DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Minor Corrections

Biography of the Day

GRIER, ROSE JANE ELIZABETH – Volume XIV (1911-1920)

d. unmarried 28 Oct. 1920 in Toronto

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Original title:  Robert Menzies Mitchell. From Who's Who in Canada, Volume 16, 1922.

Source: Link

MITCHELL, ROBERT MENZIES, teacher, physician, office holder, politician, and asylum superintendent; b. 28 Oct. 1865 in Port Union (Toronto), Upper Canada, son of James Mitchell and Elizabeth Rodgers (Rodger, Roger, Rogers, Royce); m. 17 July 1892 Margaret (Margret) McKinnon in Badjeros, Ont., and they had two sons; d. 6 Feb. 1932 in Weyburn, Sask.

The son of Scottish immigrants who took up farming in Port Union, Robert Mitchell attended public schools in Orangeville and graduated in 1886 with a teacher’s certificate. After working as a teacher for three years, he studied medicine at Trinity Medical School in Toronto, earning his md and cm (master of surgery) in 1892. That year he married Margaret McKinnon, also of Scottish ancestry, and they moved to Dundalk, where Robert began his career as a physician and the couple had their two sons, Robert Chester and Donald James.

In 1899 the Mitchells migrated west to the District of Saskatchewan in the North-West Territories. The family first stopped at the settlement of Indian Head, where Robert took the examination that allowed him to practise medicine in the region. They then settled in the almost uninhabited locality of Weyburn, southeast of Moose Jaw, where he opened an office and drugstore. For a time Mitchell was the only physician in the roughly 170 miles between Moose Jaw and North Portal, a village on the American border, and the only one on the section of the “Soo” rail line that ran between Moose Jaw and Minot, N.Dak. In 1901–2 he served as the Canadian Pacific Railway’s quarantine inspector for this route.

By 1902 other physicians had moved into the area and Mitchell no longer had quite as heavy a workload, but his practice in Weyburn continued to flourish and he earned himself a sterling reputation. Along with his brother John Alexander McCall, who had also made the trek westward, Mitchell encouraged people to settle permanently in the region. He became very active in the community, chairing the local public-school board for ten years and then the high-school board for five. In 1904 and 1907 he was elected mayor of the town of Weyburn, which would become a city in 1913.

Mitchell retired from his medical practice in 1907 and devoted his full attention to politics in the newly created province of Saskatchewan. The next year he was elected as a Liberal to the Legislative Assembly for Weyburn. He would represent the riding for 11 years, serving mostly as a backbencher in the governments of Thomas Walter Scott and William Melville Martin*. Mitchell chaired the standing committee on private bills and railways for six of those years and was deputy speaker of the assembly in 1916. He was well respected across party lines and popular with his fellow mlas, and in 1917 they made him speaker, a position he held for two years. Like many Canadian families, Mitchell’s was touched directly by World War I: Robert enlisted in October 1914 and served with the 28th Infantry Battalion, while Donald was conscripted, following the passage of the Military Service Act by Sir Robert Laird Borden’s Unionist government, less than a month before hostilities ceased.

In 1919 Saskatchewan’s second mental hospital, designed for up to 900 patients and 120 staff, was under construction in Weyburn, and the Martin government chose Mitchell as its first superintendent. Upon receiving this appointment, he resigned his seat, having served in the legislature longer than all but four other sitting mlas, including George Langley and William Ferdinand Alphonse Turgeon*. Because he possessed only an md and cm, Mitchell needed further training in psychiatry. To begin this education he took up a residency at Saskatchewan’s first mental hospital, located in North Battleford, to study the treatments used by its superintendent, Dr James Walter MacNeill*. The Weyburn hospital opened on 20 Dec. 1921, and by 1 May the following year it held 607 patients, most of whom had been transferred from North Battleford. To treat them, Mitchell relied on then-standard “work and water” methods of occupational therapy and hydrotherapy, which included hot and cold baths.

Mitchell worked energetically as superintendent for ten years. He was primarily interested in efficient hospital administration, about which he corresponded frequently and over a long period with Dr Charles Arthur Baragar of the Brandon asylum in Manitoba. Mitchell did not, however, care to discuss mental-health matters. He repeatedly declined invitations from Dr MacNeill to attend conferences, and when letters arrived at Weyburn seeking his medical advice or asking questions about mental health, Mitchell had them answered by the assistant superintendent. When asked to speak to the Weyburn Rotary Club in 1923, Mitchell chose to give a talk on hospital administration rather than a subject relating directly to his patients. In the late 1920s Dr Clarence Meredith Hincks* did a survey of Canadian mental hospitals, and while he noted 14 “points of excellency” at the Weyburn facility, mostly relating to its appearance, he also found 54 “points of defect,” among them overcrowding and staff shortages.

After the Liberal government of James Garfield Gardiner* was defeated in June 1929, Mitchell resigned and returned to his private medical practice. Eight months later he was summoned to court for having allegedly embezzled over $900 from Weyburn’s X-ray department. Because it had the most advanced X-ray equipment in the area, regional doctors sent patients there and directly paid the hospital for the service. Mitchell, who had taken the collected money once a month and deposited it in a trust at a local bank, was charged with corruption and theft. He was found innocent, but by October 1930 the Conservative government of James Thomas Milton Anderson* had levelled new charges against him. This time he was accused of maladministration, specifically patient abuse and politically biased hiring practices (there was some evidence to support the latter allegation), as well as interfering with police affairs. After a lengthy cross-examination by lawyer John George Diefenbaker*, Mitchell was again exonerated. The two trials had nevertheless taken their toll; less than two years later Margaret found her husband dead in his office at the age of 66. The cause was reported as heart failure.

Although he was beset by legal difficulties late in his life, Robert Mitchell never tired of helping his adopted western community, and he was willing to provide leadership in a variety of occupations. Whether he was acting as a physician, educational activist, politician, or hospital superintendent, it is clear that Mitchell dedicated much of his life to building up Weyburn and the surrounding region.

Blaine Wickham

PAS, S-PH.3 (Dept. of Public Health), A.1(a), Corr. of Superintendent R. M. Mitchell with McNab, Minister of Public Works, 1923–26; A.10, Corr. of Superintendent R. M. Mitchell with Superintendent Baragar, Brandon Mental Hospital, 1921–23. Leader-Post (Regina), 8 Feb. 1932. Morning Leader (Regina), 16, 25, 26 March 1919, 1, 26 March 1930. Saskatoon Star-Phoenix, 16, 17 Oct. 1930. Weyburn Rev. (Weyburn, Sask.), 7 Nov. 1923. John Hawkes, The story of Saskatchewan and its people (3v., Regina, 1924), 2. Under the dome: the life and times of Saskatchewan Hospital, Weyburn (Weyburn, 1986).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Blaine Wickham, “MITCHELL, ROBERT MENZIES,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed October 28, 2020, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/mitchell_robert_menzies_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:


Permalink:   http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/mitchell_robert_menzies_16E.html
Author of Article:   Blaine Wickham
Title of Article:   MITCHELL, ROBERT MENZIES
Publication Name:   Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher:   University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication:   2020
Year of revision:   2020
Access Date:   October 28, 2020

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies modifiées

Biographie du jour

GRIER, ROSE JANE ELIZABETH – Volume XIV (1911-1920)

décédée célibataire le 28 octobre 1920 à Toronto

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Titre original :  Robert Menzies Mitchell. From Who's Who in Canada, Volume 16, 1922.

Provenance : Lien

MITCHELL, ROBERT MENZIES, enseignant, médecin, fonctionnaire, homme politique et surintendant d’hôpital psychiatrique, né le 28 octobre 1865 à Port Union (Toronto), fils de James Mitchell et d’Elizabeth Rodgers (Rodger, Roger, Rogers, Royce) ; le 17 juillet 1892, il épousa à Badjeros, Ontario, Margaret (Margret) McKinnon, et ils eurent deux fils ; décédé le 6 février 1932 à Weyburn, Saskatchewan.

Fils d’immigrants écossais venus cultiver la terre à Port Union, Robert Menzies Mitchell fréquenta des écoles publiques d’Orangeville et reçut un brevet d’enseignement en 1886. Après avoir enseigné durant trois ans, il étudia la médecine à la Trinity Medical School de Toronto, où il obtint en 1892 son doctorat en médecine et sa maîtrise en chirurgie. La même année, il épousa Margaret McKinnon, aussi d’origine écossaise, avec qui il s’installa à Dundalk, où Robert Menzies commença sa carrière de médecin et où naquirent les deux fils du couple, Robert Chester et Donald James.

En 1899, les Mitchell migrèrent à l’ouest vers le district de Saskatchewan, dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Ils s’arrêtèrent d’abord à Indian Head, où Robert Menzies passa les examens requis pour exercer la médecine dans la région. Ils s’installèrent ensuite dans la localité presque inhabitée de Weyburn, au sud-est de Moose Jaw, où Mitchell ouvrit un cabinet et une pharmacie. Pendant un certain temps, il fut le seul médecin à offrir ses services sur les quelque 170 milles qui séparaient Moose Jaw de North Portal, village à la frontière des États-Unis, et le seul le long de la ligne ferroviaire Soo reliant Moose Jaw à Minot, dans le Dakota du Nord. Pour ce parcours, il fut, en 1901–1902, l’inspecteur de la quarantaine de la Compagnie du chemin de fer canadien du Pacifique.

En 1902, d’autres médecins s’étaient établis dans la région et la charge de travail de Mitchell avait diminué ; son cabinet à Weyburn, qui possédait une solide réputation, continua néanmoins de prospérer. Avec son frère John Alexander McCall, qui avait lui aussi pris la route de l’Ouest, Robert Menzies encourageait les gens à s’installer définitivement dans la région. Très actif dans sa communauté, il présida les conseils de l’école publique locale et de l’école secondaire, respectivement durant dix et cinq ans. En 1904 et 1907, on l’élut maire de Weyburn, qui deviendrait une ville en 1913.

Mitchell cessa de pratiquer la médecine en 1907 pour se consacrer exclusivement à la politique dans la province de la Saskatchewan nouvellement créée. Candidat libéral, il fut élu l’année suivante à l’Assemblée législative pour la circonscription de Weyburn, qu’il représenterait pendant 11 ans, principalement comme député d’arrière-ban dans les gouvernements de Thomas Walter Scott et de William Melville Martin*. Durant six de ces années, Mitchell présida le comité des bills privés et des chemins de fer, et fut vice-président de l’Assemblée en 1916. Il jouissait d’un respect et d’une popularité qui transcendaient les allégeances politiques : en 1917, ses collègues le nommèrent président, fonction qu’il occupa deux ans. Comme de nombreuses familles canadiennes, celle de Mitchell subit directement les conséquences de la Première Guerre mondiale : Robert Chester s’enrôla en octobre 1914 et servit dans le 28e bataillon d’infanterie, et Donald James fut conscrit après la promulgation de la Loi concernant le service militaire par le gouvernement d’union de sir Robert Laird Borden, moins d’un mois avant la fin des hostilités.

En 1919, le deuxième hôpital psychiatrique de la Saskatchewan, conçu pour accueillir jusqu’à 900 patients et 120 employés, était en chantier à Weyburn ; le gouvernement Martin choisit Mitchell pour en devenir le premier surintendant. Lorsqu’il reçut sa nomination, ce dernier démissionna de son poste de député à l’Assemblée législative, qu’il avait occupé plus longtemps que tous ses confrères en fonction, sauf quatre (dont George Langley et William Ferdinand Alphonse Turgeon*). Mitchell, qui ne détenait qu’un doctorat en médecine et une maîtrise en chirurgie, dut suivre une formation complémentaire en psychiatrie. Il commença par un internat au premier hôpital psychiatrique de la Saskatchewan, à North Battleford, pour étudier les traitements qu’employait le docteur James Walter MacNeill*, surintendant de l’établissement. L’hôpital de Weyburn ouvrit ses portes le 20 décembre 1921. Le 1er mai suivant, il comptait 607 patients, la plupart transférés de North Battleford. Pour les soigner, Mitchell s’appuya sur les méthodes « travail et eau », courantes à l’époque, de l’ergothérapie et de l’hydrothérapie, qui comprenait des bains chauds et froids.

Mitchell travailla énergiquement à titre de surintendant pendant dix ans. Il s’intéressa principalement à l’efficacité de l’administration des hôpitaux, et correspondit souvent et longtemps sur ce sujet avec le docteur Charles Arthur Baragar de l’asile de Brandon, au Manitoba. Mitchell ne se souciait cependant pas d’aborder les questions de santé mentale. Il refusa maintes fois les invitations du docteur MacNeill à des conférences, et quand arrivaient à Weyburn des lettres où l’on sollicitait son avis médical ou posait des questions sur la santé mentale, Mitchell chargeait le surintendant adjoint d’y répondre. Lorsqu’on lui demanda de parler devant le Weyburn Rotary Club, en 1923, il choisit de donner une causerie sur l’administration hospitalière plutôt que sur un sujet directement lié à ses patients. À la fin des années 1920, le docteur Clarence Meredith Hincks* mena une enquête sur les hôpitaux psychiatriques canadiens. Il accorda 14 « points d’excellence » à l’établissement de Weyburn, principalement en raison de son apparence, mais il recensa aussi 54 « points de défaut », notamment le surpeuplement et la pénurie de personnel.

Après la défaite du gouvernement libéral de James Garfield Gardiner*, en juin 1929, Mitchell démissionna et retourna à la pratique de la médecine en cabinet privé. Huit mois plus tard, un tribunal le somma de comparaître pour avoir prétendument détourné plus de 900 $ du service de radiologie de Weyburn. Comme l’hôpital disposait des équipements de radiologie les plus perfectionnés de la région, les médecins des environs y envoyaient des patients et payaient directement l’établissement pour ce service. Mitchell, qui avait pris une fois par mois l’argent amassé pour le déposer dans un compte en fiducie dans une banque locale, fut poursuivi pour corruption et vol ; on le reconnut innocent. En octobre 1930, le gouvernement conservateur de James Thomas Milton Anderson* avait cependant déjà porté de nouvelles accusations contre lui. Cette fois, on l’inculpa de mauvaise administration, plus précisément d’abus commis sur des patients, de pratiques d’embauche politiquement orientées (avec quelques preuves à l’appui) et d’entrave au travail des policiers. Après un long contre-interrogatoire par l’avocat John George Diefenbaker*, on le disculpa de nouveau. Ces deux procès l’avaient toutefois lourdement éprouvé. Moins de deux ans plus tard, Margaret trouva son mari mort dans son bureau, à l’âge de 66 ans. On attribua son décès à une insuffisance cardiaque.

Bien que miné par des problèmes judiciaires durant les dernières années de sa vie, Robert Menzies Mitchell ne se lassa jamais de servir sa communauté d’adoption de l’ouest du Canada et eut la volonté de jouer un rôle de chef de file dans ses divers postes. Que ce soit comme médecin, homme politique, surintendant d’hôpital ou activiste dans le domaine de l’éducation, Mitchell consacra manifestement une grande partie de sa vie au développement de Weyburn et de ses environs.

Blaine Wickham

PAS, S-PH.3 (Dept. of Public Health), A.1(a), Corr. of Superintendent R. M. Mitchell with McNab, Minister of Public Works, 1923–1926 ; A.10, Corr. of Superintendent R. M. Mitchell with Superintendent Baragar, Brandon Mental Hospital, 1921–1923.— Leader-Post (Regina), 8 févr. 1932.— Morning Leader (Regina), 16, 25–26 mars 1919 ; 1er, 26 mars 1930.— Saskatoon Star-Phoenix, 16–17 oct. 1930.— Weyburn Rev. (Weyburn, Saskatchewan), 7 nov. 1923.— John Hawkes, The story of Saskatchewan and its people (3 vol., Regina, 1924), 2.— Under the dome : the life and times of Saskatchewan Hospital, Weyburn (Weyburn, 1986).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Blaine Wickham, « MITCHELL, ROBERT MENZIES », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 28 oct. 2020, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/mitchell_robert_menzies_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique


Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/mitchell_robert_menzies_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:    Blaine Wickham
Titre de l'article:    MITCHELL, ROBERT MENZIES
Titre de la publication:    Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:    Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:    2020
Année de la révision:    2020
Date de consultation:    28 octobre 2020