DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Original title:  Dr. John Gerald Fitzgerald, ca. 1925. Professor of Hygiene & Preventive Medicine; Director of the Connaught Laboratories. Creator: Charles Aylett. 
Courtesy of the University of Toronto Archives | Heritage U of T.

Source: Link

FitzGERALD, JOHN GERALD, pathologist, bacteriologist, public-health reformer and educator, and author; b. 9 Dec. 1882 in Drayton, Ont., eldest of the four children of William Fitzgerald, a pharmacist, and Alice Ann Woollatt; m. 9 April 1910 Edna Ella Mary Leonard in London, Ont., and they had a daughter and a son; d. 20 June 1940 in Toronto.

John Gerald FitzGerald’s paternal great-grandfather had emigrated to Upper Canada from Clones, County Monaghan (Republic of Ireland), in 1824. His mother was English born. Gerry, as the young boy was known, moved with his family from Drayton to nearby Harriston in 1891. While attending the local high school, he worked part-time as an apprentice in his father’s apothecary shop and cared for his invalid mother. Following his graduation in 1899, he entered the University of Toronto’s faculty of medicine; at age 16 he was the youngest in his class.

Perhaps inspired by his own family’s history of mental instability, FitzGerald was keen to discover the biological roots of insanity. He interned first at Donald Campbell Meyers’s private Neurological Hospital in Toronto and then at the state asylum for the insane in Buffalo, N.Y. There he came under the influence of the eminent psychiatrist Adolf Meyer, a co-founder of the mental-hygiene movement. At Johns Hopkins Hospital in Baltimore, Md, he was inspired by the leading figure in American public health, William Henry Welch, and at the Sheppard and Enoch Pratt Hospital, on the outskirts of the city, he made a lifelong friend of Clarence Byrnold Farrar*, later to become director of the Toronto Psychiatric Hospital.

In 1907 FitzGerald was appointed the first pathologist and clinical director of the Toronto Hospital for the Insane by its superintendent, Charles Kirk Clarke*, and a demonstrator in psychiatry at the University of Toronto. But his interests were now shifting. The following year he resigned from the asylum, and after research at the Harvard Medical School and the state hospital for the insane in Danvers, Mass., he returned to the University of Toronto in 1909 as a lecturer in bacteriology. A year later he married Edna May Leonard, as she was known, the granddaughter and heiress of iron founder Elijah Leonard*. The couple moved to Berkeley, Calif., in 1911 when he was made an associate professor at the university there.

Over an intense three-year period from 1910 to 1913, during which he sacrificed his summer vacations, FitzGerald deepened his training in pathology and bacteriology and broadened his links with leading international scientists. As a researcher at the Institut Pasteur du Brabant in Brussels, he got to know its founder, biologist Jules Bordet, and Élie Metchnikoff, the father of immunology, and in Paris he formed a lasting friendship with Émile Roux, Louis Pasteur’s principal collaborator. He also learned how to make Pasteur’s rabies treatment, diphtheria antitoxin, and smallpox vaccine. Sojourns at the University of Freiburg in Germany, the Lister Institute of Preventive Medicine in London, and New York City’s public-health department capped a decade of fast-paced specialist training following his mb.

FitzGerald came back to Toronto in 1913. Appointed an associate professor in the new department of hygiene at the university, he was eager to realize his vision for reforming public health in Canada. In the absence of effective programs, thousands were dying each year from a variety of infectious diseases. Diphtheria alone was a leading killer of children under 14. Prohibitively expensive antitoxins, serums, and vaccines, imported from the United States, were available only to the wealthy. FitzGerald began by working in the Provincial Board of Health laboratory, producing the rabies treatment he had learned in Paris. Later the same year he approached the University of Toronto’s board of governors with a proposal to set up a laboratory in the department of hygiene where a range of high-quality preventive medicines could be manufactured at costs low enough to make them universally available – “within reach of everyone,” in the words of a contemporary.

But before he had received the university’s approval, the passionate, 30-year-old professor plunged ahead on his own. With money borrowed from his wife’s inheritance, he acquired some horses destined for the glue factory and housed them in a small stable he had built on Barton Avenue. There, after injecting the animals with toxin cultivated from the diphtheria bacillus, he used the antibodies produced in their blood to create Canada’s first antitoxin for the disease. FitzGerald’s forceful demonstration of the potential of his idea convinced the university to establish the Antitoxin Laboratory, which was launched on 1 May 1914 in the basement of the medical school. Following the outbreak of World War I only months later, an urgent need arose to immunize Canadian troops against tetanus. Impressed with FitzGerald’s drive and commitment, philanthropist Albert Edward Gooderham donated land, buildings, and funds to greatly expand the laboratory’s capacity. The Connaught Antitoxin Laboratories and University Farm, named after a recent governor general, the Duke of Connaught [Arthur*], was formally opened on 25 Oct. 1917 on 58 acres northwest of the city.

In February the previous year the Provincial Board of Health had begun distributing antitoxins, serums, and vaccines free of charge in Ontario, placing the province in the vanguard of public health in Canada. Other provinces would follow. As the facility pumped out preventive remedies for civilian and military use, FitzGerald, now a major, served first with the Canadian Army Medical Corps, providing soldiers with health services before they went overseas, and then in 1918 with the Royal Army Medical Corps, as commander of a mobile pathology laboratory on the Western Front. The following year he was appointed the first full-time professor of hygiene and preventive medicine at the University of Toronto, and in 1920 he became a member of the Dominion Council of Health, an advisory body attached to the newly established national Department of Health. He was now at the hub of a nascent reform movement in public health.

After Frederick Grant Banting* and Charles Herbert Best*, together with John James Rickard Macleod and James Bertram Collip*, discovered insulin in 1921–22, the Connaught Laboratories raced to meet the challenge of refining and producing the hormone. Impressed with this Canadian breakthrough in the treatment of diabetes and the advances being achieved in Toronto under the city’s medical officer of health, Charles John Colwell Orr Hastings, the New York–based Rockefeller Foundation donated a total of $1.25 million to set up the school of hygiene at the University of Toronto and endow new departments in epidemiology and physiological hygiene. The four-storey building, which opened on College Street on 9 June 1927, was designed to serve as the academic branch of the Connaught Laboratories. As its founding director, FitzGerald was now realizing his long-standing dream of uniting education, research, and the production of vaccines and serums under one roof. During the 1920s and 1930s this distinctive Canadian model of public service set a new international standard of excellence, leading to the systematic control or eradication of a spectrum of diseases that, in addition to diabetes, included rabies, diphtheria, typhoid fever, smallpox, tetanus, pneumonia, meningitis, pertussis (whooping cough), and scarlet fever. The Connaught’s successful development of a diphtheria toxoid in the 1920s helped advance FitzGerald’s career internationally and led to Toronto and Hamilton, Ont., being declared free of the disease by the time of his death in 1940, the first cities in the world to achieve this status. His textbook, An introduction to the practice of preventive medicine (St Louis, Mo., 1922; 2nd ed., 1926), written with several colleagues, was widely used throughout North America.

He had been a member of the Rockefeller Foundation’s international health board since 1923, and he served as a scientific director of its successor, the international health division, the first Canadian to be appointed. Concurrently, from 1930 to 1936 he was a member of the Health Committee of the League of Nations, a precursor of the World Health Organization. In 1932 he began a three-year term, later extended by a year, as dean of medicine at the University of Toronto, during which he overhauled the curriculum to place more emphasis on preventive measures such as nutrition, sanitation, mental health, and public education.

FitzGerald was involved in two international missions for the Rockefeller Foundation. The first, in 1934, surveyed health conditions in Ceylon (Sri Lanka), India, and Egypt, and the second, over 12 months in 1936–37, assessed undergraduate education in public health and preventive medicine in 26 countries in Europe and North America. The latter assignment, coming after decades of overwork, exacted a heavy toll. He had long suffered from episodes of depression, which he attempted to stave off by driving himself relentlessly. As a result, he experienced migraine headaches, a bleeding ulcer, and insomnia. In late 1938 he made a failed suicide attempt following a nervous collapse. The following May he was admitted to the Neuropsychiatric Institute of the Hartford Retreat in Connecticut, where he received 57 insulin-shock treatments, a controversial new therapy for depression. After returning to work in the spring of 1940, he had a relapse and died by his own hand at the Toronto General Hospital in June, at the age of 57.

John Gerald FitzGerald was a complex human being full of contradictions. C. B. Farrar remembered him as “calm, soft spoken, kindly, judicial and tolerant,” a lovable person with a concern for others and an ability to delegate responsibility. Another colleague praised his imagination and vision, which he said were combined with “gentleness, modesty, and charm of character.” But under the placid exterior was a forceful, sometimes-ruthless individual obsessed with reaching his goals. After his death his wife complained to a journalist that she had been “married to an idea, not a man.” Over a widely travelled career, he had conceived an overarching vision of public health that not only laid the foundations for provincial and federal programs across Canada but also influenced medical research and teaching on an international scale. As a result in large part of his foresight, within a single generation between the world wars, Canada leaped from colonial backwater to recognized world leader in preventive medicine. His honours included fellowships in the Royal Society of Canada (1920) and the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada (1931) and an lld from Queen’s University in Kingston, Ont. (1925). The FitzGerald Academy in undergraduate medical education was established at Toronto’s Wellesley and St Michael’s hospitals in 1994. FitzGerald was inducted into the Canadian Medical Hall of Fame ten years later.

James FitzGerald

In addition to the textbook mentioned in the biography, John Gerald FitzGerald is the author or co-author of nearly 90 articles, pamphlets, and scientific papers. He served as a co-editor of the Bull. of the Toronto Hospital for the Insane, later the Bull. of the Ontario Hospitals for the Insane (Toronto), in 1907–8. A bibliography of his published work (n.p., n.d.) is held by the Univ. of Toronto Libraries. What disturbs our blood: a son’s quest to redeem the past (Toronto, 2010), written by his grandson James FitzGerald, who had access to family records, provides background sources for FitzGerald’s life and career. A video describing his contribution to public health in Canada, prepared in connection with his induction into the Canadian Medical Hall of Fame, can be viewed at: http://www.cdnmedhall.org/inductees/dr-john-fitzgerald.

AO, RG 22-305, no.91642; RG 80-2-0-189, no.36744; RG 80-5-0-416, no.15506. UTARMS, B1999-0011/025(05); B2000-0005. “The antitoxin laboratory of the University of Toronto,” Canadian Medical Assoc., Journal (Toronto), 7 (1917): 255–60. Gordon Bates, “Lowering the cost of life-saving,” Maclean’s, 28 (1915), August: 14–16, 103–4. P. A. Bator, “‘Saving lives on the wholesale plan’: public health reform in the city of Toronto, 1900 to 1930” (phd thesis, Univ. of Toronto, 1979). P. A. Bator, with A. J. Rhodes, Within reach of everyone: a history of the University of Toronto School of Hygiene and the Connaught Laboratories (2v., Ottawa, 1990–95). Michael Bliss, The discovery of insulin (Toronto, 1982). R. D. Defries, The first forty years, 1914–1955: Connaught Medical Research Laboratories, University of Toronto (Toronto, 1968). C. B. F[arrar], “I remember J. G. FitzGerald,” American Journal of Psychiatry (Baltimore, Md), 120 (1963–64): 49–52. D. T. Fraser, “John Gerald FitzGerald (1882–1940),” RSC, Trans., 3rd ser., 35 (1941), proc., app.B: 113–15. M. L. Friedland, The University of Toronto: a history (Toronto, 2002). Jennifer Lem, “Dr. John G. FitzGerald: Canada’s public health care visionary” (research paper prepared for the Museum of Health Care, Kingston, Ont., 2006). Univ. of Toronto, President’s report (Toronto, 1914–40; annual reports of the director of the Connaught Laboratories; copies at UTARMS).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

James FitzGerald, “FITZGERALD, JOHN GERALD,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed November 19, 2018, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/fitzgerald_john_gerald_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/fitzgerald_john_gerald_16E.html
Author of Article: James FitzGerald
Title of Article: FITZGERALD, JOHN GERALD
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2018
Year of revision: 2018
Access Date: November 19, 2018

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

CLITHEROW, JOHN – Volume VIII (1851-1860)

né le 13 décembre 1782 à Essendon, Angleterre

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Titre original :  Dr. John Gerald Fitzgerald, ca. 1925. Professor of Hygiene & Preventive Medicine; Director of the Connaught Laboratories. Creator: Charles Aylett. 
Courtesy of the University of Toronto Archives | Heritage U of T.

Provenance : Lien

FitzGERALD, JOHN GERALD, pathologiste, bactériologiste, réformateur de la santé publique, enseignant et auteur, né le 9 décembre 1882 à Drayton, Ontario, aîné des quatre enfants de William Fitzgerald, pharmacien, et d’Alice Ann Woollatt ; le 9 avril 1910, il épousa à London, Ontario, Edna Ella Mary Leonard, et ils eurent une fille et un garçon ; décédé le 20 juin 1940 à Toronto.

L’arrière-grand-père paternel de John Gerald FitzGerald avait émigré au Haut-Canada de Clones, dans le comté de Monaghan (république d’Irlande), en 1824. Sa mère était née en Angleterre. Gerry, comme on l’appelait enfant, quitta Drayton avec sa famille pour s’installer dans la ville voisine de Harriston en 1891. Il fréquenta l’école secondaire du coin tout en travaillant à temps partiel comme apprenti dans la boutique d’apothicaire de son père et en prenant soin de sa mère invalide. Après avoir reçu son diplôme en 1899, il s’inscrivit à la faculté de médecine de la University of Toronto ; âgé de 16 ans, il était le plus jeune de sa classe.

Peut-être inspiré par l’histoire de sa propre famille, marquée par l’instabilité mentale, FitzGerald se passionna pour la recherche des origines biologiques de l’aliénation mentale. Il fut d’abord interne au Neurological Hospital, établissement privé de Donald Campbell Meyers à Toronto, puis à l’asile d’État pour aliénés de Buffalo, dans l’État de New York, où il subit l’influence de l’éminent psychiatre Adolf Meyer, l’un des fondateurs du mouvement en faveur de l’hygiène mentale. Au Johns Hopkins Hospital de Baltimore, au Maryland, il fut inspiré par William Henry Welch, figure dominante en matière de santé publique aux États-Unis ; au Sheppard and Enoch Pratt Hospital, en périphérie de la ville, il se lia d’amitié pour la vie avec Clarence Byrnold Farrar*, qui deviendrait directeur du Toronto Psychiatric Hospital.

En 1907, FitzGerald fut nommé premier pathologiste et directeur clinique du Toronto Hospital for the Insane par son surintendant, Charles Kirk Clarke*, et devint moniteur en psychiatrie à la University of Toronto. Mais ses intérêts commençaient à changer. L’année suivante, il quitta l’asile, et, après avoir fait de la recherche à la Harvard Medical School et à l’hôpital d’État pour aliénés à Danvers, au Massachusetts, il retourna à la University of Toronto en 1909, où il enseigna la bactériologie. Un an plus tard, il épousa Edna May Leonard, comme on l’appelait à l’époque, petite-fille et héritière du fondeur de fer Elijah Leonard*. Le couple s’installa à Berkeley, en Californie, en 1911, quand FitzGerald fut nommé professeur adjoint à l’université de cette ville.

Pendant une période intensive de trois ans, de 1910 à 1913, où il renonça même à prendre des vacances d’été, FitzGerald approfondit sa formation en pathologie et en bactériologie, et élargit ses liens avec la communauté scientifique internationale. Chercheur à l’Institut Pasteur du Brabant à Bruxelles, il fit la connaissance de son fondateur, le biologiste Jules Bordet, et d’Ilia Ilitch (Élie) Metchnikov (Metchnikoff), le père de l’immunologie. À Paris, il noua une amitié durable avec Émile Roux, principal collaborateur de Louis Pasteur. Il apprit également à préparer le traitement de Pasteur contre la rage, l’antitoxine diphtérique et le vaccin contre la variole. Des séjours à l’université de Fribourg, en Allemagne, au Lister Institute of Preventive Medicine à Londres et au département de santé publique de la ville de New York achevèrent la décennie de formation spécialisée, au rythme très soutenu, subséquente à sa licence de médecine.

FitzGerald revint à Toronto en 1913. Nommé professeur adjoint du nouveau département d’hygiène de l’université, il était impatient de réaliser son projet de réforme de la santé publique au Canada. Parce qu’il n’existait pas de programmes efficaces, des milliers de personnes mouraient chaque année d’une variété de maladies infectieuses. La diphtérie était une des principales causes de décès des enfants de moins de 14 ans. À cause du coût prohibitif des antitoxines, des sérums et des vaccins importés des États-Unis, seuls les nantis y avaient accès. FitzGerald travailla d’abord au laboratoire du Bureau de santé provincial, où il produisit le traitement contre la rage comme il l’avait appris à Paris. Plus tard dans la même année, il proposa au conseil d’administration de la University of Toronto de mettre en place un laboratoire au département d’hygiène, où une variété de médicaments préventifs de haute qualité pourraient être fabriqués à un coût suffisamment bas pour les rendre universellement accessibles – « à la portée de chacun », comme le dit l’un de ses contemporains.

Mais avant même d’avoir obtenu l’accord de l’université, le passionné professeur de 30 ans se lança de son propre chef. À l’aide d’un emprunt sur l’héritage de sa femme, FitzGerald acheta quelques chevaux destinés à l’usine de colle et les logea dans une petite étable qu’il avait construite sur l’avenue Barton. Puis, après leur avoir injecté les toxines cultivées à partir du bacille de la diphtérie, il utilisa les anticorps dans leur sang pour produire la première antitoxine au Canada pour cette maladie. Cette démonstration énergique du potentiel de son idée convainquit l’université de créer l’Antitoxin Laboratory, qui fut inauguré le 1er mai 1914 dans le sous-sol de l’école de médecine. Après le déclenchement de la Première Guerre mondiale, quelques mois plus tard seulement, surgit un besoin urgent d’immuniser les troupes canadiennes contre le tétanos. Impressionné par la détermination et l’engagement de FitzGerald, le philanthrope Albert Edward Gooderham donna des terres, des édifices et des fonds pour permettre d’accroître considérablement la capacité du laboratoire. Les Connaught Antitoxin Laboratories and University Farm, nommés d’après le duc de Connaught [Arthur*], récent gouverneur général, furent officiellement inaugurés le 25 octobre 1917, sur un terrain de 58 acres au nord-ouest de la ville.

En février de l’année précédente, le Bureau de santé provincial avait commencé à distribuer gratuitement des antitoxines, des sérums et des vaccins en Ontario, ce qui propulsa la province à l’avant-garde de la santé publique au Canada. D’autres provinces suivraient. Pendant que les laboratoires produisaient en masse des médicaments préventifs à usage civil et militaire, FitzGerald, devenu major, servit d’abord au sein du Corps de santé de l’armée canadienne, fournissant des services de santé aux soldats avant qu’ils se rendent outre-mer. En 1918, il se joignit au Royal Army Medical Corps en tant que commandant d’un laboratoire de pathologie mobile sur le front de l’Ouest. L’année suivante, il fut nommé au premier poste à temps plein de professeur d’hygiène et de médecine préventive à la University of Toronto et, en 1920, il devint membre du Conseil fédéral d’hygiène, organisme consultatif rattaché au ministère de la Santé qui venait d’être créé. Il se trouvait alors au centre d’un mouvement de réforme naissant dans la santé publique.

Après la découverte de l’insuline en 1921–1922 par Frederick Grant Banting* et Charles Herbert Best*, avec l’aide de John James Rickard Macleod et James Bertram Collip*, les Connaught Laboratories s’empressèrent de relever le défi de raffiner et produire l’hormone. Impressionné par cette percée canadienne dans le traitement du diabète et par les avances obtenues à Toronto sous la gouverne du médecin-hygiéniste de la ville, Charles John Colwell Orr Hastings, la Rockefeller Foundation de New York fit un don de 1,25 million de dollars pour créer l’école d’hygiène de la University of Toronto et pour la doter de nouveaux départements en épidémiologie et en hygiène physiologique. L’édifice de quatre étages, ouvert le 9 juin 1927 dans la rue College, fut conçu pour accueillir la branche universitaire des Connaught Laboratories. FitzGerald, directeur fondateur de l’établissement, réalisait enfin son vieux rêve de réunir sous un même toit l’enseignement, la recherche et la production de vaccins et de sérums. Pendant les années 1920 et 1930, ce modèle canadien particulier de services publics établit un nouveau standard d’excellence international, qui conduisit au contrôle ou à l’éradication systématiques d’un ensemble de maladies incluant, en plus du diabète, la rage, la diphtérie, la fièvre typhoïde, la petite vérole, le tétanos, la pneumonie, la méningite, la coqueluche et la scarlatine. Dans les années 1920, les Connaught Laboratories mirent au point avec succès une anatoxine diphtérique, ce qui contribua à faire avancer la carrière de FitzGerald à l’échelle internationale et permit de déclarer Toronto et Hamilton libres de la maladie avant son décès en 1940 ; elles furent les premières villes au monde à obtenir ce statut. Le manuel de FitzGerald, An introduction to the practice of preventive medicine, publié à Saint Louis, au Missouri, en 1922, rédigé en collaboration avec plusieurs de ses collègues, servit abondamment partout en Amérique du Nord ; une deuxième édition parut en 1926.

Membre du bureau international de santé de la Rockefeller Foundation depuis 1923, FitzGerald devint le premier Canadien nommé au poste de directeur scientifique de son successeur, la division de la santé internationale. Simultanément, de 1930 à 1936, il fut membre du Comité de la santé de la Société des nations, précurseur de l’Organisation mondiale de la santé. En 1932, il entama un mandat de trois ans, prolongé ensuite d’un an, en qualité de doyen de la faculté de médecine de la University of Toronto, au cours duquel il renouvela le curriculum afin de mettre davantage l’accent sur des mesures de prévention comme la nutrition, l’hygiène, la santé mentale et l’éducation publique.

FitzGerald participa à deux missions internationales pour la Rockefeller Foundation. La première, en 1934, consistait à étudier les conditions sanitaires au Ceylan (Sri Lanka), en Inde et en Égypte, et la deuxième, qui se déroula sur une période de 12 mois en 1936 et 1937, avait pour but d’évaluer l’enseignement supérieur de premier cycle en santé publique et en médecine préventive dans 26 pays d’Europe et d’Amérique du Nord. Ce dernier mandat, qui arrivait après des décennies de surmenage, eut des conséquences néfastes sur la santé de FitzGerald. Depuis longtemps, il souffrait d’épisodes dépressifs qu’il avait essayé de combattre en travaillant sans relâche. Il en résulta des migraines, un ulcère hémorragique et de l’insomnie. À la fin de 1938, il fit une tentative de suicide à la suite d’une dépression nerveuse. Au mois de mai suivant, il fut admis au Neuropsychiatric Institute of the Hartford Retreat, au Connecticut, où il reçut 57 traitements de choc à l’insuline, nouvelle thérapie controversée contre la dépression. Après un retour au travail au printemps de 1940, il rechuta et s’enleva la vie au Toronto General Hospital en juin, à l’âge de 57 ans.

John Gerald FitzGerald était un homme complexe et plein de contradictions. Farrar se souvenait de lui comme d’une personne « calme, parlant doucement, bienveillante, d’un bon jugement et tolérante », de quelqu’un d’attachant qui se souciait des autres et pouvait déléguer des responsabilités. Un autre collègue louait son imagination et son côté visionnaire, qui, selon lui, coexistaient avec « la douceur, la modestie et une personnalité charmante ». Mais sous cette apparence placide, il y avait un être fort, parfois impitoyable, obsédé par la réalisation de ses objectifs. Après sa mort, sa femme se plaignit à un journaliste d’avoir été « mariée à une idée, pas à un homme ». Au fil d’une carrière aux multiples facettes, il conçut une vision globale de la santé publique qui non seulement établit les bases de programmes sociaux provinciaux et fédéraux dans l’ensemble du Canada, mais influença la recherche et l’enseignement médicaux à l’échelle internationale. En grande partie grâce à sa prévoyance, le pays passa, en l’espace d’une seule génération, entre les deux guerres mondiales, du statut de colonie reculée à celui de chef de file mondial reconnu en matière de médecine préventive. Parmi les honneurs que FitzGerald reçut, on compte des fellowships de la Société royale du Canada (1920) et du Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada (1931), ainsi qu’un doctorat honorifique en droit de la Queen’s University à Kingston, en Ontario (1925). La FitzGerald Academy pour les études médicales de premier cycle fut établie en 1994 au Wellesley Hospital et au St Michael’s Hospital, tous deux à Toronto. Il fut intronisé au Temple de la renommée médicale canadienne dix ans plus tard.

James FitzGerald

Outre le manuel mentionné dans sa biographie, John Gerald FitzGerald a rédigé, seul ou en collaboration, près de 90 articles, brochures et articles scientifiques. En 1907–1908, il a été corédacteur en chef du Bull. of the Toronto Hospital for the Insane, qui serait renommé Bull. of the Ontario Hospitals for the Insane (Toronto). Une bibliographie de ses ouvrages publiés (s.l.n.d.) est déposée aux University of Toronto Libraries. Petit-fils de John Gerald, nous avons eu accès aux dossiers de la famille et écrit un livre qui fournit des renseignements contextuels sur sa vie et sa carrière : What disturbs our blood : a son’s quest to redeem the past (Toronto, 2010). On peut consulter en ligne une vidéo (http://www.cdnmedhall.org/inductees/dr-john-fitzgerald) sur la contribution de FitzGerald en matière de santé publique au Canada, réalisée dans la foulée de son intronisation au Temple de la renommée médicale canadienne.

AO, RG 22-305, no 91642 ; RG 80-2-0-189, no 36744 ; RG 80-5-0-416, no 15506.— UTARMS, B1999-0011/025(05) ; B2000-0005.— « The antitoxin laboratory of the University of Toronto », Canadian Medical Assoc., Journal (Toronto), 7 (1917) : 255–260.— Gordon Bates, « Lowering the cost of life-saving », Maclean’s, 28 (1915), août : 14–16, 103–104.— P. A. Bator, « Saving lives on the wholesale plan : public health reform in the city of Toronto, 1900 to 1930 » (thèse de ph.d., Univ. of Toronto, 1979).— P. A. Bator et A. J. Rhodes, Within reach of everyone : a history of the University of Toronto School of Hygiene and the Connaught Laboratories (2 vol., Ottawa, 1990–1995).— Michael Bliss, The discovery of insulin (Toronto, 1982).— R. D. Defries, The first forty years, 1914–1955 : Connaught Medical Research Laboratories, University of Toronto (Toronto, 1968).— C. B. F[arrar], « I remember J. G. FitzGerald », American Journal of Psychiatry (Baltimore, Md), 120 (1963–1964) : 49–52.— D. T. Fraser, « John Gerald FitzGerald (1882–1940) », SRC, Mémoires, 3e sér., 35 (1941), proc., app. B : 113–115.— M. L. Friedland, The University of Toronto : a history (Toronto, 2002).— Jennifer Lem, « Dr. John G. FitzGerald : Canada’s public health care visionary » (document de recherche préparé pour le Museum of Health Care, Kingston, Ontario, 2006).— Univ. of Toronto, President’s report (Toronto, 1914–1940 ; rapports annuels du directeur des Connaught Laboratories ; exemplaires aux UTARMS).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

James FitzGerald, « FITZGERALD, JOHN GERALD », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 13 déc. 2018, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/fitzgerald_john_gerald_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/fitzgerald_john_gerald_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   James FitzGerald
Titre de l'article:   FITZGERALD, JOHN GERALD
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2018
Année de la révision:   2018
Date de consultation:   13 décembre 2018