DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Minor Corrections

Biography of the Day

WHALE, ROBERT – Volume XI (1881-1890)

d. 2 July 1887 at Brantford, Ont.

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Original title:  Carl Ahrens as a young artist in Toronto in the 1890s. 
Image courtesy of Kim Bullock, great-grandchild of Carl and Madonna Ahrens.

Source: Link

Ahrens (von Ahrens), Carl Henry (baptized Carl Heinrich, he also appears as Charles Henry in church records), artist; b. 15 Feb. 1862 in Winfield, Upper Canada, son of Herman Frederick Ahrens (von Ahrens) and Isabella Penelope Laird; great-grandson of Friedrich Gaukel*; m. first 25 Aug. 1886 Emily Marion Carroll (1861–1929) in Toronto, and they had two sons and a daughter; the marriage ended in separation; m. secondly 10 Oct. 1906 in a civil ceremony in San Francisco, and again on 14 Feb. 1907 in a religious rite there or in Corte Madera, Calif., Martha Elizabeth Niles (1882–1976), and they had one son and three daughters, of whom the eldest girl died in infancy; d. 27 Feb. 1936 in Toronto and was buried in Park Lawn Cemetery, Etobicoke Township (Toronto).

Carl Ahrens’s childhood was an unconventional one. Born into a family that embraced the theology of Emanuel Swedenborg, he was raised mostly by his father in Berlin (Kitchener, Ont.) after his parents separated. As a boy, he contracted tuberculosis. The disease settled in his hip and permanently affected his mobility; it also condemned him to a lifetime of chronic, debilitating pain. Young Carl’s frailty did not alter his rambunctious nature, and he became known in the community as a prankster. He left school at 16 and a year later moved to Winnipeg to work in a law firm. The sedate pace ill suited him, and he struck out for adventure in what is now northern Alberta and then in the American west. In years to come, he would immortalize his western experiences in his art.

After he returned to Berlin in 1881, Ahrens dabbled in several professions – one as a dyer in a button factory run by an uncle. His second wife would later comment that the job had taught him the fundamentals of colour. He was then apprenticed to another uncle as a dentist. Lacking the formal qualifications to pursue this profession in Ontario, he left to practise in Nebraska. On an extended visit home in 1886, he met and married Emily Carroll of Toronto, who shared his Swedenborgian beliefs, and he returned with her to the United States. He subsequently became interested in art. With Emily and their infant son, he moved to Toronto late in 1887 and rented a small atelier. A gregarious soul, he opened his studio to fellow artists, such as Lucius Richard O’Brien* and Frederic Marlett Bell-Smith*. Learning from these experienced painters, he honed his emerging talent and technique. Actors and writers also found their way to his home. They included Mohawk poet and recitalist Emily Pauline Johnson*. The Toronto Daily Star would later give this description of him as a young man: “He had a great shock of black hair, penetrating dark eyes and an unusual candor of speech. He had humor and he had a quick indignation. He was, therefore, excellent company. And he had industry as well as talent.”

Ahrens’s early paintings, in watercolour and oil, feature a variety of subjects: First Nations tepees, harvest scenes, waterscapes, and expansive landscapes. They reveal the influence of European Romanticism, with pastel skies and moody, mysterious dusks. For one with no formal training, Ahrens showed great promise, and he drew notice when he presented his work. In 1889 he exhibited with the Ontario Society of Artists, of which he became a member the following year. Two years later he was elected an associate member of the Royal Canadian Academy of Arts.

His first formal instruction came in 1892, when he travelled to New York City to study with William Merritt Chase, a member of the Hudson River School, and sculptor Frank Edwin Elwell. Ahrens’s paintings from this period attest to the effect Chase’s Impressionism had on him. He also made the acquaintance of landscapist George Inness, a fellow Swedenborgian who became his mentor. Inness admired Ahrens’s work but felt that conventional training was obscuring his raw talent. He persuaded him to go back to Canada and paint using his own inherent gifts. Ahrens followed his advice. He returned to Toronto in 1896, resigned from the professional artists’ associations to which he belonged, and went on to develop a style that a writer for Brush and Pencil would later describe as “an amalgam absolutely his own.” During this period he began working for magazines, including Saturday Night, to which he provided illustrations for a number of items, including his own article “Song of the rapids” in 1894 and Pauline Johnson’s short story “As it was in the beginning” in 1899.

He continued to experience wanderlust. From 1896 he and his family lived off and on in the United States. In 1900, when they were residing in Lambton Mills (Toronto), they moved to East Aurora, N.Y. Ahrens had been invited by businessman Elbert Green Hubbard to join the Roycroft artisans’ community as a potter, a craft he had learned from family members, pottery being a thriving trade in the Waterloo County of his youth. Little evidence of his ceramic work there has been uncovered, however. Ahrens’s Roycroft sojourn would be brief, partly because he clashed with Hubbard over artistic standards. He had also fallen in love, in his late thirties, with teenage artist and singer Martha Niles, whom he called Madonna. Their affair caused great scandal. At some point Madonna left Roycroft for New York, and in 1905, when he felt his sons were old enough to help support their mother, Carl abandoned his family and joined her there.

Jobs were few for artists with no stable clientele. Ahrens’s prospects improved when he was commissioned by author George Wharton James to paint old Spanish missions in California. He and Madonna travelled by covered wagon to these outposts. In her memoirs of her husband, Madonna recalls Carl’s mood at the time: “This, to him, was not work.… That he was earning barely enough for our frugal way of life never crossed his mind.” The couple married in 1906, one month before their first child was born. That year, according to Frederick Sproston Challener*, Emily Ahrens visited Toronto and told Challener and others that she was not pursuing her husband for bigamy because she was “glad to be rid of him.” Whether the accusation of bigamy was justified is not clear since Challener did not record the exact date of her visit. He may indeed have been wrong about the year since he also recorded that Carl arrived back in Canada in 1906. In fact, Carl returned in 1907. It would have been risky for him to do so without having regularized his marital situation, but no divorce papers have yet been found.

Carl, with his new wife and son, settled in the village of Meadowvale (Mississauga) before moving to Toronto in 1908. Carl’s health was poor and he was creating little. A second mentor, the barrister and militia officer Malcolm Smith Mercer*, came to his aid. Mercer offered to purchase all of Ahrens’s paintings over the next three years. Freed from financial restraints, Ahrens was highly productive. Most art historians consider the Mercer Collection of 31 canvases to be technically the artist’s strongest work. The pictures were shown at the Toronto Public Reference Library in 1911 and met with good reviews. Offers of up to $100,000 were made by Europeans to buy them, but Mercer refused to sell. Instead, he accepted an invitation to exhibit the collection in Belgium. This marked the first time any Canadian artist had been asked by a European government to mount a show. The start of the First World War intervened, however, and the exhibit never took place.

The wartime death of Mercer brought an end to Ahrens’s financial good fortune. In 1920 he moved his family to Woodstock, N.Y., where he continued to paint and taught landscape technique in the artists’ colony there; the following year they settled in a similar community at Rockport, Mass. By 1922 he was again in ill health. The couple and their children returned to Toronto, penniless. Prime Minister William Lyon Mackenzie King*, whose father Ahrens had known in Berlin years before, pushed to have some of the artist’s paintings purchased by the National Gallery of Canada (NGC). Reporting in his diary a conversation with Ahrens about two particular works, King noted: “He had been holding them trusting the nation w[oul]d buy them. I have made up my mind we will.” But Ahrens’s vocal criticisms of the Canadian art scene had incurred the wrath of many, including Sir Byron Edmund Walker*, chairman of the NGC’s board of trustees. In 1916 Ahrens had publicly criticized recent works by some of his contemporaries, claiming that they showed “an absolute lack of the knowledge of drawing, color, and design.” No one was in any doubt that he was referring to the paintings of James Edward Hervey MacDonald and other future members of the Group of Seven. Time had not tempered Walker’s anger towards Ahrens. Only King’s threat to fire Walker, and his appointment of three new trustees to overcome opposition on the board, resulted in Ahrens’s oil The road (1922) being purchased in 1923, for $1,500. It remains his sole work at the NGC.

Ahrens’s windfall allowed him to acquire an old farmhouse outside Galt (Cambridge). He called it Big Trees. The wooded landscape surrounding the residence provided the inspiration for many of the works that are his most pleasing in terms of colour. Executed confidently in a rainbow of hues, the paintings earned him the moniker Artist of Trees. He was, his friend the critic Hector Willoughby Charlesworth* said, “a poet with the brush if ever there was one.” The exceptional oil Woodland ford, completed in 1928, represents Ahrens at his finest – bold and free of constraints. The painting was exhibited at the Canadian National Exhibition that year. At Big Trees he also took up printmaking, using a press fashioned from an old mangle and dental tools, and he taught students, including Grant Kenneth Macdonald*.

After two successful exhibitions, in 1933 and 1935, Ahrens and his wife left for England in the hope of selling his work there, but Carl had a series of strokes and they returned home. Poverty and illness dominated his final years. When Madonna could no longer care for him, she wrote to King for assistance. The prime minister appealed to Dr James Albert Faulkner, Ontario’s minister of health. “I … told him of Carl Ahrens’ condition,” he recorded in his diary in November 1935. “I said I hoped it might be possible to get him into one of the provincial institutions.” Since Ahrens had suffered some mental disturbance as well, he was admitted to the Toronto Psychiatric Hospital. He died there, aged 74, on 27 Feb. 1936.

Ahrens’s descendants believe that their relative has been overlooked by the Canadian art establishment. His impulsiveness and tendency to speak before thinking – especially his attack on MacDonald and his associates – dogged him throughout his life. He was viewed as an outsider, an assessment that has continued and affected his collectability. In the early 21st century Carl Ahrens’s work remains underappreciated.

Nancy Silcox

A list of public collections holding Carl Henry Ahrens’s work, as well as much additional information about his life and art, may be found at the website of Kim Bullock of Dallas, Tex., a great-granddaughter of the artist, at “Carl Ahrens: painter of trees”: carlahrens.com (consulted 27 Jan. 2022). Ahrens’s article for Saturday Night appears in the issue of 6 Oct. 1894: 7, and E. P. Johnson’s story in the Christmas no. for 1899: 15–18.

Art Gallery of Ont., E. P. Taylor Research Library and Arch. (Toronto), Frederick S. Challener coll., Carl H. Ahrens file. LAC, “Diaries of William Lyon Mackenzie King,” 20 Oct., 10 Nov. 1922; 14 Nov. 1935: www.bac-lac.gc.ca/eng/discover/politics-government/prime-ministers/william-lyon-mackenzie-king/Pages/diaries-william-lyon-mackenzie-king.aspx (consulted 5 Sept. 2018); MG26-J1, vol.213, pp.183429–31 (Madonna Ahrens to W. L. M. King, 22 Oct. 1935). Toronto Daily Star, 16 March 1916: 1; 29 Feb. 1936: 6, 22. Kim Bullock, “Rediscovering Carl Ahrens: the painter,” Waterloo Hist. Soc., Annual report (Kitchener, Ont.), 94 (2006): 58–89. National Gallery of Can., Canadian art, ed. C. C. Hill et al. (2v., Ottawa, 1988–94), 1. [M. E. [Niles] Ahrens], “Carl Ahrens: his life and work by his wife” (typescript, n.p., n.d.; copy in the TRL). Edwina Spencer, “Carl Ahrens and his work,” Brush and Pencil (Chicago and New York), 14 (April–December 1904): 16–23. J. C. Watson, Carl Ahrens as printmaker: a catalogue raisonné (exhibition catalogue, Kitchener-Waterloo Art Gallery, [Kitchener], 1984).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Nancy Silcox, “AHRENS (von Ahrens), CARL HENRY (baptized Carl Heinrich) (Charles Henry),” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed July 2, 2022, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/ahrens_carl_henry_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:


Permalink:   http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/ahrens_carl_henry_16E.html
Author of Article:   Nancy Silcox
Title of Article:   AHRENS (von Ahrens), CARL HENRY (baptized Carl Heinrich) (Charles Henry)
Publication Name:   Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher:   University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication:   2022
Year of revision:   2022
Access Date:   July 2, 2022

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies modifiées

Biographie du jour

CAVEN, WILLIAM – Volume XIII (1901-1910)

décédé le 1er décembre 1904 à Toronto

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Titre original :  Carl Ahrens as a young artist in Toronto in the 1890s. 
Image courtesy of Kim Bullock, great-grandchild of Carl and Madonna Ahrens.

Provenance : Lien

Ahrens (von Ahrens), Carl Henry (baptisé Carl Heinrich ; on trouve aussi Charles Henry dans des documents paroissiaux), artiste, né le 15 février 1862 à Winfield, Haut-Canada, fils de Herman Frederick Ahrens (von Ahrens) et d’Isabella Penelope Laird, arrière-petit-fils de Friedrich Gaukel* ; le 25 août 1886, il épousa à Toronto Emily Marion Carroll (1861–1929), et ils eurent deux fils et une fille ; le mariage aboutit à une séparation ; le 10 octobre 1906, il épousa civilement à San Francisco Martha Elizabeth Niles (1882–1976), et ils eurent un fils et trois filles, dont l’aînée mourut en bas âge ; le couple se maria religieusement le 14 février 1907 dans la même ville ou à Corte Madera, Californie ; décédé le 27 février 1936 à Toronto et inhumé au cimetière Park Lawn, canton d’Etobicoke (Toronto).

Carl Henry Ahrens vécut une enfance peu conventionnelle. Né dans une famille qui embrassait la théologie d’Emanuel Swedenborg, il fut principalement élevé par son père, à Berlin (Kitchener, en Ontario), après la séparation de ses parents. Petit garçon, il contracta la tuberculose. La maladie s’installa dans sa hanche, affecta sa mobilité de façon permanente et le condamna à une vie de douleur chronique débilitante. Fragile, le jeune Carl Henry conserva toutefois sa nature exubérante et acquit une réputation de farceur dans sa communauté. Il quitta l’école à 16 ans, puis s’établit un an plus tard à Winnipeg pour travailler dans une firme d’avocats. Mal adapté au rythme tranquille, il partit à l’aventure dans des régions qui deviendraient le nord de l’Alberta, et dans l’ouest des États-Unis. Au cours des années suivantes, il immortaliserait son périple en peinture.

À son retour à Berlin en 1881, Ahrens essaya plusieurs métiers, dont celui de teinturier dans une manufacture de boutons dirigée par un oncle. Sa deuxième femme dirait qu’il avait ainsi appris les principes fondamentaux de la couleur. Il travailla ensuite comme apprenti dentiste chez un autre oncle. Non dûment qualifié pour pratiquer cette profession en Ontario, il partit l’exercer dans le Nebraska. Pendant un long séjour chez lui en 1886, il rencontra puis épousa Emily Marion Carroll, de Toronto, qui partageait ses croyances swedenborgiennes, et retourna aux États-Unis avec elle. Il commença alors à s’intéresser à l’art. Accompagné d’Emily Marion et de leur jeune fils, il s’installa à Toronto à la fin de 1887 et loua un petit atelier. De nature sociale, il y recevait d’autres artistes, tels Lucius Richard O’Brien* et Frederic Marlett Bell-Smith*. En apprenant de ces peintres expérimentés, il perfectionna sa technique et son talent naissants. Des acteurs et des écrivains, notamment la poète et récitaliste mohawk Emily Pauline Johnson*, fréquentaient aussi sa demeure. Le Toronto Daily Star dresserait ce portrait du jeune homme : « Doté d’une grande tignasse noire et d’un regard sombre pénétrant, il s’exprimait avec une candeur inhabituelle. Il avait le sens de l’humour et s’indignait pour un rien. Il était, par conséquent, d’excellente compagnie. Il était aussi travailleur et talentueux. »

Dans les premiers tableaux d’Ahrens, à l’aquarelle et à l’huile, figurent un éventail de sujets : des tipis autochtones, des scènes de moisson, des scènes aquatiques et des paysages panoramiques. Les ciels pastel et les crépuscules sombres et mystérieux y révèlent l’influence du romantisme européen. Ahrens, sans formation officielle, manifestait néanmoins un potentiel très prometteur et la présentation de ses œuvres attirait l’attention. En 1889, il exposa à l’Ontario Society of Artists, à laquelle il adhéra l’année suivante. Deux ans plus tard, on l’élit membre associé de l’Académie royale des arts du Canada.

Ahrens acquit ses premières connaissances formelles en 1892. Cette année-là, il se rendit à New York pour étudier auprès de William Merritt Chase, membre de la Hudson River School, et du sculpteur Frank Edwin Elwell. Les toiles datées de cette période montrent l’effet de l’impressionnisme de Chase sur le jeune artiste. Ahrens rencontra aussi le paysagiste George Inness, confrère swedenborgien qui devint son mentor. Inness admirait son travail, mais estimait que sa formation traditionnelle masquait son talent brut. Il le persuada de retourner au Canada et de peindre en exploitant ses dons innés. Ahrens suivit ses conseils. De retour à Toronto en 1896, il se retira des associations d’artistes professionnels auxquelles il appartenait, et se mit à développer un style qu’un rédacteur de Brush and Pencil qualifierait d’« amalgame qui lui [était] entièrement propre ». À cette époque, il commença à travailler pour des magazines, dont le Saturday Night, dans lequel il illustra un certain nombre d’articles, dont le sien, « Song of the rapids », en 1894, et la nouvelle d’Emily Pauline Johnson intitulée As it was in the beginning, en 1899.

Ahrens avait toujours soif d’aventure. À compter de 1896, sa famille et lui vécurent aux États-Unis de façon intermittente. En 1900, alors établis à Lambton Mills (Toronto), ils partirent s’installer à East Aurora, dans l’État de New York. Ahrens, à l’invitation de l’homme d’affaires Elbert Green Hubbard, avait intégré la communauté d’artisans de Roycroft à titre de potier. À une époque où ce métier fleurissait dans le comté de Waterloo, des membres de sa famille l’y avaient initié dans sa jeunesse. Il reste toutefois peu de traces des céramiques qu’il y réalisa. Ahrens ne demeura pas longtemps à Roycroft, en partie à cause d’une querelle avec Hubbard sur des questions de normes artistiques. De plus, vers la fin de la trentaine, il s’était épris de l’artiste et chanteuse adolescente Martha Elizabeth Niles, qu’il appelait Madonna. Leur liaison causa un énorme scandale. À un certain moment, Madonna quitta Roycroft pour New York. En 1905, quand Ahrens jugea ses fils assez vieux pour aider financièrement leur mère, il abandonna sa famille et la rejoignit.

Le travail se faisait rare pour les artistes sans clientèle régulière. Les perspectives d’Ahrens s’améliorèrent néanmoins quand l’auteur George Wharton James lui confia le mandat de peindre de vieilles missions espagnoles en Californie. Madonna et lui se rendirent dans ces lieux éloignés en chariot couvert. Dans ses mémoires sur son mari, Madonna se souviendrait de l’humeur de Carl Henry à cette époque : « Pour lui, ce n’était pas du travail [...] Ça ne lui a jamais traversé l’esprit que ses revenus étaient à peine suffisants pour soutenir notre style de vie modeste. » Ils se marièrent en 1906, un mois avant la naissance de leur premier enfant. La même année, selon Frederick Sproston Challener*, Emily Marion Ahrens se rendit à Toronto et lui dit, ainsi qu’à d’autres, qu’elle ne poursuivrait pas son mari en justice pour bigamie, « contente d’en être débarrassée ». Puisque Challener ne consigna pas la date exacte de la visite d’Emily Marion, la légitimité de l’accusation de bigamie demeure incertaine. Une erreur de sa part reste possible, car il déclara également qu’Ahrens revint au Canada en 1906, plutôt qu’en 1907, en réalité. En rentrant au pays sans avoir régularisé sa situation matrimoniale, Ahrens aurait couru des risques ; on n’a cependant jamais retrouvé de documents de divorce.

Ahrens s’établit avec sa nouvelle femme et son jeune fils dans le village de Meadowvale (Mississauga) avant de s’installer à Toronto en 1908. En mauvaise santé, il peignait peu. Un deuxième mentor, le barrister et officier de milice Malcolm Smith Mercer*, lui vint en aide en lui offrant d’acheter tous ses tableaux pendant les trois prochaines années. Libéré des contraintes financières, Ahrens fut très productif. La plupart des historiens d’art estiment que la collection Mercer, composée de 31 toiles, constitue son œuvre la plus réussie techniquement. Les peintures, exposées à la Toronto Public Reference Library en 1911, reçurent de bonnes critiques. Des Européens offrirent jusqu’à 100 000 $ à Mercer pour les acquérir, mais ce dernier refusa et accepta plutôt une invitation à présenter la collection en Belgique. Pour la première fois, un gouvernement européen demandait ainsi à un artiste canadien de monter une exposition. Or, la Première Guerre mondiale éclata et la manifestation n’eut jamais lieu.

La mort de Mercer durant la guerre mit un terme à l’aisance financière d’Ahrens. En 1920, l’artiste s’installa avec les siens à Woodstock, dans l’État de New York, où il continua de peindre et enseigna la technique du paysage dans la colonie artistique locale. L’année suivante, les Ahrens s’établirent dans une communauté semblable, à Rockport, au Massachusetts. Quelque temps avant 1922, le peintre éprouva de nouveau des ennuis de santé. Il retourna avec sa famille à Toronto, sans le sou. Le premier ministre William Lyon Mackenzie King*, dont le père avait plusieurs années auparavant connu Ahrens à Berlin, exerça des pressions pour l’acquisition de quelques-uns de ses tableaux par la Galerie nationale du Canada. Dans son journal, au sujet d’une conversation avec Ahrens sur deux peintures en particulier, King nota : « Il les avait gardées avec la foi que la nation les achèterait. J’ai décidé que nous le ferons. » Les critiques verbales d’Ahrens contre le milieu artistique canadien avaient toutefois piqué la colère de plusieurs, dont celle de sir Byron Edmund Walker*, président du conseil d’administration de la Galerie nationale du Canada. En 1916, Ahrens avait en effet publiquement déprécié les dernières œuvres de certains de ses contemporains en affirmant qu’elles montraient « un manque absolu de maîtrise du dessin, de la couleur et de la forme ». Tout le monde savait qu’il visait les peintures de James Edward Hervey MacDonald et d’autres futurs membres du groupe des Sept. L’indignation de Walker ne s’estompa pas avec le temps. King menaça de renvoyer Walker et nomma trois nouvelles personnes au conseil pour vaincre l’opposition. À la suite de ces interventions, la Galerie nationale du Canada acheta, en 1923, au prix de 1 500 $, l’unique peinture d’Ahrens de sa collection : l’huile The road, créée en 1922.

Grâce à cette rentrée d’argent inespérée, Ahrens acquit une vieille maison de ferme près de Galt (Cambridge). Nommée Big Trees par son nouveau propriétaire, celle-ci s’élevait au milieu d’un paysage boisé où Ahrens puisa l’inspiration de bon nombre de ses œuvres aux couleurs les plus agréables. Exécutés avec assurance dans un arc-en-ciel de teintes, ces tableaux lui valurent le surnom d’« artiste des arbres ». Son ami, le critique Hector Willoughby Charlesworth*, le qualifia de « poète du pinceau par excellence ». L’huile exceptionnelle Woodland ford, achevée en 1928, représente Ahrens à son meilleur : audacieux et libre de toute contrainte. Il la présenta à l’Exposition nationale canadienne cette année-là. À Big Trees, Ahrens se mit aussi à la gravure, en utilisant une presse fabriquée à partir d’une vieille essoreuse et de matériel dentaire, et enseignait à des étudiants, dont Grant Kenneth Macdonald*.

Après deux expositions réussies, en 1933 et 1935, Ahrens partit en Angleterre avec sa femme, dans l’espoir d’y vendre ses œuvres. L’artiste subit toutefois une série d’accidents vasculaires cérébraux. Le couple rentra à la maison. La pauvreté et la maladie dominèrent les dernières années de l’artiste. Quand Madonna n’arriva plus à prendre soin de lui, elle écrivit à King pour obtenir de l’aide. Le premier ministre se tourna vers le docteur James Albert Faulkner, alors ministre de la Santé en Ontario. En novembre 1935, il nota dans son journal à ce propos : « Je [...] lui ai parlé de l’état de Carl Ahrens. J’ai dit que j’espérais que l’on puisse le placer dans l’un des établissements provinciaux. » L’artiste ayant aussi souffert de troubles mentaux, on l’admit au Toronto Psychiatric Hospital. Il y mourut le 27 février 1936, à l’âge de 74 ans.

Les descendants de Carl Henry Ahrens considèrent que les autorités artistiques canadiennes accordèrent peu d’importance à l’œuvre de l’artiste. L’impulsivité du peintre et sa tendance à se prononcer sans réfléchir – et particulièrement son attaque contre MacDonald et ses confrères – lui nuisirent toute sa vie. On le percevait comme un marginal, et ce sentiment se perpétue au détriment de la valeur de son art auprès des collectionneurs. Au début du xxie siècle, l’œuvre d’Ahrens demeure sous-estimée.

Nancy Silcox

Une liste des collections publiques possédant des œuvres de Carl Henry Ahrens ainsi que quantité de renseignements supplémentaires sur sa vie et son art sont accessibles sur le site Web de Kim Bullock, de Dallas, au Texas, arrière-petite-fille de l’artiste, à : « Carl Ahrens : painter of trees » : www.carlahrens.com (consulté le 27 janv. 2022). L’article d’Ahrens pour la revue Saturday Night figure dans le numéro du 6 oct. 1894 : 7, et l’histoire d’E. P. Johnson a paru dans l’édition de Noël de 1899 : 15–18.

Art Gallery of Ontario, E. P. Taylor Research Library and Arch. (Toronto), Frederick S. Challener coll., Carl H. Ahrens file.— BAC, « Journal personnel de William Lyon Mackenzie King », 20 oct., 10 nov. 1922 ; 14 nov. 1935 : www.bac-lac.gc.ca/fra/decouvrez/politique-gouvernement/premier-ministres/william-lyon-mackenzie-king/Pages/journal-mackenzie-king.aspx (consulté le 5 sept. 2018) ; MG26-J1, vol. 213, pp.183429–183431 (Madonna Ahrens à W. L. M. King, 22 oct. 1935).— Toronto Daily Star, 16 mars 1916 : 1 ; 29 fév. 1936 : 6, 22.— Kim Bullock, « Rediscovering Carl Ahrens : the painter », Waterloo Hist. Soc., Annual report (Kitchener, Ontario), 94 (2006) : 58–89.— Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, Art canadien, C. C. Hill et al., édit. (2 vol., Ottawa, 1988–1994), 1.— [M. E. [Niles] Ahrens], « Carl Ahrens : his life and work by his wife » (tapuscrit, s.l.n.d. ; exemplaire à la TRL).— Edwina Spencer, « Carl Ahrens and his work », Brush and Pencil (Chicago et New York), 14 (avril–décembre 1904) : 16–23.— J. C. Watson, Carl Ahrens as printmaker : a catalogue raisonné (catalogue d’exposition, Kitchener-Waterloo Art Gallery, [Kitchener], 1984).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Nancy Silcox, « AHRENS (von Ahrens), CARL HENRY (baptisé Carl Heinrich) (Charles Henry) », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 1 déc. 2022, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/ahrens_carl_henry_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique


Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/ahrens_carl_henry_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:    Nancy Silcox
Titre de l'article:    AHRENS (von Ahrens), CARL HENRY (baptisé Carl Heinrich) (Charles Henry)
Titre de la publication:    Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:    Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:    2022
Année de la révision:    2022
Date de consultation:    1 décembre 2022