DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Minor Corrections

Biography of the Day

GREY, WILLIAM – Volume X (1871-1880)

b. 27 Oct. 1819 in England

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Original title:  Hume Cronyn, M.P. - Library of Parliament

Source: Link

CRONYN, HUME BLAKE, soldier, lawyer, businessman, and politician; b. 28 Aug. 1864 in London, Upper Canada, son of Verschoyle Cronyn and Sophia Eliza Blake; m. there 4 Sept. 1892 Frances Amelia Labatt, and they had three sons and two daughters; d. there 19 June 1933.

Hume Cronyn was born into one of three prominent and closely related London families. The Cronyns, Humes, and Blakes had come to the area from Ireland on the brig Anne of Halifax in the summer of 1832, and Cronyn’s name was typical of those given to children of intermarriages within these families. His relatives were a veritable who’s who of Upper Canadian society. His paternal grandfather, Benjamin Cronyn*, was the first Anglican bishop of the diocese of Huron and a founder of Huron College. His father, Verschoyle, was a noted lawyer who would become a kc (1902), a founder of the Huron and Erie Loan and Savings Company (better known as the Huron and Erie Savings and Loan Society), and a chancellor of the diocese. His mother, Sophia, was a daughter of William Hume Blake*, the first chancellor of Upper Canada, and a sister of Edward Blake*, a prominent lawyer who would serve as premier of Ontario, minister of justice in the cabinet of Alexander Mackenzie*, and leader of the federal Liberal Party. When Cronyn was six years old, his recently widowed maternal grandmother, Catherine Honoria Hume Blake*, came to live with his parents. A woman of strong views and many accomplishments, Catherine was the matriarch of the three families. Her strict discipline and fervent evangelical Christianity undoubtedly had an influence on her young grandson.

Cronyn was first educated at William Tassie*’s highly respected Galt Grammar School and the London Collegiate Institute. He then attended the University of Toronto and joined the Queen’s Own Rifles militia unit, which was sent in the spring of 1885 to help put down the North-West rebellion led by Louis Riel*. On 2 May Corporal Cronyn’s regiment, under the command of Lieutenant-Colonel William Dillon Otter*, fought native marksmen who were followers of Poundmaker [Pītikwahanapiwīyin*] at Cut Knife Hill. Otter’s men were eventually forced to retreat, but for his role in the battle Cronyn was awarded the North West Canada Medal and clasp, which he wore proudly.

Once the rebellion had been quashed, Cronyn returned to his studies in Toronto and graduated with a ba in 1886. The university was then in the process of establishing a faculty of law that would grant the llb degree, and two of his uncles, Edward and Samuel Hume Blake*, were among the lecturers. Cronyn became one of the handful of students (another was Lyman Poore Duff*, a future chief justice) who enrolled in this short-lived program. In 1889 he completed his degree and was called to the bar, but he did not formally receive his llb until the following year. He commenced practice in London with Cronyn and Betts, which had been formed by his father and his uncle Frederick Pimlott Betts, who was married to one of Hume’s paternal aunts. The firm operated out of the Huron and Erie Buildings and provided legal assistance to the primary occupant, the Huron and Erie Loan and Savings Company, as well as its later subsidiary, the Canada Trust Company, and to the Anglican synod of Huron, all of which had family connections to their legal advisers.

On 4 Sept. 1892 Cronyn married Frances Amelia Labatt, the second daughter of another prominent London citizen, John Labatt*. It was an advantageous match. Labatt owned and operated a substantial brewery whose India pale ale was very popular, and as a result the family that Cronyn married into was at least as wealthy and influential as his own. He practised with the family firm for 18 years without much distinction; during this period he joined the 7th Battalion of Fusiliers and rose to the rank of major. He left law in 1907 to become chief operating officer of the Huron and Erie Loan and Savings Company (renamed the Huron and Erie Mortgage Corporation in 1915) and soon proved to be a better financial administrator than he had been a lawyer. He would also become general manager of Canada Trust as well as a director, and eventually president (in 1920), of the Mutual Life Assurance Company of Canada.

Given his family’s long support of the Liberals, it is not surprising that Cronyn became active in that party. In 1898 he was considered as its candidate for the provincial riding of London, but he declined the nomination and instead gave a humorous and effective speech in support of Colonel Francis Baxter Leys, who was elected. A decade later Cronyn worked behind the scenes to help Prime Minister Sir Wilfrid Laurier* raise capital in France. When Cronyn finally sought public office, however, he ran against his own party. In 1917 he was one of a number of Ontario Liberals (others were Frank Broadstreet Carvell*, Newton Wesley Rowell*, and Arthur Lewis Watkins Sifton*) who accepted the invitation of Conservative prime minister Sir Robert Laird Borden to form a coalition government for the purpose of carrying out the policy of conscription that World War I seemed to require. Major Cronyn, as he was invariably called, became the Unionist candidate for the riding of London. George Sutton Gibbons, a local politician and son of Sir George Christie Gibbons*, opposed him as a Laurier Liberal. It was a hotly contested campaign, but on 17 Dec. 1917 Cronyn was elected with over 62 per cent of the votes cast.

During his three-and-a-half-year term Cronyn was an active member of the House of Commons. He was responsible for an amendment to the Criminal Code regarding fraudulent tenants, and he chaired three special parliamentary committees, two on pensions (including pensions for returned soldiers) and one on scientific research [see Archibald Byron Macallum]. His role on the second pension committee brought him much attention because it involved public meetings at which he had to deal deftly with questions from disabled veterans and their families. He also used his skill as an orator to advocate for the mortgage-loan industry, urging that companies such as Huron and Erie be granted more power to take deposits from the public.

When Arthur Meighen* replaced Borden as prime minister in July 1920, there was speculation that Cronyn would be made a cabinet minister, but either he was not asked or he refused Meighen’s offer. He declined to run in the general election of 6 Dec. 1921. Publicly, he said that another term in office would interfere with his business interests. In truth, he had few options: Cronyn did not want to run for Meighen’s National Liberal and Conservative Party, even though he was a close friend of the prime minister, and the Liberals, now led by William Lyon Mackenzie King*, were unwilling to support someone who had abandoned the party during the conscription crisis.

After Cronyn left politics his business interests did not prevent him from accepting several time-consuming public appointments. In 1922 he was named to the board of the Honorary Advisory Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (the forerunner of the National Research Council). From 1921 to 1923 he chaired a blue-ribbon board of arbitrators (the other members were Sir Adam Beck* and Sir William Thomas White*) charged with determining the compensation owed to the Toronto Railway Company for the expropriation of its lines and equipment by the new, municipally owned Toronto Transportation Commission. Cronyn wrote, and read out, the majority report that awarded the railway company about $12 million, an amount that was appealed by the city but upheld in court. This experience made him a vocal opponent of the right of governments to expropriate private property on their own terms.

In 1925 Cronyn played a key role in a royal commission chaired by Sir Andrew Rae Duncan that studied the problems of the Nova Scotia coal industry [see James Bryson McLachlan]. Noting that the province had been cajoled into confederation by promises that had gone unfulfilled and warning that the tie of sentiment binding it to the dominion had worn thin, Cronyn encouraged Canadian businesses to buy Nova Scotia coal, even if it was more expensive, in order to keep the country prosperous and united. Meanwhile, he continued to manage Huron and Erie and Canada Trust and to fulfil his duties as president of Mutual Life. All of these companies flourished under his leadership: Huron and Erie, for example, had assets of almost $40 million by 1927 and its annual growth was 20 per cent. Cronyn’s success was recognized when he was made an honorary president and a member of the executive of the Dominion Mortgage and Investments Association, the professional society of the industry.

Cronyn’s later years are most notable for a temporary falling-out with Hume Blake Cronyn* Jr, his third son. An aspiring actor who had inherited his father’s ability to captivate an audience, young Hume showed no interest in law or finance (unlike his brother Verschoyle Philip, who headed an insurance agency and sat on the board of Huron and Erie, Canada Trust, and John Labatt Limited). In defiance of his parents, Hume would follow his dream and take to the stage, making his Broadway debut as a janitor in the 1934 play Hipper’s holiday. His father did not live to see it. Hume Sr, who suffered from a debilitating seizure-inducing illness in his final years, resigned from his various offices in February 1933 and died on 19 June. His name, and his deep interest in science, is commemorated today by the Hume Cronyn Memorial Observatory, which was built with funds his wife donated to the University of Western Ontario in 1940. His successes in business and politics, however, have been overshadowed by his son’s brilliant stage and film career to such an extent that Hume Blake Cronyn Sr is now known almost exclusively as the father of Hume Cronyn, the actor.

C. Ian Kyer

Hume Blake Cronyn is the author of “Canadian loan and savings companies,” Scottish Bankers Magazine (Edinburgh and London), 6 (April 1914–January 1915): 97–107. His speech to the Empire Club of Canada, “The weak spot in our Canadian constitution,” appears in Empire Club of Can., Addresses (Toronto), 1926: 295–309. AO, F 2 (Edward Blake family fonds). LAC, R10811-0-X; R11163-0-1. Law Soc. of Upper Can. Arch. (Toronto), 1-5-1-2 (Convocation fonds, common, barristers’ and benchers rolls). Globe, 2 Feb. 1898; 30 Nov. 1917; 14 May, 21 Sept. 1918; 6 Jan., 29 March, 26 April 1919; 21 Jan., 10 Feb., 16 March, 2 Sept., 3, 29 Oct., 24 Nov. 1921; 24 March, 15 June 1922; 30 May 1924; 29 Oct. 1925; 15 May, 22 Sept. 1926; 19 Jan. 1928; 14 Feb., 24 Oct. 1929; 3 Feb., 21 June 1933. Toronto Daily Star, 10 July 1920; 29 June 1921; 15 March 1922; 31 Jan. 1923; 30 Oct. 1924; 11, 27 Jan. 1926; 1 Feb., 2 March 1927; 29 Jan. 1930; 15 Feb. 1932; 9 Feb., 21 June 1933. F. H. Armstrong, The Forest City: an illustrated history of London, Canada ([Northridge, Calif.], 1986). Can., House of Commons, Special committee on pensions, insurance and re-establishment of returned soldiers, Proc. (Ottawa, 1921); Special committee on scientific research, Proc. (Ottawa, 1919). Canadian directory of parl. (Johnson). The Canadian law list (Toronto), 1890, 1895, 1900, 1905. Canadian men and women of the time (Morgan; 1912). H. [B.] Cronyn, A terrible liar: a memoir (New York, 1991). Cyclopædia of Canadian biog. (Rose and Charlesworth), vol.3. Register of the University of Toronto for the year 1920 (Toronto, [1920]). Standard dict. of Canadian biog. (Roberts and Tunnell), vol.2.

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

C. Ian Kyer, “CRONYN, HUME BLAKE (1864-1933),” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed October 27, 2020, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/cronyn_hume_blake_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:


Permalink:   http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/cronyn_hume_blake_16E.html
Author of Article:   C. Ian Kyer
Title of Article:   CRONYN, HUME BLAKE (1864-1933)
Publication Name:   Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher:   University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication:   2020
Year of revision:   2020
Access Date:   October 27, 2020

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies modifiées

Biographie du jour

OGIMAUH-BINAESSIH – Volume VI (1821-1835)

décédé le 30 septembre 1828 à la mission de la rivière Crédit (Mississauga, Ontario)

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Titre original :  Hume Cronyn, M.P. - Library of Parliament

Provenance : Lien

CRONYN, HUME BLAKE, soldat, avocat, homme d’affaires et homme politique, né le 28 août 1864 à London, Haut-Canada, fils de Verschoyle Cronyn et de Sophia Eliza Blake ; le 4 septembre 1892, il épousa dans cette ville Frances Amelia Labatt, et ils eurent trois fils et deux filles ; décédé le 19 juin 1933 au même endroit.

Hume Blake Cronyn naquit dans l’une des trois importantes familles étroitement liées de London. Originaires d’Irlande, les Cronyn, les Hume et les Blake étaient arrivés dans la région à bord du brick Anne of Halifax à l’été de 1832. Hume Blake fut prénommé comme le voulait la coutume pour les enfants issus des mariages entre les membres de ces familles. Il avait des liens de parenté avec bon nombre d’éminentes personnalités du Haut-Canada. Son grand-père paternel, Benjamin Cronyn*, fut le premier évêque anglican du diocèse de Huron et l’un des fondateurs du Huron College. Son père, Verschoyle, célèbre avocat, deviendrait conseiller du roi en 1902, fondateur de la Huron and Erie Loan and Savings Company (mieux connue sous le nom de Huron and Erie Savings and Loan Society) et chancelier du diocèse. Sa mère, Sophia Eliza, était une des filles de William Hume Blake*, premier chancelier du Haut-Canada, et sœur d’Edward Blake*, éminent avocat qui occuperait les charges de premier ministre de l’Ontario, de ministre de la Justice dans le cabinet d’Alexander Mackenzie* et de chef du Parti libéral fédéral. Lorsque Cronyn avait six ans, sa grand-mère maternelle, Catherine Honoria Hume Blake*, veuve depuis peu, vint habiter avec ses parents. Matriarche des trois familles, elle entretenait de fortes convictions et comptait de nombreuses réalisations à son actif. Sa discipline rigoureuse et la ferveur de sa foi chrétienne évangélique influencèrent sans aucun doute son jeune petit-fils.

Cronyn étudia d’abord à la très réputée Galt Grammar School de William Tassie* et au London Collegiate Institute. Il entra ensuite à la University of Toronto et se joignit à l’unité de milice du Queen’s Own Rifles, qui partit au printemps de 1885 pour aider à mater la rébellion du Nord-Ouest menée par Louis Riel*. Le 2 mai, le régiment du caporal Cronyn, sous le commandement du lieutenant-colonel William Dillon Otter*, combattit au mont Cut Knife les tireurs autochtones partisans de Poundmaker [Pītikwahanapiwīyin*]. Les hommes d’Otter durent finalement battre en retraite, mais, pour son rôle dans cette bataille, Cronyn reçut la médaille du Nord-Ouest canadien avec agrafe, qu’il porta fièrement.

Une fois la rébellion réprimée, Cronyn retourna à ses études à Toronto et obtint sa licence ès arts en 1886. À l’époque, l’université s’apprêtait à fonder une faculté de droit qui offrirait le programme de licence en droit ; deux de ses oncles, Edward et Samuel Hume Blake*, figuraient au nombre des maîtres de conférences. Cronyn compta parmi la poignée d’étudiants (dont le futur juge en chef Lyman Poore Duff*) qui s’inscrivirent à ce programme éphémère. En 1889, il termina ses études et fut admis au barreau ; il ne reçut officiellement son diplôme que l’année suivante. Il commença à exercer à London au sein du cabinet Cronyn and Betts, fondé par son père et son oncle Frederick Pimlott Betts, marié à une de ses tantes paternelles. Située dans les Huron and Erie Buildings, la firme fournissait des services juridiques à leur principal occupant, la Huron and Erie Loan and Savings Company, ainsi qu’à sa future filiale, la Canada Trust Company, et au synode anglican de Huron ; ces clients avaient tous des liens familiaux avec leurs conseillers juridiques.

Le 4 septembre 1892, Cronyn épousa Frances Amelia Labatt, deuxième fille d’un autre éminent citoyen de London, John Labatt*. Cette union comportait de grands avantages. Labatt possédant et exploitant une importante brasserie, dont l’India pale ale bénéficiait d’une popularité considérable, Cronyn avait une belle-famille au moins aussi riche et influente que la sienne. Il exerça sa profession dans l’entreprise familiale durant 18 ans, sans vraiment s’y distinguer ; pendant cette période, il se joignit au 7th Battalion of Fusiliers et obtint le grade de major. En 1907, il cessa de pratiquer le droit pour devenir chef des opérations de la Huron and Erie Loan and Savings Company (renommée Huron and Erie Mortgage Corporation en 1915) ; rapidement, il montra plus d’aptitudes pour l’administration financière que pour le droit. Il serait aussi directeur général de la Canada Trust Company et directeur, puis président (en 1920), de la Mutual Life Assurance Company of Canada.

Sa famille appuyant les libéraux depuis longtemps, ce fut sans surprise que Cronyn s’impliqua dans ce parti. En 1898, il déclina l’investiture libérale dans la circonscription provinciale de London ; il prononça plutôt un discours drôle et efficace en soutien au colonel Francis Baxter Leys, qui remporta l’élection. Dix ans plus tard, Cronyn travailla en coulisse pour aider le premier ministre sir Wilfrid Laurier* à mobiliser des capitaux en France. Lorsque Cronyn devint finalement candidat, il se présenta cependant contre le Parti libéral. En 1917, il compta parmi les libéraux de l’Ontario (dont Frank Broadstreet Carvell*, Newton Wesley Rowell* et Arthur Lewis Watkins Sifton*) qui acceptèrent l’invitation du premier ministre conservateur, sir Robert Laird Borden, à former un gouvernement de coalition pour mettre en œuvre la conscription, jugée nécessaire dans le contexte de la Première Guerre mondiale. Le major Cronyn, qu’on appelait toujours ainsi, devint le candidat unioniste de la circonscription de London. George Sutton Gibbons, homme politique de la région et fils de sir George Christie Gibbons*, se présenta contre lui pour le Parti libéral de Laurier. Le 17 décembre 1917, au terme d’une âpre campagne, Cronyn fut élu avec plus de 62 % des voix.

Durant les trois années et demie de son mandat, Cronyn participa activement aux travaux des Communes. Il fut responsable d’une modification du Code criminel, relative aux locataires coupables d’actes frauduleux, et présida trois comités parlementaires spéciaux, dont deux sur les pensions (y compris celles des soldats de retour du front) et un sur la recherche scientifique [V. Archibald Byron Macallum]. On remarqua particulièrement son rôle au sein du deuxième comité sur les pensions en raison des réunions publiques où il dut répondre avec tact aux questions des anciens combattants invalides et de leurs familles. Mettant également ses talents d’orateur au service du secteur hypothécaire, il réclama que les entreprises comme la Huron and Erie Mortgage Corporation puissent accepter des dépôts du public.

Quand Arthur Meighen* succéda à Borden comme premier ministre, en juillet 1920, on supposa à tort que Cronyn deviendrait ministre au cabinet : soit il ne reçut pas de proposition de Meighen, soit il la rejeta. Il refusa de briguer les suffrages aux élections générales du 6 décembre 1921. Publiquement, il affirma qu’il ne pouvait concilier un autre mandat avec ses intérêts commerciaux. En vérité, Cronyn avait peu d’options : malgré son étroite amitié avec le premier ministre, il ne voulait pas se présenter sous l’étiquette du Parti libéral et conservateur national de Meighen, et les libéraux, alors dirigés par William Lyon Mackenzie King*, se montraient réticents à appuyer un homme qui avait déserté le parti pendant la crise de la conscription.

Après que Cronyn eut quitté la vie politique, ses affaires ne l’empêchèrent pas d’accepter plusieurs charges publiques chronophages. En 1922, on le nomma au conseil d’administration du Conseil consultatif honoraire de recherches scientifiques et industrielles (précurseur du Conseil national de recherches du Canada). De 1921 à 1923, il présida un conseil d’arbitrage trié sur le volet (constitué de lui-même, de sir Adam Beck* et de sir William Thomas White*) chargé de fixer le montant de l’indemnité que la nouvelle Toronto Transportation Commission, de propriété municipale, devait payer à la Toronto Railway Company pour l’expropriation de ses lignes et de son équipement. Cronyn rédigea et lut à voix haute le rapport majoritaire allouant environ 12 millions de dollars à la Toronto Railway Company ; la ville contesta cette somme, mais le tribunal la jugea appropriée. Cette expérience le mena à s’opposer haut et fort au droit des gouvernements d’exproprier les propriétaires privés en imposant leurs propres conditions.

En 1925, Cronyn joua un rôle de premier plan dans la commission royale d’enquête, présidée par sir Andrew Rae Duncan, chargée d’étudier les problèmes de l’industrie houillère en Nouvelle-Écosse [V. James Bryson McLachlan]. Soulignant que les promesses faites à cette province pour la convaincre d’entrer dans la Confédération avaient été déçues et que son lien d’attachement au dominion avait beaucoup décliné, Cronyn, pour préserver la prospérité et l’unité du pays, encouragea les entreprises canadiennes à acheter le charbon de la Nouvelle-Écosse même s’il coûtait plus cher. Entre-temps, il continua de diriger la Huron and Erie Mortgage Corporation et la Canada Trust Company, et d’exercer ses responsabilités de président de la Mutual Life Assurance Company of Canada. Toutes ces entreprises prospérèrent sous sa conduite : par exemple, en 1927, l’actif de la Huron and Erie Mortgage Corporation s’élevait à près de 40 millions de dollars et son taux de croissance annuel à 20 %. On reconnut le succès de Cronyn en le nommant président honoraire et membre de la direction de l’association professionnelle de l’industrie : la Dominion Mortgage and Investments Association.

Un différend passager avec son fils homonyme, le benjamin, marqua les dernières années de la vie de Hume Blake Cronyn. Ayant hérité du talent de son père à captiver le public, le jeune Hume Blake* aspirait à devenir acteur et, contrairement à son frère Verschoyle Philip, à la tête d’une agence d’assurance et membre du conseil d’administration de la Huron and Erie Mortgage Corporation, de la Canada Trust Company et de la John Labatt Limited, ne s’intéressait ni au droit ni à la finance. Il défierait ses parents, poursuivrait son rêve et monterait sur les planches ; en 1934, il fit ses débuts à Broadway en jouant le rôle d’un concierge dans la pièce Hipper’s holiday. Son père ne vécut pas assez longtemps pour y assister. Souffrant, pendant les dernières années de sa vie, d’une maladie débilitante qui lui causait des crises épileptiques, Cronyn avait démissionné de ses différents postes en février 1933 ; il mourut le 19 juin. Le Hume Cronyn Memorial Observatory, construit grâce aux fonds donnés par sa femme en 1940 à la University of Western Ontario, honore son nom et commémore le profond intérêt de Cronyn pour la science. La brillante carrière de son fils, sur scène et à l’écran, éclipsa toutefois ses succès commerciaux et politiques. Aujourd’hui, Hume Blake Cronyn père doit presque exclusivement sa renommée au fait d’être le père de l’acteur Hume Blake Cronyn.

C. Ian Kyer

Hume Blake Cronyn est l’auteur de « Canadian loan and savings companies », Scottish Bankers Magazine (Édimbourg et Londres), 6 (avril 1914–janvier 1915) : 97–107. Il a prononcé un discours intitulé « The weak spot in our Canadian constitution » devant l’Empire Club of Canada, qui l’a publié dans Addresses (Toronto), 1926 : 295–309.

AO, F 2 (Edward Blake family fonds).— Arch. du Barreau du Haut-Canada (Toronto), 1-5-1-2 (Convocation fonds, common, barristers’ and benchers rolls).— BAC, R10811-0-X ; R11163-0-1.— Globe, 2 févr. 1898 ; 30 nov. 1917 ; 14 mai, 21 sept. 1918 ; 6 janv., 29 mars, 26 avril 1919 ; 21 janv., 10 févr., 16 mars, 2 sept., 3, 29 oct., 24 nov. 1921 ; 24 mars, 15 juin 1922 ; 30 mai 1924 ; 29 oct. 1925 ; 15 mai, 22 sept. 1926 ; 19 janv. 1928 ; 14 févr., 24 oct. 1929 ; 3 févr., 21 juin 1933.— Toronto Daily Star, 10 juill. 1920 ; 29 juin 1921 ; 15 mars 1922 ; 31 janv. 1923 ; 30 oct. 1924 ; 11, 27 janv. 1926 ; 1er févr., 2 mars 1927 ; 29 janv. 1930 ; 15 févr. 1932 ; 9 févr., 21 juin 1933.— F. H. Armstrong, The Forest City : an illustrated history of London, Canada ([Northridge, Calif.], 1986).— Canada, Chambre des communes, Comité spécial sur les pensions, les assurances et le rétablisssement social des anciens combattants, Rapport (Ottawa, 1921) ; Comité spécial sur les recherches scientifiques, Rapport (Ottawa, 1919).— Canadian directory of parl. (Johnson).— The Canadian law list (Toronto), 1890, 1895, 1900, 1905.— Canadian men and women of the time (Morgan ; 1912).— H. [B.] Cronyn, A terrible liar : a memoir (New York, 1991).— Cyclopædia of Canadian biog. (Rose et Charlesworth), 3.— Register of the University of Toronto for the year 1920 (Toronto, [1920]).— Standard dict. of Canadian biog. (Roberts et Tunnell), 2.

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

C. Ian Kyer, « CRONYN, HUME BLAKE (1864-1933) », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 30 sept. 2020, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/cronyn_hume_blake_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique


Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/cronyn_hume_blake_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:    C. Ian Kyer
Titre de l'article:    CRONYN, HUME BLAKE (1864-1933)
Titre de la publication:    Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:    Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:    2020
Année de la révision:    2020
Date de consultation:    30 septembre 2020