DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

EN:UNDEF:public_sidebar_bio_of_the_day_caption

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Original title:  MP Samuel William Jacobs · South Asian Canadian Heritage

Source: Link

Jacobs, Samuel William, lawyer, author, philanthropist, and politician; b. 6 May 1871 in Lancaster (South Glengarry), Ont., son of William Jacobs, a horse-dealer, and Hannah Aronson; m. 23 April 1917 Amy Stein in Baltimore, Md, and they had four children; d. 21 Aug. 1938 in Montreal and was buried there two days later at Shaar Hashomayim synagogue.

Samuel William Jacobs was descended from a Jewish family that had emigrated from Russia at the beginning of the 1860s. The family took up residence in Ontario and in 1882 settled in Montreal. Jacobs embarked on his secondary education at the High School of Montreal in 1886 and then from 1890 to 1893 attended the faculty of law at McGill University, where he obtained his bcl. The following year he enrolled in law at the Université Laval in Montreal to improve his knowledge of French and he was awarded an llb in 1895. Jacobs was called to the bar of the province of Quebec in September 1894 and would be named kc in 1908. During the course of a legal career, pursued in Montreal, he formed partnerships with a number of colleagues, including Léon Garneau, Alexander Rives Hall, Gui-Casimir Papineau-Couture, and Louis Fitch. At the close of his professional life his partners would be Lazarus Phillips*, Lionel A. Sperber, Louis Mortimer Bloomfield, and Hyman Carl Goldenberg. In 1903 Jacobs published an annotated edition of the Code of Civil Procedure of the province of Quebec with his associate Garneau. His outstanding work, however, remains a voluminous monograph entitled The railway law of Canada (Montreal, 1909), which examines a body of legislation that was going through significant development at the turn of the century.

Jacobs had a diverse practice that encompassed civil, commercial, public, and criminal law. As one of the first lawyers to come from the Jewish community, he was frequently called upon to represent his co-religionists. Over the years he took part in famous trials in which he defended, in particular, the rights of minorities. His colleagues elected him treasurer of the Montreal bar for the year 1916–17.

At the beginning of the 20th century the growth of the Jewish population presented the problem of integrating its children into Quebec’s denominational school system. Indeed, the system, being divided into two networks, one Roman Catholic and the other Protestant, hardly facilitated the integration of Jews. The latent difficulty erupted publicly when the Protestant Board of School Commissioners of the City of Montreal refused a scholarship to Jacob Pinsler, whose Jewish father owned no property and consequently paid no school taxes. In charge of the case, Jacobs sued to compel the school board to award young Pinsler the scholarship. The claim was rejected by Quebec’s Superior Court in 1903. Amédée Robitaille, a Liberal mla and the provincial secretary, introduced legislation, enacted the same year, which resulted in a guarantee that Jewish pupils would be accorded the same rights and treatment as Protestants. This initiative was far from being the end of the matter: the issue of Jewish schools would persist for many years.

Jacobs was also connected with the case of the notary Jacques-Édouard Plamondon*. In 1910 the latter had given a talk of an anti-Semitic nature in Quebec City that was subsequently disseminated in pamphlet form by the printer René Leduc. The Jewish community took the matter seriously. Louis Lazarovitz, president of the Congregation Bais Israel, and Benjamin Ortenberg, a merchant, sued the speaker and the printer for damages for defamatory libel. Jacobs, one of the three Montreal lawyers representing Lazarovitz, was the lead counsel in the case. He even looked after finding funds for the trial within the Montreal Jewish community. At the end of the hearing in May 1913, he delivered his oral argument for the plaintiffs. At the outset he maintained that the case was not a simple conflict of opinion between a Catholic and a Jew: it was a matter of law and, for this reason, must be resolved in the legal realm. Jacobs refuted Plamondon’s statements and cast doubt on the credibility of the defence witnesses. He made certain to remind the court that as early as 1832 the province of Lower Canada had recognized that Jews have the same rights as other citizens, which was the first such acknowledgement in the entire British empire. He called this law the Magna Carta of Canada’s Jews. The plaintiffs’ case was dismissed at trial, but they won on appeal in December 1914.

Jacobs also represented Annie Langstaff [Macdonald*], the first woman to earn a law degree in Quebec, in her fight to join the bar. Langstaff was a court stenographer attached to his own practice, and completed her legal studies at McGill University in 1914. Like her colleagues she wanted to take the bar exams without delay. The board of examiners for the bar refused her application. The case was then referred to the civil courts for a ruling. Jacobs represented Langstaff, and in January 1915 asked Quebec’s Superior Court to compel the bar to let her sit the exams. Her case was dismissed in first instance and the lawyer took it to appeal, but he was again unsuccessful in winning over the majority of the court, which turned down the appeal in November. In February 1916 mla Lucien Cannon took the initiative of introducing a bill that would amend the statute governing the bar so as to allow the admission of women. The bill was studied by a committee of the assembly, which heard witnesses. Jacobs came forward and argued with conviction the case for women. The bill failed to garner a majority of votes.

In addition to practising law, Jacobs took an active part in the life of the Jewish community, both in Montreal and in the rest of Canada. Aware of the importance of creating greater cohesion within this group and of countering anti-Semitism, he and the businessman Lyon Cohen had founded the semi-weekly Jewish Times (Montreal) in 1897. Throughout his life he was engaged in many philanthropic organizations. With the aim of assisting Jewish immigrants to settle in Canada, he helped organize the Jewish Immigrant Aid Society of Canada, of which he would be honorary president from 1920 to 1938. He was the president of the Baron de Hirsch Institute and Hebrew Benevolent Society of Montreal from 1912 to 1914, and of the Canadian Jewish Congress from 1934 to 1938. In carrying out these responsibilities he established relationships both in Canada and abroad. With the rise of anti-Semitism, Jacobs made it a point of honour to demonstrate his indignation whenever he witnessed reprehensible behaviour towards Jews, especially following the publication of anti-Semitic articles in the press.

A highly visible leader in the Jewish community, Jacobs was also a voice for the demands it presented to the provincial government. In 1904 he persuaded Liberal mla Lomer Gouin* to use his good offices to amend the marriage-licence bill to facilitate Jewish marriages. In the legislation adopted in 1907 on the observance of Sunday as a day of rest, a dispensation was granted to Jews who observed the sabbath. In 1909, on the question of Jewish schools, Jacobs pressed for better representation of Jews in the school system.

A Liberal candidate in the federal election of December 1917, Jacobs was elected mp for the Montreal riding of George-Étienne Cartier, which included a large population of Jewish origin. Re-elected five times, he spoke for his constituents until his death. He was one of the first Jews to sit in the House of Commons, where he chaired the public-accounts committee from 1926 to 1930. He was recognized as a talented speaker. Endowed with a rare sense of humour, he was dubbed the Mark Twain of the house. Despite his popularity, he was not appointed to the cabinet, an omission that displeased the Jewish community. Regardless of his seniority, he was not invited to join the delegation that went to London to attend the 1937 coronation of King George VI, an exclusion that was seen as proof of anti-Semitism by Jacobs, the Montreal Gazette, and the city’s Jews.

In the course of his political career, Jacobs took an active part in parliamentary work. He often spoke in the house and participated in committees. Although he was a member of the opposition, shortly after he was first elected he put forward a bankruptcy bill that was taken up by the government and passed in 1919. Jacobs declared himself in favour of the equality of men and women before the law when, in 1924, mp Joseph Tweed Shaw proposed a resolution requesting the presentation of a bill that would make the grounds for divorce identical, regardless of the petitioner’s sex. Jacobs’s interest in electoral procedures led him to draw up legislative amendments. On 23 April 1931 he introduced a private members’ bill to abolish the requirement that an mp stand for re-election after being appointed to the cabinet. The bill was adopted by the government and passed by the house that year.

The stature he acquired as a parliamentarian enabled Jacobs to act frequently as a representative of his community and to defend its interests, particularly with respect to immigration. In a speech given in 1920 he identified problems that, in his opinion, needlessly complicated immigration to Canada. He also spoke out against the preference given to immigrants of Anglo-Saxon origin. He emphasized the advantage of a liberal policy, which, by favouring population growth, would help to ease the burden of Canada’s public debt. During the 1920s and 1930s, a period of restricted immigration, Jacobs, often accompanied by community leaders, interceded for his co-religionists with civil servants or ministers to obtain dispensations from rigid application of the law. In some years his efforts allowed the entry of a few thousand Jews. This concern, however, was not widely shared, especially during the economic crisis of the 1930s. Jacobs was sometimes criticized in the press by, among others, extreme right-wing papers (the Montreal weekly Le Patriote, for example). He had ties to the business world, and was on the board of directors of the Montreal Life Insurance Company, the Laurentian Insurance Company, and the Textile Company of Canada Limited.

Samuel William Jacobs had a remarkable career as a lawyer, during the course of which he won fame particularly for defending the rights of minorities. His renown made him an obvious candidate for the House of Commons. He did not, however, content himself with this personal success and strove through numerous initiatives to help his community. Such extraordinary dedication explains why he quickly became one of the great leaders of the Canadian Jewish community.

Sylvio Normand

Samuel William Jacobs is also the author of The Quebec Jewish libel case … (Montreal, 1913) and “A Canadian Bankruptcy Act – is it a necessity?,” Canadian Law Times (Toronto), 37 (1917): 604–9. The book that he wrote with Léon Garneau is titled Code of Civil Procedure of the province of Quebec: text French and English … (Toronto and Montreal, 1903). Jacobs’s birth registration, issued 15 Nov. 1917, was added to the 1871 register, and is held at the BANQ-CAM, CE601-S96.

Alex Dworkin Canadian Jewish Arch. (Montreal), P0093. BANQ-Q, TP9, S1, SS5, SSS1, dossier 940 (1914) (Ortenberg c. Plamondon) (versement 1960-01-352/157); TP11, S1, SS2, SSS1, dossier 778 (1910) (Ortenberg c. Plamondon) (versement 1960-01-053/563). LAC, R4654-0-5. Le Devoir, 22 août 1938. Gazette (Montreal), 22, 23 Aug. 1938. La Presse, 24 août 1938. Irving Abella and Harold Troper, None is too many: Canada and the Jews of Europe, 1933–1948 (Toronto, 1983). Herman Abramowitz, “Samuel William Jacobs,” American Jewish Year Book (Philadelphia), 41 (1939–40): 95–110. L.‑P. Audet, Histoire de l’enseignement au Québec (2v., Montréal et Toronto, 1971). S. [I.] Belkin, Through narrow gates: a review of Jewish immigration, colonization and immigrant aid work in Canada (1840–1940) ([Montreal, 1966]). Can., House of Commons, Debates, 1918–1938. Canadian directory of parl. (Johnson). Canadian Jewry, prominent Jews of Canada …, ed. Zvi Cohen (Toronto, [1933]). The Canadian law list (Toronto), 1913. Arlette Corcos, Montréal, les Juifs et l’école (Sillery [Québec], 1997). Bernard Figler, Sam Jacobs, member of Parliament (Samuel William Jacobs, k.c, m.p.) 1871–1938 (Ottawa, 1970). Gilles Gallichan, Les Québécoises et le barreau: l’histoire d’une difficile conquête, 1914–1941 (Sillery [Québec], 1999). J. Hamelin et al., La presse québécoise, vol.4. Histoire du catholicisme québécois, sous la dir. de Nive Voisine (2 tomes en 4 vol. parus, Montréal, 1984–    ), tome 3, vol.1 (Jean Hamelin et Nicole Gagnon, Le XXe siècle (1898–1940), 1984): 177–215. The Jew in Canada: a complete record of Canadian Jewry from the days of the French régime to the present time, comp. A. D. Hart (Toronto and Montreal, 1926). Joe King, From the ghetto to the Main: the story of the Jews of Montreal, ed. Johanne Schumann, intro. Graeme Decarie (Montreal, 2001). Jacques Langlais and David Rome, Jews & French Quebecers: two hundred years of shared history, trans. Barbara Young (Waterloo, Ont., 1991). Langstaff c. Bar of the province of Quebec (1915), Rapports judiciaires officiels de Québec, Cour supérieure (Montréal), 47: 131. Langstaff (Macdonald) c. Bar of the province of Quebec (1916), Rapports judiciaires officiels de Québec, Cour du banc du roi (Québec), 25: 11. Mario Nigro and Clare Mauro, “The Jewish immigrant experience and the practice of law in Montreal, 1830 to 1990,” McGill Law Journal (Montreal), 44 (1998–99): 999–1046. “A noble roster”: one hundred and fifty years of law at McGill, ed. I. C. Pilarczyk (Montreal, 1999). Sylvio Normand, “L’affaire Plamondon: un cas d’antisémitisme à Québec au début du XXe siècle,” Les Cahiers de droit (Québec), 48 (2007): 477–504. Ortenberg v. Plamondon (1913), Dominion Law Reports (Toronto), 14: 549. Ortenberg c. Plamondon (1915), Rapports judiciaires officiels de Québec, Cour du banc du roi (Québec), 24: 69–78, 385–88. “The Plamondon case and S. W. Jacobs”, comp. David Rome, Canadian Jewish Arch. (Montreal), nos.26–27 (1982). J.‑É. Plamondon, Le Juif: conférence donnée au Cercle Charest de l’A.C.J.C., le 30 mars 1910 (Québec, [1910?]). G.‑É. Rinfret, Histoire du barreau de Montréal (Cowansville, Québec, 1989). G. [J. J.] Tulchinsky, Taking root: the origins of the Canadian Jewish community (Toronto, 1992).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Sylvio Normand, “JACOBS, SAMUEL WILLIAM,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed November 16, 2018, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/jacobs_samuel_william_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/jacobs_samuel_william_16E.html
Author of Article: Sylvio Normand
Title of Article: JACOBS, SAMUEL WILLIAM
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2018
Year of revision: 2018
Access Date: November 16, 2018

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

LABATT, JOHN – Volume XIV (1911-1920)

né le 11 décembre 1838 dans le canton de Westminster, Haut-Canada

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Titre original :  MP Samuel William Jacobs · South Asian Canadian Heritage

Provenance : Lien

Jacobs, Samuel William, avocat, auteur, philanthrope et homme politique, né le 6 mai 1871 à Lancaster (South Glengarry, Ontario), fils de William Jacobs, marchand de chevaux, et de Hannah Aronson ; le 23 avril 1917, il épousa à Baltimore, Maryland, Amy Stein, et ils eurent quatre enfants ; décédé le 21 août 1938 à Montréal et inhumé le 23 à la synagogue Shaar Hashomayim, dans la même ville.

Samuel William Jacobs descend d’une famille juive, émigrée de Russie au début des années 1860. Installée en Ontario, cette dernière s’établit à Montréal en 1882. Jacobs entreprend ses études secondaires à la High School of Montreal en 1886, puis fréquente la faculté de droit de la McGill University de 1890 à 1893, où il obtient une licence en droit civil. L’année suivante, il s’inscrit en droit à l’université Laval à Montréal dans le but d’améliorer sa connaissance du français ; l’établissement lui délivrera un baccalauréat en droit en 1895. Jacobs devient membre du Barreau de la province de Québec en septembre 1894 et conseiller du roi en 1908. Tout au long de sa carrière d’avocat, qu’il mènera à Montréal, il s’associera à plusieurs confrères, dont Léon Garneau, Alexander Rives Hall, Gui-Casimir Papineau-Couture et Louis Fitch. À la fin de sa vie professionnelle, ses partenaires seront Lazarus Phillips*, Lionel A. Sperber, Louis Mortimer Bloomfield et Hyman Carl Goldenberg. Jacobs publie, en 1903, une édition annotée du code de procédure civile de la province de Québec avec son associé Garneau. Son œuvre marquante demeure cependant une monographie intitulée The railway law of Canada, parue en 1909 à Montréal. Cet ouvrage volumineux présente un droit en plein développement au tournant du siècle.

La pratique professionnelle de Jacobs est diversifiée. Elle couvre à la fois le droit civil, le droit commercial, le droit public et le droit criminel. À titre d’un des premiers avocats issus de la communauté juive, Jacobs est fréquemment appelé à représenter ses coreligionnaires. Durant sa carrière, il prend part à des procès célèbres, où il défend notamment les droits des minorités. Ses confrères l’éliront trésorier du barreau de Montréal pour l’année 1916–1917.

Au début du xxe siècle, l’accroissement de la population d’origine juive pose le problème de l’intégration des enfants de cette communauté au système scolaire confessionnel de la province de Québec. En effet, ce système divisé en deux réseaux, l’un catholique, l’autre protestant, ne facilite guère l’insertion des Juifs. La difficulté, latente, éclate au grand jour lorsque le Bureau des commissaires des écoles protestantes de la cité de Montréal refuse une bourse d’études à Jacob Pinsler dont le père, de religion juive, n’est pas propriétaire foncier et qui, en conséquence, ne verse pas de taxes scolaires. Chargé de l’affaire, Jacobs intente alors un recours afin de forcer la commission scolaire à attribuer la bourse au jeune Pinsler. Le pourvoi est rejeté en 1903 par la Cour supérieure de la province de Québec. Amédée Robitaille, député libéral et secrétaire provincial, propose une loi, sanctionnée cette année-là, qui a pour effet d’assurer aux élèves de confession juive les mêmes droits et traitements que ceux offerts aux protestants. Loin de connaître ainsi son dénouement, la question des écoles juives se prolongera de nombreuses années.

Jacobs est aussi lié à l’affaire du notaire Jacques-Édouard Plamondon*. Celui-ci a prononcé, à Québec, en 1910, une conférence à caractère antisémite, diffusée ensuite sous forme d’une brochure par l’imprimeur René Leduc. La communauté juive prend la chose au sérieux. Louis Lazarovitz, président de la congrégation Baïs Israël, et Benjamin Ortenberg, commerçant, intentent un recours en dommages-intérêts pour libelle diffamatoire contre le conférencier et l’imprimeur. Jacobs, l’un des trois avocats montréalais à défendre Lazarovitz, est maître d’œuvre du dossier. Il veille même à trouver le financement du procès auprès de la communauté juive montréalaise. En mai 1913, au terme de l’audition, il prononce sa plaidoirie. D’entrée de jeu, il soutient que la cause n’est pas une simple opposition d’opinions entre un catholique et un Juif : elle est une affaire de droit et, pour cette raison, elle doit être résolue sur le terrain du droit. Jacobs réfute les propos tenus par Plamondon et met en doute la crédibilité des témoins de la défense. Il ne manque pas de rappeler que, dès 1832, la province du Bas-Canada reconnaissait aux Juifs des droits identiques à ceux des autres citoyens, et ce, pour la première fois dans tout l’Empire britannique. Il qualifie cette loi de Grande Charte des droits des Juifs dans le pays. Les demandeurs sont déboutés en première instance, mais obtiennent gain de cause en appel en décembre 1914.

Jacobs représente également Annie Langstaff [Macdonald*], première femme diplômée en droit au Québec, dans sa bataille pour devenir membre du barreau. Sténographe judiciaire rattachée au cabinet de Jacobs, Langstaff termine ses études de droit à la McGill University en 1914. Aussitôt, elle veut, à l’instar de ses confrères, être soumise aux examens de l’ordre professionnel. Le bureau des examinateurs du barreau refuse son admission. Les tribunaux civils sont alors saisis de la cause. Jacobs représente Annie Langstaff et, en janvier 1915, demande à la Cour supérieure de forcer le barreau à l’admettre aux examens. Débouté en première instance, l’avocat porte l’affaire en appel, mais ne réussit pas davantage à convaincre la majorité de la cour qui, en novembre, rejette le pourvoi. En février 1916, Lucien Cannon, député à l’Assemblée législative, prend l’initiative de soumettre un projet de loi afin de modifier la loi sur le barreau pour permettre l’admission des femmes à l’ordre professionnel. Le projet est étudié par un comité de l’assemblée qui entend des témoins. Jacobs s’y présente et défend avec conviction la cause des femmes. Le projet de loi ne recueille pas une majorité de voix.

En marge de sa pratique du droit, Jacobs participe activement à la vie de la communauté juive, tant montréalaise que canadienne. Conscient de l’importance de créer plus de cohésion au sein de ce groupe et de contrer l’antisémitisme, il a fondé, en 1897, avec l’homme d’affaires Lyon Cohen, un bihebdomadaire montréalais intitulé Jewish Times. Tout au long de son existence, il est présent dans de multiples organismes philanthropiques. Dans le but de faciliter l’établissement des immigrants juifs au Canada, il concourt à l’organisation de la Jewish Immigrant Aid Society of Canada, dont il sera président honoraire de 1920 à 1938. Il préside le Baron de Hirsch Institute and Hebrew Benevolent Society of Montreal de 1912 à 1914, et le Congrès juif canadien de 1934 à 1938. Grâce aux fonctions qu’il exerce dans ces associations, il noue des relations tant au Canada qu’à l’étranger. Avec la montée de l’antisémitisme, Jacobs se fait un devoir de manifester son indignation lorsqu’il est témoin de comportements répréhensibles à l’égard des Juifs, notamment à la suite de la parution d’articles à caractère antisémite dans des journaux.

Leader bien en vue de la communauté juive, Jacobs exprime également les revendications de son groupe auprès du gouvernement de la province de Québec. En 1904, il a obtenu l’intervention du député libéral Lomer Gouin*, pour que le projet de loi sur les licences de mariage soit amendé afin de faciliter les mariages juifs. Dans le projet de loi adopté en 1907 sur l’observance du dimanche comme jour de repos, une dérogation est accordée aux Juifs qui respectent le sabbat. En 1909, dans le dossier des écoles juives, Jacobs défend une meilleure représentation des Juifs dans le système scolaire.

Candidat libéral à l’élection fédérale de décembre 1917, Jacobs est élu député de la circonscription montréalaise de George-Étienne Cartier, qui comprend une forte population d’origine juive. Réélu à cinq reprises, il représentera ses électeurs jusqu’à sa mort. Il est l’un des premiers Juifs à siéger à la Chambre des communes, où il préside le comité des comptes publics de 1926 à 1930. Ses talents d’orateur sont reconnus. Doté d’un sens de l’humour peu commun, il est surnommé le Mark Twain de la Chambre. Malgré sa popularité, il n’accède toutefois pas au cabinet, ce qui n’est pas sans mécontenter la communauté juive. En dépit de son ancienneté, il n’est pas invité à se joindre à la délégation qui se rend à Londres pour assister au couronnement du roi George VI en 1937. Jacobs, la Gazette et la communauté juive de Montréal voient dans cette exclusion une preuve d’antisémitisme.

Au cours de sa carrière politique, Jacobs prend une part active aux travaux parlementaires. Il intervient souvent à la Chambre et participe aux comités. Peu après sa première élection, même s’il siégeait à titre de député de l’opposition, il a présenté un projet de loi sur la faillite qui a été repris par le gouvernement et adopté en 1919. Jacobs se prononce en faveur de l’égalité juridique des femmes et des hommes quand, en 1924, le député fédéral Joseph Tweed Shaw propose une résolution qui demande la présentation d’un projet de loi pour l’assujettissement du divorce aux mêmes causes, peu importe le sexe du demandeur. Son intérêt pour le processus électoral l’amène à formuler des modifications législatives. Le 23 avril 1931, il soumet ainsi un projet de loi privé afin d’abolir l’obligation, pour un membre de la Chambre des communes, de se faire réélire lorsqu’il accède au cabinet. Le projet de loi est repris par le gouvernement et voté par la Chambre la même année.

La stature que Jacobs acquiert comme parlementaire lui permet fréquemment d’agir à titre de représentant de sa communauté et de prendre la défense de ses intérêts, notamment sur la question de l’immigration. Dans un discours prononcé en 1920, il a défini des problèmes qui, à son avis, compliquent inutilement l’immigration au Canada. Il s’élève également contre la préférence accordée aux immigrants d’origine anglo-saxonne. Il insiste sur l’avantage d’une politique libérale qui, en favorisant l’accroissement de la population, contribuerait à alléger le fardeau de la dette publique du Canada. Durant les années 1920 et 1930, tandis que le pays restreint l’immigration, Jacobs, souvent accompagné de meneurs de la communauté, intercède en faveur de ses coreligionnaires auprès de fonctionnaires ou de ministres afin d’obtenir des dérogations à l’application rigide de la loi. Ses efforts permettent, certaines années, l’entrée de quelques milliers de Juifs. Cette préoccupation n’est cependant pas partagée par tous, surtout pendant la crise économique des années 1930. Jacobs s’attire parfois des critiques dans la presse, entre autres dans des journaux d’extrême droite (l’hebdomadaire montréalais le Patriote, par exemple). Lié au milieu des affaires, il est membre du conseil d’administration de la Montreal Life Insurance Company, de la Laurentian Insurance Company et de la Textile Company of Canada, Limited.

Samuel William Jacobs a fait une carrière remarquable à titre d’avocat, dans laquelle il s’est notamment illustré dans la défense des droits des minorités. Sa notoriété l’a naturellement désigné pour siéger à la Chambre des communes. Jacobs ne s’est toutefois pas satisfait de cette réussite personnelle et s’est efforcé, par de nombreuses initiatives, de venir en aide à sa communauté. Ce dévouement, hors de l’ordinaire, explique qu’il soit rapidement devenu un des grands leaders de la communauté juive canadienne.

Sylvio Normand

Samuel William Jacobs est aussi l’auteur de : The Quebec Jewish libel case [...] (Montréal, 1913) et « A Canadian Bankruptcy Act – is it a necessity ? », Canadian Law Times (Toronto), 37 (1917) : 604–609. L’ouvrage que Jacobs a cosigné avec Léon Garneau s’intitule Code of civil procedure of the province of Quebec : text French and English [...] (Toronto et Montréal, 1903).

L’acte d’enregistrement de la naissance de Jacobs, créé le 15 novembre 1917, a été ajouté au registre de 1871, conservé à BAnQ-CAM, CE601-S96.

Arch. juives canadiennes Alex Dworkin (Montréal), P0093.— BAC, R4654-0-5.— BAnQ-Q, TP9, S1, SS5, SSS1, dossier 940 (1914) (Ortenberg c. Plamondon) (versement 1960-01-352/157) ; TP11, S1, SS2, SSS1, dossier 778 (1910) (Ortenberg c. Plamondon) (versement 1960-01-053/563).— Le Devoir, 22 août 1938.— Gazette (Montréal), 22–23 août 1938.— La Presse, 24 août 1938.— Irving Abella et Harold Troper, None is too many : Canada and the Jews of Europe, 1933–1948 (Toronto, 1983).— Herman Abramowitz, « Samuel William Jacobs », American Jewish Year Book (Philadelphie), 41 (1939–1940) : 95–110.— L.-P. Audet, Histoire de l’enseignement au Québec (2 vol., Montréal et Toronto, 1971).— S. [I.] Belkin, Through narrow gates : a review of Jewish immigration, colonization and immigrant aid work in Canada (1840–1940) ([Montréal, 1966]).— Canada, Chambre des communes, Débats, 1918–1938.— Canadian directory of parl. (Johnson).— Canadian Jewry, prominent Jews of Canada [...], Zvi Cohen, édit. (Toronto, [1933]).— The Canadian law list (Toronto), 1913.— Arlette Corcos, Montréal, les Juifs et l’école (Sillery [Québec], 1997).— Bernard Figler, Sam Jacobs, member of Parliament (Samuel William Jacobs, K.C., M.P.) 1871–1938 (Ottawa, 1970).— Gilles Gallichan, les Québécoises et le barreau : l’histoire d’une difficile conquête, 1914–1941 (Sillery, 1999).— J. Hamelin et al., la Presse québécoise, vol. 4.— Histoire du catholicisme québécois, sous la dir. de Nive Voisine (2 tomes en 4 vol. parus, Montréal, 1984–    ), tome 3, vol. 1 (Jean Hamelin et Nicole Gagnon, le xxe siècle (1898–1940), 1984) : 177–215.— The Jew in Canada : a complete record of Canadian Jewry from the days of the French régime to the present time, A. D. Hart, compil. (Toronto et Montréal, 1926).— Joe King, les Juifs de Montréal : trois siècles de parcours exceptionnels, Pierre Anctil, trad. (Montréal et Outremont [Montréal], 2002).— Jacques Langlais et David Rome, Juifs et Québécois français : 200 ans d’histoire commune (Montréal, 1986).— Langstaff c. Bar of the province of Quebec (1915), Rapports judiciaires officiels de Québec, Cour supérieure (Montréal), 47 : 131.— Langstaff (Macdonald) c. Bar of the province of Quebec (1916), Rapports judiciaires officiels de Québec, Cour du banc du roi (Québec), 25 : 11.— Mario Nigro et Clare Mauro, « The Jewish immigrant experience and the practice of law in Montreal, 1830 to 1990 », Rev. de droit de McGill (Montréal), 44 (1998–1999) : 999–1046.— « A noble roster » : one hundred and fifty years of law at McGill, I. C. Pilarczyk, édit. (Montréal, 1999).— Sylvio Normand, « l’Affaire Plamondon : un cas d’antisémitisme à Québec au début du xxe siècle », les Cahiers de droit (Québec), 48 (2007) : 477–504.— Ortenberg c. Plamondon (1913), Dominion Law Reports (Toronto), 14 : 549.— Ortenberg c. Plamondon (1915), Rapports judiciaires officiels de Québec, Cour du banc du roi (Québec), 24 : 69–78, 385–388.— « The Plamondon case and S. W. Jacobs », David Rome, compil., Canadian Jewish Arch. (Montréal), nos 26–27 (1982).— J.-É. Plamondon, le Juif : conférence donnée au Cercle Charest de l’A.C.J.C., le 30 mars 1910 (Québec, [1910 ?]).— G.-É. Rinfret, Histoire du barreau de Montréal (Cowansville, Québec, 1989).— G. [J. J.] Tulchinsky, Taking root : the origins of the Canadian Jewish community (Toronto, 1992).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Sylvio Normand, « JACOBS, SAMUEL WILLIAM », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 11 déc. 2018, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/jacobs_samuel_william_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/jacobs_samuel_william_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Sylvio Normand
Titre de l'article:   JACOBS, SAMUEL WILLIAM
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2018
Année de la révision:   2018
Date de consultation:   11 décembre 2018