DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

PUISAYE, JOSEPH-GENEVIÈVE DE, Comte de PUISAYE – Volume VI (1821-1835)

d. 13 Dec. 1827 near Hammersmith (London), England

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Original title:  Detail from larger image. City of Toronto Archives - Fonds 1583, Item 10.

Source: Link

GOODERHAM, Sir ALBERT EDWARD, businessman and philanthropist; b. 2 June 1861 in Toronto, second son of George Gooderham* and Harriet Dean; m. there 25 Oct. 1883 Mary (Marietta) Reford Duncanson (d. 18 March 1955), and they had three sons, one of whom predeceased him, and three daughters; d. there 25 April 1935.

Albert Edward Gooderham was born into great wealth. His father managed the Gooderham and Worts distillery complex, founded by his paternal grandfather, William Gooderham*, with James Gooderham Worts*. The partners had invested their vast profits in a number of other enterprises, including the Bank of Toronto, the Canada Permanent Building and Savings Society, and the Confederation Life Association; Albert would be involved with all of them. But although “a financier by inheritance,” a biography published a few years after his death commented, he was “a philanthropist by instinct.” The attitude of an older generation of Gooderhams was summed up in 1872 by a disgruntled Thomas Nicholson Gibbs*, who, at Sir John A. Macdonald*’s request, was soliciting funds for the Canadian Pacific Railway: “Wealth is only of service so long as it can be made to minister to the comfort and ease of its possessor. Any other obligations than those of self & family are ignored.” Albert Gooderham’s generosity, however, extended well beyond his immediate circle. Over the course of his lifetime he would give away large sums of money and provide leadership in the arts and social causes such as health and education.

He was educated at the Model Grammar School and Upper Canada College in his native city, and in 1879, at the age of 18, he joined the family firm as a junior clerk. Just three years later his position changed significantly. After the deaths of William Gooderham in August 1881 and James Gooderham Worts ten months later, Albert’s father, with the consent of Worts’s executors and beneficiaries, incorporated the distillery business as Gooderham and Worts Limited. Albert, only 21, and his elder brother, William George, each received 10 shares, a large enough number to allow them to serve as directors. On his father’s death in 1905, Albert became a substantial shareholder in the firm and its managing director. Seven years later he assumed the position of vice-president.

There is little evidence that he had the flair for business of either his grandfather or his father; rather, his was a supervisory role, while his brother held the presidency. Eventually, in 1923, at a time when Prohibition was gaining favour, he would oversee the sale of the distillery to Harold Clifford Hatch*. In addition to fulfilling his responsibilities at Gooderham and Worts, he represented the family’s interests in other companies: as a director of the Bank of Toronto, vice-president of the Canada Permanent Mortgage Corporation, and president of the Dominion of Canada Guarantee and Accident Insurance Company.

Gooderham had a lifelong interest in the military. In 1885, at the outbreak of the North-West rebellion [see Louis Riel*], he joined the 10th Battalion of Infantry (Royal Grenadiers) as a second lieutenant. He offered to serve in the expeditionary force being put together to fight the insurgency but was not called up, and his unit fought without him. Gooderham remained active in the regiment, however, and was promoted lieutenant in 1887, captain in 1896, major in 1902, and lieutenant-colonel and commanding officer in 1907. Later he became acting colonel and provided money to support the unit. In 1912, on its 50th anniversary, he hosted more than 1,700 officers and men at a celebratory dinner held at the Toronto armouries.

During World War I, when the Imperial Munitions Board [see Sir Joseph Wesley Flavelle] needed a facility to produce acetone for the manufacture of cordite, he made the Gooderham and Worts distillery available, asking only that the authorities pay the taxes and insurance. More than half of Britain’s supply of acetone came from Toronto; he also opened two plants in Indiana.

Gooderham was an important benefactor of the University of Toronto, on whose board of governors he served as an active and influential member. In 1914, when he was also chair of the Ontario division of the Canadian Red Cross, he approached the fledgling laboratory that had recently been established at the university by John Gerald FitzGerald of the department of hygiene to research and produce serums; he wanted to know whether it could make the tetanus antitoxin urgently needed by the Canadian Expeditionary Force to prevent infection in wounded soldiers. When the laboratory was able to do so in controlled conditions and at a lower price than the American sources the Red Cross had initially contacted, he was impressed. In 1915 Gooderham purchased a 58-acre farm on Dufferin Street north of Toronto and financed the construction and equipping of a building for the laboratory, all of which he donated to the university. Two years later, on 25 October, he participated in the official opening of the Connaught Antitoxin Laboratories and University Farm, named after the Duke of Connaught [Arthur*], a recent governor general of Canada. Gooderham would serve as chair of the university’s Connaught committee for many years.

The laboratories had earlier taken over from the Provincial Board of Health the production of an anti-rabies vaccine developed in France by Louis Pasteur. They also prepared anti-meningitis serum and smallpox vaccine. After the discovery of insulin in 1922, Connaught began to manufacture it commercially. When controversy arose over who deserved credit for the breakthrough, Gooderham, then chair of the University of Toronto’s insulin committee, tried to mediate. In September he wrote to Professor John James Rickard Macleod, who had overseen the research, Frederick Grant Banting*, and Charles Herbert Best*, asking each to prepare a typewritten statement of his understanding of the discovery. He hoped to compare the accounts, meet with the three men, and reach an agreement on the facts. Macleod supplied a detailed commentary, in which he explained how he had provided advice and constructive criticism throughout the work and stressed the contribution made by James Bertram Collip* in purifying the extract for clinical use. Banting claimed that he alone had conceived of the idea that had led to the discovery and that Macleod had not been helpful, accusing him of “a lack of trust and co-operation.” Best wrote the shortest and perhaps most objective report; he acknowledged Macleod’s advice and Collip’s involvement. The accounts were virtually impossible to reconcile, and no meeting was ever held. The statements would not be published until after all four principals had died.

Gooderham’s support of medical advances extended beyond the Connaught Laboratories. In 1912, following a concept pioneered in North America by Arthur-Joseph Richer*, he and his wife established a “preventorium” in Toronto for children thought to be at risk for tuberculosis. During World War I he and Mary, who was a vice-president of the Imperial Order Daughters of the Empire, equipped an IODE hospital for military officers in London, England.

An Anglican, Gooderham was director of musical activities at St James’ Cathedral. More important, he was a crucial figure in the creation and early nurturing of two notable institutions, the Toronto Conservatory of Music and the Toronto Symphony Orchestra. In 1911, to save talented young musicians the expense of overseas training, he founded the Columbian Conservatory of Music (Toronto), which changed its name the following year to the Canadian Academy of Music; in 1918 it merged with the Toronto College of Music, established in 1888 by Frederick Herbert Torrington*. Gooderham served as president until 1924. That year it amalgamated with the Toronto Conservatory of Music under Augustus Stephen Vogt*, and Gooderham became chairman of the board of governors for the expanded school. He was also president of the Toronto Symphony Orchestra from its launch in 1923 as the New Symphony Orchestra Association until 1931. He personally provided much-needed funds and in 1926 introduced corporate sponsorships. When a photograph was taken of the orchestra at its first radio broadcast in 1929, Gooderham was seated at the front immediately to the right of the conductor. After he retired as president, the orchestra’s board, at the urging of the new president, Charles Vincent Massey*, conferred on Gooderham the title of honorary president.

Albert Gooderham was involved with many other organizations, including the British Empire League, the Canadian Forestry Association, the St George’s Society, the York Pioneers, the Rosedale Association, the Royal Life Saving Society, St Andrew’s College, and Havergal Ladies’ College. “Tall and well-built, with an erect military carriage,” he enjoyed yachting, rifle shooting, and golf. In 1933, on the occasion of his 50th wedding anniversary, a large celebration was held at the Gooderhams’ home, Deancroft, in the Rosedale district of the city. The Mail and Empire reported that “artistic, literary, social and philanthropic Toronto called to present best wishes” to their benefactor.

The New Year’s honours list of 1935 announced that Gooderham was to be made a kcmg by King George V for his humanitarian endeavours. But he did not live long enough to be formally invested; he died of a streptococcal infection on 25 April. The local newspapers gave extensive coverage to his life and his funeral, attended by Torontonians from all walks of life. Later that year, on 8 December, Sir Ernest Alexander Campbell MacMillan* led the Toronto Symphony Orchestra and the Toronto Conservatory of Music choir in a performance of Brahms’s German requiem in memory of the man who had done so much to support both organizations. Sir Albert Gooderham had contributed to the arts and to social causes in a way that few Canadians before him had done, and he would be a role model for future generations.

C. Ian Kyer

Sir Albert Edward Gooderham’s letter to J. J. R. Macleod, Frederick Banting, and Charles Best and the responses of the latter two appear in “Banting’s, Best’s, and Collip’s accounts of the discovery of insulin,” intro. Michael Bliss, Bull. of the Hist. of Medicine (Baltimore, Md), 56 (1982): 554–68. Macleod’s statement was published as “History of the researches leading to the discovery of insulin,” intro. L. G. Stevenson, Bull. of the Hist. of Medicine, 52 (1978): 295312. Correspondence of the Gooderham and Worts firm (186479) is part of Lanman & Kemp (New York) papers (S 24) held in the Special Coll. of the TRL.

AO, RG 80-5-0-122, no.15134; RG 80-8-0-1552, no.3145. TRL, Special Coll., Biog. scrapbooks, 1: 383, 38693 (mfm.). Globe, 26, 29 April 1935. Mail and Empire, 26 Oct. 1933, 26 April 1935. C. M. Blackstock, All the journey through (Toronto, 1997). Michael Bliss, The discovery of insulin (Toronto, 1982). Canadian men and women of the time (Morgan; 1912). R. D. Defries, The first forty years, 19141955: Connaught Medical Research Laboratories, University of Toronto (Toronto, 1968). Encyclopedia of music in Canada (Kallmann et al.), 537. C. I. Kyer, “Gooderham & Worts: a case study in business organization in nineteenth-century Ontario,” in Essays in the history of Canadian law, ed. D. H. Flaherty et al. (10v. to date, [Toronto], 1981    ), 8 (In honour of R. C. B. Risk, ed. G. B. Baker and Jim Phillips, 1999), 33557. Louis Rosenfeld, “Insulin: discovery and controversy,” Clinical Chemistry (Washington), 48 (2002): 227088. Standard dict. of Canadian biog. (Roberts and Tunnell), vol.2. R. S. Warren, Begins with the oboe: a history of the Toronto Symphony Orchestra (Toronto, 2002). Who’s who in Canada, 1934/35.

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

C. Ian Kyer, “GOODERHAM, Sir ALBERT EDWARD,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed December 13, 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/gooderham_albert_edward_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/gooderham_albert_edward_16E.html
Author of Article: C. Ian Kyer
Title of Article: GOODERHAM, Sir ALBERT EDWARD
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2015
Year of revision: 2015
Access Date: December 13, 2017

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Dans le cadre de l’accord de financement entre le Dictionnaire biographique du Canada et le Musée canadien de l’histoire, nous vous invitons à participer à un court sondage.

Je veux participer maintenant.

Je participerai plus tard.

Je ne veux pas participer.

J'ai déjà participé au sondage.

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

BURWASH, NATHANAEL – Volume XIV (1911-1920)

décédé le 30 mars 1918 à Toronto et inhumé à Baltimore, Ontario

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Titre original :  Detail from larger image. City of Toronto Archives - Fonds 1583, Item 10.

Provenance : Lien

GOODERHAM, sir ALBERT EDWARD, homme d’affaires et philanthrope, né le 2 juin 1861 à Toronto, deuxième fils de George Gooderham* et de Harriet Dean ; le 25 octobre 1883, il épousa dans cette ville Mary (Marietta) Reford Duncanson (décédée le 18 mars 1955), et ils eurent trois fils, dont un mourut avant lui, et trois filles ; décédé le 25 avril 1935 au même endroit.

Albert Edward Gooderham naquit dans une famille très riche. Son père dirigeait la Gooderham and Worts, composée d’une distillerie et d’industries complémentaires, et fondée par William Gooderham*, son grand-père paternel, et James Gooderham Worts*. Les associés avaient investi leurs énormes profits dans un certain nombre d’entreprises, dont la Banque de Toronto, la Canada Permanent Building and Savings Society et l’Association d’assurance sur la vie, dite la Confédération, auxquelles Albert Edward serait associé. Bien que « financier par héritage », selon une biographie parue quelques années après sa mort, il était « philanthrope par instinct ». Un Thomas Nicholson Gibbs* mécontent, qui, à la demande de sir John Alexander Macdonald*, cherchait des fonds pour la Compagnie du chemin de fer canadien du Pacifique, résuma en 1872 l’attitude de l’ancienne génération des Gooderham : « La fortune n’est utile qu’aussi longtemps qu’elle pourvoit au confort et au bien-être de son possesseur. Il n’y a que les obligations personnelles et familiales qui comptent. » La générosité d’Albert Edward s’étendait toutefois bien au delà de son cercle d’intimes. Au cours de sa vie, il donnerait de grosses sommes d’argent et serait un chef de file dans le domaine des arts, ainsi que dans des causes sociales comme la santé et l’éducation.

Gooderham fréquenta la Model Grammar School et l’Upper Canada College dans sa ville natale. En 1879, à l’âge de 18 ans, il devint commis subalterne dans l’entreprise familiale. Seulement trois ans plus tard, sa position changea de manière considérable. Après le décès de son grand-père en août 1881 et celui de Worts dix mois plus tard, son père, avec l’accord des exécuteurs testamentaires et des héritiers de Worts, constitua l’entreprise en société sous le nom de Gooderham and Worts Limited. Albert Edward, qui n’avait que 21 ans, et son frère aîné, William George, reçurent chacun dix actions, ce qui suffisait pour leur permettre d’occuper un poste dans le conseil d’administration. À la mort de son père, en 1905, Albert Edward devint un actionnaire important dans l’entreprise et son administrateur délégué. Sept ans plus tard, il était vice-président.

Il est très difficile d’affirmer que Gooderham avait le même don pour les affaires que son grand-père ou son père ; il jouait plutôt un rôle d’administrateur, tandis que son frère occupait la présidence. En 1923, à une époque où la prohibition gagnait en popularité, il finirait par coordonner la vente de la distillerie à Harold Clifford Hatch*. En plus de ses responsabilités chez Gooderham and Worts, il représentait les intérêts de la famille dans d’autres entreprises, en tant que membre du conseil d’administration de la Banque de Toronto, vice-président de la Canada Permanent Mortgage Corporation et président de la Dominion of Canada Guarantee and Accident Insurance Company.

Gooderham s’intéressa à l’armée toute sa vie. En 1885, au début de la rébellion du Nord-Ouest [V. Louis Riel*], il s’était enrôlé comme lieutenant en second dans le 10th Battalion of Infantry (le futur Royal Grenadiers). Il offrit ses services au corps expéditionnaire mis sur pied pour lutter contre l’insurrection, mais ne fut pas appelé ; son unité combattit sans lui. Gooderham resta cependant actif au sein du régiment et fut promu lieutenant en 1887, capitaine en 1896, major en 1902, puis lieutenant-colonel et commandant en 1907. Il devint plus tard colonel par intérim et soutint financièrement l’unité. En 1912, le jour du cinquantième anniversaire de cette dernière, il convia plus de 1 700 officiers et militaires à un dîner de fête au manège militaire de Toronto.

Pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, lorsque la Commission impériale des munitions [V. sir Joseph Wesley Flavelle] eut besoin d’une installation afin de produire de l’acétone pour la fabrication de cordite, Gooderham mit à sa disposition la distillerie Gooderham and Worts, demandant seulement que les autorités payent les impôts et l’assurance. Plus de la moitié de l’approvisionnement britannique en acétone provenait de Toronto. Il ouvrit aussi deux usines dans l’Indiana.

Gooderham était un important bienfaiteur de la University of Toronto, et fut un membre actif et influent de son conseil d’administration. En 1914, tandis qu’il présidait aussi la section ontarienne de la Société canadienne de la Croix-Rouge, il fit des démarches auprès du laboratoire récemment créé à l’université par John Gerald FitzGerald, du département d’hygiène, pour que des sérums y soient étudiés et produits ; il voulait savoir si le laboratoire pouvait fabriquer l’antitoxine tétanique dont le Corps expéditionnaire canadien avait besoin de toute urgence afin de prévenir les infections chez les soldats blessés. Gooderham fut impressionné quand le laboratoire réussit à produire l’antitoxine dans des conditions contrôlées et à moindre coût que ne l’auraient fait les ressources américaines, contactées au départ par la Croix-Rouge. En 1915, il acheta une ferme de 58 acres, rue Dufferin, au nord de Toronto, finança la construction et l’équipement d’un bâtiment pour le laboratoire, puis fit don de tout cela à l’université. Deux ans plus tard, le 25 octobre, il prit part à l’ouverture officielle des Connaught Antitoxin Laboratories and University Farm, nommés en l’honneur du duc de Connaught [Arthur*], qui avait récemment été gouverneur général du Canada. Gooderham présiderait le comité Connaught de l’université pendant de nombreuses années.

Les laboratoires avaient auparavant pris le relais du Bureau de santé provincial dans la production d’un vaccin antirabique, mis au point en France par Louis Pasteur. Ils préparaient aussi un sérum antiméningite et un vaccin antivariolique. Après la découverte de l’insuline en 1922, les Connaught Laboratories commencèrent à la produire à des fins commerciales. Quand la paternité de cette découverte souleva une controverse, Gooderham, qui présidait alors le comité sur l’insuline de la University of Toronto, tenta de jouer un rôle de médiateur. En septembre, il écrivit au professeur John James Rickard Macleod, sous la supervision duquel les recherches avaient été entreprises, à Frederick Grant Banting* et à Charles Herbert Best*, demandant à chacun de présenter dans un exposé dactylographié sa compréhension de la découverte. Il espérait comparer les comptes rendus, rencontrer les trois hommes et parvenir à un accord basé sur les faits. Macleod rédigea un commentaire détaillé, où il expliquait comment il avait prodigué des conseils et émis des critiques constructives tout au long du travail, et soulignait la contribution de James Bertram Collip* dans la purification de l’extrait à des fins d’utilisation clinique. Banting affirma qu’il était seul responsable de l’idée à l’origine de la découverte et que Macleod n’avait été d’aucune aide ; il l’accusait d’un « manque de confiance et de coopération ». Best écrivit le rapport le plus court et, peut-être, le plus objectif ; il reconnut la valeur des conseils de Macleod et la participation de Collip. Les comptes rendus étaient pratiquement impossibles à concilier et il n’y eut jamais de rencontre. Les déclarations ne seraient publiées qu’après le décès des quatre parties.

L’appui de Gooderham aux progrès médicaux ne se limita pas aux Connaught Laboratories. En 1912, d’après un concept introduit en Amérique du Nord par Arthur-Joseph Richer*, sa femme, Mary Reford, et lui fondèrent un préventorium à Toronto, pour prévenir le développement de la tuberculose chez des enfants qu’on croyait à risque. Pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, avec Mary Reford, qui était vice-présidente de l’Imperial Order Daughters of the Empire, il équipa un hôpital de l’organisme pour les officiers militaires à Londres.

Anglican, Gooderham dirigeait les activités musicales à la cathédrale St James. Fait plus important, il joua un rôle crucial dans la création et les débuts de deux établissements remarquables : le Toronto Conservatory of Music et le Toronto Symphony Orchestra. En 1911, pour épargner aux jeunes musiciens talentueux les frais d’une formation outre-mer, il fonda le Columbian Conservatory of Music, à Toronto, qui changea de nom l’année suivante et devint la Canadian Academy of Music ; en 1918, elle fusionna avec le Toronto College of Music, créé en 1888 par Frederick Herbert Torrington*. Gooderham en fut le président jusqu’en 1924. Cette année-là, elle s’unit au Toronto Conservatory of Music, sous la direction d’Augustus Stephen Vogt*, et Gooderham devint président du conseil d’administration de l’école élargie. Il fut également président du Toronto Symphony Orchestra, de sa création en 1923, sous le nom de New Symphony Orchestra Association, jusqu’en 1931. Il fournit personnellement des fonds, dont l’établissement avait grand besoin, et, en 1926, il introduisit le mécénat d’entreprise. Sur une photographie de l’orchestre, prise lors de sa première radiodiffusion, en 1929, Gooderham est assis en avant, immédiatement à droite du chef d’orchestre. Après avoir quitté la présidence, Gooderham se vit conférer le titre de président honoraire par le conseil d’administration de l’orchestre, à l’instigation de son successeur, Charles Vincent Massey*.

Gooderham était actif au sein de beaucoup d’autres organisations, y compris la British Empire League, la Canadian Forestry Association, la St George’s Society, les York Pioneers, la Rosedale Association, la Royal Life Saving Society, le St Andrew’s College et le Havergal Ladies’ College. « Grand et bien bâti, [se tenant] droit [comme un] militaire », il aimait la navigation de plaisance, le tir au fusil et le golf. En 1933, à l’occasion de son cinquantième anniversaire de mariage, une grande fête eut lieu à Deancroft, résidence des Gooderham, dans le quartier Rosedale, à Toronto. Le Mail and Empire rapporta que « le Toronto artistique, littéraire, social et philanthropique se déplaça pour présenter ses meilleurs vœux » à son bienfaiteur.

La liste d’honneur du Nouvel An 1935 annonça qu’Albert Edward Gooderham serait fait chevalier commandeur de l’ordre de Saint-Michel et Saint-Georges par le roi George V pour ses efforts humanitaires. Il ne vécut toutefois pas assez longtemps pour être élevé à cette dignité en bonne et due forme ; il mourut d’une infection streptococcique le 25 avril. La presse locale parla abondamment de sa vie et de ses funérailles, auxquelles assistèrent des Torontois de toutes conditions. Plus tard cette année-là, le 8 décembre, sir Ernest Alexander Campbell MacMillan* dirigea le Toronto Symphony Orchestra et le chœur du Toronto Conservatory of Music, dans une interprétation du Requiem allemand de Brahms en mémoire de l’homme qui avait tant fait pour soutenir ces deux organismes. Sir Albert Edward Gooderham avait appuyé les arts et les causes sociales comme peu de Canadiens l’avaient fait avant lui, et il serait un modèle pour les générations à venir.

C. Ian Kyer

La lettre de sir Albert Edward Gooderham à John James Rickard Macleod, Frederick Grant Banting et Charles Herbert Best ainsi que les réponses de ces deux derniers figurent dans « Banting’s, Best’s, and Collip’s accounts of the discovery of insulin », introd. par Michael Bliss, Bull. of the Hist. of Medicine (Baltimore, Md), 56 (1982) : 554–568. La déclaration de Macleod a été publiée sous le titre : « History of the researches leading to the discovery of insulin », introd. par L. G. Stevenson, Bull. of the Hist. of Medicine, 52 (1978) : 295–312. De la corr. de l’entreprise Gooderham and Worts (1864–1879) se trouve dans les papiers Lanman & Kemp (New York) (S24) conservés à la TRL, Special Coll.

AO, RG 80-5-0-122, no 15134 ; RG 80-8-0-1552, no 3145.— TRL, Special Coll., Biog. scrapbooks, 1 : 383, 386–393 (mfm).— Globe, 26, 29 avril 1935.— Mail and Empire, 26 oct. 1933, 26 avril 1935.— C. M. Blackstock, All the journey through (Toronto, 1997).— Michael Bliss, The discovery of insulin (Toronto, 1982).— Canadian men and women of the time (Morgan ; 1912).— R. D. Defries, The first forty years, 1914–1955 : Connaught Medical Research Laboratories, University of Toronto (Toronto, 1968).— Encyclopedia of music in Canada (Kallmann et al.), 537.— C. I. Kyer, « Gooderham & Worts : a case study in business organization in nineteenth-century Ontario », dans Essays in the history of Canadian law, D. H. Flaherty et al., édit. (10 vol. parus, [Toronto], 1981–    ), 8 (In honour of R. C. B. Risk, G. B. Baker et Jim Phillips, édit., 1999), 335–357.— Louis Rosenfeld, « Insulin : discovery and controversy », Clinical Chemistry (Washington), 48 (2002) : 2270–2288.— Standard dict. of Canadian biog. (Roberts et Tunnell), 2.— R. S. Warren, Begins with the oboe : a history of the Toronto Symphony Orchestra (Toronto, 2002).— Who’s who in Canada, 1934–1935.

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

C. Ian Kyer, « GOODERHAM, sir ALBERT EDWARD », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 30 mars 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/gooderham_albert_edward_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/gooderham_albert_edward_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   C. Ian Kyer
Titre de l'article:   GOODERHAM, sir ALBERT EDWARD
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2015
Année de la révision:   2015
Date de consultation:   30 mars 2017