DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Minor Corrections

Biography of the Day

GRIER, ROSE JANE ELIZABETH – Volume XIV (1911-1920)

d. unmarried 28 Oct. 1920 in Toronto

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

VERON DE GRANDMESNIL, ÉTIENNE (he usually signed Grandmesnil and sometimes Grandmesnil fils), clerk in the king’s warehouse at Trois-Rivières, clerk and secretary to the founder of Detroit, merchant, and receiver of the admiral of France; b. 19 Dec. 1679 at Trois-Rivières, son of Étienne Veron* de Grandmesnil and Marie-Thérèse Moral de Saint-Quentin; d. 22 April 1743 at Quebec.

Étienne Veron de Grandmesnil spent his childhood and youth at Trois-Rivières. During the mid 1690s, he appears to have been working there as a clerk in the king’s warehouse. On 28 Sept. 1705 he and Étienne de Véniard* de Bourgmond were commissioned by the Compagnie de la Colonie to take an inventory of the holdings at Fort Pontchartrain (Detroit) to establish the basis on which Lamothe Cadillac [Laumet*], who was scheduled to assume full control of the fort the following year, would repay the company for its initial investment. The next day the notary Florent de La Cetière* drew up a hiring contract between Grandmesnil and Cadillac. Grandmesnil added the word “fils” (son) to his signature, perhaps to distinguish himself from his father, who had the same name. The father and son would nevertheless be mistaken for one another in several sources. Grandmesnil and Bourgmond went to Fort Pontchartrain late in the fall of 1705. As Cadillac’s clerk and secretary, Grandmesnil wrote the concession documents by which Cadillac granted property both in and outside the fort to its inhabitants from 1707 to 1709. He also wrote a few documents regarding property sales that would be consulted during Cadillac’s appeal after his return to France to regain property he had been forced to leave behind when he was appointed governor of Louisiana in 1710. On 26 July 1709 Cadillac had signed a document at the fort granting Grandmesnil power of attorney and naming him his agent for all business matters.

One day earlier Grandmesnil had been recorded on a baptismal record as the father of a girl named Thérèse, baptized Marie-Thérèse, born on 24 July at Fort Pontchartrain to Marie Lepage, the only woman granted property by Cadillac inside the fort. Grandmesnil did not sign the baptismal record or marry Lepage, but Thérèse nevertheless appears to have been accepted by his family, since two of his sisters would be witnesses to her wedding in Trois-Rivières on 22 April 1748. Thérèse’s husband, Pierre Baby, was in fact the son of Jacques Baby and Madeleine Veron de Grandmesnil, sister of Grandmesnil fils. Pierre was thus the first cousin of Thérèse. Her parents are not mentioned on the marriage record, however, and a dispensation for consanguinity was never sought or granted.

Grandmesnil had left Fort Pontchartrain sometime after Thérèse’s birth in 1709, arriving on 6 September in Montreal, where he would live until 1715. There, on 28 May 1713, he married Marie-Catherine Lepicard. Only one of their children would survive to adulthood: daughter Catherine, who would marry Joseph Fleury* Deschambault in 1738.

In 1715 Grandmesnil went to Quebec and set himself up as a merchant in Rue Notre-Dame in Lower Town. Because few documents survive concerning his activities as a merchant, it is difficult to state exactly what his business was. He is better known to us as a litigant, and a litigant who did not give up easily. Through his marriage, Grandmesnil had become brother-in-law to the notary Jacques Barbel*, husband of Marie-Anne Lepicard; she and Marie-Catherine were daughters of the merchant Jean Lepicard. At his death in 1714 Jean left a property that was rented to the merchant Gabriel Greysac. As he was thinking of moving to Quebec, Grandmesnil obtained from the Conseil Supérieur an order for Greysac to move out. This was the prelude to a long dispute that was not settled until 1721. That same year a new quarrel broke out between Grandmesnil and his young brother-in-law, Joseph Lepicard. Both men claimed the part of the house that the other occupied. In 1725 an ordinance allowed Grandmesnil to have first choice, on the condition that he pay the other the sum of 117 livres. There was also a disagreement over a neighbouring piece of land belonging to Joseph, on which he was building. Grandmesnil disputed the boundaries of this piece of land, had arbitrators appointed, and attended to having it all surveyed and measured.

In 1730 Grandmesnil had an ordinance issued by Gilles Hocquart* concerning the collection of the former governor of Louisiana’s assets. This was one of the last times that Grandmesnil intervened on Cadillac’s behalf, since the latter died that same year.

During his last years Grandmesnil held the office of receiver of the admiral of France. A document dated 1740 describes him in this capacity when he collected the fees owed to the admiral of France for the oil and bone from a whale cast up on the sandbanks at Manicouaguen. After his death he was replaced in this office by Denis Goguet*.

Roland-J. Auger and Suzanne Boivin Sommerville

Jug. et délib., VI, 856. Recensement de Québec, 1716 (Beaudet), 39. P.-G. Roy, Inv. coll. pièces jud. et not., I, 76, 122; II, 313, 315, 324, 328, 330; Inv. jug. et délib., 1717–1760, I, 84–85, 97, 110–17, 126, 132, 257–62, 284, 297; Inv. ord. int., II, 60, 255, 291; III, 39. J.-E. Roy, Histoire du notariat, I, 194, 370. Tanguay, Dictionnaire.

Revisions based on:
A folder of documents from Fort Pontchartrain (Detroit), held at the Bibliothèque et Arch. Nationales du Québec, Centre d’arch. de Québec (CN301-S286), has been mistakenly attributed to Étienne Veron de Grandmesnil, père (father) (1649–1721), rather than Étienne Veron de Grandmesnil, fils (son) (1679–1743). Suzanne Boivin Sommerville’s comparison of their distinct signatures in various acts and documents from New France allowed her to correctly link the folder of documents to the son, as well as to trace both his and his father’s movements. The sources and methodology she used for the revision of this biography are outlined in her series of articles titled “Marie Lepage and Étienne Véron Grandmesnil: rush to judgment? An example of misinterpreted evidence,” Michigan’s Habitant Heritage (Detroit), 22 (2001), nos.1–3: 25–33, 72–80, 114–22. In 2020 a revision of these articles with digital images added was posted on the website of the French-Canadian Heritage Soc. of Mich.: https://habitantheritage.org/cpage.php?pt=15 (consulted 5 Feb. 2020).

Bibliothèque et Arch. Nationales du Québec, Centre d’arch. de la Mauricie et du Centre-du-Québec (Trois-Rivières, Québec), C401-S48, 19 déc. 1679, 22 avril 1748; Centre d’arch. de Montréal, CE601-S51, 28 mai 1713; Centre d’arch. de Québec, CE301-S1, 22 avril 1743.

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Roland-J. Auger and Suzanne Boivin Sommerville, “VERON DE GRANDMESNIL, ÉTIENNE (Grandmesnil, Grandmesnil fils),” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 3, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed October 28, 2020, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/veron_de_grandmesnil_etienne_1679_1743_3E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:


Permalink:   http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/veron_de_grandmesnil_etienne_1679_1743_3E.html
Author of Article:   Roland-J. Auger and Suzanne Boivin Sommerville
Title of Article:   VERON DE GRANDMESNIL, ÉTIENNE (Grandmesnil, Grandmesnil fils)
Publication Name:   Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 3
Publisher:   University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication:   1974
Year of revision:   2020
Access Date:   October 28, 2020

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies modifiées

Biographie du jour

OGIMAUH-BINAESSIH – Volume VI (1821-1835)

décédé le 30 septembre 1828 à la mission de la rivière Crédit (Mississauga, Ontario)

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

VERON DE GRANDMESNIL, ÉTIENNE (il signait habituellement Grandmesnil et parfois Grandmesnil fils), commis au magasin du roi à Trois-Rivières, greffier et secrétaire du fondateur de Detroit, marchand et receveur de l’amiral de France, né le 19 décembre 1679 à Trois-Rivières, fils d’Étienne Veron* de Grandmesnil et de Marie-Thérèse Moral de Saint-Quentin ; décédé le 22 avril 1743 à Québec.

Étienne Veron de Grandmesnil passa son enfance et sa jeunesse à Trois-Rivières, où, au milieu des années 1690, il travailla apparemment comme commis au magasin du roi. Le 28 septembre 1705, la Compagnie de la Colonie le chargea, avec Étienne de Véniard* de Bourgmond, d’inventorier les stocks au fort Pontchartrain (Detroit), afin de dresser la liste sur laquelle se baserait Lamothe Cadillac [Laumet*], qui devait prendre le commandement du fort l’année suivante, pour rembourser la compagnie de ses investissements initiaux. Le lendemain, le notaire Florent de La Cetière* établit un contrat d’embauche entre Grandmesnil et Cadillac. Grandmesnil ajouta le mot « fils » à sa signature, peut-être pour se différencier de son père homonyme. On les confondrait néanmoins dans plusieurs sources. Grandmesnil et Bourgmond allèrent au fort Pontchartrain à la fin de l’automne de 1705. De 1707 à 1709, Grandmesnil, en sa qualité de greffier et de secrétaire de Cadillac, écrivit les actes de concession par lesquels ce dernier attribuerait des propriétés aux habitants, tant à l’intérieur qu’à l’extérieur du fort. Il rédigea aussi quelques documents concernant des ventes de propriétés ; ceux-ci s’avéreraient utiles pendant la procédure de recouvrement que Cadillac, à son retour en France, entamerait afin de récupérer des biens qu’il devrait abandonner en 1710 à sa nomination comme gouverneur de la Louisiane. Le 26 juillet 1709, Cadillac signa, au fort, un document qui conférait à Grandmesnil les titres de procureur et de représentant de toutes ses affaires commerciales.

Dans un acte de baptême rédigé la veille, Grandmesnil figure à titre de père d’une enfant prénommée Thérèse, baptisée Marie-Thérèse, née le 24 juillet au fort Pontchartrain et fille de Marie Lepage, seule femme que Cadillac avait pourvue d’une propriété à l’intérieur du fort. Même si Grandmesnil ne signa pas l’acte et n’épousa pas Marie Lepage, sa famille semble avoir accepté Thérèse : en effet, deux de ses sœurs servirent de témoins au mariage de celle-ci à Trois-Rivières, le 22 avril 1748. Le mari de Thérèse, Pierre Baby, était en fait le fils de Jacques Baby et de Madeleine Veron de Grandmesnil, sœur de Grandmesnil fils. Pierre et Thérèse étaient donc cousins germains. On ne nomme cependant pas les parents de cette dernière dans l’acte de mariage, et personne ne demanda ni n’accorda de dispense de consanguinité.

Grandmesnil avait quitté le fort Pontchartrain quelque temps après la naissance de Thérèse, en 1709. Il arriva le 6 septembre à Montréal, où il vivrait jusqu’en 1715. Le 28 mai 1713, il y épousa Marie-Catherine Lepicard. Parmi leurs enfants, seule Catherine atteindrait l’âge adulte ; elle se marierait avec Joseph Fleury* Deschambault en 1738.

En 1715, Grandmesnil gagna Québec et s’installa comme marchand, rue Notre-Dame à la basse ville. Puisque subsistent peu de documents sur les activités de Veron à titre de marchand, il est difficile de préciser en quoi consistait son commerce. Il nous est mieux connu comme plaideur, et un plaideur qui n’abandonnait pas facilement la partie. Par son mariage, Grandmesnil était devenu le beau-frère du notaire Jacques Barbel*, époux de Marie-Anne Lepicard ; cette dernière et Marie-Catherine étaient filles du marchand Jean Lepicard. À son décès en 1714, celui-ci laissait une propriété louée au marchand Gabriel Greysac. Songeant à déménager à Québec, Grandmesnil obtint du Conseil supérieur que Greysac quittât les lieux. Ce fut là le prélude d’une longue querelle qui ne se régla qu’en 1721. Cette même année, une nouvelle querelle débutait entre Grandmesnil et son jeune beau-frère Joseph Lepicard. Les deux hommes contestaient réciproquement le côté de maison que l’autre occupait. En 1725, une ordonnance permettait à Grandmesnil d’avoir le premier choix à condition de payer à l’autre la somme de 117#. Il y avait également mésentente au sujet d’un terrain voisin, propriété de Joseph Lepicard, sur lequel ce dernier se construisait. Grandmesnil en contesta les bornes, fit nommer des arbitres et s’occupa de faire arpenter et mesurer le tout.

En 1730, Grandmesnil fit émettre une ordonnance par Hocquart* concernant le recouvrement des effets de l’ancien gouverneur de la Louisiane. Ce fut l’une des dernières interventions de Grandmesnil en faveur de Cadillac puisque ce dernier mourut au cours de la même année.

Durant les dernières années de sa vie, Grandmesnil exerça la fonction de receveur de l’amiral de France. Un document daté de 1740 le montre dans l’exercice de cette tâche alors qu’il perçoit les droits dus à l’amiral de France sur l’huile et les fanons prélevés d’une baleine échouée sur les battures de Manicouaguen. Après sa mort, il fut remplacé par Denis Goguet* à ce poste.

Roland-J. Auger et Suzanne Boivin Sommerville

Jug. et délib., VI : 856.— Recensement de Québec, 1716, (Beaudet), 39.— P.-G. Roy, Inv. coll. pièces jud. et not., I : 76, 122 ; II : 313, 315, 324, 328, 330 ; Inv. jug. et délib., 1717–1760, I : 84s., 97, 110–117, 126, 132, 257–262, 284, 297 ; Inv. ord. int., II : 60, 255, 291 ; III : 39.— J.-E. Roy, Histoire du notariat, I : 194, 370.— Tanguay, Dictionnaire.

Bibliographie de la version modifiée :
Bibliothèque et Arch. nationales du Québec, Centre d’arch. de Québec, possède un dossier de documents du fort Pontchartrain (Detroit) (CN301-S286), qu’on a attribués à tort à Étienne Veron de Grandmesnil père (1649–1721), plutôt qu’à Étienne Veron de Grandmesnil fils (1679–1743). En comparant leurs signatures dans divers actes et documents de la Nouvelle-France, Suzanne Boivin Sommerville a pu associer ce dossier au fils, et suivre les déplacements du père et du fils. Elle présente ses sources et sa méthodologie pour la présente révision dans « Marie Lepage and Étienne Véron Grandmesnil : rush to judgment ? An example of misinterpreted evidence », série d’articles parus dans Michigan’s Habitant Heritage (Detroit), 22 (2001), nos 1–3 : 25–33, 72–80, 114–122. En 2020, le site Web de la French-Canadian Heritage Soc. of Mich. a mis en ligne une version révisée de ces articles et y a ajouté des photos numérisées : habitantheritage.org/cpage.php?pt=15 (consulté le 5 févr. 2020).

Bibliothèque et Arch. nationales du Québec, Centre d’arch. de la Mauricie et du Centre-du-Québec (Trois-Rivières, Québec), CE401-S48, 19 déc. 1679 ; Centre d’arch. de Montréal, CE601-S51, 28 mai 1713 ; Centre d’arch. de Québec, CE301-S1, 22 avril 1743.

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Roland-J. Auger et Suzanne Boivin Sommerville, « VERON DE GRANDMESNIL, ÉTIENNE (Grandmesnil, Grandmesnil fils) », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 3, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 30 sept. 2020, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/veron_de_grandmesnil_etienne_1679_1743_3F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique


Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/veron_de_grandmesnil_etienne_1679_1743_3F.html
Auteur de l'article:    Roland-J. Auger et Suzanne Boivin Sommerville
Titre de l'article:    VERON DE GRANDMESNIL, ÉTIENNE (Grandmesnil, Grandmesnil fils)
Titre de la publication:    Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 3
Éditeur:    Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:    1974
Année de la révision:    2020
Date de consultation:    30 septembre 2020