DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Minor Corrections

Biography of the Day

CARSON, WILLIAM – Volume VII (1836-1850)

d. 26 Feb. 1843 in St John’s

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Original title:  Douglas Mackinnon Baillie Hamilton Cochrane, 12th Earl Dundonald
by Unknown photographer
albumen print, 1890s
NPG P1700(45e)
© National Portrait Gallery, London, UK 
Used under Creative Commons http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/ 
Source: https://www.npg.org.uk/collections/search/portrait/mw238409/Douglas-Mackinnon-Baillie-Hamilton-Cochrane-12th-Earl-Dundonald

Source: Link

COCHRANE, DOUGLAS MACKINNON BAILLIE HAMILTON, 12th Earl of DUNDONALD, soldier and politician; b. 29 Oct. 1852 at Auchentoul House, Banff, Scotland, son of Thomas Barnes Cochrane, 11th Earl of Dundonald, and Louisa Harriet Mackinnon (MacKinnon); m. 18 Sept. 1878 Winifred Bamford Hesketh (1859–1924) in St Asaph, Wales, and they had two sons and three daughters; d. 12 April 1935 in Wimbledon (London), England.

The Cochranes had a long history of military and naval service in Scotland and elsewhere. Several served in what would become Canada, including Sir Thomas John Cochrane*. The second son of an aristocratic but undistinguished captain in the British army, Douglas, known as Lord Cochrane because his elder brother had died in infancy, was educated at a private school in Walton-on-Thames, England, and at Eton College. In 1870 his family purchased him a commission as a cavalry officer in the 2nd Life Guards. In 1884–85 he commanded the detachment of the unit that joined General Garnet Joseph Wolseley*’s expedition to rescue Major-General Charles George Gordon, who was besieged by Mahdist forces at Khartoum in the Sudan. Wolseley’s force arrived too late; Douglas became known in Great Britain as the despatch rider who brought news of Gordon’s death. In February 1885, while in the Sudan, Douglas learned that he had succeeded to the earldom upon his father’s death on 15 January. Dundonald was promoted lieutenant-colonel in June and brevet colonel in 1889; he assumed command of the 2nd Life Guards in 1895.

After the South African War began in October 1899, Dundonald was placed in charge of the Mounted Brigade (whose officers included Julian Hedworth George Byng) in the field force led by Sir Redvers Henry Buller. In February 1900 Dundonald came to the British public’s attention for helping relieve the besieged town of Ladysmith. The next month he received the rank of major-general. Between June and October the Canadian-raised Lord Strathcona’s Horse [see Donald Alexander Smith*] was attached to Dundonald’s reorganized unit, the 3rd Mounted Brigade, which participated in the battle of Belfast-Bergendal and the Lydenburg campaign and was disbanded in October. The commanding officer of Strathcona’s Horse, Samuel Benfield Steele*, regarded the earl as “a very fine soldier and perfect gentleman, so different from British officers sent to Canada,” an assessment shared by many of Steele’s officers and men.

Given Dundonald’s popularity among Canada’s South African War veterans, he was an obvious choice to replace Major-General Richard O’Grady Haly as general officer commanding the Canadian militia (GOC). Dundonald, who would arrive in Ottawa in July 1902, welcomed the appointment because of his “hereditary connection with the country” and his respect for the Canadian troops he had met in South Africa. Dundonald seemed well cast in his new role: he was an inventor whose accomplishments ranged from military vehicles to an improved teapot, and he was an outspoken reformer who supported the use of mounted infantry and the creation of what he called a volunteer “citizen army.” Yet the British War Office had harboured reservations about his fitness for the position, and it soon became clear that he had serious faults. Governor General Lord Minto [Elliot*] was among the first to perceive Dundonald’s eccentricity, vanity, and political partisanship. Minto, who had hoped that the War Office would appoint a man of tact, would privately describe “Dundoddle” as a “vain, unreasonable creature,” a “dangerous demagogue,” a “petulant baby,” and a “crank with a brain the size of a fruit head” who was distrustful, conspiratorial, and a careless administrator.

Dundonald soon joined battle with Sir Frederick William Borden*, the minister of militia and defence in Sir Wilfrid Laurier*’s Liberal government. They clashed over a variety of issues: funding, the site of a central training camp, Dundonald’s personal expenses, a defence plan that Dundonald wanted to outline in his first annual report, which he claimed had been suppressed by Borden, and, especially, Borden’s refusal to support a costly scheme to build fortifications along the Canadian–American border. Their relationship was severed when Borden proposed an amendment to the Militia Act that would create a council to advise the minister and establish civilian control over the militia. Dundonald rightly saw this change as an erosion of the GOC’s power. When his private and persistent appeals to the British government to block Borden’s designs failed, the general decided to fire the heather.

At a large banquet for militia officers held in Montreal on 3 June 1904, in the presence of a reporter and during an election year, Dundonald informed his audience of a “gross instance of political interference,” committed by acting minister of militia and defence Sydney Arthur Fisher* and condoned by Borden, in the selection of officers for the 13th (Scottish) Light Dragoons, an Eastern Townships regiment led by Charles Allan Smart. Dundonald’s action contravened the king’s regulations, since he was subordinate to the Canadian government as represented by the minister. Although Minto had little sympathy for Dundonald (and even less for his collaboration with Conservative politician Samuel Hughes*), he attempted to mediate the subsequent conflict between the government and the general. Unrepentant, Dundonald told Minto that he hated Laurier and “wished to do him all the harm he could.” On 14 June the cabinet passed an order in council dismissing the earl from his command, and Minto signed it, much to the surprise and annoyance of Dundonald, who had believed that the governor general would support him. Convinced that the people of Canada were thoroughly aroused by his plight, Dundonald planned to run as a Conservative candidate in the next election and issued a manifesto, published in the Montreal Gazette on 20 June, explaining his decision to speak out against the government. His popular crusade, which was marked by large and enthusiastic demonstrations in Ottawa and Toronto, was cut short by his recall by the War Office on 19 July. To the throng that cheered him at the railway station when he left Ottawa a week later, Dundonald exclaimed, “Keep both hands on the Union Jack!” Long after his departure he would remain popular among some Canadians: he kept his 1903 honorary colonelcy of the 91st Highlanders [see James Robert Moodie] in Hamilton, Ont., until 1924, for example, and the Imperial Order Daughters of the Empire in Ottawa established a Dundonald chapter in 1937.

Upon his return to Great Britain, Dundonald campaigned unsuccessfully for the creation of a British volunteer “citizen army.” During the First World War he hoped to lead Canadian troops but was denied a command. He headed an Admiralty committee on smoke screens in 1915 and tried to persuade the government of the importance of chemical warfare, revealing in the process a secret plan for disabling an enemy with smoke and sulphurous fumes that had been devised by his grandfather, the 10th earl. A Scottish representative peer in the House of Lords since 1886, Dundonald held that position until 1922, but otherwise lived a quiet life. He travelled, resided largely at his wife’s family estate in north Wales, and in 1926 published My army life, in which he challenged the description of Lord Minto’s role in the “Dundonald incident” in John Buchan’s memoir of the governor general. Dundonald died in 1935 at the age of 82. In the early 21st century, streets in Saskatoon and Toronto, a park in Ottawa, and the fitness centre of the country’s largest military base, the 4th Canadian Division Support Base Petawawa in Ontario, bear his name.

Carman Miller

Douglas Mackinnon Baillie Hamilton Cochrane, 12th Earl of Dundonald, is the author of “Notes on a citizen army,” Fortnightly Rev. (London), new ser., 78 (July–December 1905): 627–39, and My army life (London, 1926).

LAC, R10811-0-X. NA, CO 42/896. National Library of Scotland (Edinburgh), mss 12365–803 (4th Earl of Minto, papers). NSA, MG 2, vols.63–223 (F. W. Borden fonds). Univ. of Birmingham, Cadbury Research Library, Special Coll. (Eng.), JC (Joseph Chamberlain coll.). Gazette (Montreal), 9, 20 June 1904. John Buchan, Lord Minto: a memoir (London, 1924). Can., House of Commons, Debates, 10 June 1904: 4580–620. Canadian annual rev., 1904. Carman Miller, The Canadian career of the fourth Earl of Minto: the education of a viceroy (Waterloo, Ont., 1980); A knight in politics: a biography of Sir Frederick Borden (Montreal and Kingston, Ont., 2010); Painting the map red: Canada and the South African War, 1899–1902 (Montreal and Kingston, 1993). Desmond Morton, Ministers and generals: politics and the Canadian militia, 1868–1904 (Toronto and Buffalo, N.Y., 1970). Charles Stephenson, The admiral’s secret weapon: Lord Dundonald and the origins of chemical warfare (Woodbridge, UK, 2006).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Carman Miller, “COCHRANE, DOUGLAS MACKINNON BAILLIE HAMILTON, 12th Earl of DUNDONALD,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed February 26, 2024, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/cochrane_douglas_mackinnon_baillie_hamilton_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:


Permalink:   http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/cochrane_douglas_mackinnon_baillie_hamilton_16E.html
Author of Article:   Carman Miller
Title of Article:   COCHRANE, DOUGLAS MACKINNON BAILLIE HAMILTON, 12th Earl of DUNDONALD
Publication Name:   Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher:   University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication:   2023
Year of revision:   2023
Access Date:   February 26, 2024

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies modifiées

Biographie du jour

LAPOINTE, ALEXIS, dit Alexis le Trotteur – Volume XV (1921-1930)

né le 4 juin 1860 à La Malbaie, Bas-Canada

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Titre original :  Douglas Mackinnon Baillie Hamilton Cochrane, 12th Earl Dundonald
by Unknown photographer
albumen print, 1890s
NPG P1700(45e)
© National Portrait Gallery, London, UK 
Used under Creative Commons http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/ 
Source: https://www.npg.org.uk/collections/search/portrait/mw238409/Douglas-Mackinnon-Baillie-Hamilton-Cochrane-12th-Earl-Dundonald

Provenance : Lien

COCHRANE, DOUGLAS MACKINNON BAILLIE HAMILTON, 12e comte de DUNDONALD, soldat et homme politique, né le 29 octobre 1852 à Auchentoul House, Banff, Écosse, fils de Thomas Barnes Cochrane, 11e comte de Dundonald, et de Louisa Harriet Mackinnon (MacKinnon) ; le 18 septembre 1878, il épousa à St Asaph, pays de Galles, Winifred Bamford Hesketh (1859–1924), et ils eurent deux fils et trois filles ; décédé le 12 avril 1935 à Wimbledon (Londres).

La famille Cochrane entretenait une longue tradition de service militaire et naval en Écosse et ailleurs. Plusieurs Cochrane, dont sir Thomas John Cochrane*, servirent dans ce qui deviendrait le Canada. Douglas Mackinnon Baillie Hamilton Cochrane, second fils d’un capitaine aristocrate, mais sans éclat, de l’armée britannique, connu sous le nom de lord Cochrane parce que son frère aîné mourut en bas âge, étudia dans une école privée de Walton-on-Thames, en Angleterre, et à l’Eton College. En 1870, sa famille lui acheta une commission d’officier de cavalerie dans le 2nd Life Guards. En 1884–1885, il commanda le détachement de l’unité qui se joignit à l’expédition du général Garnet Joseph Wolseley* ayant pour mission de libérer le major général Charles George Gordon, assiégé par des forces mahdistes à Khartoum, au Soudan. Wolseley et ses hommes arrivèrent trop tard ; Cochrane se fit connaître en Grande-Bretagne comme l’estafette qui annonça le décès de Gordon. En février 1885, pendant son séjour au Soudan, Cochrane apprit qu’il avait hérité du titre de comte à la mort de son père le 15 janvier. Dundonald reçut la promotion de lieutenant-colonel en juin et le grade honoraire de colonel en 1889 ; il prit le commandement du 2nd Life Guards en 1895.

Au déclenchement de la guerre des Boers en octobre 1899, Dundonald se vit confier la Mounted Brigade (qui comptait Julian Hedworth George Byng parmi ses officiers) dans la force de campagne menée par sir Redvers Henry Buller. En février 1900, il attira l’attention du public britannique en contribuant à la libération de la ville assiégée de Ladysmith. Le mois suivant, il obtint le titre de major général. Entre juin et octobre, on rattacha le Lord Strathcona’s Horse [V. Donald Alexander Smith*], régiment mis sur pied au Canada, à l’unité réorganisée de Dundonald, la 3rd Mounted Brigade. Celle-ci participa à la bataille de Bergendal (ou bataille de Belfast) et à la campagne de Lydenburg, puis fut démantelée en octobre. Le commandant du Lord Strathcona’s Horse, Samuel Benfield Steele*, ainsi que nombre de ses officiers et soldats, voyait en Dundonald « un excellent soldat et un parfait gentleman, bien différent des officiers britanniques envoyés au Canada ».

Populaire auprès des anciens combattants canadiens de la guerre des Boers, Dundonald constituait le remplaçant tout désigné du major général Richard O’Grady Haly comme officier général à la tête de la milice canadienne. Il se réjouit de cette nomination en raison de son « lien héréditaire avec le pays » et de son respect envers les troupes canadiennes qu’il avait connues en Afrique du Sud. Il arriva à Ottawa en juillet 1902. Inventeur dont les réalisations allaient de véhicules militaires à une théière améliorée, et réformiste au franc-parler défendant l’utilisation d’une infanterie à cheval et la création de ce qu’il appelait une « armée de citoyens » volontaires, il semblait le candidat idéal. Pourtant, le ministère britannique de la Guerre avait exprimé des réserves quant à son aptitude à occuper ces fonctions, et il devint vite évident que le comte présentait de sérieux défauts. Le gouverneur général, lord Minto [Elliot*], compta parmi les premiers à percevoir son excentricité, sa vanité et sa partisanerie politique. Il avait espéré que le ministère de la Guerre nomme un homme de tact. En privé, il décrirait ainsi « Dundoddle » : « créature vaniteuse et déraisonnable », « dangereux démagogue », « bambin irascible », « hurluberlu au cerveau de la taille d’une tête de fruit » méfiant et conspirateur, et administrateur négligent.

Dundonald s’opposa rapidement à sir Frederick William Borden*, ministre de la Milice et de la Défense dans le gouvernement libéral de sir Wilfrid Laurier*. Ils se querellèrent sur de nombreuses questions : le financement, l’emplacement d’un camp d’entraînement central, les dépenses personnelles de Dundonald, un plan de défense que celui-ci voulait présenter dans son premier rapport annuel, mais que, selon lui, Borden avait supprimé, et, surtout, le refus du ministre de soutenir le projet coûteux d’ériger des fortifications le long de la frontière canado-américaine. Leur relation se rompit quand Borden proposa de modifier l’Acte concernant la milice et la défense du Canada afin de créer un conseil pour guider le ministre et instaurer une autorité civile sur la milice. Dundonald vit à juste titre dans ce changement une érosion du pouvoir de l’officier général commandant. Lorsque ses demandes privées et répétées auprès du gouvernement britannique pour contrecarrer les plans de Borden restèrent lettre morte, le général décida de mettre le feu aux poudres.

À Montréal, le 3 juin 1904, à l’occasion d’un grand banquet pour des officiers de milice, en présence d’un journaliste et en année électorale, Dundonald informa son auditoire d’un « cas flagrant d’ingérence politique » commise par le ministre intérimaire de la Milice et de la Défense, Sydney Arthur Fisher*, et cautionnée par Borden, dans la sélection d’officiers pour le 13th (Scottish) Light Dragoons, régiment des Cantons-de-l’Est dirigé par Charles Allan Smart. Dundonald se trouvant sous les ordres du gouvernement canadien représenté par le ministre, son comportement contrevint aux règlements royaux. Même si Minto éprouvait peu de sympathie pour Dundonald (et encore moins pour sa collaboration avec l’homme politique conservateur Samuel Hughes*), il tenta d’arbitrer le conflit qui s’ensuivit entre le gouvernement et le général. Impénitent, Dundonald confia à Minto qu’il détestait Laurier et « souhaitait lui causer le plus de tort possible ». Le 14 juin, le cabinet émit un décret pour relever le comte de ses fonctions de commandant. À la surprise et au mécontentement de Dundonald, qui croyait à l’appui du gouverneur général, Minto le signa. Convaincu que sa situation critique attisait la colère des Canadiens, Dundonald planifia de se présenter aux élections suivantes comme candidat conservateur et rédigea un manifeste, publié dans la Gazette de Montréal le 20 juin, où il expliquait sa décision de s’élever contre le gouvernement. Sa croisade populaire, marquée par des manifestations importantes et enthousiastes à Ottawa et à Toronto, cessa abruptement quand le ministère de la Guerre le rappela le 19 juillet. À la foule qui l’acclamait à la gare à son départ d’Ottawa une semaine plus tard, Dundonald s’écria : « Gardez les deux mains sur le Union Jack ! » Sa popularité perdurerait longtemps auprès de certains Canadiens : par exemple, il conserverait jusqu’en 1924 le grade honoraire de colonel du 91st Highlanders qu’il avait reçu en 1903 [V. James Robert Moodie] à Hamilton, et l’Imperial Order Daughters of the Empire formerait un chapitre Dundonald en 1937.

À son retour en Grande-Bretagne, Douglas Mackinnon Baillie Hamilton Cochrane, 12e comte de Dundonald, fit campagne sans succès pour la création d’une « armée [britannique] de citoyens » volontaires. Pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, il espérait diriger des troupes canadiennes, mais on refusa de lui confier un commandement. Il présida un comité de l’Amirauté sur les écrans de fumée en 1915, et tenta de convaincre le gouvernement de l’importance d’une guerre chimique ; il révéla ainsi au passage un plan secret, élaboré par son grand-père, 10e comte de Dundonald, pour neutraliser l’ennemi avec de la fumée et des émanations sulfureuses. Représentant de l’Écosse à la Chambre des lords depuis 1886, Dundonald le demeura jusqu’en 1922. Autrement, il mena une existence tranquille. Il voyagea, vécut surtout au domaine que possédait la famille de sa femme dans le nord du pays de Galles et, en 1926, publia My army life, dans lequel il contestait le rôle de lord Minto dans l’« incident Dundonald » décrit par John Buchan dans sa biographie du gouverneur général. Dundonald mourut en 1935 à 82 ans. Au début du xxie siècle, on nomma en son honneur des rues à Saskatoon et à Toronto, un parc à Ottawa et le centre de conditionnement physique de la plus vaste base militaire au pays, la Base de soutien de la 4e division du Canada Petawawa, en Ontario.

Carman Miller

Douglas Mackinnon Baillie Hamilton Cochrane, 12e comte de Dundonald, a écrit : « Notes on a citizen army », Fortnightly Rev. (Londres), nouv. sér., 78 (juillet–décembre 1905) : 627–639, et My army life (Londres, 1926).

BAC, R10811-0-X.— NA, CO 42/896.— National Library of Scotland (Édimbourg), mss 12365–803 (4th Earl of Minto, papers).— NSA, MG 2, vol. 63–223 (F. W. Borden fonds).— Univ. of Birmingham, Cadbury Research Library, Special Coll. (Angleterre), JC (Joseph Chamberlain coll.).— Gazette (Montréal), 9, 20 juin 1904.— John Buchan, Lord Minto : a memoir (Londres, 1924).— Canada, Chambre des communes, Débats, 10 juin 1904 : 4580–4620.— Canadian annual rev., 1904.— Carman Miller, The Canadian career of the fourth Earl of Minto : the education of a viceroy (Waterloo, Ontario, 1980) ; A knight in politics : a biography of Sir Frederick Borden (Montréal et Kingston, Ontario, 2010) ; Painting the map red : Canada and the South African War, 1899–1902 (Montréal et Kingston, 1993).— Desmond Morton, Ministers and generals : politics and the Canadian militia, 1868–1904 (Toronto et Buffalo, N.Y., 1970).— Charles Stephenson, The admiral’s secret weapon : Lord Dundonald and the origins of chemical warfare (Woodbridge, Royaume-Uni, 2006).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Carman Miller, « COCHRANE, DOUGLAS MACKINNON BAILLIE HAMILTON, 12e comte de DUNDONALD », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 4 juin 2023, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/cochrane_douglas_mackinnon_baillie_hamilton_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique


Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/cochrane_douglas_mackinnon_baillie_hamilton_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:    Carman Miller
Titre de l'article:    COCHRANE, DOUGLAS MACKINNON BAILLIE HAMILTON, 12e comte de DUNDONALD
Titre de la publication:    Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:    Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:    2023
Année de la révision:    2023
Date de consultation:    4 juin 2023