DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Minor Corrections

Biography of the Day

ANCTIL, JEANNE – Volume XV (1921-1930)

d. unmarried 4 Dec. 1926 in Montreal

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

BETHUNE, CHARLES JAMES STEWART, Church of England minister, educator, and entomologist; b. 11 Aug. 1838 in West Flamborough Township, Upper Canada, third son of Alexander Neil Bethune* and Jane Eliza Crooks; nephew of John* (1791–1872), James Gray*, Angus*, and Donald Bethune*; cousin of Norman Bethune*; grandson of John Bethune* (1751–1815) and James Crooks*; great-uncle of Henry Norman Bethune; m. 21 April 1863 Harriett (Harriet) Alice Mary Forlong (1844–98) in Toronto, and they had two sons and four daughters; d. 18 April 1932 in Toronto and was buried in Cobourg, Ont.

Born into a prominent family of Scottish heritage, Charles Bethune was educated at Upper Canada College in Toronto. He then attended Trinity College there, obtaining a ba in 1859 (with first-class honours in classics and distinction in mathematics) and an ma three years later; he would be awarded an honorary dcl in 1883. Ordained deacon in the Church of England in 1861, he became a priest the following year; Bishop John Strachan* presided on both occasions. His first appointment was as curate at St Peter’s Church in Cobourg, where his father, Alexander Neil, was rector. During his tenure there, Charles married Alice Forlong, daughter of Lieutenant-Colonel James Forlong of the 43rd Foot. Except for a brief period in 1863–64, when he was in England serving as curate in the village of Carlton, near Selby, Yorkshire (North Yorkshire), Bethune remained in Cobourg until 1866. He next took up what would be his only position as a parish priest, at the Credit Mission (Mississauga) in Peel County, and over the next few years he supervised the construction of churches in Dixie (Mississauga) and Port Credit (Mississauga). Though he would later move into the areas of education and science, Bethune played an active role in his church throughout his life. He was a delegate for many years to its diocesan and provincial synods, and he served as honorary clerical secretary of both the synod of the diocese of Toronto (1869–71) and the General Synod of the Church of England in Canada (1902–8).

In 1870, after initially refusing, Bethune was persuaded by his father to accept the position of headmaster at Trinity College School, which had been founded in Weston (Toronto) by William Arthur Johnson* in 1865 and had moved to Port Hope in 1868. Bethune remained there for 29 years, during which time the institution, which lacked an endowment or even a finished building when he arrived, developed into one of the most prestigious educational establishments for boys in Canada. This journey was not, however, a smooth one. Severe economic depressions occurred in the late 1870s and late 1880s, and four fires broke out over a four-year period, the last of which, in 1895, almost completely destroyed Trinity’s buildings. In 1890, overwhelmed by his increasing workload, Bethune asked the governing board for relief from some of his duties. For three years he served as warden while the Reverend Arthur Lloyd acted as headmaster, but in 1893, following Lloyd’s resignation, Bethune resumed his former position. After six more stressful years in charge, and following Alice’s death caused by injuries she suffered in an accident when the horses drawing her cab bolted, Bethune resigned and moved southwest to London, where he lived until 1906.

Few records relating to Bethune’s years in London seem to have survived, but it is clear that during this time he devoted much of his attention to entomology. He had been interested in the subject since childhood, and as an undergraduate at Trinity College in the 1850s he began to collect and study insects in earnest. Chemistry professor Henry Holmes Croft*, himself an amateur entomologist, put Bethune in contact with William Saunders*, a druggist in London and a fellow insect collector and naturalist. As their friendship developed, Bethune and Saunders decided to compile and publish a list of entomologists to facilitate interaction among like-minded individuals. Their efforts, carried out with Croft’s assistance, led to the formation of the Entomological Society of Canada on 16 April 1863. Bethune was appointed secretary-treasurer in 1864 and became president in 1871, the same year that the organization was renamed the Entomological Society of Ontario. A three-time head of the ESO (1871–75, 1890–92, and 1912–13), he also served as vice-president, council member, librarian, and curator of the insect collection. He was editor of the society’s publication, the Canadian Entomologist, from 1868 to 1873 and from 1886 to 1909, and was named editor emeritus after giving up his duties because of failing eyesight.

In the late 19th century the value of entomology to North American agriculture was becoming recognized, and Bethune came to be regarded as one of the best economic entomologists in Canada by his contemporaries, who included James Fletcher*, Charles Gordon Hewitt*, and Norman Criddle. In 1870, at the request of the provincial Bureau of Agriculture and Arts (a predecessor of the Department of Agriculture, which would be established in 1888), he helped prepare the first Annual report on the noxious insects of the province of Ontario. He would contribute to each annual report for the next three decades. For this continuing work the society received an annual grant of $400, which was increased to $1,000 after the bureau commissioned a special study of the Colorado potato beetle. “What really made the fortunes of the Society,” Bethune would reflect in his presidential address of 1913, “was the invasion of Ontario by the Colorado Potato Beetle.”

On 1 June 1906 Bethune, now 67 years of age, became professor and head of the department of entomology and zoology at the Ontario Agricultural College in Guelph. He held this position until his retirement in October 1920, and during his 14-year tenure he built the department into a strong teaching and research unit, with many of his students becoming well known in their fields. Bethune published regularly, and his most notable works include Insects affecting vegetables and Common insects affecting fruit-trees, as well as Insects of the northern parts of British America. The latter is a pared-down, annotated version of a volume written by William Kirby as part four (The insects, London, 1837) of the rare work Fauna Boreali-Americana, edited by John Richardson*. In addition, Bethune prepared the annual Bibliography of Canadian entomology, served as entomological editor of two Toronto journals, the Canada Farmer and Weekly Globe, and was a founding member of the American Association of Economic Entomologists. His great influence in the field was recognized with elections to the Royal Society of Canada, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and the Entomological Society of America (which he headed in 1913); he was also made a corresponding member of other scientific societies in Canada, the United States, and England.

Throughout his career as a man of science, Bethune remained a devoutly religious person. In his daily life he was comfortable in the company of amateurs and professional entomologists alike when dealing with economic entomology and the collection, identification, and classification of specimens, but he was a firm believer in God the Creator and steadfastly avoided discussing the ideas espoused by Charles Darwin and others regarding the origin and evolution of species. In an editorial for the Canadian Entomologist in 1871, Bethune revealed something of his views when he invited fellow insect lovers to “help us to trace out the wondrous beauties of structure, form and coloring of these marvels of the Creator’s power.” Years later, when a student asked him why God had created butterflies, Bethune replied simply, “Because the Lord has an eye on the beautiful.”

When Charles Bethune died suddenly at the age of 93 in Toronto, the Canadian Entomologist observed that “he had retained unimpaired throughout the years that keen mind which was the delight of all who knew him,” and reflected that “to him entomology in Canada owes much. His passing severs a tie with the beginning of the science in this country.” An earnest, kindly man with a long white beard (which inspired students to nickname him “the Goat” during his years as headmaster of Trinity), Bethune was remarkable not only for his contributions to the early history of North American entomology, but also for achieving success in the fields of religion and education during what the Canadian Entomologist referred to as his “long but very busy and useful life.” Bethune House, a residence for male boarding students at Trinity College School, is named in his honour.

Cedric Gillott

Charles James Stewart Bethune was the editor of the Canadian Entomologist (London, Ont., etc.) in 1868–73 and 1886–1909, and he compiled the Bibliography of Canadian entomology … (Ottawa) for many years. He was also entomological editor of the Canada Farmer and the Weekly Globe, published in Toronto, and contributed to the Annual report on the noxious insects of the province of Ontario … (Toronto) for three decades, beginning in 1871. The author of Common insects affecting fruit-trees (Toronto, 1907) and Insects affecting vegetables (Toronto, 1909), he published “Insects of the northern parts of British America,” both serially in the Canadian Entomologist, 2–13 (1870–81), and as a monograph (n.p., [1876?]). His 1913 presidential address to the Entomological Soc. of Ont. is described in the Canadian Entomologist, 45 (1913): 353–56.

LAC, R233-34-0, Ont., dist. Durham East (51), subdist. Port Hope (B), div. 3: 14; R233-35-2, Ont., dist. Durham East (127), subdist. Hope (A), div. 1: 5; R233-36-4, Ont., dist. Durham East (58), subdist. Hope (B), div. 1: 42. A. W. Baker, “A short history of the Entomological Society of Ontario,” Canadian Entomologist, 71 (1939): 14–20. Canadian biographical dictionary and portrait gallery of eminent and self-made men (2v., Toronto, 1880–81), Ont. vol. Canadian men and women of the time (Morgan; 1912). “Charles James Stewart Bethune, m.a., d.c.l.,” Canadian Entomologist, 64 (1932): 97–98. Cyclopædia of Canadian biog. (Rose and Charlesworth), vol.3. A. H. Humble, with the collaboration of J. D. Burns, The school on the hill: Trinity College School, 1865–1965 (Port Hope, Ont., 1965). Arnold Mallis, American entomologists (New Brunswick, N.J., 1971). “Our third volume,” Canadian Entomologist, 3 (1871): 1–2. Paolo Palladino, Entomology, ecology and agriculture: the making of scientific careers in North America, 1885–1985 (Amsterdam, 1996). “The Rev. Charles James Stewart Bethune, m.a., d.c.l., f.r.s.c., born 1838, died 1932,” Trinity College School Record (Port Hope), 35 (December 1931–July 1933), no.3: 3–5. John Richardson et al., Fauna Boreali-Americana … (4 pts., London, 1829–37), 4 (William Kirby, The insects, 1937). T. J. Spilman, “Vignettes of the presidents of the Entomological Society of America, 1889–1989,” Entomological Soc. of America, Bull. (Washington), 35 (1989), no.3: 33–65. Standard dict. of Canadian biog. (Roberts and Tunnell), vol.1.

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Cedric Gillott, “BETHUNE, CHARLES JAMES STEWART,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed December 4, 2022, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/bethune_charles_james_stewart_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:


Permalink:   http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/bethune_charles_james_stewart_16E.html
Author of Article:   Cedric Gillott
Title of Article:   BETHUNE, CHARLES JAMES STEWART
Publication Name:   Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher:   University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication:   2022
Year of revision:   2022
Access Date:   December 4, 2022

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies modifiées

Biographie du jour

BLEWETT, GEORGE JOHN – Volume XIV (1911-1920)

né le 9 décembre 1873 dans le canton de Yarmouth, Ontario

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

BETHUNE, CHARLES JAMES STEWART, ministre de l’Église d’Angleterre, enseignant et entomologiste, né le 11 août 1838 dans le canton de West Flamborough, Haut-Canada, troisième fils d’Alexander Neil Bethune* et de Jane Eliza Crooks ; neveu de John* (1791–1872), de James Gray*, d’Angus* et de Donald Bethune* ; cousin de Norman Bethune* ; petit-fils de John Bethune* (1751–1815) et de James Crooks* ; grand-oncle de Henry Norman Bethune ; le 21 avril 1863, il épousa à Toronto Harriett (Harriet) Alice Mary Forlong (1844–1898), et ils eurent deux fils et quatre filles ; décédé le 18 avril 1932 dans cette ville et inhumé à Cobourg, Ontario.

Issu d’une éminente famille d’origine écossaise, Charles James Stewart Bethune étudia à Toronto, à l’Upper Canada College, puis au Trinity College, où il obtint une licence ès arts en 1859 (avec mention très bien en lettres classiques et bien en mathématiques) et une maîtrise trois ans plus tard. On lui décernerait un doctorat honorifique en droit civil en 1883. Ordonné diacre de l’Église d’Angleterre en 1861, il devint prêtre l’année suivante ; l’évêque John Strachan* présida les deux cérémonies. On le nomma tout d’abord vicaire à l’église St Peter, à Cobourg, où son père était recteur. Quelque temps après, il épousa Alice Mary Forlong, fille de James Forlong, lieutenant-colonel du 43rd Foot. À l’exception d’une courte période en 1863–1864, où il servit comme vicaire dans le village de Carlton, près de Selby, dans le Yorkshire (North Yorkshire), en Angleterre, il demeura à Cobourg jusqu’en 1866. Il accepta ensuite son unique poste de pasteur de paroisse, à la mission de la rivière Crédit (Mississauga), dans le comté de Peel ; puis, pendant plusieurs années, il supervisa la construction d’églises à Dixie (Mississauga) et à Port Credit (Mississauga). Même s’il se dirigerait vers l’enseignement et la recherche scientifique, Bethune jouerait un rôle actif au sein de son Église tout au long de sa vie. Il fut délégué aux synodes diocésains et provinciaux durant de nombreuses années, secrétaire ecclésiastique honorifique du synode du diocèse de Toronto de 1869 à 1871 et du synode général de l’Église d’Angleterre au Canada de 1902 à 1908.

En 1870, après avoir refusé une première offre, Bethune se laissa convaincre par son père d’accepter le poste de directeur de la Trinity College School, fondée en 1865 par William Arthur Johnson* à Weston (Toronto) et réinstallée à Port Hope en 1868. Bethune y demeura 29 ans. L’école, qui ne possédait ni dotation ni même un bâtiment complet à son arrivée, devint au cours de cette période un des établissements d’enseignement pour garçons les plus prestigieux au Canada. Cependant, le parcours ne fut pas de tout repos. De dures crises économiques marquèrent la fin des années 1870 et des années 1880, et la Trinity College School subit quatre incendies en quatre ans ; le dernier, en 1895, détruisit ses bâtiments presque entièrement. En 1890, écrasé par sa charge de travail de plus en plus lourde, Bethune demanda au conseil d’administration de le soulager de certaines de ses responsabilités. Il remplit des fonctions de surveillant durant trois ans, tandis que le révérend Arthur Lloyd occupait le poste de directeur. Quand ce dernier démissionna, en 1893, Bethune revint à la direction. Il passa six autres années éprouvantes à la tête de l’école. Sa femme succomba à des blessures subies dans un accident de fiacre, dont les chevaux s’étaient emballés. Il se retira peu après et partit vers le sud-est, à London, où il vécut jusqu’en 1906.

Il subsiste peu de traces de cette période de la vie de Bethune à London, mais, chose certaine, il se consacra principalement à l’entomologie. Il s’intéressait au sujet depuis l’enfance. Il avait commencé à étudier et à collectionner sérieusement les insectes dans les années 1850, pendant ses années de premier cycle au Trinity College. Le professeur de chimie Henry Holmes Croft*, lui-même entomologiste amateur, mit Bethune en relation avec un pharmacien à London, William Saunders*, également naturaliste et collectionneur d’insectes. Devenus amis, Bethune et Saunders entreprirent de compiler et de publier une liste d’entomologistes, afin de faciliter les rapports entre les personnes qui partageaient cet intérêt. Leur travail, effectué avec l’aide de Croft, conduisit, le 16 avril 1863, à la création de l’Entomological Society of Canada. Bethune fut nommé secrétaire-trésorier en 1864. Sept ans plus tard, il devint président de l’organisation alors rebaptisée Entomological Society of Ontario. Outre ses trois mandats à la présidence (1871–1875, 1890–1892 et 1912–1913), il occupa les fonctions de vice-président, de membre du conseil, de bibliothécaire et de conservateur de la collection d’insectes. Il fut rédacteur en chef de la revue de la société, le Canadian Entomologist, de 1868 à 1873 et de 1886 à 1909. Après qu’il eut renoncé à son travail à cause de sa vision déclinante, on lui donna le titre de rédacteur en chef émérite.

À la fin du xixe siècle, on commençait à reconnaître l’intérêt de l’entomologie pour l’agriculture nord-américaine. Les contemporains de Bethune, dont James Fletcher*, Charles Gordon Hewitt* et Norman Criddle, finirent par le considérer comme l’un des meilleurs entomologistes économiques au Canada. En 1870, à la demande du Bureau of Agriculture and Arts de la province (qui deviendrait le département de l’Agriculture en 1888), Bethune participa à la préparation du premier Annual report on the noxious insects of the province of Ontario. Il contribuerait à chaque rapport annuel durant les trois décennies suivantes. La société recevait une subvention annuelle de 400 $ pour ce travail de longue haleine. Celle-ci augmenta à 1 000 $ quand l’organisme provincial commanda une étude spéciale sur le doryphore. « Ce qui fit vraiment la fortune de la société, déclarerait Bethune dans son discours présidentiel de 1913, fut l’invasion de l’Ontario par le doryphore. »

Le 1er juin 1906, Bethune, âgé de 67 ans, devint professeur et directeur du département d’entomologie et de zoologie de l’Ontario Agricultural College de Guelph. Il conserverait ce poste jusqu’à sa retraite, en octobre 1920. Pendant ces 14 ans, il fit de son département une unité d’enseignement et de recherche solide, et beaucoup de ses étudiants se distinguèrent dans leur domaine. Bethune publiait régulièrement. Parmi ses publications les plus notables figurent Insects affecting vegetables, Common insects affecting fruit-trees et Insects of the northern parts of British America, version allégée et annotée de la quatrième partie (The insects), rédigée par William Kirby et parue à Londres en 1837, du livre rare Fauna Boreali-Americana, édité par John Richardson*. En outre, Bethune préparait chaque année la Bibliography of Canadian entomology, signait les rubriques entomologiques de deux journaux de Toronto, le Canada Farmer et le Weekly Globe, et cofonda l’American Association of Economic Entomologists. Son influence déterminante dans le domaine se traduisit par son élection à la Société royale du Canada, à l’American Association for the Advancement of Science et à l’Entomological Society of America (qu’il dirigea en 1913) ; il agit aussi à titre de membre correspondant d’autres sociétés scientifiques au Canada, aux États-Unis et en Angleterre.

Tout au long de sa carrière d’homme de science, Bethune conserva une profonde ferveur religieuse. Dans sa vie quotidienne, il pratiquait avec aisance, en compagnie d’entomologistes amateurs tout autant que professionnels, l’entomologie économique, la collection, l’identification et la classification de spécimens. Il croyait cependant fermement à la création divine et évitait catégoriquement la discussion des idées, soutenues entre autres par Charles Darwin, autour de l’origine et de l’évolution des espèces. Dans un éditorial pour le Canadian Entomologist en 1871, Bethune dévoila un indice de ses convictions en invitant ses collègues passionnés d’insectes à participer à la découverte des « sublimes beautés de structure, de forme et de couleur de ces merveilles [issues] de la puissance du Créateur ». Des années plus tard, quand un étudiant lui demanda pourquoi Dieu avait créé les papillons, Bethune répondit simplement : « [P]arce que le Seigneur garde un œil sur [ce qui est] beau. »

Quand Charles James Stewart Bethune mourut subitement à l’âge de 93 ans, à Toronto, le Canadian Entomologist nota qu’« il avait conservé intact au fil des ans cet esprit vif qui faisait le délice de tous ceux qui le connaissaient ». « L’entomologie au Canada, poursuivait-on, lui doit beaucoup. Sa mort nous sépare d’un lien avec les débuts de la science dans ce pays. » Homme sérieux et aimable à la longue barbe blanche (qui amena ses étudiants à le surnommer « le bouc », à l’époque où il dirigeait la Trinity College School), Bethune eut un parcours remarquable : outre sa contribution à l’histoire des origines de l’entomologie en Amérique du Nord, il connut du succès avec des réalisations dans les domaines de la religion et de l’éducation, au cours de sa « vie longue mais très occupée et utile », comme le décrivit le Canadian Entomologist. La Bethune House, résidence pour les étudiants pensionnaires masculins de la Trinity College School, lui rend hommage.

Cedric Gillott

Charles James Stewart Bethune a dirigé la revue Canadian Entomologist (London, Ontario, etc.) de 1868 à 1873 et de 1886 à 1909, et a compilé la Bibliography of Canadian entomology […] (Ottawa) pendant de nombreuses années. Il a de plus été l’éditeur de la rubrique entomologique des journaux Canada Farmer et Weekly Globe, publiés à Toronto, et a contribué à l’Annual report on the noxious insects of the province of Ontario […] (Toronto) pendant 30 ans à partir de 1871. Il a écrit Common insects affecting fruit-trees (Toronto, 1907), et Insects affecting vegetables (Toronto, 1909). Il a aussi fait paraître une série d’articles intitulés « Insects of the northern parts of British America » dans Canadian Entomologist, 2–13 (1870–1881), et une monographie sous le même titre (s.l., [1876 ?]). Le Canadian Entomologist (45 (1913) : 353–356) décrit son allocution présidentielle de 1913 à l’Entomological Soc. of Ontario.

BAC, R233-34-0, Ontario, dist. Durham East (51), sous-dist. Port Hope (B), div. 3 : 14 ; R233-35-2, Ontario, dist. Durham East (127), sous-dist. Hope (A), div. 1 : 5 ; R233-36-4, Ontario, dist. Durham East (58), sous-dist. Hope (B), div. 1 : 42.— A. W. Baker, « A short history of the Entomological Society of Ontario », Canadian Entomologist, 71 (1939) : 14–20.— Canadian biographical dictionary and portrait gallery of eminent and self-made men (2 vol., Toronto, 1880–1881), Ontario vol.— Canadian men and women of the time (Morgan ; 1912).— « Charles James Stewart Bethune, m.a., d.c.l. », Canadian Entomologist, 64 (1932) : 97–98.— Cyclopædia of Canadian biog. (Rose et Charlesworth), vol. 3.— A. H. Humble et J. D. Burns, The school on the hill : Trinity College School, 1865–1965 (Port Hope, Ontario, 1965).— Arnold Mallis, American entomologists (New Brunswick, N.J., 1971).— « Our third volume », Canadian Entomologist, 3 (1871) : 1–2.— Paolo Palladino, Entomology, ecology and agriculture : the making of scientific careers in North America, 1885–1985 (Amsterdam, 1996).— « The Rev. Charles James Stewart Bethune, m.a., d.c.l., f.r.s.c., born 1838, died 1932 », Trinity College School Record (Port Hope), 35 (décembre 1931–juillet 1933), no 3 : 3–5.— John Richardson et al., Fauna Boreali-Americana […] (4 part., Londres, 1829–1837), part. 4 (William Kirby, The insects, 1937).— T. J. Spilman, « Vignettes of the presidents of the Entomological Society of America, 1889–1989 », Entomological Soc. of America, Bull. (Washington), 35 (1989), no 3 : 33–65.— Standard dict. of Canadian biog. (Roberts et Tunnell), vol. 1.

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Cedric Gillott, « BETHUNE, CHARLES JAMES STEWART », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 9 déc. 2022, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/bethune_charles_james_stewart_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique


Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/bethune_charles_james_stewart_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:    Cedric Gillott
Titre de l'article:    BETHUNE, CHARLES JAMES STEWART
Titre de la publication:    Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:    Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:    2022
Année de la révision:    2022
Date de consultation:    9 décembre 2022