DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Minor Corrections

Biography of the Day

SHARP, FRANCIS PEABODY – Volume XIII (1901-1910)

d. 12 Dec. 1903 in Woodstock, N.B.

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

MILLER, JOHN, farmer, livestock breeder and importer, and politician; b. 12 May 1817 in Cummertrees, Scotland, son of William Miller and Helen Farrish; m. first 8 March 1848 Margaret Whiteside (1823–66) of Pickering Township, Upper Canada, and they had four sons and four daughters; m. secondly 19 Feb. 1868 Elizabeth Boyer (Byer) (1838–1926) in Pickering Township, Ont., and they had three sons and one daughter; d. 29 Aug. 1904 on his farm near Brougham (Pickering), Ont.

John Miller attended school in both Cummertrees and Dalton parishes and was employed as a land surveyor before emigrating to Upper Canada in 1835. He stayed in Markham Township with his uncle George Miller, for whom he had brought out Leicester sheep and pure-bred swine. Although he had originally intended to work in Canada as a surveyor, he gravitated to farming. As early as 1836 he exhibited Shorthorn cattle, presenting an American bull at the provincial show in Toronto that year. Many generations of his family would be involved in the buying and selling of imported livestock.

His parents arrived from Scotland in 1839 and the following year they bought Atha farm in Pickering Township. William Miller had farmed in Scotland and bred Clydesdale horses there. A friend of Thomas Carlyle and a great reader, he had brought many books with him to Canada. John lived with his parents until 1848, when he acquired the title to nearby Thistle Ha’ farm – so named because of the abundance of weeds – and moved there in March with his bride. In 1855 he began the construction of a spacious stone house (declared a Province of Ontario heritage property in 1977 and a national historic site of Canada in 1979). The dwelling was enlarged in 1875 and ultimately it contained a ballroom. Originally 165 acres, by 1889 Miller’s farm comprised 660. At the time of his death he owned 1,200 acres.

In 1852 his uncle and his father had made their first purchase of stock in Scotland by correspondence. John Miller established the nucleus of his Shorthorn herd – by the 1990s, when it was dispersed, the family claimed that it was the oldest continuing Shorthorn breeding herd in the world – with stock imported from Kentucky that year by his father. In 1854 Miller himself brought in both Clydesdales and Shorthorns. An astute marketer, he understood the value of showing his cattle (and was to win many prizes for them). He would go to considerable effort to promote his stock, taking animals to the Provincial Exhibition in London in 1854, for example, a feat that required travel by steamer to Hamilton and thence by rail to London. Throughout the 1860s Miller was one of the most aggressive breeders, importers, exhibitors, and marketers of livestock in North America. In the early years he relied for his importations on his younger brother William Jr, who had returned to Scotland for educational reasons and who was therefore able to examine and choose stock. In the 1860s John Miller’s activities attracted the interest of future senator Matthew Henry Cochrane of Quebec. It was through him that Cochrane became focused on Shorthorns in 1866. Miller’s importing escalated over the years in spite of the hazards and expense of transatlantic travel. While Clydesdales and sheep (Leicesters at first and then Cotswolds as well, mainly from 1860 to 1880, followed by Shropshires after 1880) played a role in all the Millers’ affairs, Shorthorn cattle were the linchpin of the family operations. Until the 1920s Shorthorns would constitute the foundation of all livestock-importing concerns in Ontario.

Miller first went to Scotland to buy animals in 1869. (He would make the trip six times.) By the 1870s, however, much of his business was being run by his eldest son, William M., and his third, Robert* (his second, James, had become a lawyer). A fourth son, John, would eventually join his brothers in John Miller and Sons. John Miller Sr recorded the firm’s livestock dealings in a meticulous hand, keeping track of the family’s income and expenses. In his earlier years he had favoured the tall English Shorthorns of the sort previously developed by such stockbreeders as Thomas Bates since they were the most marketable, but by the late 1870s the family’s focus had shifted to Scottish cattle, a shorter, stouter type then becoming popular. The Millers acquired Shorthorns from such significant Scottish breeders as Sylvester Campbell, Amos Cruickshank, William Duthie, and William Smith Marr. Frequently associated in these purchases was their neighbour James Ironside Davidson, to whose family they were related by marriage. William M. Miller was the chief importer-buyer for John Miller and Sons until his premature death in 1886, after which Robert took over. Major sales were held at Thistle Ha’, with Americans travelling even from the west coast to purchase livestock from the Miller firm.

John Miller was elected to the municipal council of Pickering Township in 1867, and served on the township and county councils almost continuously from 1867 until 1890. Deputy reeve of the township for six of those years, reeve for nine, and warden of Ontario County in 1876, he was an auditor of the county’s criminal-justice accounts throughout much of the 1880s. A member of the Dominion Short-horn Breeders’ Association, Miller was also a long-serving president of the township and county agricultural societies. He had appeared in 1880 as a witness before the Ontario agricultural commission [see John McMillan]. In 1883 he stood as a Conservative for Ontario South in the provincial election, opposing fellow farmer and breeder John Dryden, but was defeated in this strongly Liberal riding. Four years later he ran against James David Edgar* in the federal constituency of Ontario West and lost a second time. In 1902 he was chosen president of the St Andrew’s Society for Whitby and Pickering. In religion he was a Presbyterian, at his death the oldest member of St John’s Church in Brougham.

He was active to the end, having “wanted to wear out not rust out,” as he had told his daughter Agnes. In 1904 he died of apoplexy and arteriosclerosis while sitting in a chair in a cornfield near his house. His portrait, part of the art collection assembled by Chicago’s Saddle and Sirloin Club, now hangs in the Kentucky Exposition Center in Louisville.

Margaret E. Derry

AO, F 1232 (Miller family fonds); RG 80-8-0-295, no.20827; RG 80-27-1, 12: 4; RG 80-27-2, 47: 30. Univ. of Guelph Library, Arch. and Special Coll. (Ont.), XA1 MS A139001–12 (MillerDavidson family coll.). Pickering News (Pickering, Ont.), 5 Sept. 1904. Stouffeville Tribune (Stouffeville, Ont.), 20 June 1935. Geo[rge] Buckland, “A few days with the Messrs. Miller,” Canada Farmer (Toronto), 4 (1867): 280–81 (letter to editor). M. [E.] Derry, Ontario’s cattle kingdom: purebred breeders and their world, 1870–1920 (Toronto and Buffalo, N.Y., 2001). Farming (Toronto), 14 (September 1896–August 1897): 21. [J. W.] G. MacEwan, Highlights of Shorthorn history ([Guelph], 1982). D. [McL.] Marshall, Shorthorn cattle in Canada ([Toronto], 1932). Ont., Legislature, Sessional papers, 1882–83, no.3, app.B (The herds and flocks of Ontario): 93–117; Sessional papers, 1905, no.24 (report of the live stock registrar, 1904). Ont. agricultural commission, Report of the commissioners (4v., Toronto, 1881), 4: 18–24. A. H. Sanders, Red, white, and roan … (Chicago, 1936); Short-horn cattle … (Chicago, 1900). “Thistle Ha’: a national historic farm”: www.thistleha.com (consulted 26 Jan. 2017).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Margaret E. Derry, “MILLER, JOHN,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 13, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed December 12, 2019, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/miller_john_13E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/miller_john_13E.html
Author of Article: Margaret E. Derry
Title of Article: MILLER, JOHN
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 13
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2019
Year of revision: 2019
Access Date: December 12, 2019

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

BENOÎT, PIERRE – Volume IV (1771-1800)

décédé le 20 mai 1786 dans la paroisse de Queensbury, comté d’York, Nouveau-Brunswick

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

MILLER, JOHN, fermier, éleveur et importateur de bétail, et homme politique, né le 12 mai 1817 à Cummertrees, Écosse, fils de William Miller et de Helen Farrish ; le 8 mars 1848, il épousa Margaret Whiteside (1823−1866) du canton de Pickering, Haut-Canada, et ils eurent quatre fils et quatre filles, puis, le 19 février 1868, dans le canton de Pickering, Ontario, Elizabeth Boyer (Byer) (1838–1926), et ils eurent trois fils et une fille ; décédé le 29 août 1904 dans sa ferme près de Brougham (Pickering).

John Miller fréquenta l’école dans les paroisses de Cummertrees et de Dalton, et fut engagé comme arpenteur avant d’émigrer dans le Haut-Canada en 1835. Il demeura dans le canton de Markham avec son oncle, George Miller, à qui il avait amené des moutons leicesters et des porcs de race. Même s’il avait d’abord eu l’intention de travailler au Canada comme arpenteur, il fut attiré par l’agriculture. En 1836, il exposait déjà des bovins shorthorns ; cette année-là, il présenta notamment un taureau américain à la foire provinciale à Toronto. De nombreuses générations de sa famille s’occuperaient d’achat et de vente de bétail importé.

Les parents de John Miller arrivèrent d’Écosse en 1839 et, l’année suivante, devinrent propriétaires de la ferme Atha dans le canton de Pickering. William Miller avait été agriculteur et éleveur de chevaux clydesdales en Écosse. Ami de Thomas Carlyle et lecteur assidu, il avait apporté beaucoup de livres au Canada. John vécut avec ses parents jusqu’en 1848, année où il acquit le titre d’une ferme située non loin de là, Thistle Ha’ – nommée ainsi en raison de l’abondance de mauvaises herbes –, et s’y installa en mars avec sa femme. En 1855, il amorça la construction d’une spacieuse maison en pierre (inscrite au patrimoine de l’Ontario en 1977 et déclarée site historique national du Canada en 1979). La demeure fut agrandie en 1875 et abrita ultérieurement une salle de bal. D’une superficie de 165 acres au début, la ferme de Miller en comptait 660 en 1889. À sa mort, Miller possédait 1 200 acres de terre.

En 1852, l’oncle et le père de John Miller avaient effectué par correspondance leur premier achat de bétail en Écosse. John établit le noyau de son cheptel de shorthorns avec des animaux importés du Kentucky par son père cette année-là. Dans les années 1990, quand le troupeau serait dispersé, la famille alléguerait qu’il était le plus ancien du monde à n’avoir connu aucune interruption. En 1854, Miller lui-même importa des clydesdales et des shorthorns. Commerçant astucieux, il comprit l’importance d’exposer ses bestiaux, qui remporteraient de nombreux prix. Il était prêt à déployer des efforts considérables pour promouvoir ses animaux ; il les présenta, par exemple, à la Provincial Exhibition à London en 1854, opération qui nécessita un voyage en bateau à vapeur jusqu’à Hamilton, puis en chemin de fer pour atteindre London. Tout au long des années 1860, Miller fut l’un des éleveurs, importateurs, exposants et commerçants de bétail les plus dynamiques en Amérique du Nord. Les premières années, il compta, pour ses importations, sur l’aide de son frère cadet, William fils, retourné en Écosse pour poursuivre ses études et donc capable d’examiner et de choisir les animaux. Au cours des années 1860 également, les activités de John Miller suscitèrent l’intérêt du futur sénateur Matthew Henry Cochrane, originaire du Bas-Canada, qui se concentra sur les shorthorns en 1866 par l’entremise de Miller. Les importations de ce dernier augmentèrent considérablement au fil des ans, malgré les dépenses et les dangers inhérents à la traversée de l’Atlantique. Même si les clydesdales et les moutons (d’abord des leicesters, auxquels s’ajoutèrent des cotswolds de 1860 à 1880, suivis par des shropshires après 1880) jouaient un rôle dans les affaires des Miller, les bovins shorthorns demeuraient le pivot des opérations familiales. Jusque dans les années 1920, les shorthorns constitueraient la pierre d’assise de toutes les activités d’importation de bétail en Ontario.

Miller se rendit pour la première fois en Écosse pour acheter des animaux en 1869. (Il effectuerait ce voyage six fois.) Dès les années 1870, cependant, une grande partie de son entreprise était gérée par son premier et son troisième fils, William M. et Robert* (son deuxième, James, était devenu avocat). Le quatrième fils, John, se joindrait ultérieurement à ses frères au sein de la société John Miller and Sons. John Miller père tenait minutieusement un registre des transactions de la firme, pour suivre les revenus et les dépenses de la famille. Auparavant, il avait privilégié les shorthorns anglais de grande taille, exploités antérieurement par des éleveurs comme Thomas Bates parce qu’ils représentaient une meilleure valeur sur le marché. Vers la fin des années 1870, l’intérêt de la famille passa toutefois aux bovins écossais, de plus petite taille et plus robustes, qui gagnaient alors en popularité. Les Miller achetèrent des shorthorns de grands éleveurs écossais tels que Sylvester Campbell, Amos Cruickshank, William Duthie et William Smith Marr. Leur voisin, James Ironside Davidson, s’associait souvent à ces achats. Les deux familles étaient apparentées par alliance. William M. Miller fut importateur-acheteur en chef pour la John Miller and Sons jusqu’à son décès prématuré, en 1886, puis Robert lui succéda. Les ventes importantes se déroulaient à Thistle Ha’, et les Américains venaient d’aussi loin que la côte ouest pour acheter du bétail de la société des Miller.

John Miller fut élu au conseil municipal du canton de Pickering en 1867 et siégea aux conseils du canton et du comté de façon presque continue de 1867 à 1890. Vice-président du conseil de canton pendant six ans, président pendant neuf ans et préfet du comté d’Ontario en 1876, il fut vérificateur des livres de compte au criminel pendant une bonne partie des années 1880. Membre de la Dominion Short-horn Breeders’ Association, Miller fut aussi pendant longtemps président des sociétés agricoles du canton et du comté. En 1880, il avait témoigné devant l’Ontario agricultural commission [V. John McMillan]. En 1883, il se présenta pour le Parti conservateur dans Ontario South aux élections provinciales, contre son collègue fermier et éleveur John Dryden, mais fut défait dans cette circonscription d’allégeance fortement libérale. Quatre ans plus tard, il se porta candidat contre James David Edgar* dans la circonscription fédérale d’Ontario West et perdit de nouveau. En 1902, il fut choisi comme président de la St Andrew’s Society pour Whitby et Pickering. En matière de religion, il était presbytérien et, à sa mort, le plus ancien membre de l’église St John de Brougham.

John Miller fut actif jusqu’à la fin, ayant « voulu s’user sans rouiller », comme il l’avait confié à sa fille Agnes. En 1904, il mourut d’une crise d’apoplexie et d’artériosclérose, assis sur une chaise dans un champ de maïs près de sa maison. Son portrait, élément de la collection de tableaux rassemblée par le Saddle and Sirloin Club de Chicago, se trouve aujourd’hui dans le Kentucky Exposition Center de Louisville.

Margaret E. Derry

AO, F 1232 (Miller family fonds) ; RG 80-8-0-295, no 20827 ; RG 80-27-1, 12 : 4 ; RG 80-27-2, 47 : 30.— Univ. of Guelph Library, Arch. and Special Coll. (Ontario), XA1 MS A139001–12 (Miller-Davidson family coll.).— Pickering News (Pickering, Ontario), 5 sept. 1904.— Stouffeville Tribune (Stouffeville, Ontario), 20 juin 1935.— Geo[rge] Buckland, « A few days with the Messrs. Miller », Canada Farmer (Toronto), 4 (1867) : 280–281 (lettre à l’éditeur).— M. [E.] Derry, Ontario’s cattle kingdom : purebred breeders and their world, 1870–1920 (Toronto et Buffalo, N.Y., 2001).— Farming (Toronto), 14 (septembre 1896–août 1897) : 21.— [J. W.] G. MacEwan, Highlights of Shorthorn history ([Guelph], 1982).— D. [McL.] Marshall, Shorthorn cattle in Canada ([Toronto], 1932).— Ontario, Legislature, Sessional papers, 1882–1883, no 3, app. B (The herds and flocks of Ontario) : 93–117 ; Sessional papers, 1905, no 24 (rapport du responsable de l’enregistrement du bétail, 1904).— Ontario agricultural commission, Report of the commissioners (4 vol., Toronto, 1881), 4 : 18–24.— A. H. Sanders, Red, white, and roan […] (Chicago, 1936) ; Short-horn cattle […] (Chicago, 1900).— « Thistle Ha’ : a national historic farm » : www.thistleha.com (consulté le 26 janv. 2017).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Margaret E. Derry, « MILLER, JOHN », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 13, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 20 mai 2019, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/miller_john_13F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/miller_john_13F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Margaret E. Derry
Titre de l'article:   MILLER, JOHN
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 13
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2019
Année de la révision:   2019
Date de consultation:   20 mai 2019