DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

MACOUN, JOHN – Volume XIV (1911-1920)

d. 18 July 1920 in Sidney, B.C.

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Original title:  Oliver Jackson. HM Dawe Collection, United Church Archives - Memorial University of Newfoundland.

Source: Link

JACKSON, OLIVER, Methodist and United Church clergyman, educator, editor, author, and social reformer; b. 18 July 1887 in Abergavenny, Wales, son of George Jackson and Melinda Lythe; m. 24 July 1918 Rosalie Noseworthy in Clarke’s Beach, Nfld, and they had three sons and one daughter; d. 3 Nov. 1937 at sea off the southwest coast of Nfld.

After acting as a Methodist lay preacher in his native Wales, Oliver Jackson volunteered in 1911 for service in Newfoundland and became a probationer of the Newfoundland Conference of the Methodist Church of Canada. He was stationed from 1911 to 1913 in Campbellton, and from 1913 to 1915 in Clarke’s Beach. At the latter post he met his future father-in-law, Frank Noseworthy, a general dealer and Methodist layman. Noseworthy represented to Jackson the ideal of a contemporary member of his church, and he likely served as a role model to the young probationer, as he had been to other aspiring ministers. Writing his obituary in December 1929, Jackson stated that his father-in-law “was not afraid of emotion but guarded against excitement” and that the anchor of his faith, his love of Jesus, had been “first ethical and then merciful.” He also admired the fact that Noseworthy’s “ethic of the gospel” had been “brought to bear on the lives and relationships of others,” and a selfless commitment to service would become Jackson’s own trademark.

In 1915 the Newfoundland conference recommended Jackson for further education in arts and theology at Wesleyan Theological College in Montreal [see George Douglas*], which was affiliated with McGill University. He studied there until 1918, and at the 50th anniversary celebrations of the college five years later he and two other Newfoundland ministers would receive their bachelor of divinity degrees. Upon his ordination on 3 July 1918 at Gower Street Methodist Church in St John’s, he was admitted to full connection with the Newfoundland conference.

Jackson’s first posting was to Brigus, where he remained until 1923, and from 1921 Cupids was also listed as his charge. He served the pastorate of Freshwater, Conception Bay, from 1923 to 1928, during which time the Methodist Church became part of the United Church of Canada [see Samuel Dwight Chown], and he was responsible for Bell Island and Portugal Cove from 1928 to 1931. Beginning in 1919 Jackson served the conference for several years as an examiner of probationers in sociology; in addition, he chaired numerous committees and held various offices, such as conference treasurer and district secretary for religious education. After Mark Fenwick retired in 1931 as the conference’s superintendent of missions, Jackson succeeded him, relocating to St John’s. He would retain this position, along with that of field secretary of Christian education, until his death in 1937.

As superintendent of missions Jackson travelled indefatigably by boat, making known the religious and social conditions of the country in numerous realistic accounts that were published in the conference’s periodical, the Monthly Greeting, under the title “The superintendent’s log.” In his description of one of these trips he matter-of-factly observes: “The men I met going into the woods today seemed very poor; the children in the settlement are not robust or warmly clad and the women look too old for their years. The families go from [one] job to another but do not see a dollar in cash. Wages are low and prices generally high. If anything is left over after the accounts are squared, it has to be left on the merchant’s books to be taken up over his counter and no one else’s.”

In June 1932 Jackson became editor-in-chief of the Monthly Greeting, replacing the long-serving Levi Curtis. With Jackson’s arrival the entire staff of the periodical changed, as did its editorial policies and outlook. He sought to increase local-news content and raise social issues that pertained to Newfoundland and its United Church congregations. His theological indebtedness to Walter Rauschenbusch and the American Social Gospel movement was made explicit in 1934 when he serialized a selection of prayers from Rauschenbusch’s For God and the people: prayers of the social awakening (Boston, 1909) on the cover of the Monthly Greeting.

Jackson had a deep concern for people who were facing dire hardships during the Great Depression. He saw education, self-sufficiency, and economic independence as solutions that would lead to a general betterment of the living conditions of ordinary Newfoundlanders. It was Jackson’s love for the common people, as well as his fear that further deprivation might have serious social consequences, that led him to criticize the truck system, which had resulted in their endemic indebtedness to local merchants. “How has it come to pass in Newfoundland,” he wrote, “that the producers all around her coasts, in schooner or on land, fishermen, sailors, small farmers or loggers are now dumb slaves of a truck system which deprives them of their economic freedom? They are afraid to speak out because to do so would mean suffering for their families, but a hot sense of injustice can be felt, and a good deal of ominous grumbling heard, among the men themselves.”

In 1934 Newfoundland relinquished its dominion status in favour of a British-appointed commission of government [see Frederick Charles Alderdice], and Jackson initially welcomed the change as an opportunity to achieve non-sectarian, honest, and efficient rule. Two years later he was deeply disappointed by the continued economic difficulties, the lack of a policy for reconstruction, and what he considered to be a lack of interest on the part of the commissioners. As he complained bitterly to the commissioner for finance, Everhard Noel Rye Trentham, neither educational changes nor economic diversification was showing any noticeable fruit. He wrote: “I am disillusioned, the only people benefitting are a couple of individuals in many of the outports, and a third of St Johns.” For Jackson the cure to Newfoundland’s ills lay “not in charity but in a growing sense of competence, and direction toward economic security.”

Jackson considered education to be of great significance in human evolution. He wrote prolifically on religious education and worked to establish opportunities for young people in Newfoundland’s outports through summer schools, adult education, reading circles, leadership training, and private tutoring. He personally prepared gifted individuals for entry into Memorial University College, whose president, John Lewis Paton*, shared his passions for the Social Gospel and educational advancement. Among those whom Jackson encouraged and guided were Herbert Lench Pottle, a future member of the Commission of Government and cabinet minister under Joseph Roberts Smallwood*, and the eminent fisheries scientist Wilfred Templeman.

Well in advance of his time, Jackson was a fierce critic of the denominational-school system, which he held responsible for a needless duplication of services and for the poor educational standards outside St John’s, notably in the natural sciences. “We have got to break through the sectarian system with its waste, overlapping, and its criminal neglect of the child in small communities,” he wrote to his protégé Pottle. “This is not an old saw, boy, it is a real problem standing like a sturdy wall in our path, and someone has to keep hitting and kicking until a gap is made and the youth of Nfld march on to self-activity and self-discipline.”

Jackson also encouraged the forming of cooperatives and self-help organizations for fishermen, and he promoted among his parishioners a broadly based subsistence pattern that incorporated horticulture and the keeping of livestock. To advance such diversification he wrote popular pamphlets and articles, such as “Our friend the pig,” in which he advocated hog raising, and he penned a recurring section on gardening and health in the Monthly Greeting. He was well aware of international developments concerning cooperatives and participated in the first annual convention sponsored by the West Coast Co-operative Council on the subject. As it was for his theological mentor Rauschenbusch, the “co-operative way” was for Jackson intimately bound up with the social principle of Christendom and its fraternal ideals. “There are many who fear the idea of Co-operation,” Jackson wrote. “The fact is that it is the most hopeful Christian idea arising out of the welter of economic greed and failure today. We can find, through Co-operative Societies, the way by which there can be a release of the motive power of the spirit of our people such as can rejuvenate and reconstruct our producers and our country.”

With many other Social Gospel theologians, Oliver Jackson shared a postmillennial vision of the Kingdom of God, in which human initiatives were needed to create a just order for God’s children on earth. In the January 1934 issue of the Monthly Greeting he encouraged his readers, with special reference to Rauschenbusch, “to shift our emphasis from the individual and his safety, to that of the Kingdom of God and the individual’s responsibility for extending it.” As Jackson put it, this change in attitude “includes repentance, guilt, conversion, and sanctification, but gives a social instead of an individual content, and puts into the personal experience a demand, a responsibility, which challenge manhood and womanhood.”

A peace activist, Jackson promoted through talks and articles the importance of international cooperation and the work of the League of Nations. He strongly opposed totalitarianism, and in the St John’s Daily News he once challenged a local apologist for Francisco Franco to acknowledge the atrocities committed by the Fascists in the first months of the Spanish Civil War. Jackson considered Franco’s rule inimical to Spanish self-determination and the creation of “a righteous social and economic order.”

In 1936, citing his “valuable services” to community and church, King Edward VIII made Jackson a member of the Order of the British Empire (civilian division). A year later he drowned along with a student minister, Wallace J. Harris, when their boat, Mizpah, capsized in rough waters while they were visiting the Petites and Grand Bruit mission on the southwest coast. His body was recovered and interred in the General Protestant Cemetery in St John’s. Hailed after his death as the “apostle of the outports,” Oliver Jackson was remembered in Newfoundland by three buildings: Jackson House at Western Bay and, on Bell Island, Jackson Memorial School and Jackson United Church, which still stands.

Hans J. Rollmann

Oliver Jackson’s numerous articles and editorials can be found in the Methodist Monthly Greeting (St John’s) from 1919 to 1925, and in its successor journal, the Monthly Greeting (St John’s), from 1925 to 1937. He occasionally contributed to the St John’s Daily News and authored at least two other articles: “Nature study,” N.T.A. Journal (St John’s), 24 (1932), no.2: 8–9; and “Church life in Newfoundland,” United Church Record and Missionary Rev. (Toronto), 13 (1937), no.11: 8–9.

Jackson’s activities as minister and administrator from 1911 to 1937 are documented in Methodist Church (Canada), The Methodist year book: including minutes of the annual conferences of Canada and Newfoundland (Toronto), 1911–25, and UCC, Newfoundland conference (Toronto), 1926–37. His local pastoral activities, with the exception of those carried out at Bell Island and Portugal Cove, are recorded in the Methodist/United Church parish records available at RPA. The official correspondence and documents from Jackson’s activities as superintendent of missions were likely destroyed in the fire that consumed the United Church Mission Office and Community Centre in St John’s on 28 Jan. 1945. Contemporaneous tributes and coverage of his death and burial can be found in the Daily News and Evening Telegram, the two major St John’s newspapers, from 4 to 12 Nov. 1937. One of Jackson’s sons, Professor Francis Lindbergh Jackson of St John’s, kindly made available to the author the documentation about Jackson’s being received as a “Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (civil division)” in 1936.

Two substantive and biographically important collections of unpublished correspondence were consulted in preparation for this biography: Jackson’s correspondence with John Lewis Paton of Memorial University College, St John’s (Memorial Univ. of Nfld, Queen Elizabeth II Library, Arch. and Special Coll., Coll-470), and letters that Jackson wrote to his protégé, Herbert Lench Pottle (in private possession). Pottle remembers his mentor in “A tribute to late Rev. O. Jackson,” Daily News, 10 Nov. 1937; Newfoundland, dawn without light: politics, power & the people in the Smallwood era ([St John’s], 1979), 51–52; and From the nart shore: out of my childhood and beyond (St John’s, [1983?]), 114–18.

The literature on Jackson is scant. The fullest appreciation of his life and work is a 20-page biography from the pen of his student and successor as superintendent of missions and field secretary of Christian education, H. M. Dawe, titled Apostle of the outports: a resumé of the life and work of Rev. Oliver Jackson, b.d., o.b.e. (Toronto, [1939?]). Other tributes and sketches include K. J. Beaton, “He has gone forward to God: a tribute from the boards of home missions and of Christian education,” United Church Record and Missionary Rev., 13 (1937), no.12: 4, and “There is sorrow on the sea,” New Outlook (Toronto), 12 Nov. 1937: 1043; H. M. Davis, “A terrible tragedy,” United Church Record and Missionary Rev., 13, no.12: 18–19, and “The last entry in the superintendent’s log,” United Church Record and Missionary Rev., 14 (1938), no.1: 12–13; H. M. Dawe, “Oliver Jackson – friend of youth – goes forward,” United Church Record and Missionary Rev., 14, no.1: 19–20. See also the more recent works of D. G. Pitt: “Oliver Jackson: pioneer and apostle,” Touchstone (Winnipeg), 16 (1998), 2: 47–54; “Prominent figures from our recent past: Rev. Oliver Jackson,” Nfld Quarterly (St John’s), 86 (1990–91), no.1: 32–34; and the entries for “Jackson, Oliver” in DNLB (Cuff et al.) and Encyclopedia of Nfld (Smallwood et al.), 3: 90.

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Hans J. Rollmann, “JACKSON, OLIVER,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed July 18, 2019, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/jackson_oliver_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/jackson_oliver_16E.html
Author of Article: Hans J. Rollmann
Title of Article: JACKSON, OLIVER
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2018
Year of revision: 2018
Access Date: July 18, 2019

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

RIEL, LOUIS (1817-1864) – Volume IX (1861-1870)

décédé le 21 janvier 1864, à Saint-Boniface (Manitoba)

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Titre original :  Oliver Jackson. HM Dawe Collection, United Church Archives - Memorial University of Newfoundland.

Provenance : Lien

JACKSON, OLIVER, ministre de l’Église méthodiste et de l’Église unie, éducateur, rédacteur en chef, auteur et réformateur social, né le 18 juillet 1887 à Abergavenny, pays de Galles, fils de George Jackson et de Melinda Lythe ; le 24 juillet 1918, il épousa à Clarke’s Beach, Terre-Neuve, Rosalie Noseworthy, et ils eurent trois fils et une fille ; décédé le 3 novembre 1937 au large de la côte sud-ouest de Terre-Neuve.

Après avoir été prédicateur méthodiste laïque dans son pays de Galles natal, Oliver Jackson se porta volontaire, en 1911, pour servir à Terre-Neuve et fut pris à l’essai par la Conférence de Terre-Neuve de l’Église méthodiste du Canada. De 1911 à 1913, on l’affecta à Campbellton et, de 1913 à 1915, à Clarke’s Beach. Ce fut pendant ce dernier mandat qu’il fit la connaissance de son futur beau-père, Frank Noseworthy, marchand général et laïque méthodiste. Noseworthy représentait pour Jackson l’idéal du membre contemporain de son Église, et il servit probablement de modèle au jeune suffragant, comme pour d’autres aspirants ministres avant lui. Dans la notice nécrologique qu’il écrirait en décembre 1929 sur son beau-père, Jackson déclarerait qu’il « ne craignait pas les émotions, mais se gardait de l’excitation » et que le point d’ancrage de sa foi, son amour de Jésus, avait « d’abord [été] éthique, puis [inspiré] par la compassion ». Il admirait aussi le fait que l’« éthique de l’Évangile » de Noseworthy avait été « amenée à exercer une influence sur la vie et les relations des autres ». Un sens du devoir altruiste deviendrait la marque distinctive de Jackson.

En 1915, la Conférence de Terre-Neuve recommanda Jackson au Wesleyan Theological College affilié à la McGill University, à Montréal [V. George Douglas*], pour y parfaire sa formation en arts et en théologie. Il y étudia jusqu’en 1918 et, aux fêtes du cinquantième anniversaire du collège, cinq ans plus tard, il recevrait son diplôme de bachelier en théologie avec deux autres ministres de Terre-Neuve. À son ordination, le 3 juillet 1918, à l’église méthodiste Gower Street de St John’s, il devint membre à part entière de la Conférence de Terre-Neuve.

La première affectation de Jackson fut Brigus, où il demeurerait jusqu’en 1923 ; il desservit aussi Cupids à partir de 1921. Il remplit la fonction de pasteur de Freshwater, dans la baie Conception, de 1923 à 1928, époque à laquelle l’Église méthodiste se joignit à l’Église unie du Canada [V. Samuel Dwight Chown], et assuma la responsabilité de l’île Bell et de Portugal Cove de 1928 à 1931. À compter de 1919, Jackson travailla pendant plusieurs années au service de la conférence en tant qu’examinateur des suffragants en sociologie. De plus, il présida de nombreux comités et occupa différents postes, tels ceux de trésorier de la conférence et de secrétaire de district en matière d’enseignement religieux. Après le départ à la retraite de Mark Fenwick, en 1931, Jackson lui succéda comme surintendant des missions de la conférence et s’établit à St John’s. Il exercerait cette fonction, ainsi que celle de secrétaire local de l’éducation chrétienne, jusqu’à sa mort en 1937.

En qualité de surintendant des missions, Jackson se déplaçait sans relâche en bateau, et fit connaître les conditions religieuses et sociales de sa région dans de nombreux comptes rendus réalistes publiés dans le périodique de la conférence, le Monthly Greeting, sous le titre « The superintendent’s log ». Dans le récit d’un de ces voyages, il déclara sans ambages : « Les hommes que j’ai rencontrés aujourd’hui en allant à la forêt m’ont paru très pauvres. Les enfants de la colonie ne sont ni robustes ni chaudement vêtus et les femmes ont l’air trop vieilles pour leur âge. Les familles passent d’[un] travail à l’autre sans jamais mettre la main sur un dollar en espèces. Les salaires sont bas et les prix généralement élevés. S’il reste quelque chose une fois les comptes réglés, on doit l’inscrire dans les livres du marchand [comme crédit] à utiliser à son comptoir et nulle part ailleurs. »

En juin 1932, Jackson devint rédacteur en chef du Monthly Greeting et remplaça Levi Curtis, en poste depuis longtemps. À l’arrivée de Jackson, on renouvela tout le personnel, tout comme la politique et la perspective éditoriales. Il tâcha d’accroître le contenu local et de soulever des questions sociales en lien avec Terre-Neuve et les communautés rattachées à l’Église unie. Sa dette théologique envers Walter Rauschenbusch et le mouvement Social Gospel américain fut explicitée en 1934, quand il publia régulièrement un choix de prières tirées de For God and the people : prayers of the social awakening de Rauschenbusch, parues à Boston en 1909, sur la page couverture du Monthly Greeting.

Jackson se montra vivement préoccupé par ceux qui durent surmonter de rudes épreuves au cours de la grande dépression. Il considérait l’éducation, l’autosuffisance et l’indépendance économique comme des solutions qui devaient globalement améliorer les conditions de vie des Terre-Neuviens ordinaires. L’amour de Jackson pour les gens du peuple et sa crainte que des privations supplémentaires risquent d’engendrer des conséquences sociales sérieuses le menèrent à critiquer le troc, qui avait entraîné leur endettement endémique envers les marchands locaux. « Comment se fait-il qu’à Terre-Neuve, écrit-il, les producteurs de toute la côte, que ce soit en goélette ou sur terre, les pêcheurs, les marins, les petits fermiers ou les bûcherons soient maintenant les esclaves muets d’un système de troc qui les prive de leur liberté économique ? Ils ont peur de prendre la parole parce que le faire signifierait causer des souffrances à leur famille, mais on peut percevoir un vif sentiment d’injustice, et les hommes eux-mêmes font entendre beaucoup d’inquiétants grognements. »

En 1934, Terre-Neuve renonça à son statut de dominion au profit d’une Commission de gouvernement nommée par les Britanniques [V. Frederick Charles Munro Alderdice], et Jackson salua d’abord ce changement comme une occasion d’établir une administration non sectaire, honnête et efficace. Deux ans plus tard, il fut profondément déçu devant les difficultés économiques persistantes, l’absence d’une politique de reconstruction et ce qu’il tenait pour de l’indifférence de la part des commissaires. Il se plaignit avec amertume au commissaire chargé des finances, Everhard Noel Rye Trentham, que ni les changements dans le système d’éducation ni la diversification de l’économie n’apportaient de résultats tangibles. Il écrivit : « Je suis désabusé, les seuls qui profitent de la situation sont une poignée d’individus dans nombre de petits villages de pêcheurs ainsi que le tiers de St Johns. » Selon Jackson, le remède aux maux de Terre-Neuve reposait « non pas sur la charité, mais sur l’accroissement du sentiment de compétence et la progression vers la sécurité financière ».

Jackson soutenait que l’éducation était de grande importance dans le progrès de l’être humain. Il écrivit abondamment sur l’enseignement religieux et chercha à ouvrir des possibilités aux jeunes gens des petits villages de pêcheurs de Terre-Neuve au moyen de stages d’été, de l’éducation des adultes, de cercles de lecture, de formation sur le leadership et de cours particuliers. Il prépara personnellement des élèves doués à entrer au Memorial University College, dont le président, John Lewis Paton*, partageait sa passion pour le Social Gospel et l’avancement de l’enseignement. Parmi ceux que Jackson encouragea et guida se trouvaient Herbert Lench Pottle, futur membre de la Commission de gouvernement et ministre dans le gouvernement de Joseph Roberts Smallwood*, et l’illustre spécialiste des sciences halieutiques Wilfred Templeman.

Bien en avance sur son époque, Jackson était un farouche critique du système d’écoles confessionnelles, auquel il imputait l’inutile double emploi dans les services et le niveau d’instruction médiocre en dehors de St John’s, notamment dans les sciences naturelles. « Il nous faut nous libérer du système confessionnel avec son gaspillage, ses chevauchements et sa négligence criminelle envers les enfants dans les petites localités, écrivit-il à son protégé, Pottle. Ce n’est pas une vieille rengaine, mon garçon, mais un vrai problème qui se dresse au milieu de notre route comme un mur solide, et on doit continuer de s’y attaquer jusqu’à y faire une brèche et permettre aux jeunes gens de Terre-Neuve de s’engager sur la voie de l’autosuffisance et de l’autodiscipline. »

Jackson encouragea également la formation de coopératives et d’organismes d’entraide pour les pêcheurs, et il promut auprès de ses paroissiens un modèle de subsistance varié combinant horticulture et élevage. Pour stimuler une telle diversification, il écrivit des brochures et des articles populaires, comme « Our friend the pig », où il préconisait l’élevage des porcs, et tint une chronique sur le jardinage et la santé dans le Monthly Greeting. Bien au fait des développements internationaux concernant les coopératives, il participa au premier congrès annuel sur le sujet parrainé par le West Coast Co-operative Council. Tout comme pour son maître à penser en matière de théologie, Rauschenbusch, la « voie coopérative » était pour Jackson intimement liée au principe social de la chrétienté et à ses idéaux de fraternité. « Nombreux sont ceux qui craignent le concept de coopération, écrivit Jackson. Le fait est que c’est l’idée chrétienne la plus prometteuse devant le tourbillon de cupidités et d’échecs d’aujourd’hui. Nous pouvons trouver, grâce aux sociétés de coopération, la manière de libérer la force motrice [animant] l’esprit de notre peuple qui peut revigorer et redonner de l’élan à nos producteurs et à notre pays. »

Tout comme de nombreux autres théologiens du Social Gospel, Jackson partageait une vision postmillénariste du royaume de Dieu, selon laquelle des initiatives humaines étaient nécessaires afin d’établir un ordre équitable pour les enfants de Dieu sur terre. Dans le numéro de janvier 1934 du Monthly Greeting, il incita ses lecteurs, en faisant référence à Rauschenbusch, « à porter [leur] attention sur le royaume de Dieu et la responsabilité de chacun de l’étendre plutôt que sur l’individu et sa sécurité ». D’après Jackson, ce changement d’attitude « compren[ait] le repentir, le sentiment de culpabilité, la conversion et la sanctification, mais entraîn[ait] aussi un contenu social plutôt qu’individuel, et impos[ait] à l’expérience personnelle une exigence, une responsabilité mettant à l’épreuve les hommes et les femmes ».

Militant pour la paix, Jackson défendait dans des conférences et des articles l’importance de la coopération internationale et le travail de la Société des nations. Il s’opposait farouchement au totalitarisme et, dans le Daily News, il somma un jour un apologiste local de Francisco Franco de reconnaître les atrocités commises par les fascistes au cours des premiers mois de la guerre civile d’Espagne. Jackson croyait que le régime franquiste était un ennemi de l’autodétermination des Espagnols et de l’établissement d’un « ordre socioéconomique juste ».

En 1936, en raison de ses « précieux services » rendus à la collectivité et à l’Église, le roi Édouard VIII fit d’Oliver Jackson un membre de l’ordre de l’Empire britannique (division civile). Un an plus tard, Jackson se noya avec un ministre étudiant, Wallace J. Harris, quand leur bateau, baptisé Mizpah, chavira dans des eaux tumultueuses. Les deux hommes visitaient la mission Petites and Grand Bruit, sur la côte sud-ouest. Sa dépouille fut récupérée et inhumée au cimetière General Protestant de St John’s. Pour rendre hommage à celui qui reçut le surnom posthume d’« apôtre des petits villages de pêcheurs », on donna le nom d’Oliver Jackson à trois édifices de Terre-Neuve : la Jackson House, à Western Bay, et, sur l’île Bell, la Jackson Memorial School, ainsi que l’église unie Jackson, qui existe encore.

Hans J. Rollmann

Les nombreux articles et éditoriaux d’Oliver Jackson figurent dans le Methodist Monthly Greeting (St John’s) de 1919 à 1925 et dans son successeur, le Monthly Greeting (St John’s), de 1925 à 1937. Il a occasionnellement contribué au Daily News de St John’s et a signé au moins deux autres articles : « Nature study », N.T.A. Journal (St John’s), 24 (1932), no 2 : 8–9 ; et « Church life in Newfoundland », United Church Record and Missionary Rev. (Toronto), 13 (1937), no 11 : 8–9.

Les activités de Jackson à titre de ministre du culte et d’administrateur, de 1911 à 1937, sont inscrites dans Église méthodiste (Canada), The Methodist year book : including minutes of the annual conferences of Canada and Newfoundland (Toronto), 1911–1925, et dans UCC, Newfoundland conference (Toronto), 1926–1937. Ses tâches pastorales locales, à l’exception de celles effectuées à l’île Bell et à Portugal Cove, sont consignées dans les registres paroissiaux de la Methodist/United Church conservés aux RPA. La correspondance et les documents officiels concernant les activités de Jackson en tant que surintendant des missions ont vraisemblablement disparu dans l’incendie qui a détruit le United Church Mission Office and Community Centre de St John’s le 28 janvier 1945. Des hommages et des articles sur sa mort et son enterrement ont paru dans le Daily News et l’Evening Telegram, les deux principaux journaux de St John’s, du 4 au 12 novembre 1937. Un fils de Jackson, le professeur Francis Lindbergh Jackson, de St John’s, nous a aimablement donné accès à la documentation sur la nomination de son père en tant que « membre de l’excellentissime ordre de l’Empire britannique (division civile) » en 1936.

Pour préparer cette biographie, nous avons consulté deux ensembles substantiels, importants et non publiés : la correspondance de Jackson avec John Lewis Paton du Memorial University College, St John’s (Memorial Univ. of Nfld, Queen Elizabeth II Library, Arch. and Special Coll., Coll-470), et des lettres de Jackson à son protégé, Herbert Lench Pottle (en possession de particuliers). Pottle a raconté ses souvenirs de son mentor dans « A tribute to late Rev. O. Jackson », Daily News, 10 nov. 1937 ; Newfoundland, dawn without light : politics, power & the people in the Smallwood era ([St John’s], 1979), 51–52 ; et From the nart shore : out of my childhood and beyond (St John’s, [1983 ?]), 114–118.

Il existe très peu de documentation sur Jackson. Le compte rendu le plus complet sur sa vie et son travail est une biographie de 20 pages de la plume de son étudiant H. M. Dawe, qui lui a succédé aux postes de surintendant des missions et de secrétaire de mission de l’éducation chrétienne, intitulée Apostle of the outports : a resumé of the life and work of Rev. Oliver Jackson, b.d., o.b.e. (Toronto, [1939 ?]). D’autres hommages et descriptions figurent dans K. J. Beaton, « He has gone forward to God : a tribute from the boards of home missions and of Christian education », United Church Record and Missionary Rev., 13 (1937), no 12 : 4, et « There is sorrow on the sea », New Outlook (Toronto), 12 nov. 1937 : 1043 ; H. M. Davis, « A terrible tragedy », United Church Record and Missionary Rev., 13, no 12 : 18–19, et « The last entry in the superintendent’s log », United Church Record and Missionary Rev., 14 (1938), no 1 : 12–13 ; H. M. Dawe, « Oliver Jackson – friend of youth – goes forward », United Church Record and Missionary Rev., 14, no 1 : 19–20. On consultera également les ouvrages plus récents de D. G. Pitt : « Oliver Jackson : pioneer and apostle », Touchstone (Winnipeg), 16 (1998), 2 : 47–54 ; « Prominent figures from our recent past : Rev. Oliver Jackson », Nfld Quarterly (St John’s), 86 (1990–1991), no 1 : 32–34 ; ainsi que les articles sur « Jackson, Oliver » dans DNLB (Cuff et al.) et Encyclopedia of Nfld (Smallwood et al.), 3 : 90.

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Hans J. Rollmann, « JACKSON, OLIVER », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 21 janv. 2019, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/jackson_oliver_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/jackson_oliver_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Hans J. Rollmann
Titre de l'article:   JACKSON, OLIVER
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2018
Année de la révision:   2018
Date de consultation:   21 janvier 2019