arthur, emprunter 5 000 $ à l’homme d’affaires Napoléon Drouin et finalement vendre sa belle maison de la rue Saint-Louis en 1926, qu’il a achetée avec une lourde hypothèque auprès de la Société de prêts et de placements de Québec en 1918. Il se recycle quelque temps en courtier d’assurance avec ses fils Georges et Napoléon (ce dernier a également travaillé à la Banque nationale). En 1928, il occupe un poste d’inspecteur de l’impôt sur le revenu, qui lui donne les moyens de rester dans la rue Saint-Louis avec sa fille Marie-Joséphine jusqu’à sa mort, en 1934, des suites d’une longue maladie.

L’esprit compétitif de Napoléon Lavoie, tant dans les sports que dans les affaires bancaires, lui a permis d’atteindre des sommets dans sa carrière. Il lui a cependant aussi fait prendre de gros risques dans les placements de la Banque nationale avec, comme résultat, de graves conséquences sur celle-ci et sur sa situation personnelle.

Marc Vallières

Arch. de la Fédération des caisses Desjardins du Québec (Lévis, Québec), Fonds Alphonse-Desjardins, 0.21 : 2.1–10.5 (lettre d’Alphonse Desjardins à J.-Victor Rochette, 21 oct. 1914).— BAnQ-Q, CE301-S22, 17 août 1880 ; CE302-S3, 5 août 1860.— FD, Cimetière Saint-Charles (Québec), 9 févr. 1925, 28 mai 1934.— Québec, Ministère de l’Énergie et des Ressources naturelles, « Registre foncier du Québec en ligne », acte, radiation, avis d’adresse, Québec, acte, nos 164294rb, 164295rb, 183345rb, 183346rb, 184624rb, 187819rb, 196147rb, 200556rb : www.registrefoncier.gouv.qc.ca/Sirf (consulté le 10 mars 2016).— L’Action catholique (Québec), 25, 29 mai 1934.— Le Devoir, 25 mai 1934.— Le Soleil, 25, 28 mai 1934.— Annuaire, Québec, 1918–1919, 1935–1936.— BCF, 1920 : 81.— J.-A. Lavoie, la Famille Lavoie au Canada, de 1650 à 1921 (Québec, 1922).— Prominent people of the province of Quebec, 1923–24 (Montréal, s.d.).— Yves Roby, Alphonse Desjardins et les caisses populaires, 1854–1920 (Montréal, 1964).— Ronald Rudin, Banking en français : les banques canadiennes-françaises de 1835 à 1925 (Montréal, 1988) ; In whose interest ? Quebec’s caisses populaires, 1900–1945 (Montréal et Kingston, Ontario, 1990).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Marc Vallières, « LAVOIE, NAPOLÉON (baptisé Joseph-Eugène-Napoléon) », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 12 juill. 2020, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/lavoie_napoleon_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique


Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/lavoie_napoleon_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:    Marc Vallières
Titre de l'article:    LAVOIE, NAPOLÉON (baptisé Joseph-Eugène-Napoléon)
Titre de la publication:    Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:    Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:    2020
Année de la révision:    2020
Date de consultation:    12 juillet 2020