DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

VIGER, AMANDA, named Saint-Jean-de-Goto – Volume XIII (1901-1910)

b. 27 July 1845 in Boucherville, Lower Canada

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

FITZPATRICK, ALFRED, Presbyterian minister, teacher, author, and administrator; b. 22 April (the date on his gravestone) or 23 April 1862 (the registered date) in Millsville, N.S., son of Alexander Fitzpatrick and Mary Rae; d. unmarried 16 June 1936 in Toronto and was buried in that city’s Mount Pleasant Cemetery.

The eleventh child in a family of 12, Alfred Fitzpatrick was raised on a farm in Pictou County, N.S. He attended Pictou Academy, established by Thomas McCulloch*, and in 1884, at the age of 22, entered Queen’s College in Kingston, Ont. After receiving his ba in 1889, he studied theology at Queen’s. Ordained a Presbyterian minister in 1892, he then became an itinerant preacher, serving in California (1892–93), New Brunswick (1893–96), and what was to become Saskatchewan (1896–98) before finally settling in Nairn Centre, near Sudbury, Ont., in 1899.

While at Queen’s, Fitzpatrick had come under the influence of the college’s principal, George Monro Grant*, from whom he imbibed the ideals of the Social Gospel movement. Later, during his travels in North America, Fitzpatrick’s progressive brand of Christianity was reinforced as he encountered first-hand the poverty and strenuous working conditions experienced by miners, lumbermen, and railway navvies. Believing, as most Social Gospellers did, that education was a vital tool in improving the lot of the marginalized, Fitzpatrick decided to forgo his religious calling and focus on teaching among the “toilers of forest, mine and railway construction,” whose difficult working environment he was soon to describe as “nothing short of criminal.” He successfully lobbied the Ontario government for travelling libraries on the frontier – “Literature,” as he put it, “will stand transportation as well as pork and beans” – and in 1899 or 1900 established the Canadian Reading Camp Movement to provide mine, lumber, and railway worksites with reading rooms; the first such facility opened near Nairn Centre. By 1902 Fitzpatrick had introduced the concept of a labourer-teacher whereby university undergraduates would work with the men during the day and teach at night; during the winter of 1902–3 there were 30 reading rooms in Ontario. Renamed the Reading Camp Association by 1903, it was funded in its early years by donations from various organizations, especially women’s groups, and from the public at large. It also had a number of prominent supporters, including John Charlton*, John Rudolphus Booth*, Sir Thomas George Shaughnessy*, Sir Sandford Fleming*, and David Blythe Hanna. Fitzpatrick was the association’s driving force, his titles over the years changing from secretary (1902) to general secretary (1903) to superintendent (1905).

In 1909 Fitzpatrick moved his headquarters from northern Ontario to Toronto for better contacts with government and industry leaders. Despite his location in the city, he did not concentrate on urban social problems but maintained his commitment to workers in the primary-resource sector, who were unprotected by unions and invisible to social reformers. He spent much of his time journeying to the camps and raising support – in the form of both reading material and money – for his association. He constantly lobbied the federal and provincial governments to improve living conditions in the camps, and, in his efforts to promote his organization, he turned to industrialists such as Joseph Wesley Flavelle and authors such as Charles William Gordon (Ralph Connor). In 1910 Governor General Lord Grey* became a patron. By 1913 there were 75 labourer-teachers across Canada; one of them, in 1911–12, was Henry Norman Bethune. The Reading Camp Association also had a presence in the United States; labourer-teachers were recruited from American universities, and in 1915–18 four labourer-teachers served in Washington State.

The association pursued its mission throughout World War I, albeit on a somewhat smaller scale since many potential labourer-teachers joined the armed forces. With the end of the war and fears that the threat of Bolshevism was spreading from Europe to Canada, Fitzpatrick saw new possibilities for his organization, which in 1919 was renamed Frontier College. The federal government had embarked on a policy of Canadianization to counteract the “Red Scare,” and there seemed no better place to pursue this policy than in the work camps crowded with recent immigrants where Frontier College operated.

Fitzpatrick set out his philosophy of adult education in two volumes, Handbook for new Canadians (Toronto, 1919) and The university in overalls: a plea for part-time study (Toronto, 1920). Both exhibit the influence of contemporary progressive thinking as well setting out a practical, hands-on pedagogy. Handbook for new Canadians was the nation’s earliest guide to adult education. A combination of history, geography, literature, and grammar, the handbook offered a program for instilling Canadian values in immigrant camp workers; each labourer-teacher recruit was provided with a copy before leaving for his or her post (in 1920 there were three women labourer-teachers, two working in Nova Scotia factories and one in rural Saskatchewan). The university in overalls presented Fitzpatrick’s vision of Frontier College as a national institution that would educate people wherever they were and in which both faculty and students would have important roles to play.

In 1922 Fitzpatrick’s dogged back-room lobbying and sheer persistence bore fruit when the federal parliament passed Bill 68, which recognized Frontier College as a university able to award degrees to students anywhere in Canada, the first such institution in the country. By 1925, through extramural study exclusively, the college was offering a variety of courses leading to a ba and ma. Its volunteer faculty was drawn from the English and French professoriate of many Canadian universities, its board of examiners included such figures of distinction as Charles George Douglas Roberts*, and its audience was “men and women of maturer years” unable “to attend a centrally located university.” Fitzpatrick served as the college’s principal.

From the start, Fitzpatrick’s vision of a national university reflected a brand of progressive education that was becoming increasingly popular internationally and that in Canada led to the creation of the Khaki University for servicemen (1918), extension departments in various Canadian universities (McGill and the University of Toronto, 1920, and the University of Western Ontario, 1921), the People’s School at St Francis Xavier College (1921–22), and a Toronto branch of the United Kingdom-based Workers’ Educational Association (1918). Yet, despite Frontier College’s disclaimer that it did not overlap with other universities, powerful forces soon mobilized in opposition. The Ontario government, first under George Howard Ferguson* and then under George Stewart Henry*, exerted intense political and financial pressure on the college, its case hinging on provincial control over education as outlined in the British North America Act. Ontario grants to the college (amounting to $28,000 in the 1924–28 period) were halted in 1928, leading Fitzpatrick to complain that the task of keeping the college afloat without funding was “infinitely worse than slavery.… No man who has never financed in such conditions has any conception of that hell and fire.” Hostility also came from some universities, particularly the University of Toronto under the leadership of Sir Robert Alexander Falconer*, concerned with maintaining their control over the higher-education curriculum and the granting of degrees.

Ultimately, notwithstanding the support given to Fitzpatrick by figures such as Newton Wesley Rowell* and Joseph E. Atkinson*, Frontier College was forced to surrender, ceding its right to award degrees in Ontario in 1931 and nationally the following year. In exchange, the Ontario government renewed the funding that had been stopped in 1928 (there had never been any federal funding and financial support from other provinces was always scanty). By 1931 17 students had enrolled in the college’s university program and three had received degrees, two bas and one ma. With Ontario funding restored, the number of labourer-teachers increased from 44 in 1929 to 85 in 1933–34, by which point the college was instructing 5,000 adults. The college continues to operate in the early 21st century, though its focus is no longer workers on the frontier but all those requiring literacy training and remedial assistance, whether in rural or urban Canada. Its reputation in the field of adult education has only grown since Fitzpatrick’s time.

The struggle for the survival of Frontier College had exhausted Alfred Fitzpatrick. Opposed by both the college board and his director of labourer-teachers, Edmund William Bradwin*, whose priority was the activities of labourer-teachers rather than the grand goal of a national university, Fitzpatrick resigned as principal in 1933. He was succeeded by Bradwin. In his remaining years, Fitzpatrick continued to fund-raise despite medical problems. He was named principal emeritus and in April 1936, two months before his death, was awarded an obe.

By his pursuit of education for the disadvantaged – “Education,” he said, “is the God-given right of every man, not the exclusive privilege of a few favoured persons” – Alfred Fitzpatrick had sought to release the human potential in each individual for the benefit of all. Until his final days, he laboured over a manuscript, which showed that his passion as an activist had not declined. It was called “Schools and other penitentiaries” and remains unpublished.

James H. Morrison

As well as the works mentioned in the biography, Alfred Fitzpatrick is the author of two articles published in the Canadian Magazine: “Life in lumbering and mining camps: a plea for reform,” 17 (May–October 1901): 49–52 and “The neglected citizen in the camps,” 25 (May–October 1905): 43–48.

LAC, R3584-0-0, vols.1, 107, 170 (corr.), 153, 154 (principals’ files), 263 (annual reports and annual meetings, finances). QUA, Queen’s Univ., Office of the Univ. Registrar fonds, 1842–1981, coll. 1161, vol.3, no.1411. “Adult education in Canada,” Journal of Adult Education (Philadelphia), 6 (1934): 232–33. G. L. Cook, “Alfred Fitzpatrick & the foundation of Frontier College (1899–1922),” Canada: an Hist. Magazine (Toronto), 3 (1975–76), no.4: 15–39. G. L. Cook, with Marjorie Robinson, “‘The fight of my life’: Alfred Fitzpatrick and Frontier College’s extramural degree for working people,” Social Hist. (Ottawa), 23 (1990): 81–112. Frontier College, Calendar (Toronto), 1929/31. Frontier College letters: one hundred years of teaching, learning & nation building, comp. Larry Krotz et al. (Toronto, 1999). E. L. Martin, “Action and advocacy: Alfred Fitzpatrick and the early history of Frontier College” (ma thesis, Univ. of Toronto, 2000). J. H. Morrison, “‘Black flies, hard work, low pay’: a century of Frontier College,” Beaver, 79 (1999–2000), no.5: 33–38; Camps & classrooms: a pictorial history of Frontier College (Toronto, 1989). Reading Camp Assoc., Annual report (Toronto), 1913. E. W. Robinson, “The history of the Frontier College” (ma thesis, McGill Univ., Montreal, 1960). D. R. Sutherland, “Alfred Fitzpatrick and the Frontier College” (bd thesis, Atlantic School of Theology, Halifax, 1968). M. E. Zavitz, “The Frontier College and Bolshevism in the camps of Canada, 1919–1925” (ma thesis, Univ. of Windsor, Ont., 1974).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

James H. Morrison, “FITZPATRICK, ALFRED,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed July 27, 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/fitzpatrick_alfred_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/fitzpatrick_alfred_16E.html
Author of Article: James H. Morrison
Title of Article: FITZPATRICK, ALFRED
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2017
Year of revision: 2017
Access Date: July 27, 2017

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

CLARKE, LIONEL HERBERT – Volume XV (1921-1930)

né le 20 juillet 1859 à Guelph, Haut-Canada

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

FITZPATRICK, ALFRED, ministre presbytérien, enseignant, auteur et administrateur, né le 22 avril (date gravée sur sa pierre tombale) ou le 23 avril 1862 (date du registre) à Millsville, Nouvelle-Écosse, fils d’Alexander Fitzpatrick et de Mary Rae ; décédé célibataire le 16 juin 1936 à Toronto et inhumé au cimetière Mount Pleasant de cette ville.

Onzième d’une famille de 12 enfants, Alfred Fitzpatrick grandit dans une ferme du comté de Pictou, en Nouvelle-Écosse. Il fréquenta la Pictou Academy, fondée par Thomas McCulloch*, et, en 1884, à l’âge de 22 ans, entra au Queen’s College de Kingston, en Ontario. Après avoir obtenu sa licence ès arts en 1889, il étudia la théologie au Queen’s College. Ordonné ministre presbytérien en 1892, il fut prédicateur itinérant en Californie (1892–1893), au Nouveau-Brunswick (1893–1896) et dans ce qui deviendrait la Saskatchewan (1896–1898), avant de finalement s’installer à Nairn Centre, près de Sudbury, en Ontario, en 1899.

Pendant qu’il était au Queen’s College, Fitzpatrick avait subi l’influence du directeur du collège, George Monro Grant*, qui lui transmit les idéaux du mouvement Social Gospel. Plus tard, au cours de ses voyages en Amérique du Nord, il constata la pauvreté et les conditions de travail difficiles des mineurs, des bûcherons et des terrassiers du chemin de fer, ce qui consolida sa vision progressiste du christianisme. Comme la plupart des partisans du mouvement Social Gospel, il croyait que l’éducation était d’une importance capitale pour améliorer le sort des plus défavorisés. Ce fut pourquoi il décida de renoncer à sa vocation religieuse et de se consacrer à l’instruction des « bosseurs de la forêt, des mines et de la construction ferroviaire », dont il ne tarda pas à qualifier le dur environnement de travail de « rien de moins que criminel ». Il exerça avec succès des pressions pour obtenir du gouvernement de l’Ontario qu’on mette sur pied des bibliothèques itinérantes dans les régions pionnières – il fit valoir que « [la] littérature supporter[ait] le transport aussi bien que le porc et les fèves » – et, en 1899 ou 1900, il fonda le Canadian Reading Camp Movement afin d’équiper de salles de lecture les chantiers miniers, les camps de bûcherons et les sites de construction de chemin de fer ; la première ouvrit ses portes près de Nairn Centre. En 1902, Fitzpatrick avait déjà mis au point le concept d’ouvrier-enseignant, selon lequel des étudiants universitaires de premier cycle travailleraient avec les hommes durant le jour et enseigneraient le soir ; à l’hiver de 1902–1903, il y avait 30 salles de lecture en Ontario. Rebaptisé Reading Camp Association dès 1903, l’organisme fut financé les premières années par des dons de diverses sources, en particulier des groupes de femmes et le grand public. Il avait également un certain nombre de sympathisants très en vue, dont John Charlton*, John Rudolphus Booth*, sir Thomas George Shaughnessy*, sir Sandford Fleming* et David Blythe Hanna. Fitzpatrick était le moteur de l’association et il passa, au fil des ans, du poste de secrétaire (1902) à celui de secrétaire général (1903), avant de devenir surintendant (1905).

En 1909, Fitzpatrick transféra le siège de l’organisme du nord de l’Ontario à Toronto, pour se rapprocher du gouvernement et des chefs de file de l’industrie. Même s’il se trouvait en ville, il ne se concentra pas sur les problèmes sociaux urbains, mais maintint son engagement auprès des ouvriers du secteur des ressources primaires, qui n’étaient pas protégés par des syndicats et échappaient à la portée des réformateurs sociaux. Il passait une bonne partie de son temps à se rendre dans les camps et à rechercher du soutien – sous forme de matériel de lecture et d’argent – pour son association. Il sollicitait constamment les gouvernements fédéral et provinciaux pour qu’on améliore les conditions de vie dans les camps et, dans le but de promouvoir son organisme, il se tourna vers des industriels tels que Joseph Wesley Flavelle et des auteurs comme Charles William Gordon (Ralph Connor). En 1910, le gouverneur général, lord Grey*, devint un mécène de l’association. En 1913, on comptait déjà 75 ouvriers-enseignants un peu partout au Canada ; Henry Norman Bethune avait été l’un d’eux en 1911–1912. La Reading Camp Association était aussi présente aux États-Unis ; on recrutait des ouvriers-enseignants dans des universités américaines et, de 1915 à 1918, quatre ouvriers-enseignants travaillaient dans l’État de Washington.

L’association poursuivit sa mission tout au long de la Première Guerre mondiale, bien qu’à une échelle quelque peu réduite, puisque de nombreux ouvriers-enseignants potentiels s’enrôlèrent dans les forces armées. À la fin du conflit, on craignit de voir la menace bolchevique se propager au Canada après avoir gagné l’Europe. Fitzpatrick entrevit alors de nouvelles possibilités pour son organisme, qui fut rebaptisé collège Frontière en 1919. Le gouvernement fédéral s’était lancé dans une politique de canadianisation dans le but de neutraliser la « peur rouge », et les campements ouvriers desservis par le collège Frontière, pleins de nouveaux immigrants, semblaient les endroits tout désignés pour l’appliquer.

Fitzpatrick exposa sa philosophie de l’éducation des adultes dans deux volumes, Handbook for new Canadians et The university in overalls : a plea for part-time study, publiés à Toronto respectivement en 1919 et 1920. Tous deux reflètent l’influence de la pensée progressiste contemporaine et présentent une pédagogie pratique, directe. Le Handbook for new Canadians, guide d’éducation des adultes, fut le premier de la sorte au pays. Combinant l’histoire, la géographie, la littérature et la grammaire, l’ouvrage proposait un programme destiné à inculquer les valeurs canadiennes aux travailleurs immigrants des camps ; chaque ouvrier-enseignant embauché en recevait un exemplaire avant d’entrer en fonction. En 1920, il y avait trois femmes ouvrières-enseignantes ; deux d’entre elles travaillaient dans des usines en Nouvelle-Écosse et l’autre, dans une région rurale de la Saskatchewan. Dans The university in overalls, Fitzpatrick expliquait sa vision du collège Frontière comme institution nationale qui assurerait l’instruction des gens où qu’ils se trouvent et au sein de laquelle le corps professoral et les étudiants joueraient des rôles importants.

En 1922, le travail incessant en coulisse et la simple persévérance de Fitzpatrick portèrent des fruits lorsque le parlement fédéral adopta le projet de loi 68, qui reconnaissait le collège Frontière comme une université ayant le droit de décerner des diplômes à des étudiants partout au Canada. Premier établissement de ce genre au pays, le collège offrait, dès 1925, une variété de cours exclusivement extra-muros conduisant à l’obtention d’une licence ès arts et d’une maîtrise ès arts. Son personnel enseignant bénévole était composé de professeurs anglophones et francophones de nombreuses universités canadiennes, son comité d’examen comprenait des personnalités aussi réputées que Charles George Douglas Roberts* et il s’adressait aux « hommes et [aux] femmes plus âgés » qui étaient dans l’incapacité « de fréquenter une université centrale ». Fitzpatrick était directeur du collège.

Dès le départ, la conception de Fitzpatrick d’une université nationale reflétait un type d’enseignement progressif qui gagnait en popularité dans le monde entier et qui, au Canada, mena à la création de la Khaki University destinée à des militaires (1918), de départements de l’enseignement postscolaire dans diverses universités (la McGill University et la University of Toronto, en 1920, et la University of Western Ontario, en 1921), de la People’s School au St Francis Xavier College (1921–1922) et d’une section, à Toronto, de la Workers’ Educational Association basée au Royaume-Uni (1918). Toutefois, même si le collège Frontière niait tout empiétement de ses activités sur celles d’autres universités, des forces puissantes ne tardèrent pas à s’unir contre lui. Le gouvernement de l’Ontario, d’abord sous la direction de George Howard Ferguson*, puis de George Stewart Henry*, exerça d’intenses pressions politiques et financières sur le collège, invoquant la compétence provinciale en matière d’éducation, en vertu de l’Acte de l’Amérique du Nord britannique. Les subventions octroyées par l’Ontario au collège (qui s’élevaient à 28 000 $ pour la période de 1924 à 1928) furent interrompues en 1928, à la suite de quoi Fitzpatrick se plaignit que la tâche de maintenir le collège à flot sans financement était « bien pire que l’esclavage » : « Quiconque n’a jamais cherché des fonds dans de telles conditions ne peut imaginer cet enfer. » Inquiètes de perdre la mainmise sur le programme d’enseignement supérieur et la délivrance de diplômes, certaines universités manifestèrent également de l’hostilité, telle la University of Toronto, sous la conduite de sir Robert Alexander Falconer*.

Finalement, même si Fitzpatrick avait l’appui de personnages importants comme Newton Wesley Rowell* et Joseph E. Atkinson*, le collège Frontière fut forcé de capituler ; il renonça à son droit de conférer des diplômes en Ontario en 1931 et dans l’ensemble du pays l’année suivante. En échange, le gouvernement de l’Ontario reprit le financement arrêté en 1928 (le collège n’avait jamais bénéficié d’un investissement fédéral et le soutien d’autres provinces fut toujours modeste). En 1931, 17 étudiants s’étaient inscrits au programme universitaire du collège et 3 avaient obtenu un diplôme, soit deux licences ès arts et une maîtrise ès arts. Après la reprise du financement de l’Ontario, le nombre d’ouvriers-enseignants passa de 44 en 1929 à 85 en 1933–1934 ; à ce moment-là, le collège enseignait à 5 000 adultes. À l’aube du xxie siècle, il poursuit ses activités, même s’il ne se concentre plus sur les ouvriers dans les zones reculées, mais sur tous ceux qui ont besoin de services d’alphabétisation et d’orthopédagogie au Canada, que ce soit en milieu rural ou urbain. Sa réputation dans le domaine de l’éducation des adultes n’a fait que croître depuis l’époque de Fitzpatrick.

La lutte pour la survie du collège Frontière avait épuisé Fitzpatrick. Devant l’opposition du conseil du collège et du directeur des ouvriers-enseignants, Edmund William Bradwin*, dont la priorité était le travail des ouvriers-enseignants et non le grand projet d’université nationale, Fitzpatrick démissionna de son poste de directeur en 1933. Bradwin lui succéda. Durant les dernières années de sa vie, Fitzpatrick continua ses collectes de fonds en dépit de problèmes médicaux. Il fut nommé directeur émérite et, en avril 1936, deux mois avant sa mort, il reçut l’ordre de l’Empire britannique.

En cherchant à instruire les plus défavorisés – « [l’]éducation, dit-il, est le droit sacré de tous les hommes, [et] non le privilège exclusif de quelques personnes favorisées » –, Alfred Fitzpatrick tenta de développer le potentiel humain présent en chaque personne au bénéfice de tous. Jusqu’à la toute fin de sa vie, il travailla à un manuscrit qui montrait que sa passion de militant était intacte. Intitulé « Schools and other penitentiaries », il n’a pas été publié à ce jour.

James H. Morrison

Outre les ouvrages cités dans sa biographie, Alfred Fitzpatrick a écrit deux articles publiés dans le Canadian Magazine : « Life in lumbering and mining camps : a plea for reform », 17 (mai–octobre 1901) : 49–52 et « The neglected citizen in the camps », 25 (mai–octobre 1905) : 43–48.

BAC, R3584-0-0, vol. 1, 107, 170 (corr.) ; vol. 153–154 (dossiers des directeurs) ; vol. 263 (rapports annuels et réunions annuelles, finances).— QUA, Queen’s Univ., Office of the Univ. Registrar fonds, 1842–1981, coll. 1161, vol. 3, no 1411.— « Adult education in Canada », Journal of Adult Education (Philadelphie), 6 (1934) : 232–233.— G. L. Cook, « Alfred Fitzpatrick & the foundation of Frontier College (1899–1922) », Canada : an Hist. Magazine (Toronto), 3 (1975–1976), no 4 : 15–39.— G. L. Cook et Marjorie Robinson, « “The fight of my life” : Alfred Fitzpatrick and Frontier College’s extramural degree for working people », Hist. sociale (Ottawa), 23 (1990) : 81–112.— Collège Frontière, Calendar (Toronto), 1929–1931.— Frontier College letters : one hundred years of teaching, learning & nation building, Larry Krotz et al., compil. (Toronto, 1999).— E. L. Martin, « Action and advocacy : Alfred Fitzpatrick and the early history of Frontier College » (mémoire de m.a., Univ. of Toronto, 2000).— J. H. Morrison, « “Black flies, hard work, low pay” : a century of Frontier College », Beaver, 79 (1999–2000), no 5 : 33–38 ; Camps & classrooms : a pictorial history of Frontier College (Toronto, 1989).— Reading Camp Assoc., Annual report (Toronto), 1913.— E. W. Robinson, « The history of the Frontier College » (mémoire de m.a., McGill Univ., Montréal, 1960).— D. R. Sutherland, « Alfred Fitzpatrick and the Frontier College » (thèse de b.th., Atlantic School of Theology, Halifax, 1968).— M. E. Zavitz, « The Frontier College and Bolshevism in the camps of Canada, 1919–1925 » (mémoire de m.a., Univ. of Windsor, Ontario, 1974).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

James H. Morrison, « FITZPATRICK, ALFRED », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 20 juill. 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/fitzpatrick_alfred_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/fitzpatrick_alfred_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   James H. Morrison
Titre de l'article:   FITZPATRICK, ALFRED
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2017
Année de la révision:   2017
Date de consultation:   20 juillet 2017