DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

BROWN, JOHN GEORGE, Kootenai Brown – Volume XIV (1911-1920)

b. 10 Oct. 1839 in Ennistymon (Republic of Ireland)

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Original title:  Frederick John Fulton of Kamloops. - RBCM Archives

Source: Link

Fulton, Frederick John, lawyer, judge, and politician; b. 8 Dec. 1862 in Bedlington, England, son of Alexander Fulton and Barbara Gibson; m. 12 May 1909 Winifred Mary Davie in Victoria, and they had four sons; d. 25 July 1936 in Kamloops, B.C.

After graduating from the University of Cambridge in 1883 and studying law, Frederick John Fulton immigrated to Canada in 1887. He briefly practised with Thomas Colhoun Haslett in Hamilton, Ont., and then moved to Kamloops, partly because of the good sportfishing in the area. In August 1889 he joined the local law firm of William Ward Spinks. From 1891 to 1900 Fulton acted as administrator and judge of the court of revision for the district of Yale. He became a qc in 1901. In 2010 Fulton and Company LLP would celebrate its 125th anniversary, dating its foundation to 1885, when Spinks started his business.

As a politician, Fulton supported the introduction of formal party lines into the Legislative Assembly of British Columbia, and he accepted the nomination as the Conservative candidate for Yale North in the provincial general election of 9 June 1900. Nonetheless, he was elected as an independent candidate on a platform of “good government,” in opposition to the administration of Premier Joseph Martin*. In February 1902 he attended a caucus of opposition members led by Richard McBride*. When Lieutenant Governor Sir Henri-Gustave Joly* de Lotbinière asked McBride to form a government in June 1903, he accepted and announced that his administration would be Conservative, thereby introducing party lines into provincial politics. Fulton successfully contested Kamloops in the general election of 3 October as a Conservative. He feared that the results of the general election might be challenged because, according to the Inland Sentinel, on election day he had taken “along with him cases of whiskey and a heeler [a subservient party worker] to pull the corks.” Recognizing Fulton’s experience and high standing in his profession and community, as well as the need in the cabinet for a representative of the province’s interior, McBride offered him the presidency of the Executive Council. The cabinet position was non-salaried, obviating the need for a by-election, an important consideration since McBride had a bare majority. After some hesitation, Fulton accepted, and he was sworn in on 5 November. Six months later, on 18 May 1904, he accepted the portfolios of provincial secretary and minister of education. He won the necessary by-election by acclamation, but the opposition Liberals complained that the Conservatives had unexpectedly advanced the date of nomination in an attempt to shut out the proposed Liberal nominee, who was on holiday in California.

Fulton’s responsibilities as provincial secretary ranged from the care of indigents in unincorporated districts to the management of fisheries. As minister of education he reorganized school finances so that rural residents would pay a share of the costs for local schools, and he introduced legislation that laid the groundwork for the University of British Columbia, established in 1908. When Charles Wilson resigned as attorney general, Fulton assumed the portfolio on 15 March 1906; the press claimed that he preferred his previous posts because they had given him more time for golf. Nonetheless, during his brief term as attorney general he successfully prosecuted the notorious train robber William (Bill) A. Miner. Yet he did not enforce all laws, disapproving of prosecutions under the Lord’s Day Act.

Land and resources were major provincial issues of the time. Shortly before taking on additional tasks as chief commissioner of lands and works on 7 March 1907, he joined Premier McBride in recommending that whenever an Indian reserve or a portion of a reserve was leased, surrendered, granted, or transferred, the province should act immediately to confirm its right to the land. He took office in the midst of a controversy over his predecessor’s secret transfer of land on Kaien Island to the Grand Trunk Pacific Railway for its terminus [see McBride]. He believed that the government should encourage the GTPR but that it should make its “first consideration, the people of the province.”

In July 1907 Fulton retired from the attorney generalship but retained responsibility for lands and works. He also chaired two provincial royal commissions. The first, the irrigation commission, set up in August 1907, investigated problems in the Okanagan and Thompson valleys which were a matter of concern to residents of the province’s dry belt. His report led to new legislation on water rights in 1909. The recommendations of the second, the royal commission of inquiry on timber and forestry, 1909–10, resulted in the Forest Act, passed in 1912, that, in the words of historian Gordon Hak, “amalgamated policies of previous years and wrapped them in the rhetoric of conservation.” It “satisfied interests in the industry,” and allowed the government to increase its revenues.

In October 1909 McBride had announced an agreement with railway contractors William Mackenzie* and Donald Mann by which they would extend their Canadian Northern Railway from Yellowhead Pass to Vancouver and build a line on Vancouver Island in return for a provincial guarantee on their bonds. Fulton opposed subsidies to railways and believed that the Canadian Northern would build to the coast without one. With fellow cabinet minister Robert Garnett Tatlow*, he resigned in protest; he did not run in the general election of 1909 but continued his work with the royal commission on forestry. He told McBride that his feelings about the Conservative electoral “sweep” were “somewhat mixed,” adding that he hoped that the railway policy would “stand the test.” Ironically, he later lobbied to ensure that the Canadian Northern would build a branch line into Kamloops.

Fulton, who had never really abandoned his legal practice in Kamloops, returned to it on a full-time basis after he left the legislature; in 1910 he became city solicitor. In 1909 he had married Winifred Mary Davie, a daughter of Alexander Edmond Batson Davie*, premier of British Columbia from 1887 to 1889, and a niece of another premier, Theodore Davie*, who had held office from 1892 to 1895. She was an accomplished horsewoman and the owner of prize-winning English setters. One of the couple’s four sons, Edmund Davie Fulton*, would serve as mp for Kamloops and a member of Prime Minister John George Diefenbaker*’s cabinet.

During the federal election of 1917, Fulton reluctantly accepted the nomination in Cariboo as the candidate of the Union government led by Sir Robert Laird Borden, and he won handily. Never known as an orator, he made just a few brief interjections in the House of Commons. In one speech on a no-confidence motion, he explained that the importance of the issue required him to “depart from my usual custom of registering a silent vote.” He paid little attention to the distant, sparsely settled parts of his constituency; only in the summer of 1921 did he visit Vanderhoof and the Peace River district. He even declared in 1917 that he would not seek a second term. Prime Minister Arthur Meighen* persuaded him to stand again in 1921, but the Conservatives in Cariboo, judging him to be the “weakest candidate,” denied him the nomination. As he explained to Meighen, they let him “contentedly retire again into private life.” He spent his time practising law, raising a young family, playing golf, and tending his garden.

Fulton died of pneumonia complicated by arteriosclerosis in his Kamloops home. He was so well respected that stores closed to allow people to attend his funeral, which was held in St Paul’s Cathedral and presided over by George Anderson Wells, the Church of England bishop of Cariboo. In a glowing tribute the Kamloops Sentinel remembered this reluctant but honest politician as “a man of a fine solid type,… in every way, a good citizen” who worked hard and eschewed glory.

Patricia E. Roy

No private papers of Frederick John Fulton are listed in any archival institution. LAC holds his correspondence with prime ministers Sir Robert Laird Borden (R6113-0-X) and Arthur Meighen (R14423-0-6). Other relevant letters are held in the premiers’ records (GR-0441) at BCA. Apart from brief entries in various biographical dictionaries, notably E. O. S. Scholefield and F. W. Howay, British Columbia from the earliest times to the present (4v., Vancouver, 1914), there are no secondary sources with information specifically on Fulton. His obituary of 28 July 1936 in the Kamloops Sentinel (Kamloops, B.C.) noted that he “loathed personal publicity.” Thus, even though two good weekly newspapers were regularly published in Kamloops, they rarely mention Fulton except when he was acting in an official capacity. Information on his law firm can be found at Fulton & Company LLP, “History”: www.fultonco.com/history (consulted 30 Aug. 2016).

BCA, GR-2951, no.1936-09-516549 (mfm.); GR-2962, no.1909-09-017985. Daily Colonist (Victoria), 1 June 1904; 12 May, 22 Oct. 1909. Inland Sentinel (Kamloops), 1, 18 May 1900. Kamloops Standard, 7 June 1900; 26, 29 June 1907. Vancouver Daily Province, 6 Nov. 1903; 25, 28 May 1904. Mary Balf, Kamloops: a history of the district up to 1914 (Kamloops, 1969). CPG, 1900–17. G. [H.] Hak, Turning trees into dollars: the British Columbia coastal lumber industry, 1858–1913 (Toronto, 2000).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Patricia E. Roy, “FULTON, FREDERICK JOHN,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed July 18, 2018, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/fulton_frederick_john_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/fulton_frederick_john_16E.html
Author of Article: Patricia E. Roy
Title of Article: FULTON, FREDERICK JOHN
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2018
Year of revision: 2018
Access Date: July 18, 2018

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

GADBOIS, JOSEPH-PIERRE – Volume XV (1921-1930)

décédé le 22 août 1930 à Montréal

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Titre original :  Frederick John Fulton of Kamloops. - RBCM Archives

Provenance : Lien

Fulton, Frederick John, avocat, juge et homme politique, né le 8 décembre 1862 à Bedlington, Angleterre, fils d’Alexander Fulton et de Barbara Gibson ; le 12 mai 1909, il épousa à Victoria Winifred Mary Davie, et ils eurent quatre fils ; décédé le 25 juillet 1936 à Kamloops, Colombie-Britannique.

Après avoir reçu son diplôme de la University of Cambridge en 1883 et étudié le droit, Frederick John Fulton immigra au Canada en 1887. Il exerça pendant une courte période avec Thomas Colhoun Haslett à Hamilton, en Ontario, puis s’installa à Kamloops, en partie parce que la région était propice à la pêche sportive. En août 1889, il se joignit à un cabinet de l’endroit, celui de William Ward Spinks. De 1891 à 1900, Fulton agit comme administrateur et juge de la Cour de révision pour le district de Yale. Il devint conseiller de la reine en 1901. Spinks ayant lancé son entreprise en 1885, la Fulton and Company LLP célébrerait son cent-vingt-cinquième anniversaire en 2010.

En tant qu’homme politique, Fulton appuya l’introduction de lignes de parti officielles à l’Assemblée législative de la Colombie-Britannique et obtint l’investiture conservatrice dans Yale North en vue des élections provinciales générales du 9 juin 1900. Néanmoins, il fut élu comme candidat indépendant, avec un programme de « bon gouvernement », en opposition au gouvernement du premier ministre Joseph Martin*. En février 1902, il participa à une réunion du groupe parlementaire de députés de l’opposition dirigé par Richard McBride*. Quand le lieutenant-gouverneur, sir Henri-Gustave Joly* de Lotbinière, demanda à McBride de former un gouvernement en juin 1903, celui-ci accepta et annonça que son gouvernement serait conservateur, instaurant ainsi des lignes de parti dans la politique provinciale. Fulton remporta la victoire dans Kamloops aux élections générales du 3 octobre sous l’étiquette conservatrice. Il craignit que les résultats ne soient contestés parce que, selon l’Inland Sentinel, le jour de l’élection, il avait « avec lui des caisses de whisky et [un employé subalterne du parti] pour déboucher [les bouteilles] ». Reconnaissant l’expérience et l’excellente réputation de Fulton dans sa profession et sa communauté, ainsi que la nécessité de compter un représentant de l’intérieur de la province dans son cabinet, McBride lui offrit la présidence du Conseil exécutif. Le poste n’était pas rémunéré, ce qui permettait d’éviter une élection partielle, avantage important, car McBride ne disposait que d’une mince majorité. Après une certaine hésitation, Fulton acquiesça et fut assermenté le 5 novembre. Six mois plus tard, le 18 mai 1904, il reçut les portefeuilles de secrétaire de la province et de ministre de l’Éducation. Il remporta par acclamation l’élection partielle rendue nécessaire, mais l’opposition libérale se plaignit que les conservateurs avaient avancé sans avertissement la date des investitures dans le but de neutraliser le candidat libéral proposé, alors en vacances en Californie.

Les responsabilités de Fulton, à titre de secrétaire de la province, s’étendaient des soins aux indigents dans des districts non constitués jusqu’à la gestion des pêcheries. En qualité de ministre de l’Éducation, il réorganisa le financement des écoles afin que les résidents des régions rurales paient une part du coût des écoles locales, et il introduisit la loi qui prépara le terrain pour la création de la University of British Columbia, fondée en 1908. Quand Charles Wilson quitta son poste de procureur général, Fulton reprit le portefeuille, le 15 mars 1906. Les journaux affirmèrent qu’il préférait ses précédents postes, parce qu’ils lui laissaient davantage de temps pour jouer au golf. Malgré tout, pendant son court mandat de procureur général, il parvint à mettre en accusation le célèbre voleur de trains William (Bill) A. Miner. Il n’appliqua cependant pas toutes les lois, car il désapprouvait les poursuites en vertu de l’Acte concernant l’observance du dimanche.

Les terres et les ressources étaient des enjeux provinciaux cruciaux à cette époque. Peu de temps avant d’assumer de nouvelles tâches en tant que commissaire en chef des Terres et des Travaux publics le 7 mars 1907, il se joignit au premier ministre McBride pour recommander que la province agisse immédiatement pour confirmer ses droits sur les terres lorsqu’une réserve amérindienne, en tout ou en partie, était louée, cédée, octroyée ou transférée. Il entra en fonction au milieu d’une controverse au sujet du transfert, réalisé en secret par son prédécesseur, de terres sur l’île Kaien à la Grand Trunk Pacific Railway Company pour son terminus [V. sir Richard McBride]. Il croyait que le gouvernement devait encourager cette société, mais qu’il devait prendre « d’abord en considération les habitants de la province ».

En juillet 1907, Fulton renonça au poste de procureur général tout en demeurant responsable des Terres et des Travaux publics. Il présida également deux commissions royales provinciales d’enquête. La première, la commission sur l’irrigation, constituée en août 1907, se pencha sur des problèmes dans les vallées de l’Okanagan et de la Thompson qui préoccupaient les résidents de la zone aride de la province. Son rapport mena à la promulgation d’une nouvelle loi sur les droits de captation d’eau en 1909. Les recommandations de la deuxième, la commission royale d’enquête sur le bois et l’exploitation forestière, qui siégea en 1909–1910, conduisirent, en 1912, à l’adoption du Forest Act qui, selon l’historien Gordon Hak, « regroupa des politiques des années précédentes et les enroba dans la rhétorique de la conservation ». Elle « satisfit les intérêts de l’industrie » et permit au gouvernement d’accroître ses revenus.

En octobre 1909, McBride avait annoncé un accord avec les entrepreneurs de chemins de fer William Mackenzie* et Donald Mann, selon lequel ils s’engageaient à prolonger la ligne de la Canadian Northern Railway Company du col de la Tête-Jaune à Vancouver et à en construire une sur l’île de Vancouver en échange d’une garantie provinciale sur leurs obligations. Fulton désapprouvait les subventions aux sociétés ferroviaires et croyait que le Canadian Northern se serait rendu jusqu’à la côte même sans en recevoir. Avec son collègue, le ministre Robert Garnett Tatlow*, il donna sa démission en guise de protestation. Il ne se présenta pas aux élections générales de 1909, mais poursuivit son travail au sein de la commission royale sur le bois et l’exploitation forestière. Il déclara à McBride que ses sentiments à l’égard du « balayage » électoral des conservateurs étaient « quelque peu confus », ajoutant qu’il espérait que la politique des chemins de fer allait « passer le test ». Ironiquement, il fit par la suite des pressions pour s’assurer que la Canadian Northern Railway Company construirait une ligne d’embranchement vers Kamloops.

Fulton, qui n’avait jamais vraiment abandonné son cabinet à Kamloops, y revint à temps plein après avoir quitté l’Assemblée législative ; en 1910, il devint conseiller juridique de la ville. En 1909, il avait épousé Winifred Mary Davie, fille d’Alexander Edmund Batson Davie*, premier ministre de la Colombie-Britannique de 1887 à 1889 et nièce d’un autre premier ministre, Theodore Davie*, qui avait été en poste de 1892 à 1895. Elle était une cavalière accomplie et possédait des setters anglais primés. L’un des quatre enfants du couple, Edmund Davie Fulton*, deviendrait député de Kamloops et membre du cabinet du premier ministre John George Diefenbaker*.

Aux élections fédérales de 1917, Fulton accepta à contrecœur l’investiture dans Cariboo comme candidat du gouvernement d’union dirigé par sir Robert Laird Borden et fut élu haut la main. Jamais reconnu comme grand orateur, il ne fit que quelques brèves interventions à la Chambre des communes. Dans un discours sur une motion de censure, il expliqua que l’importance de la question exigeait qu’il « déroge à [sa] coutume habituelle d’enregistrer un vote silencieux ». Il accordait peu d’attention aux parties éloignées et peu peuplées de sa circonscription ; il ne visita Vanderhoof et le district de la rivière de la Paix qu’une seule fois, durant l’été de 1921. Il déclara même en 1917 qu’il ne briguerait pas un second mandat. Le premier ministre, Arthur Meighen*, le persuada de se présenter encore en 1921, mais les conservateurs de Cariboo, jugeant qu’il était le « candidat le plus faible », le refusèrent. Comme il l’expliqua à Meighen, ils le laissèrent « retourner de nouveau, satisfait, à la vie privée ». Il consacra son temps à pratiquer le droit, à élever une jeune famille, à jouer au golf et à s’occuper de son jardin.

Frederick John Fulton mourut d’une pneumonie aggravée par de l’artériosclérose dans sa maison de Kamloops. Il était si respecté que les magasins fermèrent leurs portes pour permettre aux gens d’assister à ses funérailles, qui eurent lieu dans la cathédrale St Paul et furent présidées par George Anderson Wells, évêque de l’Église d’Angleterre du diocèse de Cariboo. Dans un vibrant hommage, le Kamloops Sentinel décrivit cet homme politique hésitant, mais honnête, comme « un homme d’une belle solidité, […] à tous points de vue, un bon citoyen » qui travailla fort, sans rechercher la gloire.

Patricia E. Roy

Aucun dépôt d’archives ne répertorie de documents personnels de Frederick John Fulton. BAC conserve de sa correspondance avec les premiers ministres sir Robert Laird Borden (R6113-0-X) et Arthur Meighen (R14423-0-6). D’autres lettres pertinentes se trouvent aux BCA, dans les Premier’s records (GR-0441). À part quelques courts articles dans divers dictionnaires biographiques, notamment E. O. S. Scholefield et F. W. Howay, British Columbia from the earliest times to the present (4 vol., Vancouver, 1914), aucune source secondaire ne traite de Fulton en particulier. Dans sa nécrologie parue le 28 juillet 1936 dans le Kamloops Sentinel (Kamloops, C.-B.), on peut lire qu’il « détestait la publicité personnelle ». Même si deux journaux hebdomadaires de qualité étaient régulièrement publiés à Kamloops, ils mentionnaient rarement Fulton pour des raisons autres que de nature professionnelle. Le site Web suivant donne de l’information sur sa firme d’avocats : Fulton & Company LLP, « History » : www.fultonco.com/history (consulté le 30 août 2016).

BCA, GR-2951, no 1936-09-516549 (mfm) ; GR-2962, no 1909-09-017985.— Daily Colonist (Victoria), 1er juin 1904 ; 12 mai, 22 oct. 1909.— Inland Sentinel (Kamloops), 1er, 18 mai 1900.— Kamloops Standard, 7 juin 1900 ; 26, 29 juin 1907.— Vancouver Daily Province, 6 nov. 1903 ; 25, 28 mai 1904.— Mary Balf, Kamloops : a history of the district up to 1914 (Kamloops, 1969).— CPG, 1900–1917.— G. [H.] Hak, Turning trees into dollars : the British Columbia coastal lumber industry, 1858–1913 (Toronto, 2000).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Patricia E. Roy, « FULTON, FREDERICK JOHN », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 22 août 2018, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/fulton_frederick_john_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/fulton_frederick_john_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Patricia E. Roy
Titre de l'article:   FULTON, FREDERICK JOHN
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2018
Année de la révision:   2018
Date de consultation:   22 août 2018